■ Professionalism and ethics:

Integrating professional duties, societal expectations and personal wellbeing

Professionalism

Physician and patient shaking hands with smiling resident in the background.

Upholding the values of the profession

Published: January 2021
5 minutes

Introduction

Professionalism is at the core of medical practice and forms the basis of medicine's contract with society. Patients need to know their doctor will uphold the values of the profession. They want clinically competent physicians who are also compassionate, altruistic, and trustworthy. Medical professionalism is the translation of the values of the profession into daily actions.

Attributes of professionalism 1 include:

  • Professional competence and continuing professional development/medical education
  • Honesty
  • Protecting confidentiality and privacy
  • Maintaining appropriate professional distance in relationships and respecting boundaries
  • Improving quality of care
  • Accepting professional responsibilities and accountabilities

Four key elements support medical professionalism and quality care 2

  1. Awareness of, and adherence to, standards of care
  2. Responsiveness to patients’ individual clinical and emotional needs
  3. Engagement to working in partnership with patients, colleagues, and administrators
  4. Acting with integrity and participating in the process of professionally-led regulation, including holding each other accountable for our actions.

It is important to develop, monitor, and reinforce good professional practices early in training. Studies have shown that a lack of professionalism on the part of a medical trainee can be predictive of future problems with medical regulatory authorities. 3,4

Cultivating professionalism in learners is an important aspect of any medical teacher’s work. Preceptors can play an important role in the development of professionalism by modeling professional behaviours to enable the development of appropriate skills and attitudes with both patients and colleagues. In addition, preceptors play a fundamental role in promoting professionalism by identifying a trainee’s concerning behaviours at the outset, and enacting targeted efforts to help trainees address those issues. The complexity of assessing and remediating professionalism issues for trainees remains a challenging area that offers an opportunity for faculty development and practice improvement. 5

Good practice guidance

The patient-physician relationship is at the heart of medicine. The central role of trust in the patient-physician relationship creates a fiduciary relationship. This means that physicians have an obligation to their patients to act with utmost good faith and never allow their personal interests to conflict with their professional duty. The hallmark of a fiduciary relationship is trust; the patient trusting that the physician, who has more power due to their expertise, clinical knowledge, and skill, will only act in the best interests and for the good of the patient. 6

Physicians seek to maintain their patients’ trust by embodying the following values:

  • Compassion – seeking to address their patients’ emotional and clinical needs
  • Altruism - placing the patient’s interests above their own even when it is difficult
  • Honesty – being truthful about all aspects of care, including when obtaining informed consent, providing informed discharge, and disclosing patient safety incidents
  • Integrity – practising with high moral and ethical standards, holding themselves accountable
  • Prudence – considering all relevant knowledge and circumstances that inform clinical decision making, while respecting each patient’s goals and values. 7

To preserve patient trust:

  • Protect the privacy and confidentiality of patients’ personal health information, sharing only enough information to benefit the patient, with those within the circle of care.
  • Obtain patients’ express consent to share information with those outside the circle of care.
  • Avoid any personal, public, or virtual conversations that could reasonably be seen as revealing confidential or identifying information, or as being disrespectful to patients, their families, or caregivers.

To show respect for patients’ cultural diversity and to provide culturally competent care:

  • Treat patients with dignity and respect.
  • Do not discriminate against anyone on the basis of age, disability, gender identity or expression, genetic characteristics, language, marital and family status, medical condition, national or ethnic origin, political affiliation, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, or socioeconomic status.

To communicate empathically:

  • Seek patient input.
  • Respect patient decisions.
  • Confirm patient understanding.

To act in patients’ and society’s best interests:

  • Focus on meeting patients’ needs in our decision making.
  • Strive to meet reasonable accommodation requests.
  • Provide appropriate assistance to any person who needs emergency medical care.
  • Effectively refer patients to another source for care if the physician’s personal moral beliefs will conflict with a patient’s needs.
  • Refer to your medical regulatory authority (College) policies to guide the process for terminating the physician-patient relationship when other options are not acceptable.

To maintain appropriate professional distance in the physician-patient relationship:

  • Avoid potential, perceived, and real conflicts of interest.
  • Do not enter into romantic relationships with patients (and even former patients depending on the circumstances).
  • Limit treatment of immediate family and those with whom the physician has a similarly close relationship to minor or emergency interventions, and only when another physician is not readily available.
  • Do not prescribe psychotropic medications to family and friends

Collapse section

Physicians who exhibit disruptive behaviour can adversely affect the safety of care by causing colleagues to fear interacting with them. This fear can lead to the development of unsafe workarounds and deviations from standards of care, policies or procedures.

