Principles of assistance

Assistance to clinics and facilities

Originally published March 2007 / Reviewed July 2013

New models for the delivery of healthcare raise the potential for increased liability for physicians working in non-traditional settings with other healthcare providers. These new models include:

  • collaborative practices
  • healthcare networks
  • out-of-hospital surgical facilities
  • telemedicine and virtual clinics

If a lawsuit arises from the care provided in a clinic or surgical facility, other individuals as well as the clinic could likely be named in the legal action.

Of concern is the potential for a physician or the clinic to be held liable for work done independently by another member of the healthcare team in circumstances where the physician had no direct involvement in the care and/or was not involved either in the training or supervision of that other professional. This can occur as a result of either:

  • vicarious liability — a physician/employer may be liable for the acts of an employee
  • joint and several liability — where more than one party is jointly responsible for having caused injury to another, the plaintiff may recover full compensation from the party with the greatest ability to pay, even though that recovery is out of proportion to the degree of liability

This could lead to the possibility that CMPA funds may be required to pay settlements and awards for non-members (independent healthcare providers), a purpose for which these funds were never intended.

Another aspect of the changing nature of healthcare delivery is the emergence of private surgical facilities in which patients undergo serious, sometimes high-risk surgical procedures and are permitted to remain several days postoperatively. Frequently these clinics either employ or have available a range of healthcare professionals.

CMPA assistance does not extend to facilities involved in complex medical procedures with significant potential complications and where the patient would have a prolonged stay. Such facilities could be seen as "mini-hospitals," in which the facility and its employees are normally protected by a hospital insurer.

The bottom line

  • CMPA members are eligible for assistance regardless of whether or not the clinic or facility in which they work is itself eligible for assistance.
  • Decisions concerning CMPA assistance to clinics and facilities are discretionary, and are guided by 9 general principles, outlined below.
  • Members are urged to take steps to arrange alternative commercial liability protection for a clinic or facility that does not fit within these principles.

CMPA assistance to clinics and facilities (effective November 10, 2006)

When, in a legal action arising from clinical care in which the actions or omissions of a CMPA member or employees under his/her supervision are an issue, and the entity which owns the clinic or facility in which that care was given is named as a defendant, the CMPA should be prepared to give full assistance to that defendant entity in accordance with the following principles:

1

Generally, a clinic or facility must be wholly owned by physicians who are all CMPA members and each of whom must regularly do clinical professional work at the clinic or facility.

Where, however, the clinic or facility is owned by a corporation or pursuant to some other arrangement, all of the shares or other proprietary interest must be owned by the CMPA members, their spouses, children, parents and/or siblings PROVIDED that the CMPA member-owners retain majority voting rights or control as a whole.

Where there are multiple physician-owners of a clinic or facility or multiple physician shareholders of a corporation that operates a number of sites, all the physician-owners must regularly do professional work at one or more of the sites of the clinic or facility or corporation, and each site must have at least one physician-owner who regularly does clinical professional work at that location.

Where there is a single physician-owner or where a member is the sole physician shareholder of a corporation that meets the ownership requirements in the general principles, and where that physician or corporation owns and operates a number of sites, that physician-owner is required to regularly do clinical professional work at all the sites.

2

Where a physician-owner of an eligible clinic or facility retires from medical practice or departs from the clinic or facility, he/she must dispose of all ownership shares or proprietary interest, as well as that of any family member, within 3 years from the date of retirement or departure in order for the clinic or facility to remain eligible for assistance. If the retiring or departing member wishes to retain his/her ownership share or interest (or that of a family member) in the clinic or facility for any portion of such 3-year period: the retiring physician must remain a member of the CMPA, but has the option of enrolling in the type of work category with the lowest fee suitable for that purpose; the departing physician-owner must maintain appropriate CMPA membership as well as licensure in the appropriate jurisdiction.

3

All physicians working at the clinic or facility must be members of the CMPA.

4

Assistance will be extended to employees of a physician member, or of a clinic or facility that meets all of the above conditions, provided that those employees do not have the ability to see and treat patients independently.

5

Any employees or other persons working in the clinic or facility who are not physicians but members of another healthcare profession, whether regulated or unregulated, and who have the ability to see and treat patients independently, must have their own adequate professional liability protection covering all care and treatment rendered to patients at the clinic or facility. Such protection must be sufficient to respond to the range of damage claims currently in place in Canada, and must be maintained at all times during which work is performed at the clinic or facility.

6

If the CMPA is required to pay damages assessed against a member on behalf of healthcare professionals who have the ability to see and treat patients independently, then the CMPA will pursue the member's legal right to claim-over against those healthcare professionals to ensure that their professional liability coverage responds.

