Principles of assistance

Prescribing to non-patients a risky activity

Originally published March 2004 / Revised October 2015

The availability of Internet prescribing as well as the attraction of cheaper Canadian drugs for American consumers has created a cross-border business in which some Canadian physicians are participating. Those doctors who sign or co-sign Internet prescriptions for persons with whom they have no prior recognized doctor-patient relationship are engaging in a risky activity that is considered unacceptable by provincial and territorial medical regulatory authorities (Colleges).

Risk of discipline

Colleges generally expect physicians to conduct the following activities before treating patients and prescribing medications in non-urgent situations: obtain an adequate history, perform appropriate physical examinations, make a diagnosis, obtain informed consent, and arrange appropriate follow-up care. Completion and maintenance of an appropriate medical record is also expected. Hence, physicians engaged in the inappropriate signing or co-signing of prescriptions are at risk of sanctions by their College.

CMPA assistance

The CMPA views the inappropriate signing or co-signing of Internet or cross-border prescriptions for persons with whom the physician has no prior recognized doctor-patient relationship as being outside the professional practice of medicine in Canada. As a result, the Association will generally not extend assistance to a CMPA member for any complaint, investigation, or legal action (whether inside or outside Canada) arising from this activity.

Group practices and on-call physicians

The CMPA will generally continue to assist members who prescribe or renew prescriptions for patients with whom they have a recognized doctor-patient relationship. This includes patients who are part of a group practice or patients who are being cared for by an on-call physician.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Principes de l’assistance

Prescrire en l’absence de relation médecin-patient : une pratique à risque

Publié initialement en mars 2004 / Révisé en octobre 2015

La prescription sur Internet et l’engouement des Américains pour les médicaments canadiens moins chers ont en effet créé un commerce transfrontalier auquel certains médecins canadiens participent. Les médecins qui signent ou contresignent des ordonnances alors qu’aucune relation médecin-patient n’a été préalablement établie se risquent à une pratique considérée comme inacceptable par les organismes de réglementation de la médecine provinciaux et territoriaux (Collèges).

Risque de mesure disciplinaire

En règle générale, les Collèges s’attendent à ce que les médecins qui ont l’intention de prodiguer des soins ou de prescrire des médicaments dans des situations non urgentes obtiennent une anamnèse adéquate, effectuent les examens physiques appropriés, établissent un diagnostic, obtiennent le consentement éclairé du patient et assurent un suivi approprié. La constitution et la tenue d’un dossier médical approprié sont également exigées. Par conséquent, les médecins qui signent ou contresignent des ordonnances de façon inappropriée s’exposent à des sanctions de la part de leur Collège.

Assistance de l’ACPM

L’ACPM estime que la prescription transfrontalière ou sur Internet en l’absence d’une relation médecin-patient reconnue constitue une activité qui sort du cadre de la pratique professionnelle de la médecine au Canada. Par conséquent, l’Association n’apportera généralement pas son assistance aux membres de l’ACPM qui font face à une plainte, une enquête ou une action en justice, au Canada ou à l’étranger, découlant de cette activité.

Groupes de médecins et médecins de garde

L’ACPM continuera généralement de prêter assistance aux membres qui prescrivent ou qui renouvellent des ordonnances pour des patients avec lesquels il existe une relation médecin-patient reconnue. Les patients d’un groupe de médecins ou ceux recevant des soins d’un médecin de garde entrent dans cette catégorie.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.