Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

They can't sue me outside Canada, or can they? Considerations when treating or prescribing to non-residents

Originally published September 2011 / Revised October 2016
P1103-2-E

Given advances in technology and communications, and the ease and speed of international travel, there are increased instances when Canadian physicians might provide healthcare to patients who are not residents of Canada.

While the CMPA generally assists members with medical-legal difficulties arising in Canada as a result of professional work done in Canada, the Association is not structured to assist when legal actions are initiated elsewhere. Legal actions brought outside of Canada, particularly those launched in the United States, can be extremely costly.

A physician is generally not eligible for CMPA protection when a non-resident patient launches a legal action outside Canada regarding treatment provided by the physician in Canada. There are some instances, however, where the CMPA will exercise its discretion and assist members with legal actions outside Canada—if the care provided is emergent or urgent, or in exceptional circumstances, if the required care is not reasonably available in the patient's own country.

To illustrate, consider a Canadian physician who develops a new procedure for the treatment of Parkinson's disease. The procedure, still in the trial phase and not yet available elsewhere, attracts the attention of a resident of the United States who wants to travel to Canada for the treatment. While this particular procedure may not be available in the U.S., other treatments for Parkinson's disease are available in that country. A CMPA member who treats the U.S. resident patient using the new procedure would generally not be eligible for CMPA assistance in the event that the patient brought a legal action in the U.S.

Another example is when U.S. residents request that a Canadian physician co-sign a prescription written in the U.S. This may occur because some medications are considerably less expensive in Canada. Members are cautioned that co-signing these prescriptions—thus arguably approving the indication for the medication—may establish a doctor-patient relationship, even though the U.S. resident was not asked for a history and was not examined. This may make the physician potentially liable in the U.S. for difficulties flowing from the use of the medications. In the event of a legal action commenced in the U.S., the physician may not be eligible for assistance from the CMPA. In addition, the physician may also be exposed to scrutiny by provincial/territorial regulatory authorities (Colleges) in Canada.

There are, however, ways that physicians can reduce their medical-legal exposure when treating non-resident patients in Canada. Additional information on strategies to minimize risk is provided in the article "Treating non-residents of Canada."

The bottom line

  • While the CMPA generally assists members with medical-legal difficulties arising in Canada as a result of professional work done in Canada, the Association is not structured to assist when legal actions are initiated outside Canada. Before treating a non-resident patient, members should make reasonable efforts to have the patient sign the Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement.
  • The CMPA will exercise its discretion and assist members with legal actions outside Canada if the care provided in Canada was emergent or urgent, or it may consider extending assistance in other exceptional circumstances.
  • The CMPA will not consider extending assistance outside Canada when a member has, directly or indirectly, solicited, actively undertaken, or offered to undertake the treatment of a non-resident patient. For example, if a member solicits patients from a foreign country (e.g. via advertising or the Internet), or encourages the creation of a doctor-patient relationship, the member will not be eligible for CMPA assistance if sued outside Canada. Members who have a website promoting their services should include a disclaimer on the site stating that the content is intended only for residents of Canada.

 

Governing law and jurisdiction

When a non-resident patient initiates a legal action outside of Canada against a Canadian physician arising from care provided in Canada, the physician may attempt to have the claim dismissed on the basis that the claim should have been brought in Canada.

In deciding whether the claim should be allowed to proceed in the foreign jurisdiction, the foreign court may consider many factors including whether the physician:

  • solicited the patient to come to Canada for treatment
  • advertised services in the foreign jurisdiction
  • provided any care to the patient outside of Canada
  • has a business arrangement outside of Canada (e.g. partnership with non-Canadian clinic, arrangements with U.S. billing service, etc.).

For example, in one case where a U.S. resident patient brought a legal action in the U.S. against a Canadian physician, the court took into consideration that the Canadian physician had offices in both Canada and New York. In addition, the physician provided treatment to the patient in both Canada and New York. Based on these facts, the court concluded the physician had a close connection to the state and it was reasonable to allow the action to proceed in New York.

Members providing care to non-resident patients in Canada should ask the patient to complete and sign a Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement. The Agreement is aimed at helping to establish Canadian jurisdiction for any potential legal actions that may result from providing care or treatment to non-resident patients.

