■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

Why do you need to know? A balancing act for accessing personal health information

Close-up of a young woman intently studying computer screens displaying medical information

Published: September 2020
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
20-10-E

Physicians and other healthcare providers need to access personal health information in the course of providing care for patients. Indeed, timely access to relevant information is essential for clinical management. The information may also be needed for quality improvement and educational purposes, or to provide evidence in the event of medical-legal difficulties. While there are potentially many valid reasons to access patient health information, that access has limits. Accessing a patient’s personal health information for unauthorized purposes or by unauthorized individuals is a breach of patient privacy, which may result in a privacy commissioner investigation or complaint to a regulatory authority (College) or a hospital.

Dr. Dennis Desai, a senior physician advisor at the CMPA, understands the information needs of physicians, while cautioning them to be aware of the requirement to respect patients’ privacy rights. “There is, quite understandably, a fair amount of confusion among physicians and others about what exactly constitutes a privacy breach with regard to patient health records. As physicians, it’s a challenge to provide effective medical care and at the same time keep up with evolving privacy requirements,” says Dr. Desai. But, he adds, there is some good news: “While physicians run the risk of criticism and sanctions for improperly accessing patient information, privacy commissioners are more interested in improving the system and preventing recurrences than in issuing penalties.”

When is viewing a medical record a breach of patient privacy?

Viewing a patient record to provide care and doing so out of curiosity are not equal propositions. For example, accessing your daughter’s friend’s medical history out of parental curiosity would generally be considered “snooping” and would likely constitute a privacy breach.

Physicians may at times have an interest to follow up with patients for the purposes of learning and professional development. Consider, for example, an emergency physician who treats a patient with head trauma but does not have any further involvement in the patient’s ongoing care. Several weeks later, she accesses the patient’s chart to review the subsequent treating information and to confirm whether she had provided appropriate care. In this scenario, the emergency physician is no longer in the patient’s circle of care and has no apparent need to know this information. “This is where some confusion often comes in. While this may not be an instance of snooping, such access might contravene privacy rules in some, though not all, provinces,” says Dr. Desai. Indeed, the legislation in some provinces, such as Ontario, permits access to patient health information for specified purposes such as quality improvement reviews. Nevertheless, physicians may wish to consult with the CMPA prior to accessing past patients’ records when there is no ongoing treating relationship or authorization from either the hospital or the patient.

Who controls access to patient health information?

Physicians may regard patient health information as theirs to use in the course of providing clinical care, guided by their professional judgment to determine what constitutes appropriate use of such information. Unfortunately, this approach overlooks the fact that individual patients have the right to determine who may access their health information and under what circumstances. Patients can go further, placing conditions or restrictions on which health providers or others can access their information.

“The electronic medical record has put information at our fingertips, which is good, but also brought about new concerns around privacy and information security. The ease of access must be balanced against the health information privacy legislation at the federal level and in each province and territory. These rules impose limits on access to and control of information in medical records,” Dr. Desai observes.

Information will likely be handled differently depending on whether a physician is working in a solo office practice or hospital, and how group or clinic practices are set up (i.e. whether individual patients are associated with the practice generally or with each physician). In any case, the custodian (trustee) of the information, whoever that is, is generally obliged to acquiesce to the patient’s wishes unless other legal authorization for the release of information applies.

Office practice

In a solo office practice, the physician is the information custodian and therefore controls access to medical records. The physician has a duty to protect patients’ privacy and maintain the confidentiality of patients’ personal information. These obligations also extend to a physician’s office staff.

As part of managing office staff, consider the following safeguards:

  • Require each staff member to sign a confidentiality agreement that details responsibilities concerning patient privacy. It is a good idea to renew the agreement on a regular basis.
  • Have in place a written privacy policy pursuant to the relevant provincial or territorial legislation, and ensure appropriate training is provided to staff, electronic medical record (EMR) vendors, and others on privacy procedures.
  • Communicate to staff that they must obtain a patient’s or substitute decision-maker’s consent before releasing personal health information to the patient’s family members or a third party.
  • Remind staff that they may access a patient’s record only if they have a need to know, such as supporting the provision of healthcare services or for other approved purposes including quality improvement reviews.