Professionalism in collegial relationships implies assuming responsibility for our own behaviour and role in any conflict with colleagues. In professional relationships, colleagues are treated with respect and all communication (whatever the medium) is conscientious, dignified, and respectful.

To promote collegiality and healthy workplaces, incivility is not tolerated and is addressed early and justly. Team collaboration and shared accountability is fostered. Formal and informal mentorship and leadership opportunities are promoted.

Collapse section

Advocacy is an important role of physicians, who are expected to advocate for the well-being of communities and populations by striving to improve health outcomes and access to care, reducing health inequities and disparities in care, and promoting social accountability. In so doing, professionalism requires thoughtfulness, restraint, diplomacy, and consideration. The ease of use and uncensored nature of social media platforms can make the publication of unprofessional, hurtful, defamatory, or threatening comments too easy. Physicians must be mindful of the impact of their comments on their patients, colleagues, employers, and on the healthcare system at large.

Physicians recognize the social determinants of health, and the profession accepts responsibility to act in a way that promotes public and population health, health education, environmental determinants of health, and legislation affecting public and population health. This includes collaborative and respectful relationships with all communities and efforts to understand and implement the recommendations relevant to healthcare made by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

Physicians contribute, individually and in collaboration with others, to improving healthcare services and delivery to address systemic issues that affect the health of patients and of populations, with particular attention to disadvantaged, vulnerable, or underserved communities. 7

Collapse section

The increasingly busy and demanding Canadian healthcare environment has led to an unprecedented rise in the level of physician burnout. There is growing recognition that physician stress is also related to the conflict between the professional commitment to always put the needs of the patient first and the daily constraints providers face, which are beyond their control. 8

Providers are constantly balancing patient needs with lack of resources, technological challenges, financial constraints, and productivity metrics. This creates a double bind of being expected to focus on patient health while not having the system support to do so. Moral distress can result from these competing forces and over time, moral distress can become moral injury and burnout.

While individual physicians are accountable for making choices and adjusting their practice to optimize their wellness, physician wellness must also be promoted at the system level. It is imperative to devise healthcare systems that support individual choices to prioritize personal wellness and work-life balance, such as accommodating requests to work fewer hours where possible. The development of policies that encourage providers to seek help for themselves without fear of repercussion is paramount. To foster collegial workplaces, a just culture that promotes psychological safety should be cultivated. Addressing the system failings may be the most important solution to moral injury among providers.

There is mounting evidence that physician burnout can threaten patient safety 9. Burnout can lead to depersonalization (i.e. the development of a negative and cynical attitude toward patients and their concerns), and lack of empathy, poor memory, decreased attention and poor clinical decision making. Burnout can also lead physicians to leave medicine, resulting in decreased access to care for patients. An important component of professionalism is thus to commit first to self-care, personal health and wellness, and making efforts to balance professional responsibilities and personal life.

While it can be exceedingly difficult to make the necessary changes we know we need, tangible steps to promote wellness can include:

  • not treating oneself, and instead having a family physician and discussing stress and other health concerns with them
  • reaching out to the local physician health program
  • focusing on issues that are within one’s control (such as financial decisions, work hours, bringing work home, prioritizing exercise and rest, choosing to work with supportive colleagues, etc.)
  • de-emphasizing one’s focus on issues outside of one’s control (staffing levels, reimbursement programs, institutional policies and decisions, etc.)
  • professionally advocating for desired change

Collapse section

Checklist: Professionalism

Despite challenges in the healthcare environment, professionalism remains at the core of medical practice

Professionalism is the translation of the values of the profession into daily practice.

Do you:

  • Put patients’ needs first, while maintaining your wellbeing?
  • Advocate for patients and for safe medical care?
  • Participate in continuous medical education/professional development?
  • Actively seek feedback and learn from past experiences?
  • Provide constructive coaching and mentoring?
  • Communicate effectively to foster trust?
  • Have truthful, empathic, and honest discussions with everyone?
  • Share clinical decision making with patients?
  • Respect patients’ values and goals?
  • Protect patients’ confidentiality and privacy?
  • Provide culturally competent care?
  • Treat everyone with dignity and respect?
  • Remain mindful of potential conflicts of interest?
  • Constructively manage conflict?
  • Seek to preserve your personal health, including work/life balance?
  • Support colleagues who seek to preserve their personal health?
  • Foster a just culture that embodies psychological safety?

