■ Safety of care:

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Mind the gap: Challenges for safe mental health care

Depressed senior man resting his head with his hands, in discussion with a female mental health professional

Published: September 2020
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
20-11-E

Among physicians, the medical-legal risks of providing mental health care are shared across several physician groups. With ongoing scarcity of access to psychiatric care in many regions of Canada, non-psychiatrists often step in to assess and manage patients’ mental health needs.1

The CMPA reviewed 1,324 legal, College and hospital matters related to mental health care, closed between 2014 and 2018. Physicians most frequently named in these matters were:Psychiatrists (43%); Family physicians (40%); Emergency medicine specialists (5%); Internists (2%). Diagnostic error and insufficient assessment were the top two reasons for patient complaint. Inadequate monitoring and follow-up were two other frequently observed risk areas.

Complexities in mental health diagnoses

Establishing mental health diagnoses can be complex. Symptoms are predominantly self-reported during patient interviews, and objective measures and biomarkers of psychopathology remain underdeveloped.2The diagnosis can evolve or even change from assessment to reassessment, and issues pertaining to patient capacity can further complicate information-gathering.

In the CMPA review of files involving patients with mental health concerns, peer expert3 criticism underscored the importance of documenting thorough mental health histories and mental status examinations in the patient’s medical record, and of using known diagnostic criteria before arriving at a diagnosis. Patient complaints about diagnosis were often associated with clinical judgments affecting patient autonomy or employability (e.g. employer-directed independent medical examinations, involuntary hospital admissions or treatment, and fitness to drive assessments), and peer experts often noted the impact of cognitive biases on diagnoses. For example, diagnostic overshadowing was frequently observed, a bias that is active when physical symptoms are misattributed to mental illness.4

Case example: Misattribution of a worsening symptom delays care

A rural family physician follows a middle-aged man for three years, after hospitalization for acute respiratory distress secondary to pulmonary edema. In addition to managing the patient’s severe coronary artery disease and nephropathy, the physician monitors his treatments for anxiety and depression. A period of rapid weight gain and poor glycemic control then coincides with job loss, and appointments with the physician increasingly focus on discussions of his unemployment, ongoing stressors, and feelings of lethargy. The physician documents the patient’s increased weight, but does not perform a physical examination, attributing the weight gain to the patient’s decreased physical activity secondary to his depression. Soon after an appointment predominantly focused on the patient’s mental status, the patient is hospitalized due to acute heart failure and renal injury, with prominent, generalized edema. He later dies in the intensive care unit.

A complaint is made to the College, and the College is critical of the physician’s failure to broaden her differential diagnosis to include medical causes for the patient’s weight gain. The College directs the physician to undertake remedial education on the management of patients with multiple comorbidities.

Challenges with referrals and the importance of follow-up

Physicians can experience challenges accessing psychiatric consultations and referrals for their patients, a situation that impacts regular follow-up and monitoring. In one Canada-wide survey of 890 primary care doctors, 35% rated access to psychiatrists as poor,5 while a Vancouver-based survey of 230 psychiatrists found only 6 respondents reported that they were able to provide timely consultation for patients referred by family practitioners.6

Peer expert reviews of CMPA files involving inadequate follow-up and referral for patients with mental health concerns emphasized considerations such as:

  • Physicians should apprise themselves of support resources available in the community, such as counselling services, mental health crisis lines and mobile crisis teams, detoxification centres, shelters, and addiction services. This information can be provided to the patient as part of a follow-up strategy.
  • Consultations should be pursued as needed, even if psychiatric access poses a challenge. Peer experts expected physicians to attempt to secure these consultations and document their efforts.
  • When referrals are delayed, appropriate reassessment and monitoring by the referring physician may be required during the interim period. Reassessment of a patient’s mental health history and mental status should be performed regularly.

When access to consultations is limited, alternatives such as teleconsultation or eConsultation may enable care. Physicians should evaluate such consultation services in advance, assessing whether information security safeguards are adequate and whether the services are appropriate for the specific patient.7

Case example: Appropriate social service follow-up for a suicidal patient

A student with complex mental health and substance use disorders is evicted from her residence for alcohol-related disturbances. She presents to the emergency department multiple times over the course of a week. On each occasion, she presents intoxicated, with suicidal ideation, and is prescribed diazepam, IV fluids, thiamine, and multivitamins for alcohol withdrawal. She is suicidal only when intoxicated, and expresses a desire to access support resources in order to stop binge drinking. At her last visit, the emergency physician notes the multiple emergency department visits, and refers her to psychiatry. She is assessed by a psychiatrist, who notes no suicidal plans or intentions and clearly documents the mental status exam. On reassessment the following morning, she reports no further thoughts of self-harm or suicide, and is discharged with a follow-up psychiatric appointment, acceptance to a shelter, and information about detoxification resources. She is found three days later, having died by suicide.

