Act of Incorporation and By-law

The CMPA was founded at the annual meeting of the Canadian Medical Association in August 1901.

The CMPA was incorporated by a special Act of Parliament. The Act of Incorporation for The Canadian Medical Protective Association was passed by the House of Commons on February 27, 1913, and assented to on May 16, 1913.

The Act of Incorporation empowers the Association to establish rules to guide the conduct of its affairs. These rules are embodied in the CMPA By-law.

Since the Association's incorporation, the by-law has been revised as required. Article 10 of the by-law outlines the requirements for passing, amending, and repealing the by-law. Section 7 of the Act of Incorporation stipulates the requirements for putting the by-law into force.

The most recent review of the by-law took place in 2009-2010. By-law 52 was approved by the CMPA's membership during the CMPA Annual Meeting of August 25, 2010. It received Governor General in Council approval on February 2, 2012, effective as of March 2, 2012.

Read these documents here:

Loi constituant en corporation et règlements

L'Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) a été fondée lors de l'assemblée annuelle de l'Association médicale canadienne en août 1901.

L'ACPM a été constituée en corporation par une loi spéciale du Parlement. La Loi constituant en corporation l'Association canadienne de protection médicale a été adoptée par la Chambre des communes le 27 février 1913 et sanctionnée le 16 mai 1913.

La Loi constituant en corporation l'Association canadienne de protection médicale accorde à l'ACPM le pouvoir d'établir des règles pour guider la conduite de ses affaires. Ces règles sont incluses dans le Règlement de l'ACPM.

Depuis la constitution de l'Association, le Règlement a été révisé au besoin. L'article 10 du Règlement décrit les exigences relatives à l'adoption, la modification et l'abrogation du Règlement. L'article 7 de la Loi constituant en corporation l'Association canadienne de protection médicale stipule les exigences de l'entrée en vigueur du Règlement.

La modification la plus récente du Règlement a eu lieu en 2009-2010. Le Règlement no 52 a été approuvé par les membres de l'ACPM lors de l'assemblée annuelle de l'Association le 25 août 2010. Il a reçu l'approbation du Gouverneur général en conseil le 2 février 2012 et est entré en vigueur le 2 mars 2012.

Voir ces documents ci-après :