■ Physician-team:

Leveraging the power of collaboration to foster safe care

Collaborative care

A diverse team of doctors joining their hands together in unity.

Working across disciplines to provide safe care

Published: April 2021
12 minutes

Introduction

Most healthcare—both inpatient and outpatient—is delivered by teams of healthcare professionals.

Terms used to describe care provided by teams include inter-professional care, collaborative care, shared care and team care. When teams work collaboratively in an interdisciplinary setting, they bring their unique skills and knowledge to provide care and assist patients and families make sound decisions.

Good collaborative care improves the distribution of workload, reduces burnout, and most importantly improves the quality of outcomes and patient experience.

Well-functioning teams:

  • provide patients greater access to the most appropriate providers to manage specific clinical problems
  • enhance analysis and understanding of clinical problems
  • provide continuity and coordination of care by different providers

In patient-centred models of care, the composition of a team is driven by the needs of the patient. The patient is seen not only as a recipient of services but as an integral part of the team, with the right to be involved and to participate in decisions about their care.

Effective teams:

  • interact within a culture of learning and continuous improvement
  • respond to change
  • communicate in a psychologically safe manner
  • are focused on what is best for the patient

Risks to patient safety may arise out of changes in the composition of healthcare teams. When healthcare providers do not know each other, the value of mutual respect and communication become apparent, as does the importance of creating reliable collaborative structures in the design of team-based care.

Good practice guidance

From a patient safety point of view, well-functioning teams offer great promise to deliver superior care. Poorly functioning teams, and poorly communicating teams in particular, increase safety risks for patients. In order to deliver safe medical care, teams must know and understand what is going on around them. Effective collaborative care is rooted in both psychological safety and team situational awareness.

Team situational awareness refers to the collective understanding of unfolding situations. It is critical for effective decision making and guiding the coordination of care. Individual team members scan the environment for new information and new developments and share these with the team. The sharing of these multiple perspectives creates a shared mental model to address the specific patient needs.

The foundation for this effective sharing of information is a culture of psychological safety, which empowers core team behaviours that create and maintain situational awareness. Shared situational awareness is difficult to achieve in a culture of hierarchy or fear.

Collapse section

The Canadian Interprofessional Health Collaborative, a national hub fostering collaborative healthcare practice, has identified six core competencies for effective teams:

  • Communication
  • Patient-centredness
  • Role clarification
  • Collaborative leadership
  • Team functioning
  • Conflict resolution skills

Communication

Effective team communication can help improve outcomes for patients.

Effective team communication includes such practices as:

  • using structured communication tools
  • employing strategies to improve handovers
  • engaging in huddles
  • using structured briefings and debriefings (such as the surgical safety checklist)
  • thinking out loud
  • empowering others to speak up

Communication within teams is challenging in the following situations:

  • team members do not actively listen to each other, the patient, or the family
  • team members have different communication styles or do not share a common vocabulary and misunderstand each other
  • there is uncertainty or confusion about the roles and responsibilities of team members
  • there is an assumption that a consultant will understand what is wanted, without an explicit question or explanation of the clinical concerns
  • hierarchies or behaviours interfere with conveying important information about the patient's medical condition and status, or issues in care

Collaborative teams employ the skills of the most appropriate healthcare provider for the care required. When care is shared with other providers, speaking up and listening up are ways that team members can enhance patient safety. A team culture that leverages individual situational awareness and enables cross-monitoring principles can promote continuous learning and contribute to safe care.

Patient-centred communication

  • patients are considered integral partners on the team
  • information is shared with patients and families (with the patient’s permission) in a manner that is always respectful, patient-centred, and encourages active participation in decision-making
  • patients are listened to, so team members fully understand their needs for care
  • patients are encouraged to speak up

Dealing with conflict

Conflict is inevitable in our professional lives. Conflict can arise with patients, families, physician colleagues, other healthcare professionals, administrators, and others. Well-managed conflict can lead to the discovery of broader perspectives or the identification of constructive changes. It can also provide opportunities to learn and to improve communication, processes, and interactions. By contrast, mismanaged conflict can undermine the creation or maintenance of a collaborative care team and a psychologically safe environment, and can adversely affect the safety of medical care.

