■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

Addressing disruptive behaviour from other physicians

Two men facing each other at a table, each with his hands clasped together

5 minutes

Published: September 2013 /
Revised: November 2022

The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
P1303-3-E

Disruptive behavior in the healthcare setting negatively impacts all providers and compromises patient safety. Physicians can address the issue in a constructive and proactive manner.

Establishing a common understanding

Disruptive behaviour generally refers to inappropriate conduct that interferes with or has the potential to interfere with quality healthcare delivery, whether in words, actions, or inactions.1 Examples include inappropriate words, abusive language, shaming, outbursts of anger, throwing medical instruments, and use or threat of unwarranted physical force. There is usually a pattern to disruptive behaviour, rather than a single isolated incident. Disruptive behaviour can also be quite subtle, such as refusing to work cooperatively with others or being chronically late for meetings, scheduled appointments, or surgeries.

Not all instances of behaviour that may initially seem inappropriate are actually disruptive. Much depends on the nature of the behaviour and the context in which it arises. Some medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) provide resources addressing disruptive behaviour among physicians.234 The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario provides examples of conduct not deemed disruptive, including "healthy criticism offered in good faith with the intention of improving patient care or facilities, making a complaint to an outside agency, testifying against a colleague, or good faith patient advocacy."2

Disruptive behaviour has both immediate and long-term consequences. There is an immediate effect on the individual at the receiving end of the behaviour, such as a nurse or another physician, and this can affect performance in providing care. In the long term, disruptive behaviour can lead to ineffective care, harm to patients, and poorer clinical outcomes.

In all provinces and territories, legislation exists regarding obligations to address violence, harassment, and safety in the workplace. In addition, many provinces and territories have legislation requiring hospitals to report cases of physician suspensions, or privilege restrictions due to misconduct, to regulatory authorities (Colleges). Moreover, some Colleges have developed guidance on disruptive behaviour. Physician health programs are also striving to assist by offering resources specifically aimed at addressing disruptive behaviour.

Tiered response to disruptive behaviour

Disruptive behaviour requires a collaborative and tiered response within institutions, and also when College involvement is appropriate.

Institutional response

The CMPA shares the perspective advanced by most stakeholders that disruptive behaviour by physicians should be addressed by the healthcare institution where the conduct occurs. Most healthcare institutions are well positioned to address these matters in-house, given their knowledge of the situation, the workplace, and the individuals involved.

Medical regulatory authority response

Generally, the Colleges have indicated healthcare organizations should investigate and follow a staged response to a complaint about disruptive physician behaviour. Colleges commonly want to be notified about physicians whose employment is terminated or where privileges are restructured or suspended, or when physicians resign from the medical staff during the course of an investigation.

Constructive approaches

From the CMPA's perspective, an adversarial process at either the institutional or College level should be avoided in favour of a step-by-step approach which includes:

  • Early identification
  • Proactive intervention
  • Workplace assessment
  • Remediation

The role of physician leaders

Physician leaders can foster a culture of respect and address disruptive behaviour in healthcare institutions by setting clear expectations, modeling first-rate behaviour, and emphasizing the positive values and behaviour important to the organization. Since disruptive behaviour may begin early in a physician's career, opportunities exist to address this behaviour before it takes hold. Physician leaders should set expectations for professional behaviour among residents and faculty, including clear and tiered consequences for non-compliance.

Specific training on teamwork, communication skills, and strategies in managing unprofessional behaviours may be beneficial. Beyond training opportunities, leaders should play a role in monitoring physician behaviour. This may include conducting reviews or regular staff surveys, team member evaluations, and direct observation.

Physician leaders must take appropriate and fair steps to help resolve disruptive behaviour. A tiered approach to promoting professionalism can help to manage disruptive behaviour. This would generally begin with a "coffee conversation" in the case of a single unprofessional incident, followed by documented intervention for recurring behaviour. The process should be transparent and should include sharing the information gathered with the physician identified as demonstrating disruptive behaviour. This physician should also receive the opportunity to provide their own perspective.

A persistent pattern of disruptive behaviour unresponsive to lower level intervention may require escalation to a higher authority figure, with further documentation and an action plan. Finally, failure to respond to the authority intervention would lead to disciplinary action.


