■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

A team’s approach to patient communication can improve the surgical journey: Three strategies for physicians

Female doctor wearing face mask, in discussion with a patient

Published: September 2021
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
21-13-E

Transitions in care are inevitable on the surgical journey, and each transition adds potential for misunderstanding or confusion. As the surgical journey progresses, breakdowns in patient-provider communication in particular increase the risk that expectations will misalign.

Inconsistent messaging about surgical care or a failure to mention certain details can confuse a patient’s understanding of what will happen during surgery or the recovery phase. Outcomes that a patient doesn’t expect—such as a large incisional scar or prolonged post-operative pain—might erode the trust between patient and physician and lead to a patient complaint or legal action.

To identify opportunities for better communication with patients, the CMPA analyzed 1,217 cases (civil legal, regulatory authority [College], and hospital matters). The cases closed between 2015 and 2019 and involved non-urgent in-hospital surgeries.1 Over one-third of the cases (461/1,217=38%) resulted in peer expert criticism2 of a physician’s communication or coordination of care. The cases highlight the importance of clarifying patient expectations and the need for reliable and consistent messaging throughout surgical care.

Strategies for improving a team’s approach to patient communication

1. Discuss expectations with the patient pre-operatively

Among the CMPA cases reviewed, the top criticism of physicians by peer experts (in 20% of cases; 242/1,217) was an inadequate informed consent discussion. This was also a frequent reason for patient complaint (in 37% of cases; 450/1,217).3 A recurring problem that peer experts identified with respect to informed consent was the surgeon not adequately discussing the possibility of relevant surgical outcomes or complications.

Case scenario: An orthopedic patient does not expect a long post-operative journey 4

A 40 year-old patient consults with an orthopedic surgeon about pain and stiffness in one shoulder. The surgeon diagnoses a rotator cuff tear and recommends physiotherapy along with an arthoscopic repair. At a later visit, the surgeon describes the benefits and material risks of the surgery and rehabilitation plan, and the patient provides consent to proceed with surgery.

During the operation, the surgeon notes that the tear is larger than expected from pre-operative imaging, and he proceeds with the repair. Multiple times in the following weeks, however, the patient reports excruciating pain and is unable to work. The surgeon recommends more physiotherapy, which results in some improvement. Months later, the debilitating pain recurs in the same shoulder, and re-imaging shows that the tear has recurred. The patient—frustrated and no longer trusting the surgeon’s ability—undergoes revision surgery by a different orthopedic surgeon, and the pain resolves quickly.

The patient files a College complaint alleging that: the initial surgery caused more pain than expected; the initial tear was never properly repaired; and the surgeon was dismissive of the patient’s ongoing pain. The College noted that the surgeon met the standard of care but expressed concerns about his communication. College reviewers could not discern what steps the surgeon had taken pre-operatively to explain the anticipated recovery, likelihood of success, and risk of recurrence, or to clarify the patient’s expectations. The College cautioned the surgeon to discuss these topics more carefully in the future and to document those discussions.

Questions about surgical delays, such as those during COVID-19?

Surgical delays, such as those due to COVID-19 restrictions, raise concerns among patients and providers. For more information, see the CMPA article, “You have medico-legal questions on deferring care during the pandemic—The CMPA has answers.”

Research shows that surgical patients want details of what to expect, and they want to be heard and feel cared for.5 Pre-operative visits are windows of opportunity to provide this. They are also moments for physicians to understand patients’ expectations and key aspects of their daily routine in order to inform clinical decision-making. Furthermore, some patient expectations may be unachievable, and knowing this can help physicians reframe expectations as needed.

The FIFE mnemonic6 can guide these discussions as follows:

  • Feelings – What are your feelings (fears, anxiety, concerns) about your health problem? Is there anything else that concerns you?
  • Ideas – What do you think is causing your health problem and how do you expect the surgery to help?
  • Functioning – How does this problem affect your daily activities and what do you expect of your return to function after the surgery?
  • Expectations – What are your expectations for this visit (or this procedure)?

At the end of a pre-operative visit, physicians should take reasonable steps to confirm patient understanding of the discussion and document those steps.

2. Check previous communication and confirm information with the patient and peri-operative team

In some of the CMPA cases reviewed, peer experts were critical of surgeons for not reviewing pre-operative documentation. In other cases, they were critical of surgeons, anaesthesiologists, trainees, nurses, or office staff for failing to transmit key information to other members of the team.

