Principles of assistance

Teaching, research, and learning outside Canada

Published October 2009 / revised June 2017

The following outlines the CMPA's principles of assistance for members who are involved in teaching, research, and learning activities outside Canada that involve elements of clinical care.

Teaching and research outside Canada

Members who travel outside Canada to teach or conduct research where these roles may include patient contact are at risk of legal actions outside Canada.

Members will generally be eligible for CMPA assistance with respect to medical-legal difficulties arising from their professional work abroad, excluding the U.S.A. and all other countries where the U.S. legal system is applied*, as it pertains to teaching and research work only. Members must verify their eligibility and make arrangements with the CMPA prior to leaving Canada.

With respect to teaching or research involving elements of clinical care in the United States and any other country where the U.S. legal system is applied, the CMPA will not assist members who encounter medical-legal difficulties, whether a legal action arises inside Canada or outside Canada.

Physicians teaching or conducting research outside Canada should confirm they have met the licensure and privilege requirements of the jurisdiction involved.

Learning outside Canada

Members who travel outside of Canada for residency/fellowship training and continuing medical education may be involved in clinical care and thus exposed to possible medical-legal difficulties. The CMPA generally will not provide assistance with medical-legal matters arising from the provision of such clinical care outside of Canada, whether a legal action arises inside Canada or outside Canada.

In those instances where a resident/fellow accompanies his/her CMPA member supervisor on a humanitarian trip abroad, the trainee’s eligibility for assistance will match the eligibility of the supervisor. Both the supervisor and trainee must verify their eligibility and make arrangements with the CMPA prior to leaving Canada.

Contact the CMPA in advance

Members should contact the CMPA in advance about the assistance available when participating in teaching or learning that includes the care of patients. See also the principles of assistance, "Providing care outside of Canada."

Filling the potential gap in liability protection

CMPA members seeking additional medical liability protection for medical work done overseas have a number of options through commercial insurance companies:

Academic Group

The Academic Group, an insurance company based in New York, has advised the CMPA it has an insurance product offering liability protection for physicians who travel outside of Canada in both the teaching and learning role. While the CMPA is not in a position to endorse any product to fill a gap in liability protection, members may want to consider contacting the Academic Group for more information.

Physicians who apply for this protection may need a history of their relevant medical-legal matters. With the consent of the individual member, the CMPA would provide the necessary information, including the relevant claims history, to any insurer including the Academic Group.

The Academic Group can be contacted at 1250 Broadway, Suite 3401, New York, NY 10001, U.S.A., phone 646-808-0591, or visit www.academicins.com.

Hub International

Hub International provides professional liability insurance for protection from claims brought against professionals for economic damages stemming from acts, errors in their performance of services.

For more information about Hub International, please visit its website at www.hubinternational.com. Members may contact them by phone at 416-597-4604.

Please note that these referrals are for the members’ information only and do not, in any way, constitute an endorsement by the Association.

*The U.S. legal system is applied in the following countries: Guam, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and Swains Island.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Principes de l’assistance

Enseigner, effectuer de la recherche ou étudier à l’extérieur du Canada

Publié en octobre 2009 / révisé en juin 2017

Cet article présente les principes d’assistance de l’ACPM pour les membres participant à des activités d’enseignement, de recherche ou d’apprentissage à l’extérieur du Canada et pouvant comprendre des éléments de soins cliniques.

Enseigner ou effectuer de la recherche à l’extérieur du Canada

Les membres qui se rendent à l’extérieur du Canada pour enseigner ou effectuer de la recherche, lorsque ce rôle peut comprendre des contacts avec les patients, risquent de se retrouver aux prises avec des actions en justice à l’extérieur du Canada.

Les membres seront généralement admissibles à une assistance de l’ACPM lorsqu’ils sont aux prises avec des problèmes médico-légaux découlant de leur travail professionnel à l’étranger, sauf aux États-Unis et dans tout autre pays où s’applique le système judiciaire américain*, quand il s’agit de l’enseignement et des travaux de recherche uniquement. Les membres doivent donc vérifier leur admissibilité et prendre les dispositions qui s’imposent avec l’ACPM avant de quitter le Canada.