References

  1. Physician behaviour in the professional environment. Toronto: College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario; c2016 May [cited 2022 Nov 2]. Available from: https://www.cpso.on.ca/Physicians/Policies-Guidance/Policies/Physician-Behaviour-in-the-Professional-Environmen
  2. Guidebook for Managing Disruptive Physician Behaviour. Toronto: College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario; c2008 Apr [cited 2022 Nov 2]. Available from: https://www.cpso.on.ca/admin/CPSO/media/Documents/physician/polices-and-guidance/policies/guidebook-managing-disruptive-physician-behaviour.pdf
  3. Disruptive Behaviour by Physicians. Bedford NS: College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia; c2018 Oct 12 [cited 2022 Nov 2]. Available from: https://cpsns.ns.ca/resource/disruptive-behaviour-by-physicians/
  4. Managing Disruptive Behavour in the Healthcare Workplace. Edmonton: College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta; c2010 Fall [cited 2022 Nov 2]. Available from: https://www.ualberta.ca/anesthesiology-pain-medicine/media-library/eliassons-wellness-docs/managing-disruptive-behaviour-2010-copy.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Obligations et responsabilités :

Les attentes vis-à-vis des médecins

Les comportements perturbateurs chez d’autres médecins : comment y faire face

Deux hommes assis face à face à une table, chacun d’eux ayant les mains jointes

6 minutes

Publié : septembre 2013 /
Révisé : novembre 2022

Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
P1303-3-F

Dans le domaine de la santé, les comportements perturbateurs nuisent à tous les prestataires de soins et compromettent la sécurité des patients. Il est toutefois possible pour les médecins d’aborder le problème de manière constructive et proactive.

L’établissement d’une compréhension commune

Un comportement perturbateur renvoie généralement à une conduite inappropriée, que ce soit par des paroles, des actions ou des inactions, et qui porte atteinte ou a le potentiel de porter atteinte à la prestation de soins de santé de qualité.1 Dire des choses inappropriées, tenir des propos violents, humilier les autres, se mettre en colère, lancer des instruments médicaux ou recourir à une force physique injustifiée (ou menacer de le faire) : voilà autant d’exemples d’un tel comportement. Le comportement perturbateur correspond habituellement à un type de conduite plutôt qu’à un seul incident isolé. Ce type de comportement peut aussi prendre des formes très subtiles, comme refuser de collaborer avec autrui ou se présenter régulièrement en retard à des réunions, à des rendez-vous ou à la salle d’opération.

Les comportements qui à priori peuvent sembler inappropriés ne sont pas nécessairement tous perturbateurs : tout dépend de la nature des agissements et du contexte dans lequel ils se manifestent. Certains organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) proposent des ressources pour faire face aux comportements perturbateurs chez les médecins.234 L’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario donne des exemples de comportements qui ne sont pas considérés comme perturbateurs; citons notamment les « critiques constructives formulées de bonne foi dans l’intention d’améliorer les soins aux patients ou le fonctionnement des établissements de santé, les plaintes déposées auprès d’une agence externe, les témoignages contre des collègues ou le fait de défendre les intérêts des patients en toute bonne foi ».2 [Traduction libre]

Un comportement perturbateur a des conséquences immédiates et à long terme. Il produit un effet immédiat sur la personne qui le subit – membre du personnel infirmier ou autre médecin, par exemple –, ce qui peut compromettre le rendement de la ou du prestataire de soins en question. À long terme, un comportement perturbateur peut conduire à une inefficacité des soins, à des préjudices chez les patients et à une issue clinique moins favorable.

Dans l’ensemble des provinces et des territoires, il existe désormais des lois sur la violence, le harcèlement et la sécurité au travail. De plus, plusieurs provinces et territoires ont adopté des lois exigeant que les hôpitaux signalent aux organismes de réglementation (Collèges) les cas de suspension de médecins ou de restriction des privilèges attribuables à l’inconduite. Certains Collèges ont même élaboré des directives sur la façon de gérer les comportements perturbateurs. Les programmes d’aide aux médecins s’efforcent également d’accorder une assistance en proposant des ressources conçues spécialement pour faire face aux comportements perturbateurs.

Un comportement perturbateur dicte une réponse échelonnée

Face à un comportement perturbateur, il y a lieu de miser sur une intervention échelonnée et fondée sur la collaboration; il en est de même lorsque la participation du Collège s’avère appropriée.

