Principles of assistance

Public health emergencies and catastrophic events

Originally published March 2008

Abstract

Protection against medical-legal risk for physicians during emergencies that overload health resources.

 

Many organizations, governments, hospitals and clinics are reviewing and developing plans for a potential influenza pandemic. A major pandemic would leave large numbers of Canadians ill and would have a major impact on physician practices. Already, many physicians have been asked to contribute to preparations in anticipation of a pandemic or other catastrophe.

Some physicians have expressed concerns about being asked to assume responsibilities outside of their usual role and location of practice.

As with any critical medical challenge, physicians should focus on practising medicine to the best of their ability. CMPA members may be comforted by the knowledge that the Association will exercise its discretion to extend assistance in the event of medical-legal difficulties arising from the provision of such care. The CMPA takes very seriously its commitment to being valued as a vital component of the Canadian health care system by providing comprehensive medical liability protection.

What is a catastrophe or public health emergency?

Developing a clear definition of a catastrophic event or public health emergency is challenging. A possible definition might be an urgent and critical situation of a temporary nature that seriously endangers the lives, health and/or safety of the population. It would require prompt action beyond normal procedures to prevent or limit health consequences to the affected population. Such events are usually promptly recognized and lead to the initiation of emergency responses by virtually all involved authorities. Examples of recent North American catastrophic events include SARS, the 1998 ice storm, the 9/11 attacks and Hurricane Katrina.

The CMPA's assistance

It is difficult to predict the types of medical-legal difficulty that CMPA members may face arising from the provision of medical care in relation to catastrophic events. Accordingly, it is difficult to describe, in advance, the scope of assistance that the Association may provide. The CMPA is establishing an internal task force that will be responsive to relevant issues as they arise. The Association will make every effort to maintain open lines of communication with its members during these events. The CMPA recognizes that it may not always be possible for members to contact the Association before they become engaged in responding to a catastrophic event. However, if feasible, members who have any questions about their eligibility for assistance are encouraged to discuss their concerns with the Association before providing care.

Licensure issues

When a catastrophic event arises, members may be called on to provide medical care in jurisdictions in which they are not licensed to practise medicine. In such circumstances the Association encourages members to seek clarification regarding licensure from the medical regulatory authority (College) in the jurisdiction where they are called upon to provide medical care. The Association is aware that a number of Colleges in Canada are currently working to address these types of licensing issues.

In the event of a complaint to the College concerning an allegation that the member (who provided care in relation to a catastrophic event) failed to obtain a license to practise medicine in the jurisdiction, the member will generally be eligible for assistance.

The CMPA recognizes that where members provide medical care in a jurisdiction in which they are not licensed, they will likely be providing care outside of the province or region where their CMPA membership fees were determined. In these circumstances, the Association would generally exercise its discretion to assist a member with a legal matter even if the matter arose from the provision of care in a province or territory outside the member's designated province of work.

It is possible that retired physicians, physicians who are in Canada but are unlicensed, or even medical students may be called on in a prolonged and severe disaster. To be eligible for CMPA assistance, a physician must be licensed to practice medicine in Canada and be a member of the CMPA at the time the care is provided.

CMPA type of work categories

The CMPA is aware of numerous emergency/pandemic planning initiatives underway in Canada. Some plans may specify that members, during a catastrophe, provide medical care outside of their usual field of practice. If such a plan requires members provide services for which they are not fully qualified, it would be prudent for these members to seek specific training in advance of the emergency/pandemic. The Association encourages such members to seek clarification from the College regarding any licensing issues that may arise from providing medical care outside of their field of practice.

In the event of a complaint to the College alleging the member provided care (in relation to a catastrophic event) outside of his/her usual field of practice, the member will generally be eligible for assistance from the CMPA.

Such work may also fall outside of the CMPA type of work category on which the member's fees were determined. In these circumstances, the Association would, generally, exercise its discretion and assist a member with a legal matter, even if the matter arises from the provision of care outside the member's designated CMPA type of work category.

Duration of assistance

The length of time during which members are engaged in assisting with a catastrophic event will depend on the type of event. Members who continue to provide care outside their usual practice arrangement, beyond the declared duration of the event, should contact the CMPA to discuss their continued eligibility in their new practice situation.

Preparing a physician's practice

Under pandemic/catastrophic conditions, physicians' office practices would likely be seriously affected.

Physicians are encouraged to prepare themselves and their practices. This may include familiarizing themselves with the recommendations and guidelines issued by relevant authorities and agencies. In light of those recommendations, they should also adopt appropriate procedures and obtain the required supplies.