Case scenario: An anaesthesiologist’s clinical decision deviates from expected practice 4

A 45 year-old man consents to the surgical removal of a pilonidal cyst. On the day of surgery, an anaesthesiologist meets with the patient in hospital. She suggests that a spinal block may be a safer option than general anesthesia. By the end of the discussion, the anaesthesiologist believes the patient has verbally agreed to the spinal block.

As the team completes the surgical safety checklist, the anaesthesiologist states her intent to use a spinal (saddle) block. The surgeon replies that he typically uses general anesthesia for this type of case, but he understands her decision. An anesthesia resident attempts to administer the block without success. The anaesthesiologist takes over and successfully administers the block, and the surgery proceeds uneventfully. Later in the PACU, a nurse comments to the patient that she has never before seen a spinal block used for this type of procedure. The patient leaves the hospital hours later after recovering from the regional anesthesia.

The patient files a hospital complaint alleging that he never consented to a spinal block. He explains that the surgeon had discussed general anaesthesia at the consult visit and that nurses in the PACU had similarly expected general anaesthesia. He adds that an unknown individual made multiple attempts to administer the spinal block, which was painful, and his recovery in the PACU was long. Although the hospital committee had no concerns about the anaesthesiologist’s clinical decision-making, the hospital reviewers were critical of the quality of documentation, as well as verbal communication with the patient and within the peri-operative team.

Mixed messaging confuses patient expectations and can signal a lack of cohesiveness in the team approach, affecting patient confidence. Standardized processes—such as clinical pathways, protocols for confirming patient information, and verbal checklists—promote consistency within teams.

Family physicians in the circle of care

Integrating a family physician into post-operative care can help foster patient trust. As a surgeon, ask patients whether they have access to a family physician and, if so, include the family physician in the post-operative plan. Confirm patient understanding of the plan and who will be providing follow-up care.

  • Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) programs are evidence-based care pathways that support consistent practice and communication between members of the peri-operative team. ERAS may also lower the rate of surgical complications for some patient populations.7,8
  • The briefing and time-out phases of the surgical safety checklist,9 before the first incision, are opportunities to confirm details from the informed consent discussion.
  • The debriefing phase, before leaving the OR, and handover of care from the OR team are chances to communicate key information for the recovery room team. This information can include any unexpected or unusual aspects of surgery, such as the choice to use a spinal block instead of general anaesthesia in the case scenario above.

3. Have a reliable system for managing patient expectations after hospital discharge

When patients have difficulty accessing post-operative care, they may feel abandoned by the surgeon. In some of the CMPA cases reviewed, peer experts identified unreliable systems contributing to these difficulties. Their criticisms supported the following practice improvement strategies for surgeons:

  • Optimize office procedures for receiving, documenting, and responding to phone calls, faxes, and referrals.
  • Arrange and document a formal handover of post-operative care when you are going to be unavailable for follow-up.
  • Promptly send discharge summaries and clear follow-up instructions to the health professional providing follow-up care, especially when follow-up is not with you as the initial surgeon.

The bottom line

Aligning patient-provider expectations and successfully coordinating care throughout the surgical journey benefits both patients and physicians.

  • When surgery is an option, leverage the consent discussion to manage expectations. Confirm patient understanding of what to expect of surgical care, the material risks, and the anticipated recovery time. Address any misalignment in expectations and document what you discuss.
  • Adopt standardized processes for peri-operative management, and engage peri-operative teams in consistent messaging and patient safety.
  • Assess the approach and availability of your office and hospital systems for responding to patient concerns after hospital discharge, and take steps to ensure they are reliable.

