■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

Resolving conflict between healthcare providers

A small group of young physicians conducting a meeting

Published: August 2021
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
21-12-E

The CMPA regularly receives inquiries from physicians seeking information about resolving conflict with other healthcare providers, including other physicians. Ideally, there would be no conflict in the workplace or elsewhere, but in reality, conflict is an inevitable part of our lives. As challenging as it is, especially in the moment, conflict can also serve as a catalyst to understanding other points of view, growing as a professional, and improving communications within an organization. This is especially true when conflict is managed successfully and resolved appropriately.

Where does conflict begin?

Conflict can arise from shifting priorities, well-intentioned but poorly communicated expectations, or misaligned perceptions of an issue where people care about the outcome.1 In healthcare, competition for limited resources and interdependencies among professionals can lead to conflict as well.

In early 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic became a serious potential source of conflict in healthcare settings. As the pandemic continued, many physicians became fatigued from adjusting to new schedules and unforeseen demands. In such a context, disagreements can develop between healthcare providers regarding what is the best approach for unprecedented scenarios, and tempers can fray more easily. As providers learn to work together in different ways, conflict resolution is as essential as ever.

The impact of conflict on the safety of care

Addressing conflict is important to achieving a workplace culture that values respect and collegiality. If left unaddressed, conflict can lead to heightened anxiety and stress, a toxic work environment, and even professional burnout. Health professionals working in an environment of simmering conflict generally do not communicate effectively. This can impact performance, potentially leading to adverse outcomes for patients, including:

  • disruptions in continuity of care
  • delayed diagnoses
  • unnecessary testing
  • iatrogenic complications
  • frustrated physicians and patients
  • development of unsafe workarounds

All of these factors can expose providers to a greater risk of liability.

Handling conflict

Dealing with conflict appropriately is a key competence for family physicians and specialists. The CMPA Good Practices Guide looks at the various styles of handling conflict, as elaborated by conflict experts, and expands on many of the topics presented here.

Resolving conflict through effective communication

Be an active listener. During times of conflict, the first question on an individual’s mind might be, “How can I make myself understood?” It is better to pre-empt this question with a different, more productive question: “How can I truly understand the other person’s perspective?”2 Active listening, including acknowledging the ideas and emotions of others, is an important communication skill. To facilitate active listening, make sure the other person is given the chance to share their point of view and finish their thoughts. Use silence as a tool, and resist the urge to interrupt or immediately refute. Head nodding and similar gestures demonstrate active listening, and clarifying questions can also be used to make the other person feel truly heard.

Use disarming statements. When communicating with colleagues, it’s important to remember that the way we say things matters just as much as what we are saying. When someone says something you disagree with, try alternative ways to express your point of view. To avoid escalating the conflict, use non-confrontational and non-blaming language. Statements that begin with “I feel that…” can be effective throughout discussions. Another useful approach is to make a “disarming statement” before you give your own opinion, such as one of the following:3

  • "Interesting––it seems we have different points of view. Do you mind if I explain where I'm coming from?"
  • "I've made different observations, probably because I had different experiences...."
  • "I value your ideas on this matter and I can see why you're concerned about trying a different way. Perhaps we could look at how we can use this new approach?"

Find common ground. Individuals involved in conflict may see issues differently or want different outcomes, but through good communication, they should be able to identify underlying common interests (e.g. the importance of patient safety). Physicians should focus on these interests rather than the position the conflicting party is taking, especially if patients are involved. Focusing on the issues, rather than on personalities, helps prevent personal attacks that can further aggravate the situation. When common ground is achieved, everyone involved feels that their perspective is a valid one. This motivates individuals to move past the conflict by finding an equitable solution.

Keep it thoughtful. Getting angry, blaming the other individual, or being accusatory usually does little to move the issue toward resolution. Physicians should never insult other healthcare professionals by using disparaging comments or behaving dismissively, and it is imperative that they don’t comment on the care provided by another physician in front of other individuals, including patients, or in the medical record. A single, thoughtless comment often forms the basis for dissatisfaction and complaints by patients and their families.

Know your limits. Escalation of disputes can also be avoided by calling a “time out” in which the parties agree to disagree and revisit the issue at a later time. When the conversation does take place, a private setting, in which individuals can speak freely, is most appropriate. The help of a neutral party to mediate the conflict may also be beneficial. Lastly, it’s a good idea to summarize key messages, particularly when there are language barriers or significant differences in communication style.