Patient care concerns

Physicians may require help in coping with potentially large numbers of sick or injured patients, and so may delegate more medical acts to staff. Patients may be reluctant to attend physicians' offices, making it necessary to provide patients with advice more often by telephone or in the "field." These interactions should be documented in the medical record.

In a catastrophe, many patients may require hospitalization and even critical care and life support. Hospitals may quickly become challenged to provide care in all cases, resulting in some very ill patients being managed in the community. Doctors may well face challenges treating such patients. They may be asked to perform functions that are not part of their usual practice. They would be expected to act in a professional manner, doing what is reasonable under such exceptional circumstances.

A key principle for physicians to remember is their professional obligation requires them to act in the best interests of their patients. Physicians should make reasonable attempts to obtain medical care for their patients even in a time of scarce resources. As always, documentation by physicians of the facts and circumstances of each case and their rationale for the medical decisions should be a priority for patient care. This would be invaluable in the event of medical-legal developments in the future when memories may have faded about working conditions at the time.

A shortage of supplies (e.g., antivirals, vaccines and antiseptic solutions, etc.), medical personnel and hospital beds may develop during a catastrophe. Physicians and other health care workers may need to adapt and be resourceful in a rapidly changing and challenging environment.

Pandemic planning

Physicians bring unique medical expertise and insight to pandemic preparedness discussions. Many physicians participate in formulating pandemic preparedness policies for a variety of organizations such as hospitals, health authorities, or other institutions. The CMPA does not generally extend assistance to defend policies, procedures or other directives established by committees working on behalf of other organizations. Members should look to the organization for such assistance. However, should there be an allegation that the medical input provided by the member to the committee or organization was negligent, then the member would generally be eligible for assistance from the CMPA in respect of that medical contribution.

The bottom line

  • The CMPA will continue to provide members with liability protection for medical-legal difficulties arising as a result of care provided in Canada during public health emergencies and catastrophic events.
  • In a catastrophic event, the Association would generally exercise its discretion to extend assistance to members who provide medical care outside their usual field of practice or who provide care in Canada, but outside their designated province of work.
  • Physicians are encouraged to prepare themselves and their practices for a possible pandemic/catastrophic event. This may include familiarizing themselves with the recommendations and guidelines issued by relevant authorities and agencies, adopting appropriate procedures and obtaining required supplies.
  • Despite the challenging conditions of a pandemic/catastrophic event, physicians will be relied on to act professionally on behalf of their patients.
  • Members should document their rationale for decisions under crisis situations to assist in the event of medical-legal difficulties.
  • Physicians' participation in pandemic preparations may be the best way to bring a physician perspective to the discussions.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Principes de l’assistance

Urgences sanitaires et catastrophes

Publié initialement en mars 2008

Résumé

La protection contre les risques médico-légaux offerte aux médecins lors de situations d'urgence où les ressources en matière de santé sont surchargées.

 

De nombreux organismes, gouvernements, centres hospitaliers et cliniques se penchent sur l'élaboration et l'examen de plans d'urgence en cas d'une éventuelle pandémie de grippe. En effet, un grand nombre de Canadiens seraient atteints s'il survenait une pandémie, avec tout ce que cela comporte comme répercussions importantes sur la pratique des médecins. Nombre de médecins ont déjà été invités à contribuer aux préparatifs en cas de pandémie ou d'autre catastrophe.

Certains médecins se sont dits préoccupés à la perspective d'être appelés à assumer des responsabilités ne relevant pas de leur rôle et de leur lieu de travail habituels.

Comme dans le cas de tout défi médical important, les médecins doivent se concentrer sur l'exercice de la médecine au mieux de leur capacité. Les membres de l'ACPM peuvent se sentir rassurés de savoir que l'Association peut, à sa discrétion, leur prêter assistance dans l'éventualité de problèmes médico-légaux découlant de ce genre de soins. L'ACPM prend très au sérieux son engagement d'être considérée comme composante essentielle du système de soins de santé canadien en fournissant à ses membres une protection complète en matière de responsabilité médicale.

Qu'est-ce qu'une catastrophe ou une urgence sanitaire?

Il n'est pas aisé de définir clairement ce que l'on entend par catastrophe ou urgence sanitaire. Il est toutefois possible d'affirmer qu'il s'agit d'une situation urgente et critique, de nature temporaire, posant un risque grave pour la vie, la santé et/ou la sécurité de la population et nécessitant une action rapide pour prévenir ou limiter des conséquences néfastes pour la santé de la population visée. De tels événements sont normalement reconnus promptement et entraînent la mise en place de mesures d'urgence par la presque totalité des autorités concernées. Des exemples récents de catastrophes survenues en Amérique du Nord comprennent le SRAS, la crise du verglas de 1998, les attaques du 11 septembre et l'ouragan Katrina.