The patient’s family initiates a legal action, alleging that inadequate assessment and failure to admit the patient resulted in her death. Peer experts are supportive of the care received, noting that, unless there are extenuating circumstances, the default treatment for patients presenting to the emergency department with suicidal ideation is to avoid admitting them to an inpatient psychiatric ward, and to refer them to community psychosocial resources, lodging facilities, and substance use rehabilitation programs. The case is dismissed.


Managing patients at risk for suicide

In the CMPA review of medical-legal matters involving psychiatrists that closed between 2014 and 2018, 24% (37/157) of the legal actions and 11% (41/392) of the College complaints involved a patient’s death by suicide. Peer experts reviewing these matters emphasized the importance of conducting and documenting an appropriate assessment of suicide risk. They also highlighted the importance of collaboration with the patient in formulating a safety plan, particularly when physicians anticipate a change or transition in care, such as when planning to discharge a patient.

The bottom line

Coordinated care for patients with mental health concerns can be complicated, especially when access to psychiatric expertise is limited. Recommended practices for reducing medical-legal risk include conducting and documenting a thorough mental status assessment and following up with reassessments, familiarizing yourself with local social support services, and having an action plan when navigating consultation delays.


References

  1. Kurdyak P, Stukel TA, Goldbloom D, et al. Universal coverage without universal access: a study of psychiatrist supply and practice patterns in Ontario. Open Med [Internet]. 2014 Jul 15;8(3)e87 
  2. Krystal JH, State MW. Psychiatric disorders: Diagnosis to therapy. Cell [Internet]. 2014 Mar 27;157(1):201-214 
  3. Peer experts refer to physicians retained by the parties in a legal action to interpret and provide their opinion on clinical, scientific, or technical issues surrounding the care provided. They are typically of similar training and experience as the physicians whose care they are reviewing.
  4. Shefer G, Henderson C, Howard LM, et al. Diagnostic overshadowing and other challenges involved in the diagnostic process of patients with mental illness who present in emergency departments with physical symptoms – A qualitative study. PLoS ONE [Internet]. 2014;9(11):e111682 
  5. National Physician Survey: 2010 national results by FP/GP or other specialist, sex, age, and all physicians - Section D: Patient access to care. Mississauga(CA): The College of Family Physicians of Canada 
  6. Goldner EM, Jones W, Fang ML. Access to and waiting time for psychiatrist services in a Canadian urban area: a study in real time. Can J Psychiatry. 2011 Aug;56(8):474-480 
  7. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Ottawa(CA):CMPA; 2017 Sep. Is that eConsultation or eReferral service right for your medical practice? 

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Sécurité des soins :

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Le défi de prodiguer des soins sécuritaires en santé mentale

Un homme âgé dépressif se tient la tête tout en parlant avec une professionnelle de la santé mentale

Publié : septembre 2020
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
20-11-F

La prestation de soins de santé mentale entraîne des risques médico-légaux qui se trouvent partagés entre diverses catégories de médecins. En raison de la pénurie persistante de soins psychiatriques dans de nombreuses régions du Canada, des non-psychiatres sont souvent appelés à intervenir pour évaluer et gérer les besoins des patients en matière de santé mentale.1

L’ACPM a analysé 1 324 dossiers, conclus entre 2014 et 2018, associés à des soins de santé mentale (actions en justice, plaintes auprès d’organismes de réglementation de la médecine [Collèges] et plaintes intrahospitalières). Les médecins les plus souvent nommés dans ces instances relevaient des catégories suivantes : psychiatres (43 %); médecins de famille (40 %); urgentologues (5 %); internistes (2 %). Les erreurs de diagnostic et les évaluations insuffisantes représentaient les deux principales raisons à l’origine des plaintes des patients. La surveillance et le suivi inadéquats étaient deux autres éléments fréquemment relevés.

Complexité des diagnostics en santé mentale

L’établissement d’un diagnostic en santé mentale peut être complexe. Les symptômes sont principalement rapportés par les patients lors des consultations, et les mesures objectives‎ ainsi que les biomarqueurs associés à la psychopathologie sont encore à l’état embryonnaire.2Le diagnostic peut évoluer ou même changer d’une évaluation à l’autre et les enjeux liés à l’aptitude du patient risquent de compliquer davantage la collecte de données. 