Shared practice

In a shared practice such as a hospital or clinic, the organization is typically the information custodian with access control over medical records. Alternatively, if the physicians maintain patient rosters and records separately, the individual physicians may be the custodians of their patients’ records in a manner similar to a solo office practice.

Institutions typically grant physicians access to patients’ medical records for the purposes of providing clinical care. If physicians wish to access a patient’s information after their involvement in providing care has ended, these physicians should request access from the institution if such access is not already allowed. These purposes can include quality improvement reviews as well as teaching and self-directed learning. If the institution does not allow access to a medical record for a desired purpose, the physician or other care provider may turn to the patient for the necessary consent. Physicians may want to encourage their institution or clinic to develop a privacy policy, if one does not already exist, that clarifies permitted access to patient records for quality improvement purposes, teaching, or for responding to a College or hospital complaint.

Consider the following before accessing records outside of an existing doctor-patient relationship or other authorized purpose:

  • Seek permission from the institution, and be forthcoming about your reasons for requesting access to a patient’s chart.
  • If access to records is ongoing and recurrent, such as for M&M rounds, ensure the institution is aware and approves of this use, and determine whether it is permitted by privacy legislation in your province or territory.
  • Do not assume that past consent for the provision of care extends to consent to access a patient’s chart indefinitely, particularly if you are no longer involved in the care of the patient.
  • Be aware that built-in audit controls of EMR systems may automatically detect each instance of access to a record. Be prepared to justify any access that is not required for the provision of clinical care.
  • Become familiar with any legal contract (e.g. data sharing agreement, or inter-physician agreement among a group of physicians) that applies to your use of an EMR system. (See the Electronic Record Handbook [PDF] for more information.)
  • While legislation generally allows you to access relevant medical records in the event you receive a College or hospital complaint or a legal action, discuss your information needs with your institution or clinic, and contact the CMPA before accessing the records.

The bottom line

Before you access the medical record of a patient for whom you are not currently providing care, ask yourself: “Does the information custodian approve of the access for my purposes?” and “Is access legally permissible according to the health information legislation in my province or territory?” Your risk of breaching the patient’s privacy will be reduced if you can answer both of these questions in the affirmative. If you have questions or concerns, contact the CMPA for individual advice.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Obligations et responsabilités :

Les attentes vis-à-vis des médecins

Les dossiers médicaux : qui peut avoir accès aux renseignements et à quel moment?

Gros plan d’une jeune femme étudiant intensément des écrans d’ordinateur affichant des renseignements médicaux

Publié : septembre 2020
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
20-10-F

Les médecins et autres professionnels de la santé doivent accéder aux renseignements personnels sur la santé des patients pour prodiguer des soins. En fait, un accès opportun aux renseignements pertinents s’avère essentiel pour la prise en charge thérapeutique. Ce type d’information peut aussi être requis dans le cadre d’évaluations de l’amélioration de la qualité et d’activités éducatives, ou encore comme preuve dans l’éventualité de problèmes médico-légaux. Bien qu’il y ait de nombreuses raisons validant l’accès aux renseignements sur la santé des patients, cet accès a des limites. L’accès à ces renseignements, à des fins ou par des personnes non autorisées, constitue une atteinte à la vie privée pouvant mener à une enquête du commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, une plainte auprès de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) ou une plainte intrahospitalière.

Le Dr Dennis Desai, médecin-conseil sénior à l’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM), comprend que les médecins ont besoin d’avoir accès à ces renseignements, mais leur rappelle qu’ils ont l’obligation d’en assurer la confidentialité. « Il existe beaucoup de confusion chez les médecins et autres professionnels sur ce qui constitue précisément une atteinte à la vie privée à l’égard des dossiers médicaux des patients, ce qui est assez compréhensible. C’est un défi, pour les médecins, de prodiguer des soins médicaux de façon efficace tout en demeurant au fait des exigences en matière de protection des renseignements personnels », explique le Dr Desai. Il ajoute qu’il y a de bonnes nouvelles : « Bien que les médecins risquent de s’exposer à des critiques et à des sanctions s’ils accèdent de façon inappropriée à des renseignements concernant les patients, les commissaires à la protection de la vie privée s’intéressent davantage à l’amélioration du système et à la prévention des récidives qu’à l’imposition de sanctions. »

Dans quelles circonstances la consultation d’un dossier médical porte-t-elle atteinte à la vie privée?