Active listening, agreeing, acknowledging, and apologizing are communication skills that can de-escalate conflict.

Professionalism demands that team members deal with each other with respect and courtesy at all times. Disparaging remarks about team members should not be made nor should a team member be belittled or embarrassed.

Collapse section

The composition of collaborative care teams depends on patient needs, available resources and the environment in which care is provided. Teams often comprise a wide range of professionals, both regulated and unregulated, including trainees, physician assistants, nurses, pharmacists, and physiotherapists. Teams may also include local community health representatives, health and social service providers, family service workers, aestheticians, mental health workers, grief counsellors, clergy, and traditional healers, elders, and band counsellors.

Clarifying roles and responsibilities

Scope of practice is the range of healthcare tasks, decisions, or activities that a regulated healthcare professional is allowed to perform by law and the relevant provincial/territorial licensing authority.

A scope of practice is a general boundary and does not necessarily imply that an individual provider has the knowledge, skills, or experience to safely perform all allowed activities within that boundary. Physicians and other healthcare providers should only practice in areas authorized by their scope of practice and in which they are educated, skilled and experienced. There are also institutional directives that may limit the activities of certain types of providers in their local context, even though these providers may have a potential larger scope of practice in other environments. These decisions are dependent upon each institution.

Healthcare professionals should understand and respect their own scope of practice and those of other team members. Scopes of practice can vary according to province or territory as well as from institution to institution and are continually evolving over time.

  • Tasks that fall within a physician’s scope of practice may be delegated as appropriate to both regulated and unregulated team members, provided the physician is satisfied that the team member has the appropriate training and supervision.
    • Hospitals or licensing authorities may impose additional requirements for non-physicians to carry out certain restricted activities so physicians should be aware of any relevant policies that place further limits on delegation.
  • Generally, tasks that fall within a physician’s scope of practice do not need to be delegated or supervised by a physician when that task is also part of the scope of practice of another team member who will be completing the task. If a physician does delegate or supervise where it is not required, they will assume responsibility for the delegation and for appropriately supervising the delegated task.

The central concern in framing collaborative care should always be patients’ best interests, with consideration also given to what works best in the team’s particular circumstances. When each member understands their own role and the roles of the other team members, they can be clear on their own accountability and share care appropriately.

  • Where scopes of practice within a team overlap, the roles and responsibilities of each member should be clear and well-documented. Developing sound policies and procedures to guide collaborative care is an important step in establishing consistency between providers within teams.
  • Each individual's role is defined by that person's training and competency as well as by institutional policy and the needs of the patient population served. All healthcare providers are generally expected to follow sound institutional policies, regardless of individual preferences or beliefs.
  • Trainees are an integral part of many teams and should contribute to care and be supervised at a level appropriate to their level of training. See also the “Delegation and supervision of trainees” section.

Highly reliable teams:

  • define and understand the roles and responsibilities of individual members of the team
  • know when tasks need to be delegated and/or supervised depending on the scopes of practice of individual team members and their training, experience and skills
  • maintain appropriate supervision of delegated tasks
  • understand how decision-making occurs and know how to raise concerns effectively and professionally
  • distribute tasks appropriately
  • understand what knowledge and skills need to be developed
  • provide new team members with a proper orientation
  • foster psychological safety
  • incorporate learning and continuous improvement as part of their work

Collapse section

The most responsible physician (or provider) (MRP) is typically the leader of collaborative care for their patient in institutional settings. The MRP is the provider who has overall responsibility for directing, coordinating care, and managing a patient at a specific point in time. It is important to avoid ambiguity and confusion, especially when scopes of practice within a team overlap. There should be open communication and clear documentation of the role of team members, especially if the MRP changes.

