■ Safety of care:

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Engaging patients in their own care: Patient decision aids

Female patient and female doctor both wearing protective face masks at a medical clinic.

Published: December 2020
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
20-14-E

Physicians sometimes ask patients to make decisions where the answer will depend on the patient’s unique perspective and circumstances. For instance, you may offer a lung cancer screening test to two patients who are both heavy smokers. One may welcome the test as a chance for early intervention, while the other may see the risk of false positives as potentially doing more harm than good.

Patient decision aids (PDAs) can help your patients make decisions in situations where the potential benefits are not clear-cut and where the outcome will be determined largely by patient preferences and values. While general health literacy materials help people understand a particular illness, diagnosis, or treatment, PDAs are verified, evidence-based resources focused on specific decision points.1 The tools are aimed at situations where patients need assistance in thinking through benefits, harms, probabilities, and how well a treatment or screening might accord with their values.1 The tools should always complement, rather than replace, an informed consent discussion.

PDAs encourage shared decision-making

Patient decision aids can be an effective way of encouraging patients to participate in their own care. The process of shared decision-making treats the patient as an expert in their own life and circumstances, and makes them active participants in major care and treatment decisions. Shared decision-making features an exchange of information between physician and patient, rather than a one-way stream of information from physician to patient.

PDAs can be effective in facilitating this two-way flow of information and helping the patient make difficult decisions. PDAs increase patients’ knowledge of their health conditions, improve the accuracy of their risk perceptions, and create a better fit between their values and the care decisions they are making. While PDAs may slightly increase appointment times, they can decrease the number of patients unable to make a decision and improve physician-patient communication overall.1

Case example: Using a PDA to respond to a request when screening is not indicated

During an appointment, a 45-year-old patient tells you that her friend has been diagnosed with breast cancer. Your patient has no family history of breast cancer, but she says she’s worried about her health and asks you to order a mammogram.

You know that the harms of mammograms outweigh the benefits for women in their 40s who are not at increased risk. However, you want to respond to the anxiety your patient is feeling. Using a PDA,2 you have an informed consent discussion about the risks associated with screening (especially false positives and unnecessary biopsies), as well as the minimal benefit (with less than one breast cancer death prevented per 1,000 women).

After the discussion, your patient is more reflective. She tells you she needs time to process the new information. You ask her to return in two weeks to continue the discussion about whether she would like the mammogram ordered. You give your patient the PDA to take with her and document your use of the aid, as well as any specific concerns your patient had.

 

Patient decision aid databases

There are well-recognized and sophisticated databases for PDAs online. The inventory of decision aids created by the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute is searchable by health topic and rates each aid according to a number of quality criteria.3 The Mayo Clinic Shared Decision Making National Resource Center provides aids related to a number of specific health conditions, such as osteoporosis and rheumatoid arthritis.4 Note that, if using an aid from an American or international source, you should ensure the aid is relevant within the Canadian context.

Using PDAs to promote safe care

When using PDAs, consider the following to promote safe care and reduce medical-legal risk.

1. Provide the PDA to your patient as part of a continued discussion

Generally speaking, it’s best to provide your patient with a PDA as part of a discussion about a proposed treatment or screening. This gives them time to review and reflect on the material. When you provide the PDA, tell your patient that, at the next appointment, they will have a chance to ask questions and fully discuss the decision in question.

Because PDAs are often provided to patients in advance of an informed consent discussion, consider in individual cases whether it is appropriate to use them with patients who are unlikely to follow-up for further discussion. In such cases, medical-legal difficulties may arise if a patient later claims they did not proceed with a treatment or screening because they did not understand the information set out in the PDA, and because there had been no informed consent discussion. In every case, document the information given to the patient, including the encouragement to return with questions and discuss care options further.