Consulter le dossier d’un patient pour prodiguer des soins ou le faire par curiosité ne revient pas à la même chose. Par exemple, lire les antécédents médicaux des amis de votre fille, parce que vous êtes curieux comme parent, sera généralement interprété comme du « fouinage » et constituerait vraisemblablement une atteinte à la vie privée.

Parfois, les médecins peuvent s’intéresser au suivi de certains patients à des fins d’apprentissage et de développement professionnel. Prenez le cas, par exemple d’une médecin d’urgence qui traite un patient ayant subi un traumatisme crânien, mais qui ne participe pas ensuite aux soins continus de ce patient. Plusieurs semaines plus tard, elle consulte le dossier de ce patient pour passer en revue les traitements subséquents et confirmer si elle a prodigué les soins appropriés. Dans ce scénario, la médecin d’urgence ne fait plus partie du cercle de soins du patient et elle n’a apparemment pas besoin de connaître ces renseignements. « C’est là que réside souvent la confusion. Bien qu’il ne s’agisse vraisemblablement pas d’un cas de fouinage, un tel accès pourrait aller à l’encontre des règlements sur la protection de la vie privée dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires », précise le Dr Desai. En effet, la législation dans certaines provinces (p. ex. en Ontario) permet l’accès aux renseignements sur la santé des patients dans des buts particuliers, entre autres, les évaluations en matière d’amélioration de la qualité. Néanmoins, les médecins devraient consulter l’ACPM avant d’accéder aux dossiers d’anciens patients lorsqu’il n’y a pas de relation médecin-patient ni d’autorisation de l’hôpital ou du patient.

Qui surveille l’accès aux renseignements sur la santé des patients?

Les médecins peuvent estimer qu’ils sont en droit d’accéder à des renseignements sur la santé des patients comme bon leur semble dans le cadre de soins cliniques; ils se fondent sur leur jugement professionnel pour déterminer ce qui constitue une utilisation appropriée de cette information. Malheureusement, cette approche ne tient pas compte du fait que chaque patient a le droit de préciser qui aura accès à ses renseignements sur la santé et dans quelles circonstances. Le patient peut aussi imposer des conditions ou des restrictions quant aux professionnels de la santé et autres intervenants qui peuvent avoir accès à ses renseignements.

« Le dossier médical électronique met l’information à notre portée, ce qui est utile, mais soulève aussi de nouvelles préoccupations en ce qui a trait à la protection et à la sécurité des renseignements personnels. La facilité d’accès doit être pondérée en fonction des lois relatives à la protection des renseignements sur la santé des patients, tant à l’échelon fédéral que provincial ou territorial. Ces règles imposent des limites quant à l’accès et à la surveillance des renseignements contenus dans les dossiers médicaux », fait remarquer le Dr Desai.

L’information sera probablement traitée différemment selon que le médecin exerce en cabinet privé ou en milieu hospitalier, et selon la manière dont les pratiques de groupe ou les cliniques sont constituées (c.-à-d. si chaque patient est associé à la clinique dans son ensemble ou à un médecin en particulier). Dans tous les cas, le dépositaire de l’information, quel qu’il soit, doit généralement acquiescer aux souhaits du patient, sauf si une autre autorisation légale de divulgation de cette information ne s’applique.

Pratique en cabinet

Dans un cabinet individuel, le médecin est le dépositaire de l’information. Il gère donc l’accès aux dossiers médicaux et a l’obligation légale de protéger la vie privée de ses patients, ainsi que l’obligation déontologique et professionnelle de préserver la confidentialité des renseignements personnels de ceux-ci. Ces obligations s’étendent aussi au personnel de son cabinet.