L'assistance de l'ACPM

Il est difficile de prédire le genre de problèmes médico-légaux auxquels les membres de l'ACPM pourraient être confrontés à la suite de soins médicaux prodigués dans le cadre d'une catastrophe. De ce fait, il est également difficile de décrire à l'avance l'étendue de l'assistance que l'Association pourra prêter. L'ACPM a mis sur pied un groupe de travail interne qui sera chargé de résoudre les problèmes qui surviendront en cas d'urgence ou de catastrophe et elle déploiera tous les efforts nécessaires pour maintenir une bonne communication avec ses membres dans l'éventualité d'une telle situation. Elle reconnaît qu'il ne peut pas toujours être possible pour les membres de communiquer avec l'Association avant de prodiguer des soins dans le cadre d'une catastrophe. Les membres sont toutefois encouragés, lorsque ceci est possible, à discuter de leurs préoccupations avec l'ACPM avant de prodiguer des soins s'ils ont des questions sur leur admissibilité à l'assistance.

Questions relatives aux permis d'exercice

Lorsque survient une catastrophe, les membres peuvent être appelés à prodiguer des soins médicaux dans une province ou un territoire où ils ne détiennent pas de permis d'exercice de la médecine. Dans de telles circonstances, l'Association encourage ses membres à obtenir des éclaircissements concernant le permis d'exercice auprès de l'organisme de réglementation de la médecine (le Collège) de la province ou du territoire où ils sont appelés à prodiguer des soins. L'Association est consciente qu'un certain nombre de Collèges au Canada cherchent à l'heure actuelle à résoudre ce genre de point litigieux à l'égard des permis.

Dans l'éventualité où une plainte serait déposée au Collège, alléguant qu'un membre (ayant prodigué des soins dans le cadre d'une catastrophe) aurait manqué à son obligation d'obtenir un permis d'exercice de la médecine dans la province ou le territoire, le membre sera généralement admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM.

L'ACPM reconnaît qu'un membre dispensant des soins médicaux dans une province ou un territoire où il n'est pas autorisé à exercer prodiguera probablement ces soins à l'extérieur de la province ou de la région dans laquelle sa cotisation de l'ACPM a été déterminée. Dans de telles circonstances, l'Association exercera normalement sa discrétion pour lui prêter assistance dans une action en justice, même si une telle action découle de la prestation de soins dans une province ou un territoire qui diffère du lieu de travail habituel désigné par le membre.

Il est également possible que des médecins retraités, des médecins résidant au Canada mais ne possédant pas de permis d'exercice, ou même des étudiants en médecine soient appelés à participer à des soins médicaux dans l'éventualité d'un désastre majeur prolongé. Il faut noter que pour être admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM, un médecin doit détenir un permis d'exercice de la médecine au Canada et être membre de l'Association au moment où les soins sont prodigués.

Catégories des genres de travail de l'ACPM

L'ACPM est consciente qu'il existe de nombreuses initiatives en cours au Canada en matière de planification en cas d'urgence majeure ou de pandémie. Certains plans peuvent préciser que les membres doivent prodiguer des soins médicaux hors de leur champ d'exercice habituel dans le cas d'une catastrophe. Si un tel plan exige que des membres fournissent des services pour lesquels ils ne sont pas entièrement qualifiés, il serait prudent que ces médecins obtiennent une formation particulière à l'avance. L'Association encourage les membres à obtenir des éclaircissements auprès du Collège à l'égard de toute question entourant le permis et la prestation de soins médicaux ne relevant pas de leur champ d'exercice.

Dans l'éventualité d'une plainte au Collège alléguant qu'un membre aurait fourni des soins (dans le cadre d'une catastrophe) hors de son champ d'exercice habituel, ce membre sera généralement admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM.

Le travail effectué peut également ne pas relever du genre de travail de l'ACPM en fonction duquel la cotisation du membre a été déterminée. Dans un tel cas, l'ACPM exercera généralement sa discrétion pour prêter assistance au membre dans une cause juridique, même si cette cause découle de la prestation de soins qui ne relèvent pas du genre de travail de l'ACPM désigné par le membre.

Durée de l'assistance

La période pendant laquelle un membre participera à des soins dans le cadre d'une catastrophe dépendra de chaque situation. Les membres qui continueront, au-delà de la durée d'une situation, à prodiguer des soins ne relevant pas des dispositions relatives à leur pratique habituelle, devront communiquer avec l'ACPM pour discuter de leur admissibilité continue dans leur nouveau domaine de pratique.