Good team leaders:

  • serve as role models for teamwork, provide motivation, and foster cohesion within the team
  • structure and regulate team processes and effective information sharing
  • consult and listen
  • prepare for the unexpected
  • are aware of current situations (maintain and promote "situational awareness")
  • foster learning from near-misses and patient safety incidents
  • are fair in management of patient safety incidents
  • incorporate continuous learning in everyday activities

In well-functioning healthcare teams, the desire for learning and improvement is visible. Leaders can build such teams by empowering providers to do what is necessary to promote safe medical care without fear of unfair reprisals. Leaders can create a just culture in an environment characterized by appropriate accountability, and thereby set the stage for highly reliable care delivery.

Collapse section

A robust policy and procedure framework helps reduce ambiguity and confusion and supports collaborative care. The framework should ensure the team has sufficient resources to achieve the desired health outcomes and that there is a quality improvement mechanism to monitor the team’s functioning in the context of processes and health outcomes.

Policies governing scope of practice and collaborative care should be reviewed regularly to consider and incorporate best practices, evolving institutional realities, as well as reviews of near-misses and patient safety incidents (accidents in Québec). To decrease clinical risk for patients and medico-legal risk for individual providers, teams can:

  • clearly define the roles and responsibilities of each team member, based on their scopes of practice and also the individual's knowledge, skill, and ability
  • establish how health care decisions will be made
  • establish a continuous quality improvement process
  • create processes that install the patient as an integral member of the team
  • establish a process to manage patient expectations and respond to patient concerns

Collapse section

Checklist: Collaborative care

Working together to improve the quality of patient care

Individual team members are responsible and accountable for the care they provide to patients.

As a member of a well-functioning team, have you:

  • Confirmed your role on the team?
  • Understood the roles and responsibilities of individual team members, based on their scopes of practice and on each person's knowledge, skill, and ability?
  • Clarify who is responsible for care delivery decisions?
  • Communicated clearly and as often as necessary?
  • Contributed to the creation and maintenance of a culture of psychological safety?
  • Documented your care and the rationale for it clearly, to help others make good decisions and ensure continuity of care?
  • Participated in continuous improvement processes to review team function and patient outcomes?

Each team member should be able to answer the following questions:

  • What are the anticipated health outcomes for the patient?
  • Am I ensuring the patient is an integral member of the team?
  • How will the team manage expectations of patients and respond to their concerns?
  • Is a quality improvement mechanism being used to monitor the functioning of the team and health outcomes?
  • Is a policy and procedural framework in place to define and support the team?
  • Does the team have sufficient resources to achieve the desired health outcomes?
  • Who will coordinate care, manage the team, and ensure efficient and effective communication among team members and across teams?

Collapse section


CanMEDS: Collaborator, Professional

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Médecin – équipe :

Mettre en valeur le pouvoir de la collaboration pour favoriser la sécurité des soins

Soins interprofessionnels

Une équipe diversifiée de médecins qui joignent leurs mains en signe d’unité.

Travail multidisciplinaire pour prodiguer des soins sécuritaires

Publié : avril 2021
12 minutes

Introduction

La plupart des soins de santé, tant en milieu hospitalier qu’en consultation externe, sont prodigués par des équipes de professionnels de la santé.

Les termes utilisés pour décrire les soins fournis par les équipes sont les suivants : soins interprofessionnels, soins concertés, soins partagés et soins en équipe. Lorsque les équipes travaillent en collaboration dans un cadre interdisciplinaire, elles mettent à profit leurs connaissances et compétences particulières pour prodiguer des soins et aider les patients et les familles à prendre des décisions éclairées.

Les soins concertés améliorent la répartition de la charge de travail, réduisent le risque d’épuisement professionnel et, surtout, améliorent la qualité des résultats et l’expérience du patient.