Dans le cadre de la gestion du personnel d’un cabinet, envisagez les mesures suivantes :

  • Exigez que chaque membre du personnel signe une entente de confidentialité qui décrit les responsabilités concernant la protection des renseignements personnels des patients. Il est souhaitable de renouveler cette entente de façon régulière.
  • Ayez une politique écrite en matière de protection de la vie privée conformément à la législation provinciale ou territoriale appropriée; veillez également à ce que le personnel, les fournisseurs de systèmes de dossier médical électronique (DMÉ) et les autres intervenants reçoivent une formation appropriée sur les procédures relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels.
  • Informez les employés qu’ils doivent obtenir le consentement du patient ou du décideur remplaçant avant de transmettre des renseignements personnels sur la santé à un proche ou à un tiers.
  • Rappelez à vos employés qu’ils ne peuvent consulter le dossier d’un patient que s’ils ont besoin de renseignements, que ce soit pour le soutien de la prestation des soins ou encore à d’autres fins légitimes, y compris les évaluations en matière d’amélioration de la qualité.

Pratique de groupe

Au sein d’une pratique de groupe (p. ex. un hôpital ou une clinique), l’organisation est généralement la dépositaire de l’information et c’est elle qui surveille l’accès aux dossiers médicaux. En revanche, si chacun des médecins de l’établissement conserve sa propre liste de patients et ses propres dossiers, ces médecins pourraient être les dépositaires des dossiers de leurs patients respectifs, comme s’ils exerçaient en cabinet individuel.

En général, les établissements autorisent les médecins à accéder aux dossiers médicaux des patients lorsqu’ils prodiguent des soins cliniques. Si des médecins ne font plus partie du cercle de soins d’un patient, ils devraient confirmer si cet accès aux renseignements de ce dernier (à des fins, entre autres, d’évaluation en matière d’amélioration de la qualité, d’enseignement et d’apprentissage autodirigé) est toujours autorisé par l’établissement. Si l’établissement ne permet pas l’accès à un dossier médical aux fins souhaitées, le médecin ou le professionnel de la santé peut alors se tourner vers le patient pour obtenir le consentement nécessaire. Les médecins pourraient encourager leur établissement ou leur clinique à élaborer une politique en matière de protection des renseignements personnels, s’il n’en existe pas déjà une, afin de clarifier l’accès permis aux dossiers des patients à des fins d’évaluation de la qualité, d’enseignement, ou pour répondre à une plainte auprès du Collège ou une plainte intrahospitalière.

Considérez les mesures suivantes avant d’accéder à des dossiers s’il n’existe pas de relation médecin-patient ou si c’est pour d’autres fins que celles qui sont autorisées :

  • Obtenez l’autorisation de votre établissement, et faites preuve de transparence quant aux raisons pour lesquelles vous devez avoir accès au dossier d’un patient.
  • Si l’accès aux dossiers est requis de façon continue et récurrente (p. ex. pour les revues de mortalité et de morbidité), assurez-vous que l’établissement est au courant de cette utilisation et qu’il l’approuve, puis déterminez si elle est autorisée par la législation sur la protection de la vie privée de votre province ou territoire.
  • Ne tenez pas pour acquis qu’un consentement antérieur à la prestation de soins établit le consentement à l’accès au dossier du patient pour une période indéterminée, surtout si vous ne participez plus aux soins du patient.
  • Sachez que les systèmes intégrés d’audit des dossiers médicaux électroniques pourraient détecter automatiquement chaque accès à un dossier. Assurez-vous de pouvoir justifier tout accès non requis pour la prestation de soins cliniques.
  • Familiarisez-vous avec tout contrat légal (p. ex. entente de partage des données, entente entre médecins au sein d’une pratique de groupe) associé à l’utilisation d’un système de DME. (Consultez le Guide sur les dossiers électroniques [PDF] pour en savoir davantage.)
  • Bien que les lois permettent généralement d’avoir accès aux dossiers médicaux appropriés dans l’éventualité d’une plainte au Collège ou d’une plainte intrahospitalière, discutez de l’information dont vous aurez besoin avec votre établissement ou votre clinique et communiquez avec l’ACPM avant d’accéder à ces dossiers.

En bref

Avant d’accéder au dossier médical d’un patient auquel vous ne prodiguez plus de soins, posez-vous les questions suivantes : « Est-ce que le dépositaire des renseignements approuve l’accès pour mes besoins? » « L’accès est-il légalement permis en vertu de la législation sur les renseignements médicaux dans ma province ou mon territoire? ». Le risque d’atteinte à la vie privée du patient sera réduit si vous pouvez répondre de façon affirmative à ces deux énoncés. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, communiquez avec l’ACPM pour recevoir des conseils personnalisés.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.