■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

Closing or leaving a practice: Tips for primary care physicians

Originally published March 2020
20-05-E

The decision to close or relocate a medical practice can be a difficult one, with consequences for patients as well as for the departing physician’s colleagues. Thoughtfully managing the various aspects of closing or relocating a clinical practice ensures the needs of patients continue to be met and potential medical-legal risks are mitigated.

Where advance notice of a physician’s departure is not possible as in the case of sudden illness, death, or other unforeseen circumstances, responsibilities related to practice closure may be undertaken by a business partner, colleague, family member, or an executor for the estate of a deceased physician. Some regulatory authorities (Colleges) require physicians to proactively plan for unexpected practice closures,1 and so physicians may need to lay out such a plan in collaboration with partners or colleagues.

While all physicians should plan for closure of their practice in keeping with College policies, maintaining continuity of care is an especially important consideration in primary care practices. Nevertheless, consulting physicians need to consider appropriate transfer of care for those patients who are in active treatment or require follow-up. Refer to your College’s policies and standards on physician responsibilities when closing or leaving your practice.

Notifying patients

College policies may stipulate a minimum required duration for notification to patients of a planned closure. In Ontario and Alberta, for example, at least 90 days notice is required, unless the closure is unexpected or due to circumstances beyond the physician’s control, in which case the notice must be communicated as soon as reasonably possible.1, 2

Physicians are generally required to notify patients directly through one or more channels: letter-mail, email, telephone, or in-person at a scheduled appointment. Consult your College’s policies on specific requirements in your jurisdiction.

Transferring medical records

Patients who find a new physician may need to have their medical records transferred. You are required to facilitate this process once you have received the patient’s authorization to do so. The transfer should take place as soon as reasonably possible, or as prescribed by your College. You may charge an appropriate fee for this service, which may be set by provincial or territorial medical associations or in regulations.

In a group practice such as a clinic, it should be clear who will retain the medical records when you leave the practice. This clarity can be achieved by entering into a written agreement when joining the group. Such an agreement will allow you to have continued access to the medical records that you entered even after leaving the practice. Access to these records is important to ensure you meet your professional (College) obligations and records retention requirements, and will be indispensable in the event of medical-legal issues that may later arise. Once the applicable retention period for a record has expired, you should destroy the original record in a secure manner. This task can be outsourced to a commercial service provider and the date of disposal should be documented.

Some Colleges require physicians to implement a succession plan and designate a custodian to ensure retention and access to records if they are unable to continue as custodian. In Alberta, for example, physicians are required to have in place an information sharing agreement to manage patient records in the event a physician ceases to maintain custody of existing records, and to identify another physician who will maintain them.2

Original records, whether in digital or paper form, should be retained for at least 10 years from the date of last entry or, in the case of minors, 10 years from the time they would have reached the age of majority. For more information, see the article “A matter of records: An overview of the retention, access, security, storage, disposal, and transfer of clinical records.”

Continuity of patient care

Physicians should make reasonable efforts to ensure all work in progress will be completed, reviewed, and appropriately acted on. Consider arrangements for alternative care for patients who have outstanding results or need follow-up after a recent test, investigation, or procedure. If patients under your care are in hospital or another health facility, complete the transfer to another physician and document this in the medical record.

Informing others

When planning to leave a clinical practice, you should inform colleagues, clinic owners, and employees in a timely manner. You should also inform healthcare organizations such as hospitals and specialty medical centres, other healthcare professionals such as local pharmacists, as well as the provincial or territorial paying agency, and professional associations.

Some Colleges require physicians to notify them when closing a medical practice, whether or not they continue to hold a licence.

You should contact the CMPA and tell us about your plans such as if you intend to do a different type of medical work or change your province of work.

If you are closing your practice but want to continue practising medicine, even on a limited basis, you must maintain your licence as well as your CMPA membership.

If you are practising under an employment or contractual arrangement with a hospital, health authority, research organization, or government agency, review your contract or service agreement and contact your personal legal counsel to understand your responsibilities with respect to your retirement.