Les équipes hautement fonctionnelles :

  • offrent aux patients un meilleur accès au professionnel de la santé le plus compétent pour traiter des problèmes cliniques particuliers;
  • améliorent l’analyse et la compréhension des problèmes cliniques;
  • favorisent la continuité et la coordination des soins prodigués par différents professionnels de la santé.

Dans les modèles de soins axés sur le patient, la composition de l’équipe repose sur les besoins du patient. Le patient est non seulement perçu comme un bénéficiaire de services, mais aussi comme un membre à part entière de l’équipe, qui a le droit de prendre part aux décisions relatives à ses soins.

Les équipes efficaces :

  • interagissent dans une culture d’apprentissage et d’amélioration continue;
  • réagissent au changement;
  • communiquent de manière à assurer la sécurité psychologique;
  • visent ce qui est le mieux pour le patient.

Les risques pour la sécurité du patient peuvent découler du roulement de personnel au sein d’une équipe traitante.  Lorsque les membres d’une équipe ne se connaissent pas, l’importance du respect mutuel et de la communication fait surface tout comme celle de mettre en place des structures de collaboration fiables lors de la conception d’un modèle de soins en équipe.

Conseils en matière de bonnes pratiques

Du point de vue de la sécurité des patients, les équipes hautement fonctionnelles sont fort susceptibles d’offrir des soins de qualité supérieure. Les équipes peu fonctionnelles, en particulier celles qui communiquent mal, augmentent les risques pour la sécurité du patient. Pour offrir des soins médicaux sécuritaires, les équipes doivent savoir et comprendre ce qui se passe autour d’elles. Les soins concertés efficaces s’enracinent dans la sécurité psychologique et la conscience situationnelle de l’équipe.

La conscience situationnelle de l’équipe fait référence à la compréhension collective de la situation en évolution. Elle est essentielle à la prise de décisions efficace et à la coordination des soins. Chaque membre de l’équipe analyse l’environnement en restant à l’affût de nouveaux renseignements et de nouveaux développements, qu’il partage alors avec l’équipe. Le partage de ces multiples perspectives crée un modèle mental commun qui aide à répondre aux besoins spécifiques du patient.

Le partage efficace de l’information repose sur une culture de sécurité psychologique, laquelle renforce les principaux comportements d’équipe qui permettent d’établir et de maintenir la conscience situationnelle. La conscience situationnelle commune est difficile à instaurer dans une culture où règne la hiérarchie ou la peur.

Cacher la section

Le Consortium pancanadien pour l’interprofessionnalisme en santé, un pôle national qui favorise la prestation de soins concertés, a déterminé les six compétences essentielles des équipes efficaces :

  • Communication
  • Soins axés sur le patient
  • Clarification des rôles
  • Leadership axé sur la collaboration
  • Fonctionnement en équipe
  • Compétences en résolution de conflits

Communication

La communication d’équipe efficace peut améliorer les résultats du patient.

Voici quelques pratiques qui favorisent la communication d’équipe efficace :

  • utiliser des outils de communication structurée;
  • recourir à des stratégies pour améliorer les transferts de soins;
  • participer aux réunions d’équipe;
  • mettre en place des réunions d’information et des bilans structurés (comme la liste de vérification d’une chirurgie sécuritaire);
  • réfléchir à voix haute;
  • encourager les autres à parler franchement et à faire entendre leur voix.

La communication au sein des équipes est difficile dans les situations suivantes :

  • Les membres de l’équipe ne font pas preuve d’écoute active entre eux ni envers le patient ou la famille.
  • Les membres de l’équipe ont des styles de communication différents ou n’utilisent pas un vocabulaire commun et se comprennent mal entre eux.
  • Il y a de l’incertitude ou de la confusion quant aux rôles et aux responsabilités des membres de l’équipe.
  • Il est présumé qu’un consultant comprendra ce que l’équipe veut savoir, sans question explicite ni explication des préoccupations cliniques.
  • La hiérarchie ou des comportements nuisent à la transmission de renseignements importants sur le problème et l’état de santé du patient ou sur des problèmes relatifs aux soins.