Additional reading


References

  1. The CMPA analysis excluded non-urgent in-hospital cosmetic surgeries and some obstetrical surgeries, such as non-urgent C-sections, given their unique communication challenges.
  2. Peer experts refer to physicians retained by the parties in a legal action to interpret and provide their opinion on clinical, scientific, or technical issues surrounding the care provided. These individuals are typically of similar training and experience as the physicians whose care they are reviewing. Peer experts are also involved in reviewing complaints to regulatory authorities (Colleges) and hospitals, where committees of patient safety and risk management may have oversight.
  3. Of the 450 CMPA cases with a patient complaint of inadequate informed consent, peer experts concurred with the concern approximately one-third of the time (154/450, 34.2%).
  4. This case scenario is based on an actual medico-legal case. However, certain facts were omitted, changed, or added for illustrative purposes and to protect the confidentiality of the parties involved.
  5. Webster CS, Jowsey T, Lu LM, et al. Capturing the experience of the hospital-stay journey from admission to discharge using diaries completed by patients in their own words: A qualitative study. BMJ Open. 2019 Mar 12;9(3):e027258. DOI: 10.1136/bmjopen-2018-027258
  6. Stewart M, Belle Brown J, Wayne Weston W, et al. Patient-centered medicine: Transforming the clinical method. 3rd ed. CRC Press; 2014
  7. Bisch SP, Jago CA, Kalogera E, et al. Outcomes of enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS) in gynecologic oncology: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Gynecol Oncol. 2021 Apr;161(1):46-55. DOI: 10.1016/j.ygyno.2020.12.035. Epub 2020 Dec 30
  8. Arrick L, Mayson K, Hong T, et al. Enhanced recovery after surgery in colorectal surgery: Impact of protocol adherence on patient outcomes. J Clin Anesth. 2019 Aug;55:7-12. DOI: 10.1016/j.jclinane.2018.12.034. Epub 2018 Dec 21
  9. Surgical Safety Checklist: Download [Internet]. Edmonton (CA): Healthcare Excellence Canada; [cited 2021 Mar 26]. Available from: https://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/en/toolsResources/Pages/SurgicalSafety-Checklist-Resources.aspx

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Obligations et responsabilités :

Les attentes vis-à-vis des médecins

Parcours chirurgical des patients : trois stratégies pour améliorer l’approche communicationnelle

Femme médecin portant un masque et discutant avec une patiente

Publié : septembre 2021
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
21-13-F

Les transferts des soins, inévitables durant le parcours chirurgical des patients, peuvent être une source de malentendu ou de confusion. Par ailleurs, les problèmes de communication qui surgissent au fil du parcours, en particulier ceux entre le patient et le professionnel de la santé, peuvent donner lieu à des attentes discordantes.

Lorsque des messages contradictoires lui sont transmis, ou que certains détails sont omis, un patient peut avoir du mal à comprendre le déroulement d’une intervention chirurgicale ou de la phase de rétablissement. Des séquelles auxquelles le patient ne s’attend pas, comme une cicatrice importante ou une douleur post-opératoire intense, risquent également d’ébranler la confiance du patient en question envers son médecin et de faire l’objet d’une plainte ou d’une action en justice.

Pour cibler les occasions d’améliorer la communication avec les patients, l’ACPM a analysé 1 217 dossiers (poursuites civiles, plaintes auprès des organismes de réglementation [Collèges] et problèmes intrahospitaliers). Les dossiers ont été conclus entre 2015 et 2019, et ils portaient sur des interventions chirurgicales non urgentes exigeant une hospitalisation.1 Dans plus du tiers des dossiers (461/1 217 = 38 %), les experts2 ont critiqué l’approche communicationnelle du médecin, ou la coordination des soins. Ces dossiers montrent l’importance de clarifier les attentes du patient ainsi que la nécessité de transmettre des messages fiables et cohérents, tout au long du parcours chirurgical.

Stratégies pour améliorer l’approche communicationnelle d’une équipe auprès des patients

1. Avant l’intervention chirurgicale, discuter avec les patients de leurs attentes

Dans les dossiers analysés par l’ACPM, la principale critique des experts envers les médecins concernait la discussion préalable au consentement éclairé, qu’ils jugeaient inadéquate (20 % des dossiers; 242/1 217). Il s’agissait également d’un motif fréquent de plainte par un patient (37 % des dossiers; 450/1 217).3 Parmi les problèmes récurrents relevés par les experts à l’égard du consentement éclairé, on comptait une discussion inadéquate sur le risque de séquelles ou de complications post-chirurgicales importantes.

Exemple de cas : parcours post-opératoire long et inattendu en orthopédie4

Un homme de 40 ans consulte un chirurgien orthopédiste en raison d’une douleur et d’une rigidité à l’épaule. Le chirurgien diagnostique une rupture de la coiffe des rotateurs, et il recommande une physiothérapie ainsi qu’une réparation sous arthroscopie. Lors d’une rencontre ultérieure, le chirurgien explique les bienfaits et les risques importants de l’intervention chirurgicale, ainsi que le plan de réadaptation. Le patient consent à subir la chirurgie.