CMPA protection—Peace of mind in your retirement

Your eligibility for CMPA protection continues throughout your retirement. Because the CMPA provides occurrence-based protection, if a medical-legal difficulty arises for care you provided while a CMPA member, you remain eligible for assistance. Protection eligibility also extends to your estate, as long as the medical-legal matter pertains to clinical care you provided while you were a CMPA member.

Regardless of the circumstance of leaving a medical practice, advance preparation and notice benefits everyone. When a transition happens unexpectedly or if you encounter challenges when closing your practice, the CMPA’s physician advisors are available to provide advice.



References

  1. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario [Internet]. Toronto(CA): CPSO; 2007. Closing a Medical Practice [reviewed Sept. 2019; cited 2019 Nov 8]
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta [Internet]. Edmonton(CA): CPSA; 2014. Standard of Practice: Closing or Leaving a Medical Practice [cited 2019 Nov 8]

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Fermer ou quitter une pratique : Conseils pour les médecins de première ligne

Publié initialement en mars 2020
20-05-F

La décision de fermer ou de relocaliser une pratique médicale peut être difficile à prendre, en plus d’entraîner des conséquences pour les patients et les collègues. Il importe de gérer rigoureusement les divers aspects de la fermeture ou de la relocalisation d’une pratique clinique pour s’assurer de répondre aux besoins des patients et pour atténuer les risques médico-légaux.

Lorsqu’il est impossible pour un médecin de donner un préavis de départ (p. ex. maladie soudaine, décès ou toute autre circonstance imprévisible), les responsabilités liées à la fermeture d’une pratique peuvent être assumées par un associé, un collègue, un membre de la famille ou l’exécuteur de sa succession. Certains organismes de réglementation (Collèges) exigent que les médecins agissent de façon proactive en planifiant la marche à suivre pour faire face à la fermeture inattendue de leur pratique;1 ainsi, les médecins pourraient devoir établir de tels plans en collaboration avec leurs associés ou collègues.

Bien que tous les médecins doivent planifier la fermeture de leur pratique conformément aux politiques de leur Collège, le maintien de la continuité des soins constitue une considération particulièrement importante dans le cas des pratiques de soins de première ligne. Les médecins consultants doivent également s’assurer du transfert adéquat des soins des patients qui reçoivent un traitement ou nécessitent un suivi. Reportez-vous aux politiques et aux normes de votre Collège sur les responsabilités des médecins au moment de fermer ou de quitter votre pratique.

Avis aux patients

Les politiques des Collèges pourraient stipuler un nombre minimal requis de jours pour aviser les patients d’une fermeture planifiée. En Ontario et en Alberta, par exemple, un préavis d’au moins 90 jours est requis, sauf lorsque la fermeture est inattendue ou attribuable à des circonstances indépendantes de la volonté du médecin (dans ces cas, l’avis doit être remis dès que raisonnablement possible).1, 2

Généralement, les médecins doivent aviser leurs patients par le biais d’au moins une des voies suivantes : courrier, courriel, téléphone ou de vive voix lors d’une consultation. Consultez les politiques de votre Collège traitant des exigences particulières dans votre province ou territoire.

Transfert des dossiers médicaux

Les patients qui se trouvent un nouveau médecin pourraient demander le transfert de leur dossier médical. Vous devez faciliter ce processus après avoir reçu l’autorisation du patient. Le transfert devrait être exécuté dès que raisonnablement possible, ou conformément aux directives de votre Collège. Vous pouvez demander des frais appropriés pour ce service, qui peuvent être établis par les associations ou fédérations médicales provinciales ou territoriales, ou par des règlements.

Dans le cadre d’une pratique de groupe (telle une clinique), il faut savoir clairement qui conservera vos dossiers médicaux après votre départ. Vous pouvez vous assurer que ceci soit précisé dans une entente écrite au moment de vous joindre au groupe. Une telle entente vous permettra de continuer à avoir accès aux dossiers médicaux que vous avez établis, même après votre départ. Il importe de maintenir cet accès pour répondre à vos obligations professionnelles (Collège) et aux exigences en matière de conservation des dossiers. Ceci s’avérera indispensable dans l’éventualité de problèmes médico-légaux. Dès que la période de conservation d’un dossier est échue, vous devrez détruire le dossier original de manière sécurisée. Cette tâche peut être confiée à un fournisseur de services commerciaux et la date de la destruction doit être consignée.