Les équipes qui travaillent en collaboration utilisent les compétences du professionnel le mieux placé pour prodiguer les soins requis. Lorsque la prise en charge est partagée avec d’autres professionnels, les membres de l’équipe doivent parler franchement et écouter les autres pour améliorer la sécurité du patient. L’instauration d’une culture d’équipe, qui favorise la conscience situationnelle individuelle et les principes de surveillance croisée, contribue à l’apprentissage continu et à la sécurité des soins.

Communication axée sur le patient

  • Le patient est considéré comme un partenaire à part entière dans l’équipe.
  • L’information est partagée avec le patient et la famille (avec la permission du patient) d’une manière toujours respectueuse et axée sur le patient, en encourageant la participation active à la prise de décision.
  • Les patients sont écoutés de sorte que les membres de l’équipe comprennent bien leurs besoins en matière de soins.
  • Les patients sont encouragés à parler franchement.

Gestion des conflits

Les conflits sont inévitables dans la vie professionnelle. Des conflits peuvent notamment survenir avec des patients, des membres de la famille, des collègues médecins, d’autres professionnels de la santé et des administrateurs. Un conflit bien géré peut mener à la découverte d’autres perspectives ou à l’identification de changements constructifs, ce qui peut également fournir des occasions d’apprendre et d’améliorer la communication, les processus et les interactions. Par contre, un conflit mal géré peut nuire à la création ou au maintien d’une équipe de soins concertés et d’un environnement propice à la sécurité psychologique, et ainsi miner la sécurité des soins médicaux.

L’écoute active, l’expression de son accord, la reconnaissance et la présentation d’excuses sont des compétences en matière de communication qui aident à désamorcer les conflits.

Le professionnalisme exige que les membres de l’équipe se traitent avec respect et courtoisie en tout temps. Les propos désobligeants sur des membres de l’équipe n’ont pas lieu d’être, et personne dans l’équipe ne devrait être rabaissé ou humilié.

Cacher la section

La composition de l’équipe de soins concertés dépend des besoins du patient, des ressources disponibles et de l’environnement dans lequel les soins sont prodigués. Les équipes se composent souvent d’un large éventail de professionnels, réglementés ou non, notamment des apprenants, des adjoints au médecin, des infirmières, des pharmaciens et des physiothérapeutes. Les équipes peuvent aussi comprendre des représentants locaux en santé communautaire, des fournisseurs de soins de santé et de services sociaux, des travailleurs des services familiaux, des esthéticiennes, des travailleurs en santé mentale, des conseillers de personnes en deuil, des membres du clergé, des guérisseurs traditionnels, des anciens et des conseillers de bande.

Clarification des rôles et responsabilités

Le champ d’exercice est l’éventail des tâches, décisions ou activités relatives aux soins de santé qu’un professionnel de la santé réglementé peut exécuter en vertu de la loi et de l’organisme de réglementation provincial ou territorial compétent.

Le champ d’exercice est un cadre général et ne signifie pas nécessairement qu’un professionnel possède les connaissances, les compétences ou l’expérience nécessaires pour exécuter en toute sécurité l’ensemble des activités autorisées à l’intérieur de ce cadre. Les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé devraient uniquement exercer dans les domaines autorisés par leur champ d’exercice et dans lesquels ils ont la formation, les compétences et l’expérience nécessaires. Certains établissements peuvent avoir instauré des directives qui limitent les activités de certains types de professionnels dans leur contexte local, même si le champ d’exercice de ces professionnels peut être plus étendu dans d’autres milieux. Ces décisions sont propres à chaque établissement.

Les professionnels de la santé devraient comprendre et respecter leur propre champ d’exercice et celui des autres membres de l’équipe. Les champs d’exercice évoluent continuellement au fil du temps et peuvent varier selon la province ou le territoire et d’un établissement à l’autre.