L’analyse des dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM associés à des problèmes de santé mentale a fait ressortir l’importance, soulignée par les experts,3 de consigner dans le dossier médical une anamnèse détaillée de la santé mentale et un examen approfondi de l’état mental du patient, et d’avoir recours à des critères reconnus pour déterminer un diagnostic. Les plaintes concernant les diagnostics étaient souvent associées au jugement clinique du médecin qui détermine l’autonomie ou l’employabilité des patients (p. ex. les évaluations médicales indépendantes exigées par l’employeur, les traitements ou hospitalisations involontaires ou les évaluations de l’aptitude à conduire. De plus, les experts ont fréquemment relevé l’impact de biais cognitifs sur le diagnostic. À titre d’exemple, des erreurs d’attribution ont souvent été observées : ce genre de biais est présent lorsque des symptômes physiques sont faussement attribués à la maladie mentale.4

Exemple de cas : L’attribution erronée d’un symptôme qui s’aggrave retarde les soins

Un médecin de famille en milieu rural assure le suivi d’un homme d’âge moyen pendant trois ans, à la suite d’une hospitalisation pour une détresse respiratoire aiguë causée par un œdème pulmonaire. En plus de surveiller le plan de traitement associé à la coronaropathie grave et à la néphropathie, le médecin évalue le traitement de l’anxiété et de la dépression. Au cours du suivi, il constate qu’un gain de poids rapide et une mauvaise surveillance de la glycémie coïncident avec une perte d’emploi; de plus en plus, les rendez-vous avec le patient portent sur la perte d’emploi, les facteurs de stress continus et la léthargie ressentie. Le médecin consigne le gain de poids dans le dossier du patient, mais n’effectue pas d’examen physique, puisqu’il attribue ce changement à la diminution de l’activité physique en raison de la dépression. Peu de temps après un rendez-vous qui portait principalement sur l’évaluation de son état mental, le patient est hospitalisé parce qu’il présente une insuffisance cardiaque aiguë et une insuffisance rénale avec œdème généralisé proéminent. Il décède peu après dans l’unité des soins intensifs.

Une plainte est déposée auprès du Collège, qui critique le fait que le médecin n’a pas élargi son diagnostic différentiel pour tenir compte des causes médicales du gain de poids chez ce patient. Le Collège impose au médecin une formation sur la prise en charge thérapeutique de patients présentant des troubles en comorbidité.

Demandes de consultation et importance du suivi

Les médecins peuvent avoir des problèmes à obtenir des consultations psychiatriques pour les patients et à diriger ces derniers vers des spécialistes, ce qui a des conséquences sur la surveillance et le suivi courants. Un sondage pancanadien a révélé que, parmi 890 médecins de soins primaires, 35 % d’entre eux avaient évalué l’accès aux psychiatres comme étant médiocre,5 alors qu’un autre sondage auprès de 230 psychiatres de Vancouver rapportait que seulement 6 répondants avaient été en mesure de fournir une consultation en temps voulu à des patients dirigés par des médecins de famille.6

Les experts qui se sont prononcés dans les dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM liés à des demandes de consultation et à des suivis inadéquats chez les patients présentant des problèmes de santé mentale ont mis l’accent sur les considérations suivantes :

  • Les médecins devraient s’informer des ressources de soutien offertes dans la collectivité, entre autres, les services de counseling, les lignes téléphoniques de crises en santé mentale, les équipes itinérantes de gestion de crises, les centres de désintoxication, les centres d’hébergement et les services de traitement des toxicomanies. Ces renseignements peuvent être fournis au patient dans le cadre d’une stratégie de suivi.
  • Les consultations devraient continuer à être sollicitées au besoin, même si l’accès à un psychiatre pose un défi. Les experts s’attendent à ce que les médecins tentent d’obtenir ces consultations avec un spécialiste et consignent leurs efforts à cet effet dans le dossier médical.
  • Lorsque les demandes de consultation sont retardées, une réévaluation et une surveillance appropriées par le médecin traitant peuvent être nécessaires durant la période d’attente. Une nouvelle anamnèse et une réévaluation de l’état mental devraient être faites régulièrement.