Durant l’intervention, le chirurgien remarque que la rupture est plus importante que ce que révélait l’imagerie préopératoire, mais il procède tout de même à la réparation. Durant les semaines qui suivent, le patient ressent une douleur lancinante à de nombreuses reprises, ce qui l’empêche de travailler. Le chirurgien recommande d’augmenter le nombre de séances de physiothérapie, ce qui permet d’atténuer légèrement la douleur. Plusieurs mois plus tard, le patient ressent une douleur invalidante à la même épaule, et l’imagerie révèle une récidive de la rupture. Le patient est mécontent et ne fait plus confiance au chirurgien. Il subit une réintervention réalisée par un autre chirurgien orthopédiste, et la douleur disparaît rapidement.

Le patient dépose une plainte au Collège, alléguant que la première intervention chirurgicale a causé plus de douleur que prévu, que la rupture initiale n’a jamais été réparée adéquatement et que le chirurgien n’a pas tenu compte de la douleur persistante. Le Collège juge que le chirurgien a respecté la norme de pratique, mais il exprime certaines préoccupations à l’égard de son approche communicationnelle auprès du patient. Les évaluateurs du Collège n’arrivent pas à déterminer quelles mesures ont été prises par le chirurgien avant l’intervention pour expliquer au patient le plan de rétablissement, les chances de réussite et le risque de récidive, ou pour clarifier ses attentes. Le Collège met en garde le chirurgien et lui demande d’aborder ces sujets plus attentivement à l’avenir, et de consigner les discussions.

Vous avez des questions concernant les retards dans les interventions chirurgicales, comme ceux observés durant la pandémie de COVID-19?

Les retards dans les interventions chirurgicales, dont ceux causés par les restrictions imposées par la pandémie de COVID-19, soulèvent des inquiétudes parmi les patients et les professionnels de la santé. Pour obtenir plus de précisions à ce sujet, consultez l’article de l’ACPM « Le report des soins pendant la pandémie ».

Selon les résultats de recherches, les patients qui subissent une intervention chirurgicale veulent savoir en détail à quoi s’attendre, et ils souhaitent être entendus et pris en charge.5 Les visites préopératoires sont l’occasion de répondre à leurs besoins à cet égard; elles peuvent également permettre aux médecins de mieux comprendre les attentes des patients ainsi que les principaux éléments de la routine quotidienne de ceux-ci, ce qui éclairera le processus décisionnel clinique. Par ailleurs, les patients ont parfois des attentes irréalistes, et le fait d’en être conscients peut aider les médecins à recadrer les attentes, au besoin.

L’aide-mémoire FIFE (de l’acronyme anglais pour feelings, ideas, function, expectations)6 peut contribuer à éclairer ces discussions : 

  • Foire aux émotions – Que ressentez-vous (craintes, anxiété, inquiétudes) par rapport à votre problème de santé? Est-ce qu’autre chose vous préoccupe?
  • Idées sur la maladie – Selon vous, qu’est-ce qui est à l’origine de votre problème de santé, et en quoi l’intervention chirurgicale sera-t-elle utile?
  • Fonction – Quelles sont les répercussions de ce problème sur vos activités quotidiennes, et quelles sont vos attentes quant à votre rétablissement après l’intervention?
  • Exigences – Quelles sont vos exigences ou vos attentes par rapport à cette visite (ou cette intervention)?

À la fin de la visite préopératoire, les médecins doivent prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour vérifier si le patient a bien compris les éléments abordés durant la discussion, et consigner ces mesures dans le dossier du patient.

2. Vérifier les communications antérieures et confirmer l’information auprès du patient et de l’équipe périopératoire

Dans certains des dossiers analysés par l’ACPM, les experts ont critiqué le fait que les chirurgiens n’ont pas revu la documentation avant l’intervention. Dans d’autres dossiers, ils ont plutôt critiqué le fait que les chirurgiens, les anesthésiologistes, les résidents, les infirmières ou le personnel ont omis de transmettre de l’information importante aux autres membres de l’équipe.