Collapse section


References

  1. Medical Professionalism in the New Millennium: A Physician Charter was issued jointly by the American Board of Internal Medicine, the American College of Physicians, and the European Federation of Internal Medicine in 2002. Available from: http://www.annals.org/content/136/3/243.full (More than 100 medical and professional associations have endorsed the Charter, including the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and the Medical Council of Canada.)
  2. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): CMPA; 2012 October. Physician Professionalism – Is it still relevant. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2012/physician-professionalism-is-it-still-relevant
  3. Lee AG, Beaver HA, Boldt HC, et al. Teaching and Assessing Professionalism in Ophthalmology Residency Training Programs. Survey of Ophthalmology. 2007 May; 52(3): 300-314. Available from: https://www.surveyophthalmol.com/article/S0039-6257(07)00014-8/fulltext
  4. Teherani A, et al. Domains of unprofessional behaviour during medical school associated with future disciplinary action by a state medical board. Acad Med. 2005, 80: S17-20
  5. Yepes-Rios M. et al. The Failure to Fail Underperforming Trainees in Health Professions Education: A BEME Systematic Review. BEME Guide No. 42. Med Teach 2016; 38(11): 1092-1099
  6. Picard E, Robertson G. Legal Liability of Doctors and Hospitals in Canada. Third edition. Carswell; 1996.
  7. Canadian Medical Association. Ottawa(CA): CMA:2018. CMA Code of Ethics and Professionalism. Available at https://www.cma.ca/cma-code-ethics-and-professionalism
  8. Dean W, Dean A, Talbot, S. Reframing Clinician Distress – Moral Injury not Burnout. Fed Pract. 2019 Sep; 36(9): 400–402
  9. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. CPSO: 2020 June. Physician Burnout and Covid-19. Available at: https://dialogue.cpso.on.ca/2020/06/physician-burnout-and-covid-19/
CanMEDS: Professional, Medical Expert, Communicator, Health Advocate

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Professionnalisme et déontologie :

Intégration des obligations professionnelles, des attentes de la société et du bien-être personnel

Professionnalisme

Un médecin et un patient se serrant la main tandis qu’une résidente sourit en arrière-plan.

Pour la défense des valeurs de la profession

Publié : janvier 2021
5 minutes

Introduction

Le professionnalisme est au cœur de l’exercice de la médecine et constitue le fondement du contrat entre la profession et la société. Le patient a besoin de savoir que son médecin respecte les valeurs de la profession. Il veut un médecin qui, en plus d’être compétent sur le plan clinique, fait preuve de compassion et d’altruisme, et est digne de confiance. Le professionnalisme en médecine est l’application des valeurs de la profession dans la pratique quotidienne.

Le professionnalisme 1 se caractérise par :

  • la compétence professionnelle, le développement professionnel et la formation continue en médecine;
  • l’honnêteté;
  • le respect de la vie privée et la confidentialité;
  • le maintien d’une distance thérapeutique appropriée dans les relations professionnelles ainsi que le respect des limites;
  • l’amélioration de la qualité des soins;
  • l’acceptation de la responsabilité et de la responsabilisation professionnelles.

Quatre éléments-clés appuient le professionnalisme en médecine et la qualité des soins 2

  1. la connaissance et le respect de la norme de pratique;
  2. l’empathie face aux besoins cliniques et émotionnels de chaque patient;
  3. l’engagement à travailler en partenariat avec les patients, les collègues et les administrateurs;
  4. l’intégrité dans l’action, de même que la participation au processus d'autoréglementation personnelle ou professionnelle, y compris le fait de se tenir les uns les autres redevables de leurs gestes.

Il est important de développer, de surveiller et de renforcer de bonnes pratiques professionnelles tôt dans la formation. Des études ont montré qu’un manque de professionnalisme de la part d’un apprenant peut être un élément prédictif de problèmes futurs avec les organismes de réglementation de la médecine. 3,4

Le développement du professionnalisme chez les apprenants est un aspect important de l’enseignement médical. Les précepteurs peuvent jouer un rôle majeur à ce chapitre en servant eux-mêmes de modèles de comportements professionnels qui favorisent l’acquisition des compétences et attitudes appropriées vis-à-vis des patients et des collègues. Les précepteurs jouent en outre un rôle fondamental dans la promotion du professionnalisme en détectant très tôt les comportements préoccupants d’un apprenant et en ciblant leurs efforts pour aider celui-ci à y remédier. La complexité de l’évaluation et de la résolution des problèmes de professionnalisme chez les apprenants continue de poser des défis qui peuvent représenter des occasions de développement professionnel pour les professeurs et d’amélioration de la pratique médicale. 5

