Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Being on call when resources are limited

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published March 2008
IL0810-1-E

Abstract

Physicians may be expected to provide appropriate advice to referring physicians even when their facility cannot accept the patient.

Of interest to all physicians

On-call consultants frequently respond to calls from within their own hospital or from other institutions in or outside their normal referral area wanting to arrange care or transfer of a patient. Some CMPA members have voiced concern about providing advice when they are unable to accept the patient due to lack of resources and therefore cannot directly provide the investigation or therapy the patient may require. The concern stems from a possible misunderstanding that, by accepting the call and providing advice, the liability of the on-call consultant may be greater than refusing the call in the first place.

When physical and human resources are limited or lacking, the level of service the consultant can reasonably provide may also be affected. Nevertheless, such circumstances do not generally mean the consultant should avoid providing advice to physicians in other institutions or participating in the care of patients within their own hospital. Some recent examples of the concerns raised to the CMPA from our members may help illustrate the medico-legal principles involved.

  • A chief of staff contacted the CMPA concerned that on-call physicians in his hospital were refusing to speak with referring physicians when a shortage of beds precluded admitting the patient. The concern stemmed from a belief that, by accepting the call and providing advice, and if the direction and advice could not be provided at the referring physician's site, the on-call consultant might risk increased liability. When the chief of staff contacted the regulatory authority (College) about this matter, the College expressed concern that on-call consultants were refusing to provide advice to other physicians, and indicated that such consultants should at least provide direction to the referring physician, regardless of whether a transfer of the patient was possible.
  • The director of an emergency department reported that on-call intensivists and cardiologists were refusing to assist in the management of critically ill patients in their own emergency department when ICU beds were unavailable.
  • The director of a critical-care patient placement service contacted the CMPA, concerned that on-call specialists in urban centres had refused to provide advice for the management and/or transport of critically ill patients residing in areas where specialist expertise did not exist. This had apparently occurred under circumstances where the specialists' hospital could provide neither the ICU bed nor the operating theatre needed for the appropriate care of the patient.

Based on judgments to date, the Courts might consider that, once contacted about a potentially emergent patient, the on-call consultant owes a duty of care to that patient. Should an adverse event result from the failure to either take the call or provide advice, the risk of liability may be as great or greater than if appropriate advice and direction had been provided to the referring physician.

Under circumstances such as those described earlier, on-call consultants should accept calls from referring physicians. During these calls, consider the following:

  1. Have you gathered sufficient clinical information on which to base your professional opinion?
  2. Have you documented the information provided by the referring physician and the advice you gave, including any suggestions you offered about alternative referral centres?
  3. Information provided and advice given should both be documented and retained. Your advice will be judged based on your understanding of the situation at the time.
  4. Has the administrator on call for your institution been contacted to see if the needed resource could be made available?

If your hospital does not currently provide specific guidance on how to deal with such situations, you may also consider approaching the appropriate authority at your hospital to request the development of guidelines for the management of referred patients in situations where resources are limited or lacking.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Le travail de garde lorsque les ressources sont limitées

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement en mars 2008
IL0810-1-F

Résumé

Les médecins pourraient devoir fournir des conseils appropriés aux médecins qui demandent une consultation même si leur établissement ne peut accepter le patient.

Un article d'intérêt pour tous les médecins

Les consultants de garde reçoivent souvent des appels provenant de l'hôpital où ils travaillent, d'autres établissements ou même de l'extérieur de leur région de service concernant la prise en charge ou le transfert d'un patient. Certains membres de l'ACPM se sont dits inquiets à l'idée de fournir des conseils lorsqu'ils ne peuvent accepter un patient en raison d'un manque de ressources, car ils risquent alors de ne pouvoir offrir les examens ou le traitement dont le patient aurait sûrement besoin. Leurs inquiétudes découlent d'un malentendu, leur laissant croire qu'en acceptant un appel et en prodiguant des conseils, la responsabilité du consultant de garde risque d'être plus grande que s'il avait tout simplement refusé de répondre.

Lorsque les ressources physiques et humaines sont restreintes ou inexistantes, le niveau de service qu'un consultant peut raisonnablement offrir risque bien entendu d'en d'être affecté. Néanmoins, de telles circonstances ne signifient généralement pas que le consultant doit éviter de prodiguer des conseils à des médecins appelant d'autres établissements ou de participer aux soins de patients dans l'hôpital où il exerce. Voici quelques exemples récents d'inquiétudes soulevées par des membres auprès de l'ACPM pouvant illustrer les principes médico-légaux en jeu.

  • Un médecin chef communique avec l'ACPM, s'inquiétant du fait que des médecins de garde de son hôpital refusent de parler à des médecins traitants lorsqu'une pénurie de lits les empêche d'admettre un patient. Ils semblent en effet croire qu'en acceptant un appel et en fournissant des conseils qui ne peuvent être obtenus à l'hôpital du médecin traitant, le consultant de garde risque de se placer dans une position de responsabilité accrue. Lorsque le médecin chef a communiqué avec l'organisme de réglementation (le Collège) à ce sujet, le Collège lui a indiqué qu'un tel comportement soulevait des craintes et que les consultants de garde devraient tout au moins donner des conseils aux médecins traitants, peu importe l'éventualité du transfert.
  • Le directeur d'un service des urgences signale que des intensivistes et des cardiologues de garde refusent de prêter assistance dans le traitement de patients gravement malades dans leur propre service des urgences lorsque des lits ne sont pas disponibles à l'unité des soins intensifs (USI).
  • Le directeur d'un service de placement des patients en état critique communique avec l'ACPM, se disant inquiet que des spécialistes de garde dans des centres urbains refusent de fournir des conseils pour le traitement et/ou le transport de patients en état critique résidant dans les localités où il n'y a pas d'expertise spécialisée. Ce genre de situation est apparemment survenu dans des circonstances où l'hôpital des spécialistes n'avait pas de lits disponibles à l'USI ni de salle d'opération pour prodiguer des soins appropriés aux patients.

D'après les jugements rendus jusqu'à maintenant, les tribunaux peuvent considérer que lorsqu'un consultant de garde a été contacté au sujet d'un patient ayant possiblement besoin de soins très urgents, ce consultant a un devoir de diligence envers ce patient. Si un événement indésirable devait découler du manquement à accepter l'appel ou à prodiguer des conseils, le risque de responsabilité peut être tout aussi important, sinon plus, que si des conseils et des directives avaient été fournis au médecin traitant.

Dans des circonstances comme celles présentées à la page 1, les consultants de garde devraient accepter les appels provenant de médecins traitants. Au cours de ces appels, les consultants devraient se poser les questions suivantes :

  1. Ai-je recueilli suffisamment de renseignements cliniques pour émettre une opinion professionnelle?
  2. Ai-je documenté l'information fournie par le médecin traitant et les conseils que je lui ai donnés, y compris toute suggestion concernant un autre centre spécialisé? Les renseignements et les conseils fournis devraient être documentés et conservés. Les conseils seront jugés d'après la compréhension qu'a le consultant de la situation sur le moment.
  3. L'administrateur de garde dans mon établissement a-t-il été contacté pour voir si les ressources nécessaires étaient disponibles?

Lorsque l'hôpital n'offre pas de conseils suffisamment précis sur la façon de gérer de telles situations, les médecins peuvent également communiquer avec l'autorité concernée de leur hôpital pour demander l'élaboration de lignes directrices sur le traitement de patients dirigés vers eux dans les situations où les ressources sont restreintes ou inexistantes.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.