Exemple de cas : décision clinique non conforme à la norme de pratique 4

Un homme de 45 ans accepte de subir une intervention chirurgicale pour le retrait d’un sinus pilonidal. Le jour de l’intervention, l’anesthésiologiste rencontre le patient à l’hôpital. Elle explique qu’un blocage rachidien pourrait être plus sécuritaire qu’une anesthésie générale. Au terme de la discussion, l’anesthésiologiste croit que le patient a consenti verbalement au blocage rachidien.

Alors que l’équipe examine la liste de vérification pour une chirurgie sécuritaire, l’anesthésiologiste fait part de son intention d’avoir recours à un blocage rachidien (anesthésie en selle). Le chirurgien répond qu’il comprend sa décision, mais qu’il réalise généralement ce type d’intervention sous anesthésie générale. Un résident en anesthésiologie tente plusieurs fois, sans succès, d’injecter le médicament nécessaire au blocage. L’anesthésiologiste prend la relève et procède au blocage rachidien. L’intervention se déroule sans complication. Plus tard à l’unité de soins post-anesthésiques, une infirmière dit au patient que c’est la première fois qu’elle voit un anesthésiologiste pratiquer un blocage rachidien pour ce type d’intervention. Le patient quitte l’hôpital quelques heures plus tard, une fois les effets de l’anesthésie régionale dissipés.

Le patient dépose une plainte auprès de l’hôpital, alléguant qu’il n’a jamais consenti au blocage rachidien. Il explique que le chirurgien lui a parlé d’une anesthésie générale durant la visite préalable à la chirurgie, et que les infirmières de l’unité de soins post-anesthésiques s’attendaient également à ce que l’intervention soit réalisée sous ce type d’anesthésie. Il ajoute qu’une personne inconnue a tenté de lui administrer plusieurs fois le médicament nécessaire au blocage rachidien, ce qui s’est avéré douloureux, et que son rétablissement a nécessité un long séjour à l’unité de soins post-anesthésiques. Le comité de l’hôpital ne remet pas en question la décision clinique de l’anesthésiologiste, mais les examinateurs de l’hôpital critiquent la qualité de la tenue de dossiers ainsi que les échanges verbaux avec le patient et entre les membres de l’équipe périopératoire.

Les messages contradictoires créent des attentes inconciliables et témoignent d’un manque de cohésion dans l’approche de l’équipe, ce qui peut ébranler la confiance du patient. Des processus normalisés (p. ex. des protocoles de soins ou de confirmation des renseignements sur les patients et des listes de vérification verbales) favorisent la cohérence au sein des équipes.

  • Les programmes de récupération améliorée après la chirurgie (Enhanced Recovery After Surgery [ERAS]) sont des protocoles de soins fondés sur des données probantes qui favorisent la cohérence dans la pratique et dans les communications des membres de l’équipe périopératoire. Les programmes ERAS peuvent également réduire le taux de complications chirurgicales dans certaines populations de patients.7,8
  • Les phases des instructions et de pause de la liste de vérification pour une chirurgie sécuritaire,9 qui ont lieu avant la première incision, sont l’occasion de confirmer certains détails de la discussion préalable au consentement éclairé.
  • Le retour sur l’intervention, qui a lieu tout juste avant de quitter la salle d’opération, et le transfert des soins par l’équipe de la salle d’opération sont l’occasion de communiquer tous les renseignements importants qui seront nécessaires à l’équipe de la salle de réveil. Parmi ces renseignements, on compte tout élément inattendu ou inhabituel de l’intervention, comme le choix d’effectuer un blocage rachidien plutôt qu’une anesthésie générale dans l’exemple de cas ci-dessus.

Intégration des médecins de famille dans le cercle de soins

L’intégration d’un médecin de famille aux soins post-opératoires peut inspirer confiance au patient. Le chirurgien doit demander au patient s’il a accès à un médecin de famille et, le cas échéant, inclure ce médecin dans le plan post-opératoire. Il doit également vérifier auprès du patient s’il comprend ce plan, et s’il sait qui assurera son suivi.