Quand l’accès à des spécialistes est limité, des options telles que des téléconsultations ou cyberconsultations peuvent faciliter les soins. Les médecins devraient évaluer l’utilisation de ces services à l’avance, de même qu’évaluer si les mesures de protection des renseignements sont adéquates et si les services sont appropriés pour un patient en particulier.7

Exemple de cas : Suivi approprié d’un patient suicidaire par les services sociaux

Une étudiante qui présente des troubles complexes de santé mentale et de toxicomanie est expulsée de sa résidence en raison de problèmes liés à sa consommation d’alcool. Elle s’est présentée de nombreuses fois à l’urgence pendant la dernière semaine. Chaque fois, elle était intoxiquée et verbalisait des idées suicidaires. Elle reçoit du diazépam, des perfusions intraveineuses, de la thiamine et des multivitamines comme traitement dans le cadre de son sevrage. Elle est suicidaire uniquement lorsqu’elle est intoxiquée et elle demande d’avoir accès à des ressources pour l’aider à mettre fin à ses épisodes d’hyperalcoolisation rapide. Lors de sa dernière visite, le médecin du service d’urgence prend connaissance de ses nombreuses visites précédentes et demande une consultation en psychiatrie. Un psychiatre évalue la patiente; il note qu’elle n’a aucun plan ni aucune intention de suicide et il consigne clairement l’examen qu’il a fait de son état mental. Le lendemain matin, lors de la réévaluation, la patiente dit qu’elle n’a plus d’idées suicidaires et qu’elle a arrêté de se mutiler. Elle reçoit son congé et a un rendez-vous de suivi en psychiatrie. Elle accepte aussi d’aller en centre d’hébergement et on lui remet des renseignements sur les ressources en désintoxication. On la retrouve trois jours plus tard; elle s’était suicidée.

La famille intente une action en justice, alléguant que la patiente n’avait été ni adéquatement évaluée, ni hospitalisée, ce qui avait entraîné son décès. Les experts ont appuyé les soins prodigués, en précisant qu’à moins de circonstances atténuantes, le traitement par défaut pour les patients qui se présentent à l’urgence avec des idées suicidaires est d’éviter l’hospitalisation dans une unité de psychiatrie, et de les diriger vers des ressources psychosociales dans la collectivité, des logements et des programmes de réadaptation en toxicomanie. La cause est rejetée.


Prise en charge thérapeutique des patients à risque de suicide

Dans l’analyse des dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM, conclus entre 2014 et 2018 et mettant en cause des psychiatres, 24 % (37/157) des actions en justice et 11 % (41/392) des plaintes auprès des Collèges concernaient un patient qui s’était suicidé. Les experts consultés dans ces dossiers ont réitéré l’importance d’effectuer une évaluation appropriée du risque de suicide et de consigner cette évaluation dans le dossier médical. Ils ont aussi souligné l’importance de collaborer avec le patient pour formuler un plan de sécurité, surtout lorsque le médecin prévoit un changement ou une transition dans les soins, comme lors de la planification du congé du patient.

En bref

La coordination des soins aux patients présentant des problèmes de santé mentale peut être compliquée, en particulier lorsque l’accès à l’expertise d’un psychiatre est restreint. Il est recommandé, pour réduire les risques médico-légaux, d’effectuer une évaluation rigoureuse de l’état mental du patient, de consigner celle-ci dans le dossier médical et d’assurer l’exécution de réévaluations, de se familiariser avec les services locaux de soutien social, et d’établir un plan d’action pour faire face aux retards dans les consultations.


Références

  1. Kurdyak P, Stukel TA, Goldbloom D, et al. Universal coverage without universal access: a study of psychiatrist supply and practice patterns in Ontario. Open Med [En ligne]. 2014 Jul 15 [cité en avril 2020]; 8(3)e87-99 
  2. Krystal JH, State MW. Psychiatric disorders: Diagnosis to therapy. Cell [En ligne]. 2014 Mar 27 [cité en avril 2020];157(1):201-14 
  3. On entend par experts les médecins retenus par les parties dans une action en justice pour interpréter les problèmes cliniques, scientifiques ou techniques entourant les soins prodigués et émettre une opinion à leur égard. Ces médecins ont typiquement une formation et une expérience semblable à celles de leurs collègues ayant prodigué les soins qu’ils doivent évaluer.
  4. Shefer G, Henderson C, Howard LM, et al. Diagnostic overshadowing and other challenges involved in the diagnostic process of patients with mental illness who present in emergency departments with physical symptoms – A qualitative study. PLoS One [En ligne]. 2014 Nov 4 [cité en avril 2020];9(11):e111682 
  5. Sondage national des médecins. 2010 Résultats nationaux par MF/omnipraticiens ou autres spécialistes, sexe, âge et pour l’ensemble des médecins − Section D: Accessibilité des soins pour les patients [En ligne]. Mississauga(CA): Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada. [cité en avril 2020]
  6. 6. Goldner EM, Jones W, Fang ML. Access to and waiting time for psychiatrist services in a Canadian urban area: a study in real time. Can J Psychiatry. 2011 Aug [cité en avril 2020];56(8):474-80 
  7. Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa(CA):ACPM; 2017 Sept. Ce service de demande électronique de téléconsultation convient-il à votre pratique? [cité en avril 2020] 

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.