2. Only use PDAs in appropriate circumstances

Before using a PDA, consider whether the patient will understand the information as presented in the particular PDA. For example, aids may not be appropriate where there is a language barrier or cognitive impairment. The aids may also be ineffective when a patient has a low level of health literacy. A review of almost 100 PDAs found that only three had been designed for patients with lower health literacy levels, and that more tailored PDAs are needed to meet the needs of this group.5

3. Follow up with your patient

After using a PDA, assess how comfortable patients are with their decision, including how well they understand the information, how clear they are about risks and benefits, and whether they have any unanswered questions.5

After patients have made their decision, be sure to review the decision at a later date. This is especially critical if the patient’s risk factors change, or if there have been changes to other factors that have influenced the patient’s decision. A patient’s decision about a screening or treatment is rarely final, but can change as their circumstances change.6

4. Document your use of the PDA and print the aid where necessary

Document in the patient chart any PDAs provided to the patient, the patient’s decision, and the fact that the patient was given an opportunity to ask questions about the treatment before making a decision.

Since PDAs posted online are frequently updated or removed, consider archiving a copy of the specific aid that you used. This is particularly important because a legal action may not arise for years after the appointment, and you may need to point to specific aspects of the aid in question.

The bottom line

Patient decision aids can be a useful way of helping patients make treatment or screening decisions that are right for them. However, consider whether a specific aid is appropriate and helpful in the context of each patient. PDAs are not a substitute for informed consent discussions and should only be used as an adjunct to discussions tailored to the specific needs and circumstances of each patient. If you have general questions about the use of PDAs, contact the CMPA for advice.


References

  1. Stacey D, Légaré F, Lewis K, et al. Decision aids for people facing health treatment or screening decisions. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2017;4(4). DOI:10.1002/14651858.CD001431.pub5
  2. For example, see Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care. Breast cancer update – 1000 person tool.
  3. Ottawa Hospital Research Institute. Patient decision aids.
  4. Mayo Clinic. Mayo Clinic Shared Decision Making National Resource Center.
  5. McCaffery KJ, Holmes-Rovner M, Smith SK, et al. Addressing health literacy in patient decision aids. BMC Med Inform Decis Mak 2013;13 S10. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1186/1472-6947-13-S2-S10
  6. Grad R, Légaré F, Bell NR, et al. Shared decision making in preventive health care: What it is; what it is not. Can Fam Physician, 2017;63(9)682

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Sécurité des soins :

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Mobiliser les patients à participer à leurs soins : Les outils d’aide à la décision pour les patients

Une patiente et une médecin portant toutes deux un masque de protection dans une clinique médicale.

Publié : décembre 2020
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
20-14-F

Les médecins demandent parfois aux patients de prendre des décisions qui dépendent de leur perspective et de leurs circonstances particulières. Un médecin pourrait par exemple proposer un test de dépistage du cancer du poumon à deux fumeurs invétérés. L’un d’eux peut interpréter le test comme une occasion d’intervention précoce, tandis que l’autre peut considérer le risque de faux positifs comme pouvant lui faire plus de mal que de bien.

Les outils d’aide à la décision peuvent assister vos patients à faire leur choix dans des situations où les avantages potentiels ne sont pas clairement définis et où le résultat sera en grande partie déterminé en fonction des préférences et des valeurs du patient. Alors que les documents d’information générale en matière de santé aident les gens à comprendre une maladie, un diagnostic ou un traitement particulier, les outils d’aide à la décision pour les patients sont des ressources vérifiées, fondées sur des données probantes et axées sur des éléments de décision précis.1 Ces outils servent dans les situations où les patients ont besoin d’aide pour réfléchir aux avantages, aux inconvénients, aux probabilités et à la manière dont un traitement ou un test de dépistage pourrait correspondre à leurs valeurs.1 De tels outils devraient toujours compléter, plutôt que remplacer, une discussion visant à obtenir un consentement éclairé.

Favoriser une prise de décision partagée

Les outils d’aide à la décision peuvent efficacement encourager les patients à participer à leurs propres soins. Selon le processus de prise de décision partagée, le patient est l’expert de sa propre vie et de ses circonstances, et doit participer activement aux décisions majeures concernant ses soins et traitements. La prise de décision partagée se caractérise par un échange d’information entre le médecin et le patient, plutôt que par un flux d’information à sens unique du médecin au patient.