Members should explain to their patients that the purpose of the Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement is to agree that legal actions against the physician will be brought in Canada, where CMPA assistance is generally available. Of course, this does not guarantee that foreign actions won't be brought; the Agreement is, however, a powerful argument in successfully restoring jurisdiction to Canada.

Members are also encouraged to request that patients from other countries who are temporarily living in Canada execute the Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement. This may include family members of professional athletes or actors or performers from other countries who may be working for extended periods in Canada.

 

Urgent and emergency care

Members will generally be eligible for CMPA assistance when they treat non-resident patients who come to Canada for reasons other than to obtain medical care and who unexpectedly develop medical problems.

If it is unreasonable for the patient to return to their home country for treatment, the CMPA would consider such care as emergent or urgent. Examples of such situations include the patient developing an acute condition, being involved in a motor vehicle collision, being in labour, complications related to pregnancy, or an acute exacerbation of a chronic disease. Members are advised to make reasonable efforts, under the circumstances, to have the patient sign a Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement.

Legal actions brought in Canada

Members are generally eligible for assistance from the CMPA when a lawsuit is brought in Canada by a non-resident or a resident patient.

Ignoring a claim in another country

It is unwise to ignore legal documents from foreign countries, including the United States. Failure to respond to a subpoena or a claim may result in monetary consequences enforceable in Canada. In some circumstances, a person who fails to respond to a foreign court document may be apprehended when attempting to enter that country. No matter the circumstances, members are encouraged to contact the CMPA for advice whenever they encounter medical-legal problems.

More information about CMPA's assistance principles is provided in the article "Treating non-residents of Canada." Members are encouraged to call the CMPA at 1-800-267-6522, or use the Medical-legal assistance/web mail form for advice about their specific situation.

Who is considered a non-resident of Canada?

Any individual who:

  • is ordinarily a resident outside of Canada
  • is not living in Canada and has never lived in Canada
  • has been residing outside of Canada for a number of years, and may have a residence, career, or family in the foreign country
  • ordinarily resides outside of Canada but who comes to Canada for vacation or work for temporary periods of time

Who is considered a resident of Canada? Who has a close connection to Canada?

Some of the factors to be considered would include any individual who:

  • has been living full-time in Canada
  • holds Canadian citizenship or has been granted immigration status by the Canadian government
  • maintains a residence in Canada
  • has been residing in Canada full-time to attend a recognized Canadian educational institution
  • has recently or previously lived in Canada
  • holds a valid provincial or territorial health card



DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Ils ne peuvent me poursuivre à l'étranger, n'est-ce pas? Facteurs à considérer au moment de traiter des non-résidents ou de leur prescrire des médicaments

Publié initialement en septembre 2011/révisé en octobre 2016
P1103-2-F

Compte tenu des progrès de la technologie et des communications, ainsi que de la facilité et de la rapidité des déplacements internationaux, il arrive de plus en plus souvent que des médecins canadiens fournissent des soins de santé à des patients qui n'habitent pas au Canada.

L'ACPM aide en général ses membres qui ont des problèmes médico-légaux au Canada à la suite d'un travail professionnel effectué au Canada, mais l'Association n'est pas structurée pour les aider lorsque des poursuites en justice sont intentées ailleurs. Les poursuites en justice intentées à l'étranger, et en particulier aux États-Unis, peuvent coûter extrêmement cher.

Un médecin n'a en général pas droit à la protection de l'ACPM lorsqu'un patient non résident intente à l'étranger une poursuite en justice portant sur un traitement fourni par le médecin au Canada. Il arrive toutefois que l'ACPM exerce son pouvoir discrétionnaire et aide des membres visés par une poursuite en justice à l'étranger – si les soins fournis sont d'urgence imminente ou immédiate, ou dans des circonstances exceptionnelles si les soins requis ne sont pas raisonnablement disponibles dans le pays du patient.