  • Une tâche s’inscrivant dans le champ d’exercice d’un médecin peut être déléguée, au besoin, à un membre de l’équipe, réglementé ou non, à condition que le médecin ait l’assurance que cette personne possède la formation nécessaire et soit supervisée comme il se doit.
    • Les hôpitaux ou organismes de réglementation peuvent imposer des exigences supplémentaires aux non-médecins quant à l’exécution de certaines activités restreintes. Par conséquent, il y a lieu pour les médecins d’être au fait de toute politique pertinente qui impose des limites supplémentaires à la délégation.
  • En général, une tâche qui relève du champ d’exercice d’un médecin n’a pas à être déléguée ou supervisée par un médecin lorsqu’elle s’inscrit dans le champ d’exercice d’un autre membre de l’équipe qui exécutera la tâche. Si un médecin délègue ou supervise une tâche sans que ce soit nécessaire, il assumera la responsabilité liée à la délégation et à la supervision adéquate de la tâche déléguée.

L’enjeu principal de l’encadrement des soins concertés devrait toujours être le meilleur intérêt du patient, mais il faut aussi tenir compte de ce qui fonctionne le mieux selon les circonstances particulières de l’équipe. Lorsque chaque membre comprend son propre rôle et celui des autres membres de l’équipe, il peut clairement se responsabiliser et partager la prestation des soins comme il convient.

  • Lorsque les champs d’exercice se chevauchent dans une équipe, les rôles et les responsabilités de chaque membre devraient être clairement définis et bien documentés. L’élaboration de politiques et de procédures rigoureuses qui orientent les soins concertés est une étape importante pour assurer la cohérence entre les professionnels au sein des équipes.
  • Le rôle de chaque professionnel dépend de sa formation et de ses compétences, mais également des politiques de l’établissement et des besoins de la population desservie. Il est généralement attendu de tous les professionnels de la santé de suivre les politiques de l’établissement, peu importe leurs croyances ou préférences.
  • Les apprenants font partie intégrante de nombreuses équipes et devraient participer aux soins en étant supervisés dans une mesure qui correspond à leur niveau de formation. Voir aussi la section « Délégation et supervision des apprenants ».

Les équipes hautement fiables :

  • définissent et comprennent les rôles et responsabilités de chaque membre de l’équipe;
  • savent quand il faut déléguer ou superviser une tâche d’après le champ d’exercice, la formation, l’expérience et les compétences de chaque membre de l’équipe;
  • assurent la supervision appropriée des tâches déléguées;
  • comprennent comment les décisions sont prises et comment exprimer leurs préoccupations de façon efficace et professionnelle;
  • répartissent convenablement les tâches;
  • comprennent quelles connaissances et compétences doivent être développées;
  • fournissent aux nouveaux membres de l’équipe une orientation adaptée;
  • favorisent la sécurité psychologique;
  • intègrent l’apprentissage et l’amélioration continue dans le travail.

Cacher la section

Le médecin (ou professionnel) le plus responsable (MPR) mène généralement la prestation des soins concertés du patient dans le contexte d’un établissement. Le MPR assume la responsabilité globale de direction et coordination des soins et de prise en charge du patient à un moment précis. Il est important d’éviter toute ambiguïté ou confusion dans l’équipe, surtout lorsque les champs d’exercice se chevauchent. Il devrait y avoir une communication ouverte quant aux rôles de chaque membre de l’équipe, et ces rôles devraient être clairement documentés, en particulier en cas de changement du MPR.

Un bon chef d’équipe :

  • sert de modèle pour le travail d’équipe, motive les membres et favorise la cohésion au sein de l’équipe;
  • structure et régule les processus de l’équipe et le partage efficace de l’information;
  • consulte et écoute les autres;
  • se prépare aux situations imprévues;
  • connaît la situation actuelle (maintient et favorise la « conscience situationnelle »);
  • favorise l’apprentissage à partir des incidents évités de justesse et des incidents liés à la sécurité du patient;
  • est juste dans la gestion des incidents liés à la sécurité du patient;
  • intègre l’apprentissage continu aux activités quotidiennes.