Conseils en matière de bonnes pratiques

La relation médecin-patient est centrale en médecine. Le rôle crucial de la confiance dans la relation médecin-patient crée une relation fiduciale. Cela signifie que le médecin a envers son patient l’obligation d’agir en toute bonne foi et de ne jamais laisser son intérêt personnel interférer avec ses obligations professionnelles. Une relation fiduciale est marquée par la confiance : le patient a confiance que le médecin, qui a plus de pouvoir en raison de son expertise, de ses connaissances cliniques et de ses compétences, n’agira que dans l’intérêt et pour le bien du patient. 6

Le médecin s’efforce de conserver la confiance du patient en incarnant les valeurs suivantes :

  • compassion – il cherche à répondre aux besoins émotionnels et cliniques du patient;
  • altruisme – il met l’intérêt du patient au-dessus de son propre intérêt, même lorsque c’est difficile;
  • honnêteté – il aborde avec franchise tous les aspects des soins, notamment pour obtenir un consentement éclairé, donner un congé éclairé et divulguer les incidents liés à la sécurité du patient;
  • intégrité – il exerce en respectant des normes morales et déontologiques élevées, et assume ses responsabilités;
  • prudence – il tient compte de toutes les connaissances et de tous les renseignements pertinents pour prendre des décisions cliniques éclairées, tout en respectant les objectifs et les valeurs du patient. 7

Voici de bonnes pratiques que le médecin doit adopter pour faire preuve de professionnalisme dans la relation médecin-patient.

Pour conserver la confiance du patient :

  • protéger les renseignements personnels et la confidentialité des renseignements sur la santé du patient, en ne divulguant que les renseignements qui bénéficieront au patient, à l’intérieur de son cercle des soins;
  • obtenir le consentement explicite du patient avant de divulguer des renseignements à l’extérieur de son cercle des soins;
  • éviter toute conversation privée, publique ou virtuelle que l’on pourrait raisonnablement considérer comme révélant des renseignements confidentiels, permettant d’identifier le patient, ou étant irrespectueuse envers le patient, sa famille ou des professionnels de la santé;

Pour faire preuve de respect envers la diversité culturelle des patients et fournir des soins adaptés sur le plan culturel :

  • traiter le patient avec dignité et respect;
  • n’exercer envers quiconque aucune discrimination fondée sur l’âge, l’incapacité, l’identité ou l’expression de genre, les caractéristiques génétiques, la langue, l’état matrimonial et la situation de famille, l’état de santé, l’origine nationale ou ethnique, l’affiliation politique, la race, la religion, le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle ou le statut socioéconomique.

Pour communiquer avec empathie :

  • chercher à obtenir l’avis du patient;
  • respecter les décisions du patient;
  • confirmer la compréhension du patient.

Pour agir dans l’intérêt du patient et de la société :

  • centrer la prise de décisions sur les besoins du patient;
  • s’efforcer de répondre aux demandes d’accommodement raisonnable;
  • fournir l’assistance appropriée à toute personne qui a besoin de soins médicaux d’urgence;
  • diriger effectivement le patient vers un collègue si les croyances personnelles du médecin entrent en conflit avec les besoins du patient;
  • consulter les politiques de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) sur la manière de mettre fin à la relation médecin-patient si aucune autre option n’est acceptable.

Pour maintenir une distance professionnelle appropriée dans la relation médecin-patient :

  • éviter tout conflit d’intérêts potentiel ou réel et toute apparence de conflit d’intérêts;
  • ne pas établir de relations amoureuses avec des patients (et même avec d’anciens patients, selon les circonstances);
  • limiter aux interventions mineures ou urgentes le traitement des membres de sa famille immédiate et des autres personnes avec lesquelles le médecin a une relation de nature personnelle similaire, et seulement lorsqu’aucun autre médecin n’est disponible;
  • ne prescrire aucun médicament psychotrope à des membres de sa famille ou à des amis.

Cacher la section

Un médecin qui adopte des comportements perturbateurs peut nuire à la sécurité des soins en faisant en sorte que des collègues craignent d’avoir des interactions avec lui. Cette crainte peut conduire à des raccourcis néfastes ou à des manquements à la norme de pratique, aux politiques ou aux procédures.