Prenons l'exemple d'un médecin canadien qui met au point une nouvelle intervention pour traiter la maladie de Parkinson. L'intervention en est encore au stade de l'essai et n'est pas encore disponible ailleurs, mais elle attire l'attention d'un résident des États-Unis qui veut venir se faire traiter au Canada. Cette intervention en particulier n'est pas disponible aux États-Unis, mais d'autres traitements contre la maladie de Parkinson y sont disponibles. Un membre de l'ACPM qui traite le patient habitant aux États-Unis au moyen de la nouvelle intervention n'aurait en général pas droit à l'aide de l'ACPM si le patient intente une poursuite en justice aux États-Unis.

Autre exemple : un résident américain demande à un médecin canadien de contresigner une ordonnance rédigée aux États-Unis. De telles demandes pourraient être formulées en raison du coût considérablement plus bas de certains médicaments au Canada. Les membres sont mis en garde : la contresignature de telles ordonnances – geste qu'on pourrait raisonnablement interpréter comme une approbation que le médicament est indiqué – peut créer une relation médecin-patient même si le médecin n’a pas obtenu d’anamnèse auprès du résident américain et n’a pas examiné ce dernier. Il est donc possible que le médecin soit tenu responsable aux États-Unis dans le cas de problèmes découlant de l'utilisation de ces médicaments. Dans l'éventualité d'une poursuite entamée aux États-Unis, le médecin pourrait ne pas être admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM. Il pourrait également faire l'objet d'une enquête par des organismes de réglementation provinciaux/territoriaux (Collèges) au Canada.

Il y a toutefois des moyens pour les médecins de réduire leurs risques médico-légaux lorsqu'ils traitent des patients non résidents au Canada. L'article intitulé « Traitement de non-résidents du Canada » contient d'autres renseignements sur les stratégies à suivre pour minimiser le risque.

Points à retenir

  • L'ACPM aide généralement ses membres qui ont des problèmes médico-légaux se produisant au Canada à la suite d'un travail professionnel effectué au Canada, mais l'Association n'est pas structurée pour les aider lorsque des poursuites en justice sont intentées à l'étranger. Avant de traiter un patient non résident, les membres doivent faire des efforts raisonnables pour faire signer par le patient la Convention relative aux lois d'application et à la compétence judiciaire.
  • L'ACPM exercera son pouvoir discrétionnaire et aidera les membres visés par une poursuite en justice intentée à l'étranger si les soins fournis au Canada étaient d'urgence imminente ou immédiate, ou l'Association pourra envisager d'aider dans d'autres circonstances exceptionnelles.
  • L'ACPM n'envisagera pas d'aider à l'étranger lorsqu'un membre a, directement ou indirectement, sollicité, entrepris activement ou offert d'entreprendre le traitement d'un patient non résident. Par exemple, si un membre sollicite des patients d'un pays étranger (p. ex., en faisant de la publicité ou sur Internet), ou s'il encourage la création d'une relation médecin-patient, le membre n'aura pas droit à l'aide de l'ACPM si une poursuite lui est intentée à l'étranger. Les membres qui ont un site web pour promouvoir leurs services devraient y inclure un avis de non-responsabilité indiquant que le contenu s'adresse seulement aux résidents du Canada.

 

Lois d'application et compétence


Lorsqu'un patient non résident intente à l'étranger une poursuite en justice contre un médecin canadien à la suite de soins fournis au Canada, le médecin peut tenter de faire rejeter la poursuite en affirmant qu'elle aurait dû être intentée au Canada.

Pour décider si la demande devrait aller de l'avant dans l'administration étrangère, le tribunal étranger peut tenir compte de nombreux facteurs, y compris des questions de savoir si le médecin :

  • a sollicité le patient pour qu'il vienne se faire traiter au Canada;
  • a annoncé ses services dans le pays étranger;
  • a fourni des soins au patient à l'étranger;
  • a un arrangement d'affaires à l'étranger (partenariat avec une clinique non canadienne, arrangements avec un service de facturation des États-Unis, etc.).

Par exemple, dans un cas où un patient résident des États-Unis y a intenté une poursuite en justice contre un médecin canadien, la cour a tenu compte du fait que le médecin canadien avait des bureaux au Canada et dans l'État de New York. Le médecin a en outre traité le patient à la fois au Canada et dans l'État de New York. La cour a donc conclu que le médecin avait des liens étroits avec l'État de New York et qu'il était raisonnable de permettre que la poursuite y soit intentée.