7

Where a clinic or facility operates in a jurisdiction in which regulations are in place governing the operation of such facilities, the clinic or facility must be in compliance with those regulations.

8

The clinic or facility must not keep a patient overnight for more than one night, whether for investigation, or for observation and supervision following treatment.

9

The physician owners must undertake, on behalf of the clinic or facility that they will cooperate in the defence of any action against the clinic or facility.

As always, the assistance granted by the CMPA is discretionary and decisions are made on a case-by-case basis. These principles will assist in determining eligibility for assistance of a clinic or facility in which care is given. Members are urged to take steps to arrange alternative commercial liability protection for a clinic or facility structure that may not fall within these principles, and to ensure that adequate professional liability protection is in place for independent healthcare workers.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Principes de l’assistance

Assistance aux cliniques et aux établissements privés

Publié initialement en mars 2007 / révisé en juillet 2013

Les nouveaux modèles de prestation des soins de santé ont soulevé la possibilité d'une responsabilité accrue pour les médecins travaillant dans des milieux non traditionnels en collaboration avec d'autres professionnels de la santé. Ces nouveaux modèles comprennent :

  • les soins concertés
  • les réseaux de soins de santé
  • les établissements de chirurgie privés non-hospitaliers
  • la télémédecine et les cliniques virtuelles.

Lorsqu'une poursuite en justice découle de soins prodigués dans une clinique ou dans un établissement de chirurgie privé, d'autres personnes ainsi que la clinique ou l'établissement privé pourraient être nommés dans la poursuite. 

Le risque pour le médecin ou la clinique d'être considéré responsable d'un travail effectué à titre indépendant par un autre membre de l'équipe soignante est source de préoccupation, même lorsque le médecin n'a pas participé directement aux soins, ou n'a participé ni à la formation ni à la supervision de cet autre professionnel de la santé. Une telle situation peut se produire lorsqu'on invoque :

  • la responsabilité du fait d'autrui - un médecin/employeur peut être tenu responsable des actes d'un employé;
  • la responsabilité solidaire et conjointe - lorsque plus d'une partie est conjointement responsable d'avoir causé un préjudice à une autre, le demandeur peut obtenir de la partie ayant la plus grande capacité de payer une restitution intégrale des dommages-intérêts accordés, même lorsque ces dommages-intérêts sont démesurés par rapport au degré de responsabilité.

En pareil cas, l'ACPM pourrait se voir obligée de puiser à même ses fonds pour régler le dossier au nom de non-membres (professionnels de la santé indépendants) en concluant une transaction avec le patient, une fin à laquelle ces fonds n'ont jamais été destinés. 

Un autre aspect de la nature changeante de la prestation des soins de santé est l'apparition d'établissements de chirurgie privés, dans lesquels les patients subissent des interventions médicales complexes, et parfois même à risque élevé, et où ils peuvent demeurer plusieurs jours à la suite de l'intervention chirurgicale. Ces établissements emploient souvent, ou ont à leur disponibilité, toute une gamme de professionnels de la santé. 

L'assistance de l'ACPM ne s'applique pas à des cliniques ou à des établissements privés où l'on pratique des interventions médicales complexes comportant des risques de complications élevés et où le séjour des patients est d'une durée prolongée. Ces cliniques ou établissements privés pourraient être considérés comme de « mini-hôpitaux », où l'établissement et ses employés sont normalement protégés par un assureur d'hôpital.

En bref

  • Tout membre de l'Association est admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM que la clinique ou l'établissement privé où il travaille ait droit ou non à l'assistance.
  • Les décisions concernant l'assistance de l'ACPM aux cliniques et aux établissements privés sont discrétionnaires et reposent sur les neuf principes généraux décrits ci-dessous.
  • L'ACPM demande aux membres de prendre les mesures voulues pour souscrire une protection commerciale supplémentaire contre la faute professionnelle si la clinique ou l'établissement privé ne les respecte pas ces principes.

Assistance de l'ACPM aux cliniques et aux établissements privés
(entrée en vigueur le 10 novembre 2006) 

Lorsque, dans une action en justice découlant de soins cliniques où sont mis en cause les actes ou omissions d'un membre de l'ACPM ou d'employés relevant de la supervision de ce dernier, et que l'entité propriétaire de la clinique ou de l'établissement privé où ces soins ont été prodigués est désignée à titre de partie défenderesse, l'Association pourra accorder une assistance complète à cette entité défenderesse, dans la mesure où les principes suivants sont respectés :

1

En général, une clinique ou un établissement privé doit appartenir exclusivement à des médecins membres de l'ACPM et chacun d'entre eux doit y accomplir régulièrement des activités cliniques.