Le professionnalisme dans les relations avec les collègues implique pour le médecin d’assumer la responsabilité de son comportement et de son rôle dans tout conflit avec des collègues. Dans une relation professionnelle, chacun est traité avec respect, et toute communication (peu importe le moyen utilisé) est consciencieuse, digne et respectueuse.

Pour promouvoir la collégialité et favoriser un milieu de travail sain, l’impolitesse n’est pas tolérée, et il faut y remédier sans délai et d'une manière juste. La collaboration au sein de l’équipe et la responsabilité partagée sont encouragées, de même que le mentorat officiel et informel ainsi que les occasions de faire preuve de leadership.

Cacher la section

Le médecin joue un rôle important de promoteur du bien-être des collectivités et des populations, en s’efforçant d’améliorer les résultats sur la santé et l’accès aux soins, en réduisant les inégalités en matière de santé et les disparités dans les soins, et en promouvant la responsabilité sociale. Le professionnalisme exige attention, modération, diplomatie et réflexion. La simplicité d’utilisation et la grande liberté d’expression qui caractérisent les médias sociaux peuvent faciliter à l’excès la publication de commentaires non professionnels, blessants, diffamatoires ou menaçants. Le médecin doit être conscient des répercussions de ses commentaires sur ses patients, ses collègues, son employeur, de même que sur le système de soins de santé en général.

Le médecin reconnaît les déterminants sociaux de la santé, et la profession prend la responsabilité d’agir de manière à promouvoir la santé publique et la santé des populations, l’éducation sanitaire, les déterminants environnementaux de la santé, de même que la législation qui touche la santé publique et la santé des populations. Cela comprend des relations de collaboration et de respect avec toutes les collectivités, ainsi que des efforts pour comprendre et mettre en œuvre les recommandations de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada liées aux soins de santé.

Le médecin contribue, personnellement et en collaboration avec d’autres, à l’amélioration des services et de la prestation de soins de santé, afin de remédier aux problèmes systémiques qui affectent la santé des patients et des populations, en accordant une attention particulière aux collectivités défavorisées, vulnérables ou mal desservies. 7

Cacher la section

Le milieu de plus en plus surchargé et exigeant des soins de santé au Canada entraîne une hausse sans précédent du nombre de cas d’épuisement professionnel chez les médecins. Par ailleurs, on admet de plus en plus que le médecin subit un stress lié au conflit entre, d’une part, l’engagement professionnel à toujours accorder la priorité aux besoins du patient et, d’autre part, les contraintes auxquelles les professionnels de la santé font face quotidiennement et qui sont indépendantes de leur volonté 8

Les professionnels de la santé sont constamment appelés à réaliser un équilibre entre les besoins des patients, le manque de ressources, les défis technologiques, les contraintes financières et les mesures de productivité. Ils doivent se concentrer sur la santé des patients, mais le système ne leur fournit pas le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour cela. Ces forces antagonistes peuvent entraîner une détresse morale qui, avec le temps, peut se transformer en blessure morale et en épuisement professionnel.

Chaque médecin a la responsabilité de faire des choix et d’ajuster sa pratique de manière à optimiser son bien-être, mais le bien-être des médecins doit aussi être favorisé à l’échelle du système. Il faut impérativement concevoir des systèmes de soins de santé qui soutiennent les choix individuels donnant la priorité au bien-être personnel et à la conciliation travail-vie personnelle, par exemple en permettant de diminuer si possible le nombre d’heures de travail. Il est primordial d’élaborer des politiques qui encouragent les professionnels de la santé à demander de l’aide pour eux-mêmes sans crainte de conséquences négatives. Pour nourrir la collégialité en milieu de travail, il faut promouvoir une culture juste qui favorise la sécurité psychologique. Corriger les lacunes du système peut être le remède le plus important aux blessures morales chez les professionnels de la santé.

De plus en plus de données probantes montrent que l’épuisement professionnel des médecins peut menacer la sécurité des patients. 9 L’épuisement professionnel peut entraîner une dépersonnalisation (c.-à-d. le développement d’une attitude négative et cynique envers les patients et leurs préoccupations), un manque d’empathie, une dégradation de la mémoire, une diminution de l’attention et une détérioration de la prise de décisions cliniques. L’épuisement professionnel peut aussi amener des médecins à quitter la profession, ce qui diminue l’accès aux soins. Une composante importante du professionnalisme consiste donc à s’engager avant tout à prendre soin de soi-même, de sa propre santé et de son bien-être, et à s’efforcer d’atteindre un équilibre entre responsabilités professionnelles et vie personnelle.