Les membres qui traitent des patients non résidents au Canada devraient demander à leurs patients de remplir et signer un formulaire de Convention relative aux lois d'application et à la compétence judiciaire (dont un modèle est disponible à cmpa-acpm.ca). La Convention vise à aider à établir la compétence canadienne à l'égard de toute poursuite en justice éventuelle qui peut découler de soins ou de traitements fournis à des patients non résidents.

Les membres doivent expliquer à leurs patients que la Convention relative aux lois d'application et à la compétence judiciaire vise à indiquer que les poursuites en justice contre le médecin seront intentées au Canada, où l'aide de l'ACPM est généralement disponible. Cela ne garantit pas bien entendu qu'il ne sera pas intenté de poursuites à l'étranger. La Convention constitue toutefois un argument puissant dans le rétablissement fructueux de la compétence au Canada.

On encourage aussi les membres à demander que les patients d'autres pays qui vivent temporairement au Canada signent la Convention relative aux lois d'application et à la compétence judiciaire. Cet encouragement peut s'adresser aussi aux membres de la famille d'athlètes professionnels, de comédiens ou d'artistes de la scène d'autres pays qui peuvent travailler au Canada pendant des périodes prolongées.

 

Soins d'urgence imminente et immédiate

Les membres auront en général droit à l'aide de l'ACPM lorsqu'ils traitent des patients non résidents qui entrent au Canada pour des raisons autres que pour obtenir des soins médicaux et qui ont des problèmes médicaux inattendus.

S'il n'est pas raisonnable pour le patient de retourner dans son pays d'attache pour se faire traiter, l'ACPM envisagera de tels soins comme des soins d'urgence imminente ou immédiate. De telles situations comprennent le patient qui est victime d'un problème aigu, la victime d'un accident de la route, la patiente enceinte qui entre en travail, la patiente qui a des complications liées à la grossesse ou une poussée aiguë d'une maladie chronique. On conseille aux membres de faire des efforts raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances pour faire signer par le patient une Convention relative aux lois d'application et à la compétence judiciaire.

Poursuites en justice intentées au Canada

Les membres ont généralement droit à de l'aide de l'ACPM lorsqu'un patient non résident ou résident leur intente une poursuite au Canada.

Ne pas tenir compte d'une poursuite intentée à l'étranger

Il n'est pas judicieux de ne pas tenir compte de documents juridiques provenant de l'étranger, y compris les États-Unis. Le défaut de répondre à une assignation à témoigner ou à une réclamation peut avoir des conséquences financières exécutables au Canada. Dans certaines circonstances, une personne qui ne répond pas à un document d'un tribunal étranger peut être appréhendée lorsqu'elle essaie d'entrer dans le pays en cause. Quelles que soient les circonstances, l'ACPM encourage les membres à la consulter chaque fois qu'ils ont un problème médico-légal.

L'article intitulé « Traitement de non-résidents du Canada » contient plus d'information sur les principes d'aide de l'ACPM. L'ACPM encourage les membres à la consulter en composant 1-800-267-6522 ou à utiliser le formulaire de Demande d'assistance médico-légale/courriel web pour demander des conseils sur leur situation en particulier.

Qui est considéré comme non-résident du Canada?

Toute personne qui :

  • réside ordinairement à l'extérieur du Canada;
  • ne vit pas au Canada et n'y a jamais vécu;
  • réside à l'étranger depuis des années et peut avoir une résidence, une carrière ou une famille dans le pays étranger;
  • réside ordinairement à l'étranger mais vient au Canada pour des vacances ou pour y travailler temporairement.

Qui est considéré comme résident du Canada? Qui a un lien étroit avec le Canada?

Parmi les facteurs dont il sera tenu compte, toute personne qui :

  • vit à plein temps au Canada;
  • détient la citoyenneté canadienne ou à qui le gouvernement du Canada a accordé le statut d'immigrant;
  • a une résidence au Canada;
  • réside au Canada à temps plein pour fréquenter un établissement d'enseignement canadien reconnu;
  • a vécu récemment ou auparavant au Canada;
  • détient une carte santé provinciale ou territoriale valide.


Suggestion de lecture :

Traitement de non-résidents du Canada


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.