En ce qui concerne l’enseignement et la recherche, aux États-Unis ou dans tout autre pays où s’applique le système judiciaire américain, l’ACPM n’offre généralement pas d’assistance aux membres faisant face à des problèmes médico-légaux découlant de la prestation de soins cliniques, qu’une action en justice soit intentée au Canada ou à l’extérieur du pays.

Les médecins qui enseignent ou effectuent de la recherche à l’extérieur du Canada doivent confirmer qu’ils ont respecté les exigences en matière de permis et de privilèges d’exercice dans le pays hôte.

Étudier à l’extérieur du Canada

Les membres qui suivent une formation à titre de résident/moniteur clinique ou qui participent à des activités de développement professionnel continu à l’extérieur du Canada peuvent avoir des contacts avec des patients, s’exposant ainsi à d’éventuels problèmes médico-légaux. L’ACPM n’offre généralement pas d’assistance aux membres faisant face à des problèmes médico-légaux découlant de la prestation de soins cliniques, qu’une action en justice soit intentée au Canada ou à l’extérieur du pays.

Dans les situations où un résident/moniteur clinique accompagne son superviseur, lequel est membre de l’ACPM, lors d’un voyage humanitaire à l’étranger, l’admissibilité du résident à une assistance correspondra à celle de son superviseur. Autant le superviseur que le résident doivent donc vérifier leur admissibilité et prendre les dispositions qui s’imposent avec l’ACPM avant de quitter le Canada.

Consulter l’ACPM à l’avance

Les membres devraient communiquer avec l’ACPM à l’avance pour connaître l’étendue de l’assistance qui pourrait leur être offerte lorsqu’ils participent à l’enseignement ou à des études qui comprennent des soins aux patients. Consultez également l’article intitulé, « Prestation de soins à l’étranger ».

Combler la brèche possible dans la protection en matière de responsabilité professionnelle

Les membres de l’ACPM voulant souscrire une protection additionnelle en matière de responsabilité professionnelle pour le travail médical exécuté à l’étranger peuvent choisir parmi quelques compagnies d’assurance commerciale :

Academic Group

La compagnie d’assurance Academic Group, située dans l’État de New York, a informé l’Association qu’elle offrait un produit d’assurance responsabilité aux médecins voyageant à l’extérieur du Canada pour enseigner ou pour étudier. Puisque l’ACPM ne peut se permettre d’appuyer un produit commercial donné pour combler la brèche dans la protection des médecins, les membres pourraient envisager de communiquer avec la compagnie Academic Group pour en savoir davantage.

Les membres qui demandent à souscrire une telle assurance pourraient avoir besoin d’obtenir un relevé de leurs affaires médico-légales. Avec le consentement du membre, l’ACPM pourra fournir l’information nécessaire, notamment le relevé des réclamations pertinentes, à tout assureur, y compris Academic Group.

La compagnie Academic Group peut être jointe au 1250 Broadway, suite 3401, New York, NY 10001, U.S.A., ou au 646-808-0591. L’adresse de son site web est le www.academicgroup.com.

Hub International

La compagnie Hub International fournit une assurance en matière de responsabilité professionnelle pour la protection en cas de réclamations déposées contre les professionnels pour les dommages économiques découlant d’actes ou d’erreurs dans l’exécution de services.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de Hub International, veuillez consulter son site web au www.hubinternational.com. Les membres peuvent également joindre la compagnie au 416-597-4604.

Veuillez noter que ces sources sont destinées uniquement à titre d’information pour les membres et ne saurait en aucun cas constituer une recommandation de la part de l’Association.

* Le système judiciaire américain s’applique dans les pays suivants : Guam, Commonwealth des Mariannes du Nord, Porto Rico, îles Vierges américaines, Samoa américaine et l’île Swains.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.