Préparation de la pratique d'un médecin

Dans une situation de pandémie ou de catastrophe, la pratique des médecins en cabinet privé sera en toute probabilité sérieusement touchée.

Les médecins sont encouragés à se préparer et à préparer leur pratique à cette éventualité. Cela peut signifier qu'ils se familiarisent avec les recommandations et les lignes directrices émises par les autorités et les agences concernées. Ils devraient à leur tour adopter des marches à suivre appropriées et obtenir les fournitures nécessaires à leur pratique.

Préoccupations concernant les soins aux patients

Les médecins peuvent avoir besoin d'aide pour s'occuper d'un nombre potentiellement très élevé de patients malades ou blessés et peuvent donc se voir obligés de déléguer davantage d'actes médicaux à leur personnel. Les patients peuvent hésiter à se présenter au cabinet de leur médecin, ce qui peut alors obliger le médecin à prodiguer davantage de conseils à ses patients, souvent au téléphone ou sur le « terrain ». Ces interactions doivent être documentées dans le dossier médical.

Dans le cadre d'une catastrophe, de nombreux patients peuvent avoir besoin d'hospitalisation, de soins intensifs ou même du maintien de leurs fonctions vitales. Les hôpitaux peuvent rapidement être incapables de fournir des soins dans tous les cas, ce qui voudrait dire que certains patients très malades seraient traités en milieu communautaire. Les médecins peuvent également être confrontés à des défis dans le traitement de tels patients, en étant appelés à exercer des fonctions qui ne font pas partie de leur pratique habituelle. Ils devront alors agir de manière professionnelle, accomplissant leur travail de façon raisonnable dans de telles circonstances.

Les médecins doivent se rappeler d'un principe clé : ils ont l'obligation professionnelle d'agir dans le meilleur intérêt du patient. Ils doivent donc déployer tous les efforts raisonnables pour obtenir des soins médicaux pour leurs patients, même lorsque les ressources se font rares. Comme toujours, la priorité des soins aux patients veut que les médecins documentent les faits et circonstances entourant chaque cas, ainsi que le raisonnement suivi pour prendre les décisions médicales. Cette documentation peut être de grande valeur dans l'éventualité de développements médico-légaux futurs, lorsque les souvenirs sur les conditions de travail de l'époque risquent de s'être estompés.

Il est possible, lors d'une catastrophe, qu'il y ait pénurie de fournitures (par ex., antiviraux, vaccins, solutions antiseptiques, etc.), de personnel médical et de lits d'hôpital. Les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé devront sûrement s'adapter et s'ingénier à trouver des solutions dans un milieu rempli de défis qui évoluera rapidement.

Planification en prévision d'une pandémie

Les médecins contribuent par leur expertise médicale et leurs connaissances uniques aux discussions de préparation en vue d'une pandémie. De nombreux médecins participent à la formulation de politiques sur les préparatifs en vue d'une pandémie pour le compte de divers organismes, comme des hôpitaux, des autorités sanitaires ou d'autres établissements. L'ACPM ne prête généralement pas assistance pour défendre les politiques, procédures ou autres directives établies par des comités oeuvrant pour le compte d'autres organismes. Les membres doivent normalement se tourner vers ces organismes concernés pour une telle assistance. Toutefois, s'il y avait allégation que la contribution médicale du membre au comité ou à l'organisme était fautive, le membre serait généralement admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM par rapport à cette contribution médicale.

En bref

  • L'ACPM continuera de fournir à ses membres une protection en matière de responsabilité dans les cas de problèmes médico-légaux découlant de soins prodigués au Canada lors d'urgences sanitaires et de catastrophes.
  • En cas de catastrophe, l'Association exercera généralement sa discrétion pour prêter assistance aux membres fournissant des soins médicaux qui ne relèvent pas de leur champ d'exercice habituel ou prodiguant des soins au Canada, mais à l'extérieur de leur province de travail désignée.
  • Les médecins sont encouragés à se préparer et à préparer leur pratique en vue de la possibilité d'une pandémie ou d'une catastrophe. Ceci peut signifier qu'ils doivent se familiariser avec les recommandations et les lignes directrices des autorités et des agences concernées, ainsi qu'adopter les mesures appropriées et obtenir les fournitures nécessaires.
  • En dépit des défis posés par une situation de pandémie ou de catastrophe, les médecins doivent agir de façon professionnelle envers leurs patients.
  • Les membres doivent documenter leur raisonnement derrière les décisions prises en situations de crise, afin de les aider dans l'éventualité de problèmes médico-légaux.
  • La participation des médecins aux préparatifs en vue d'une pandémie peut représenter la meilleure façon d'inclure la perspective médicale aux discussions.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.