Même s’il peut être extrêmement difficile d’apporter les changements reconnus comme nécessaires, voici des moyens tangibles qui pourraient permettre au médecin de favoriser son propre bien-être :

  • ne pas s’autotraiter, mais plutôt avoir un médecin de famille et discuter avec lui de son stress et de ses autres préoccupations en matière de santé;
  • se prévaloir du programme local d’aide aux médecins;
  • se concentrer sur ce qui est de son ressort (p. ex. décisions financières, heures de travail, apporter ou non du travail à la maison, importance de l’exercice physique et du repos, soutien de collègues au travail);
  • moins se préoccuper de ce qu’il ne maîtrise pas (p. ex. effectifs disponibles, programmes de remboursement, politiques et décisions institutionnelles);
  • promouvoir de manière professionnelle les changements voulus.

Cacher la section

Le professionnalisme – Liste de vérification

Malgré les défis que pose le milieu des soins de santé, le professionnalisme est au cœur de l’exercice de la médecine

Le professionnalisme en médecine est la traduction des valeurs de la profession dans la pratique quotidienne.

  • Accordez-vous la priorité aux besoins de vos patients, tout en veillant à votre propre bien-être?
  • Défendez-vous les patients et prônez-vous des soins médicaux sécuritaires?
  • Participez-vous à des activités de formation continue en médecine ou de développement professionnel?
  • Recherchez-vous activement la rétroaction et apprenez-vous de vos expériences antérieures?
  • Fournissez-vous une supervision et un mentorat constructifs?
  • Communiquez-vous efficacement de manière à favoriser la confiance?
  • Avez-vous des discussions franches, empathiques et honnêtes avec toute personne?
  • Faites-vous participer vos patients à la prise de décisions cliniques?
  • Respectez-vous les valeurs et les objectifs de vos patients?
  • Protégez-vous les renseignements personnels et la confidentialité de vos patients?
  • Prodiguez-vous des soins adaptés sur le plan culturel?
  • Traitez-vous toute personne avec dignité et respect?
  • Êtes-vous attentif aux conflits d’intérêts potentiels?
  • Gérez-vous les conflits d’une manière constructive?
  • Cherchez-vous à préserver votre propre santé, y compris la conciliation travail-vie personnelle?
  • Appuyez-vous vos collègues qui cherchent à préserver leur propre santé?
  • Favorisez-vous une culture juste qui englobe la sécurité psychologique?

Cacher la section


Références

  1. Medical Professionalism in the New Millennium: A Physician Charter a été publié conjointement par l’American Board of Internal Medicine, l’American College of Physicians, et la European Federation of Internal Medicine en 2002. Disponible : http://www.annals.org/content/136/3/243.full (Plus de 100 associations médicales et professionnelles ont adopté cette charte, dont le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada et le Conseil médical du Canada.)
  2. Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): ACPM; octobre 2012. Pertinence soutenue du professionnalisme chez les médecins : qu’en est-il vraiment?. Disponible: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2012/physician-professionalism-is-it-still-relevant
  3. Lee, A G. et al. Teaching and Assessing Professionalism in Ophthalmology Residency Training Programs. Survey of Ophthalmology (May-June, 2007) 52(3), 300-314. Disponible: https://www.surveyophthalmol.com/article/S0039-6257(07)00014-8/fulltext
  4. Teherani A et al. Domains of unprofessional behaviour during medical school associated with future disciplinary action by a state medical board. Acad Med 80 (2005), S17-20. 
  5. Yepes-Rios M. et al. The Failure to Fail Underperforming Trainees in Health Professions Education: A BEME Systematic Review. BEME Guide no 42. Med Teach 2016; 38(11): 1092-1099
  6. Picard E., Robertson G.: Legal Liability of Doctors and Hospitals in Canada. Troisième édition, Carswell, 1996.
  7. Association médicale canadienne. Ottawa(CA): AMC:2018.Code d’éthique et de professionnalisme de l’AMC. Disponible : https://www.cma.ca/fr/code-dethique-et-de-professionnalisme-de-lamc
  8. Dean W, Dean A., Talbot, S. Reframing Clinician Distress – Moral Injury not Burnout. Fed Pract. Septembre 2019; 36(9): 400–402
  9. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. CPSO: juin 2020 Physician Burnout and Covid-19. Disponible : https://dialogue.cpso.on.ca/2020/06/physician-burnout-and-covid-19/
CanMEDS: Professionnel, Expert médical, Communicateur, Promoteur de la santé

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.