Les outils d’aide à la décision peuvent être efficaces pour faciliter ce flux bidirectionnel d’information et prêter main-forte au patient dans la prise de décisions difficiles. Ils permettent aux patients de mieux comprendre leurs problèmes de santé, d’évaluer leurs risques avec plus de précision et de mieux harmoniser leurs valeurs avec leurs décisions en matière de soins. Bien que le recours à ces outils puisse allonger quelque peu le temps alloué aux rendez-vous, il peut mener à la réduction du nombre de patients incapables de prendre une décision et à l’amélioration de la communication médecin-patient dans son ensemble.1

Exemple de cas : Recours à un outil d’aide à la décision dans le cadre d’une demande de dépistage non indiqué

Lors d’une consultation, une patiente âgée de 45 ans vous confie que son amie a reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein. Votre patiente n’a aucun antécédent familial de cancer du sein, mais elle se dit inquiète de sa santé et vous demande de lui faire passer une mammographie.

Vous savez que les mammographies ont des effets néfastes plus importants que les avantages qu’elles comportent chez les femmes dans la quarantaine qui n’ont pas de risque accru de cancer. Vous voulez toutefois atténuer l’anxiété ressentie par votre patiente. En vous appuyant sur un outil d’aide à la décision,2 vous avez une discussion préalable à l’obtention du consentement éclairé sur les risques associés au dépistage (en particulier les faux positifs et les biopsies inutiles), ainsi que sur l’avantage minimal du dépistage (prévention de moins d’un décès pour 1 000 femmes causé par un cancer du sein).

Votre patiente pense à ce que vous lui avez appris et vous dit avoir besoin de plus de temps pour assimiler cette information. Vous lui demandez de revenir dans deux semaines pour poursuivre la discussion et vous confirmer si elle souhaite toujours subir une mammographie. Vous remettez à votre patiente l’outil d’aide à la décision, vous consignez au dossier que vous y avez eu recours, et vous notez également toute préoccupation précise que la patiente a soulevée.

 

Base de données sur les outils d’aide à la décision pour les patients

Il existe des bases de données en ligne reconnues et sophistiquées sur les outils d’aide à la décision pour les patients. Le répertoire des outils d’aide à la décision créé par l’Institut de recherche de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa est interrogeable par thème de santé et évalue chaque aide en fonction d’un certain nombre de critères de qualité.3 Le Centre de ressources national sur la prise de décision partagée de la Mayo Clinic propose des outils liés à un certain nombre de problèmes de santé précis, tels que l’ostéoporose et la polyarthrite rhumatoïde.4 Rappelez-vous que, si vous utilisez un outil provenant d’une source américaine ou internationale, vous devez vous assurer de sa pertinence dans le contexte canadien.

Promotion de soins sécuritaires au moyen d’outils d’aide à la décision

Lorsque vous avez recours à des outils d’aide à la décision pour les patients, tenez compte de ce qui suit pour favoriser des soins sécuritaires et réduire les risques médico-légaux.

1. Offrez l’outil d’aide à la décision à votre patient dans le cadre d’une discussion continue

En général, il est préférable de fournir à votre patient un outil d’aide à la décision dans le cadre d’une discussion sur un traitement ou un dépistage proposé. Cela lui donne le temps de lire le matériel et d’y réfléchir. Lorsque vous lui fournissez l’outil, expliquez à votre patient qu’il aura la possibilité de poser des questions et de discuter pleinement de la décision en question lors de son prochain rendez-vous.