Certains Collèges exigent que les médecins établissent un plan de relève et désignent un dépositaire pour assurer la conservation et l’accessibilité des dossiers lorsqu’ils ne sont plus en mesure de le faire eux-mêmes. En Alberta, par exemple, les médecins doivent mettre en place une entente d’échange d’information pour assurer la gestion des dossiers de patient lorsqu’un médecin cesse d’être le dépositaire des dossiers existants, et pour identifier le médecin qui prendra la relève.2

Les dossiers originaux, sous forme papier ou numérique, doivent être conservés pendant une période d’au moins 10 ans à partir de la date de la dernière inscription ou, pour les patients mineurs, sur une période de 10 ans à partir de la date à laquelle ils auront atteint la majorité. Pour obtenir plus d’information, lisez l’article « Que faire avec les dossiers cliniques? Conservation | accès | sécurité | entreposage | destruction | transfert ».

Continuité des soins aux patients

Les médecins doivent déployer des efforts raisonnables pour s’assurer que toute tâche en cours sera effectuée, revue, et qu’il y sera donné suite de manière appropriée. Songez à prendre des dispositions pour que des soins puissent être prodigués aux patients qui sont en attente de résultats ou qui nécessitent un suivi à la suite d’un examen, d’une investigation ou d’une intervention récente. Si certains de vos patients se trouvent à l’hôpital ou dans tout autre établissement de santé, transférez leurs soins à un autre médecin et consignez le tout dans le dossier médical.

Avis à des tiers

Lorsque vous planifiez quitter une pratique clinique, vous devez en aviser vos collègues, ainsi que les propriétaires et les employés de la clinique, en temps opportun. Vous devez aussi en informer les organisations de santé (p. ex. les hôpitaux, les centres médicaux spécialisés), d’autres professionnels de la santé (p. ex. les pharmaciens locaux), ainsi que l’organisme payeur de votre province ou territoire et vos associations ou fédérations professionnelles.

Certains Collèges exigent que les médecins les avisent de la fermeture de leur pratique médicale, qu’ils conservent ou non leur permis d’exercice.

Vous devriez communiquer avec l’ACPM et l’avertir de vos plans (p. ex. si vous prévoyez effectuer un autre type de travail médical ou changer de province de travail).

Si vous fermez votre pratique, mais que vous souhaitez continuer à exercer la médecine, même de façon restreinte, vous devez conserver votre permis d’exercice et votre adhésion à l’ACPM.

Si vous exercez à titre d’employé ou dans le cadre de dispositions contractuelles avec un hôpital, une autorité en matière de santé, un organisme de recherche ou une agence gouvernementale, examinez votre contrat ou entente de service et communiquez avec votre avocat pour bien comprendre vos responsabilités en ce qui concerne votre retraite.

Protection de l’ACPM – Tranquillité d’esprit pendant la retraite

Votre admissibilité à la protection de l’ACPM se poursuit tout au long de votre retraite. L’ACPM offre en effet une protection fondée sur la survenance de l’événement, ce qui signifie qu’un membre est admissible à l’assistance de l’ACPM dans le cas de problèmes médico-légaux découlant d’un acte professionnel posé pendant qu’il était membre de l’Association. Votre succession est également admissible à une protection, tant et aussi longtemps que l’instance en cause porte sur des soins que vous avez prodigués pendant votre adhésion à l’ACPM.

Peu importe les circonstances entourant la fin d’une pratique médicale, toutes les personnes touchées bénéficieront de préparatifs et d’un préavis. Lorsqu’une transition survient inopinément ou si vous faites face à des obstacles au moment de mettre fin à votre pratique, n’oubliez pas que vous avez accès aux médecins conseils de l’ACPM.



Références

  1. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario [En ligne]. Toronto(CA): CPSO; 2007. Closing a Medical Practice [révisé en septembre 2019; cité le 8 novembre 2019]
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta [En ligne]. Edmonton(CA): CPSA; 2014. Standard of Practice: Closing or Leaving a Medical Practice [cité le 8 novembre 2019]

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.