Réponse des établissements

L’ACPM partage le point de vue de la plupart de ses partenaires : les comportements perturbateurs de médecins devraient être examinés par l’établissement de santé où ont lieu les agissements en question. La plupart des établissements de santé sont bien positionnés pour gérer ces questions à l’interne, car ils connaissent la situation, le milieu de travail et les personnes concernées.

Réponse des organismes de réglementation de la médecine

La plupart des Collèges indiquent que les organisations de soins de santé devraient enquêter sur les plaintes liées au comportement perturbateur de médecins, puis adopter une réponse échelonnée. Quand des médecins sont congédiés, que leurs privilèges changent ou sont suspendus ou qu’ils démissionnent de leur poste de membre du personnel médical au cours d’une enquête, les Collèges veulent en être avisés.

Approches constructives

Selon l’ACPM, il est préférable, lorsque c’est possible, d’éviter tout processus contentieux au niveau des établissements et des Collèges en faveur d’une approche reposant sur les étapes suivantes :

  • Constater la situation sans tarder
  • Intervenir de façon proactive
  • Évaluer le milieu de travail
  • Prendre des mesures correctives

Le rôle des médecins leaders

Les médecins leaders peuvent promouvoir une culture de respect et faire face aux comportements perturbateurs dans les établissements de santé en fixant des attentes claires, en adoptant une conduite exemplaire et en mettant l’accent sur les valeurs positives et les comportements qui sont importants pour l’organisation. Comme les comportements perturbateurs peuvent se manifester tôt dans la carrière d’une ou d’un médecin, il y a moyen de s’attaquer au problème avant qu’il ne s’enracine. Les médecins leaders devraient indiquer aux médecins en résidence et au corps enseignant ce qui définit un comportement professionnel; ils devraient également leur expliquer clairement les conséquences qui seront mises en application étape par étape en cas de non-conformité.

Une formation axée sur le travail d’équipe, les aptitudes à la communication et les stratégies de gestion des comportements non professionnels peut s’avérer bénéfique. Au-delà de la formation, les médecins leaders devraient surveiller le comportement des médecins en procédant entre autres à des examens ou à des sondages réguliers auprès du personnel, en évaluant les membres de l’équipe et en faisant de l’observation directe.

Les médecins leaders doivent prendre des mesures appropriées et équitables pour contribuer à régler les comportements perturbateurs. Pour mieux gérer ce type de comportements, il peut être utile de promouvoir le professionnalisme à l’aide d’une approche échelonnée. En général, cette approche prend tout d’abord la forme d’une « conversation autour d’un café » dans le cas d’un seul manquement; si le comportement se reproduit, une intervention consignée au dossier suivra. Ce processus devrait se dérouler en toute transparence : les médecins au comportement jugé perturbateur devraient être informés de l’information recueillie, mais aussi avoir l’occasion de donner leur point de vue sur la situation.

Lorsqu’un comportement perturbateur est réfractaire aux interventions des échelons inférieurs, il pourrait être nécessaire de transmettre le dossier à une autorité supérieure en prenant soin de consigner le tout par écrit et d’établir un plan d’action. Enfin, l’absence de réaction à l’intervention de l’autorité entraînerait des mesures disciplinaires.


Références

  1. Le comportement des médecins dans un contexte professionnel. Toronto : Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario; c2016 May [cité le 2 novembre 2022]. Disponible : https://www.cpso.on.ca/fr/Physicians/Policies-Guidance/Policies/Physician-Behaviour-in-the-Professional-Environmen
  2. Guidebook for Managing Disruptive Physician Behaviour. Toronto : Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario; c2008 Apr [cité le 2 novembre 2022]. Disponible : https://www.cpso.on.ca/admin/CPSO/media/Documents/physician/polices-and-guidance/policies/guidebook-managing-disruptive-physician-behaviour.pdf
  3. Disruptive Behaviour by Physicians. Bedford, N.-É. : College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia; c2018 Oct 12 [cité le 2 novembre 2022]. Disponible : https://cpsns.ns.ca/resource/disruptive-behaviour-by-physicians/
  4. Managing Disruptive Behavour in the Healthcare Workplace. Edmonton : College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta; c2010 Fall [cité le 2 novembre 2022]. Disponible : https://www.ualberta.ca/anesthesiology-pain-medicine/media-library/eliassons-wellness-docs/managing-disruptive-behaviour-2010-copy.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.