3. Disposer d’un système fiable pour gérer les attentes des patients après leur congé

Les patients qui ont de la difficulté à accéder à des soins post-opératoires peuvent se sentir délaissés par leur chirurgien. Dans certains des dossiers analysés par l’ACPM, les experts ont déterminé que la non-fiabilité des systèmes contribuait à ce problème. Les critiques émises par les experts ont mené à l’élaboration des stratégies d’amélioration de la pratique suivantes à l’intention des chirurgiens : 

  • Optimiser les processus du cabinet en ce qui concerne la réception, la consignation et le traitement des appels, des télécopies et des demandes de consultation.
  • Prévoir et consigner le transfert officiel des soins post-opératoires lorsqu’on se trouve dans l’impossibilité d’assurer le suivi.
  • Faire parvenir rapidement le sommaire de départ et des directives de suivi précises au professionnel de la santé qui prodiguera les soins de suivi, surtout lorsque le suivi n’est pas assuré par le chirurgien ayant procédé à l’intervention.

En bref

Il est avantageux, tant pour le patient que pour le médecin, d’harmoniser les attentes de chacun et d’assurer une bonne coordination des soins, tout au long du parcours chirurgical.

  • Lorsqu’une intervention chirurgicale est envisagée, la discussion préalable au consentement représente une occasion de gérer les attentes. Il faut vérifier auprès du patient s’il sait à quoi s’attendre en ce qui concerne l’intervention, les risques importants de celle-ci et la durée prévue du rétablissement. Il est important de clarifier tous les malentendus liés aux attentes du patient, et de consigner les éléments abordés avec lui.
  • Des processus normalisés doivent être adoptés pour la prise en charge périopératoire, et les équipes périopératoires doivent aussi veiller à assurer la sécurité du patient et à transmettre des messages cohérents.
  • Il est important d’évaluer l’approche et l’accessibilité des systèmes en place au sein de votre cabinet et de votre hôpital pour répondre aux préoccupations du patient après son congé, et de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la fiabilité de ces systèmes.

Suggestions de lecture


Références

  1. L’analyse effectuée par l’ACPM excluait les chirurgies plastiques non urgentes exigeant une hospitalisation ainsi que certaines chirurgies en obstétrique, comme les césariennes non urgentes, en raison des défis communicationnels qui leur sont propres.
  2. On entend par experts les médecins retenus par les parties dans une action en justice pour interpréter les problèmes cliniques, scientifiques ou techniques entourant les soins prodigués et émettre une opinion à leur égard. Ces médecins ont typiquement une formation et une expérience semblables à celles de leurs collègues ayant prodigué les soins qu’ils doivent évaluer. Les experts participent également à l’examen des plaintes déposées auprès des organismes de réglementation (Collèges) et des hôpitaux, où des comités sur la sécurité des patients et sur la gestion des risques peuvent être responsables de la surveillance.
  3. Dans près du tiers des 450 dossiers (154/450, 34,2 %) de l’ACPM faisant état d’une plainte concernant un consentement éclairé inadéquat, les experts ont donné raison au patient.
  4. Cet exemple de cas est fondé sur un dossier médico-légal réel. Certains faits ont toutefois été omis, modifiés ou ajoutés à des fins d’exemple et pour protéger la confidentialité des parties concernées.
  5. Webster CS, Jowsey T, Lu LM, et al. Capturing the experience of the hospital-stay journey from admission to discharge using diaries completed by patients in their own words: A qualitative study. BMJ Open. 2019 Mar 12;9(3):e027258. DOI: 10.1136/bmjopen-2018-027258
  6. Stewart M, Belle Brown J, Wayne Weston W, et al. Patient-centered medicine: Transforming the clinical method. 3rd ed. CRC Press; 2014
  7. Bisch SP, Jago CA, Kalogera E, et al. Outcomes of enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS) in gynecologic oncology: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Gynecol Oncol. 2021 Apr;161(1):46-55. DOI: 10.1016/j.ygyno.2020.12.035. Epub 2020 Dec 30
  8. Arrick L, Mayson K, Hong T, et al. Enhanced recovery after surgery in colorectal surgery: Impact of protocol adherence on patient outcomes. J Clin Anesth. 2019 Aug;55:7-12. DOI: 10.1016/j.jclinane.2018.12.034. Epub 2018 Dec 21
  9. Liste de vérification d’une chirurgie sécuritaire : Ressources [Internet]. Edmonton (CA) : Excellence en santé Canada; [cité le 26 mars 2021]. Accessible : https://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/fr/toolsresources/pages/surgicalsafety-checklist-resources.aspx

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.