Puisque les outils d’aide à la décision sont souvent remis aux patients avant une discussion visant l’obtention d’un consentement éclairé, il convient d’examiner dans chaque cas s’il est approprié de s’en servir avec des patients qui ne sont pas susceptibles de donner suite à la discussion. Dans de telles situations, des problèmes médico-légaux pourraient survenir si un patient prétend plus tard qu’il n’est pas allé de l’avant avec un traitement ou un dépistage parce qu’il n’avait pas compris les renseignements contenus dans l’outil, et parce qu’il n’y a pas eu de discussion préalable au consentement éclairé. Dans tous les cas, consignez au dossier les renseignements que vous avez donnés au patient, y compris le fait que vous l’avez encouragé à revenir consulter pour vous poser des questions et discuter davantage des choix de traitement.

2. Réservez les outils d’aide à la décision à des circonstances appropriées

Avant d’avoir recours à un outil d’aide à la décision, demandez vous si le patient comprendra les renseignements qui lui sont présentés dans un outil particulier; p. ex. un outil pourrait ne pas être approprié s’il existe des barrières linguistiques ou un trouble cognitif. Les outils peuvent également être inefficaces lorsqu’un patient a un faible niveau de connaissances en matière de santé. Une étude portant sur près de 100 outils d’aide à la décision a révélé que seuls trois d’entre eux avaient été conçus pour des patients ayant un faible taux de littératie en matière de santé, et qu’il fallait des outils plus adaptés pour répondre aux besoins de ce groupe.5

3. Assurez le suivi auprès de vos patients

Après avoir utilisé un outil d’aide à la décision, évaluez dans quelle mesure les patients sont à l'aise avec ce qu’ils ont décidé, notamment s’ils comprennent bien les renseignements, les risques et les avantages, et s’ils ont besoin de réponse à d’autres questions.5

Une fois que les patients ont pris une décision, veillez à la revoir ultérieurement. Cela est particulièrement important si les facteurs de risque du patient changent, ou si d’autres facteurs ayant influencé la décision du patient ont changé. La décision d’un patient concernant un dépistage ou un traitement est rarement définitive; elle peut changer en fonction de l’évolution de sa situation.6

4. Consignez le fait que vous avez eu recours à un outil d’aide à la décision et imprimez le document au besoin

Consignez au dossier tout outil fourni au patient, la décision de ce dernier et le fait qu’il a eu la possibilité de poser des questions sur le traitement avant de prendre une décision.

Comme les outils d’aide à la décision pour les patients publiés en ligne sont fréquemment mis à jour ou supprimés, pensez à archiver une copie de l’outil précis que vous avez utilisé. Ceci est particulièrement important, car une action en justice concernant une consultation pourrait ne pas être intentée avant des années, et vous pourriez devoir vous rappeler certains aspects particuliers de l’outil en question.

En bref

Les outils d’aide à la décision peuvent être utiles pour guider les patients dans le choix d’un traitement ou d’un dépistage qui leur convient. Cependant, il faut se demander si un outil particulier est approprié et utile dans la situation de chaque patient. Ces outils ne remplacent pas les discussions préalables à l’obtention d’un consentement éclairé et ne doivent être utilisés qu’en complément des discussions adaptées aux besoins et aux circonstances de chaque patient. Si vous avez des questions d’ordre général sur l’utilisation des outils d’aide à la décision pour les patients, communiquez avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils.


Références

  1. Stacey D, Légaré F, Lewis K, et al. Decision aids for people facing health treatment or screening decisions. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2017;4(4). DOI:10.1002/14651858.CD001431.pub5
  2. À titre d’exemple, consultez : Groupe d’étude canadien sur les soins de santé préventifs. Cancer du sein (mise à jour) – Outil de dépistage auprès de 1000 personnes.
  3. Institut de recherche de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa. Outils d’aide à la décision pour les patients.
  4. Mayo Clinic. Mayo Clinic Shared Decision Making National Resource Center.
  5. McCaffery KJ, Holmes-Rovner M, Smith SK, et al. Addressing health literacy in patient decision aids. BMC Med Inform Decis Mak 2013;13(Suppl2):S10. DOI https://doi.org/10.1186/1472-6947-13-S2-S10
  6. Grad R, Légaré F, Bell NR, et al. Shared decision making in preventive health care: What it is; what it is not. Can Fam Physician, 2017;63(9) 682-84

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.