Toutefois, lorsque la clinique ou l'établissement privé appartient à une société ou à une autre entité propriétaire, toutes les actions de la société ou autres intérêts propriétaux doivent être détenus par des membres de l'ACPM, leur conjoint, leurs enfants, leurs parents et/ou leurs frères et sœurs, POURVU que les propriétaires membres de l'ACPM détiennent un droit de vote majoritaire dans la clinique ou l'établissement privé ou le contrôle de la société dans son ensemble.

Lorsqu'il y a plusieurs médecins propriétaires d'une clinique ou d'un établissement privé ou plusieurs médecins actionnaires d'une société exploitant une clinique ou un établissement privé multisite, tous les médecins propriétaires doivent accomplir régulièrement des activités cliniques dans un ou plusieurs des sites, et chaque site doit compter au moins un médecin propriétaire qui y accomplit régulièrement des activités cliniques.

Lorsqu'une clinique ou un établissement privé multisite n'appartient qu'à un seul médecin, ou lorsqu'un membre de l'ACPM est l'unique médecin-actionnaire d'une société répondant aux exigences stipulées dans les principes généraux en matière de droits de propriété, et que ce médecin ou cette société est propriétaire exploitant d'une clinique ou d'un établissement privé multisite, le membre est tenu d'accomplir régulièrement des activités cliniques dans chacun des sites.

2

Lorsqu'un médecin propriétaire d'une clinique ou d'un établissement privé prend sa retraite ou quitte la clinique ou l'établissement privé, il doit se départir de toutes les actions ou de tout intérêt propriétal, ainsi que de ceux de tout membre de sa famille, dans les trois (3) ans suivant la date de son départ à la retraite afin que la clinique ou l'établissement privé puisse demeurer admissible à l'assistance. Si le membre prenant sa retraite choisit de conserver ses actions ou son intérêt propriétal (ou celui d'un membre de sa famille) dans la clinique ou l'établissement privé pour toute partie de cette période de trois (3) ans, ce médecin en départ à la retraite doit demeurer membre de l'ACPM. Il peut alors choisir d'adhérer sous le genre de travail approprié associé à la cotisation la moins élevée; le propriétaire en départ à la retraite doit maintenir une adhésion à l'ACPM sous le genre de travail approprié, ainsi que conserver son permis d'exercice dans la province ou le territoire approprié.

3

Tous les médecins qui travaillent dans la clinique ou l'établissement privé doivent être membres de l'ACPM.

4

Une assistance sera accordée aux employés d'un médecin membre, ou d'une clinique ou d'un établissement privé qui respecte les conditions susmentionnées, pourvu que ces employés ne soient pas aptes à évaluer et à traiter les patients à titre indépendant.

5

Tout employé ou toute autre personne travaillant dans la clinique ou l'établissement privé et qui n'est pas médecin, mais membre d'une autre profession de la santé, réglementée ou non, et qui est apte à évaluer et à traiter des patients à titre indépendant, doit avoir sa propre protection en matière de responsabilité professionnelle. Cette protection doit couvrir tous les soins et les traitements prodigués aux patients de la clinique ou de l'établissement privé et doit être suffisante pour répondre à l'éventail des réclamations en dommages selon les normes canadiennes présentement en cours. Elle doit aussi être maintenue pendant toute la durée du travail effectué par cette personne dans la clinique ou l'établissement privé.

6 Si l'ACPM est tenue de verser des dommages-intérêts au nom d'un membre pour le compte d'un professionnel de la santé qui peut évaluer et traiter des patients à titre indépendant, l'Association intentera une action récursoire contre le professionnel de la santé comme le membre est juridiquement autorisé à le faire.

7

Lorsque l'exploitation d'une clinique ou d'un établissement privé est régie par des règlements provinciaux ou territoriaux, la clinique ou l'établissement privé doit respecter ces règlements.

8

La clinique ou l'établissement privé ne doit pas garder un patient plus d'une nuit, que ce soit aux fins d'examen, d'observation ou de supervision à la suite d'un traitement.

9

Le médecin propriétaire doit s'engager, au nom de la clinique ou de l'établissement privé, à collaborer à la défense de toute action en justice engagée contre la clinique ou l'établissement.

Comme toujours, l'assistance accordée par l'ACPM est discrétionnaire et les décisions sont prises en fonction de chaque cas. Ces principes aideront à déterminer l'admissibilité à l'assistance d'une clinique ou d'un établissement privé dans lequel des soins sont prodigués. Si la clinique ou l'établissement privé ne respecte pas tous ces principes, l'ACPM recommande de prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour obtenir, auprès d'un assureur commercial, une protection complémentaire en matière de responsabilité professionnelle, et de veiller à ce qu'une protection adéquate à ce chapitre soit en place pour les professionnels de la santé indépendants.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.