Dans les équipes hautement fonctionnelles, la volonté d’apprendre et de s’améliorer est palpable. Les chefs peuvent bâtir de telles équipes en habilitant les professionnels de la santé à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour promouvoir la prestation de soins médicaux sécuritaires sans craindre des représailles injustes. Les chefs peuvent créer une culture juste dans un environnement caractérisé par une responsabilisation adéquate, et ainsi jeter les bases d’une prestation de soins hautement fiable.

Cacher la section

Un cadre de politiques et de procédures rigoureux réduit l’ambiguïté et la confusion en plus de soutenir les soins concertés. Le cadre devrait veiller à ce que l’équipe dispose de ressources suffisantes pour atteindre les résultats cliniques voulus et à ce qu’un mécanisme d’amélioration de la qualité soit en place pour surveiller le fonctionnement de l’équipe dans le contexte des processus et des résultats cliniques.

Les politiques régissant le champ d’exercice et les soins concertés devraient être examinées régulièrement pour prendre en compte et intégrer les pratiques exemplaires, l’évolution des réalités de l’établissement et les examens des incidents évités de justesse et des incidents liés à la sécurité des patients (accidents au Québec). Pour réduire le risque clinique des patients et les risques médico-légaux des professionnels, les équipes peuvent :

  • définir clairement les rôles et responsabilités de chaque membre de l’équipe d’après son champ d’exercice, ses connaissances, ses compétences et ses aptitudes;
  • déterminer comment les décisions relatives aux soins de santé seront prises;
  • établir un processus d’amélioration continue de la qualité;
  • créer des processus qui positionnent le patient comme un membre à part entière de l’équipe;
  • établir un processus pour gérer les attentes des patients et répondre à leurs préoccupations.

Cacher la section

Liste de vérification : Soins concertés

Travailler ensemble pour améliorer la qualité des soins

Chaque membre de l’équipe est responsable des soins qu’il prodigue au patient.

En tant que membre d’une équipe hautement fonctionnelle, avez-vous :

  • Confirmé votre rôle au sein de l’équipe?
  • Compris les rôles et les responsabilités de chaque membre de l’équipe, selon le champ d’exercice et les connaissances, compétences et aptitudes de chacun?
  • Désigné la personne responsable des décisions relatives à la prestation des soins?
  • Communiqué clairement et aussi souvent que nécessaire?
  • Contribué à la création et au maintien d’une culture propice à la sécurité psychologique?
  • Consigné clairement vos soins et la justification de ceux-ci pour aider les autres à prendre de bonnes décisions et à assurer la continuité des soins?
  • Participé aux processus d’amélioration continue pour examiner le fonctionnement de l’équipe et les résultats du patient?

Chaque membre de l’équipe devrait être en mesure de répondre aux questions suivantes :

  • Quels sont les résultats cliniques attendus pour le patient?
  • Est-ce que je m’assure que le patient est membre à part entière de l’équipe?
  • Comment l’équipe va-t-elle gérer les attentes du patient et répondre à ses inquiétudes?
  • L’équipe utilise-t-elle un mécanisme d’amélioration de la qualité pour surveiller le fonctionnement de l’équipe et les résultats cliniques?
  • Un cadre stratégique et méthodologique a-t-il été mis en place pour définir et soutenir l’équipe?
  • L’équipe dispose-t-elle de ressources suffisantes pour atteindre les résultats cliniques voulus?
  • Qui s’occupera de coordonner la prestation des soins, de diriger l’équipe et d’assurer une communication efficace et efficiente entre les membres de l’équipe et entre les équipes?

Cacher la section


CanMEDS: Collaborateur, Professionnel

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.