Conflict with other healthcare professionals

Just as physicians can face conflict between each other, they can also potentially experience conflict with the other healthcare professionals they work with, such as nurses, pharmacists, respiratory therapists, technologists, and medical students. Team factors can be a key patient safety issue.

To avoid conflict, physicians should encourage open, respectful, collegial, and professional communication amongst everyone with whom they interact. By fostering a psychologically safe environment in which everyone feels that they can speak up without any fear of retribution, you can prevent the development of dangerous workarounds within your team.4

High-risk situations

In high-risk situations, such as clinical crises or distressing situations, physicians should place particular emphasis on clear communication. Physicians should also consider communication techniques to escalate concerns across authority levels to match the seriousness of the clinical situation.5 Escalating the matter to a higher level of authority (department head, clinical lead, or chief of staff) may be reasonable. Training on conflict resolution can be critical to enhancing physicians skills in this area as well.

The bottom line

When conflicts occur, as they inevitably do, you can use various proven tools and communication techniques to resolve them. By addressing conflict, you can foster a more effective workplace, and a safe and positive experience for your patients.


References

  1. Marshall P, Robson R. Conflict Resolution [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada; c2021 [cited 2021 May 19]. Available from: https://www.royalcollege.ca/rcsite/documents/bioethics/conflict-resolution-summary-e.pdf
  2. Covey S. The seven habits of highly effective people. New York (NY): Simon and Schuster, Inc; 2004. 247 p.
  3. Kaufmann M. The Five Fundamentals of Civility for Physicians. Ontario Medical Review. 2014 Mar;81(3):13
  4. Leadership essentials: 3 steps to creating psychological safety. Ottawa (ON): Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA); c2020 [update 2020 Dec; cited 2021 May 19]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2020/leadership-essentials-3-steps-to-creating-psychological-safety
  5. The Safety Competencies: Enhancing Patient Safety Across the Health Professions, 2nd Ed. Edmonton (AB): Canadian Patient Safety Institute; c2020 [cited 2021 June 17]. Available from: https://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/en/toolsResources/safetyCompetencies/Documents/CPSI-SafetyCompetencies_en_Digital.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Obligations et responsabilités :

Les attentes vis-à-vis des médecins

Résoudre les conflits entre professionnels de la santé

Un petit groupe de jeunes médecins en réunion

Publié : août 2021
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
21-12-F

Bon an mal an, des membres de l’ACPM communiquent avec l’Association pour obtenir de l’information sur la résolution de conflits les opposant à d’autres professionnels de la santé, y compris à d’autres médecins. Dans un monde idéal, on n’aurait jamais de différend avec qui que ce soit, ni avec nos collègues ni avec personne d’autre. Mais la réalité est tout autre : les mésententes font partie intégrante de nos vies. Aussi déstabilisants soient-ils, en particulier dans le feu de l’action, les conflits peuvent jouer un rôle de catalyseur en nous amenant à mieux comprendre d’autres points de vue et à évoluer comme professionnels; ils peuvent aussi contribuer à améliorer la communication dans une organisation. C’est particulièrement vrai quand les conflits sont bien gérés et qu’ils se terminent sur une bonne note.

Quand un conflit survient-il?

Un conflit peut naître à la suite d’un changement de priorités, ou lorsque des attentes bien intentionnées sont mal communiquées; il peut aussi résulter d’une divergence de perceptions par rapport à une question qui revêt de l’importance.1 En soins de santé, le partage de ressources limitées et le lien d’interdépendance qui unit les professionnels de la santé peuvent aussi causer des dissensions.

Au début de 2020, la pandémie de COVID-19 est devenue une importante source de conflits potentiels dans le milieu de la santé. L’évolution de la crise sanitaire a entraîné de la fatigue chez de nombreux médecins, épuisés de devoir s’adapter à de nouveaux horaires et répondre à des demandes inopinées. Dans un tel contexte, il n’est pas surprenant que certains professionnels de la santé soient en désaccord quant à la meilleure façon d’agir en ces circonstances sans précédent et que les esprits s’échauffent aussi plus facilement. Les professionnels de la santé s’adaptent à de nouvelles façons de travailler ensemble, et dans ces circonstances, il est plus crucial que jamais qu’ils résolvent adéquatement leurs conflits.

Les répercussions des conflits sur la sécurité des soins

Pour entretenir une culture organisationnelle basée sur le respect et la collégialité, il est primordial de savoir gérer les différends. Un différend non résolu peut être une source d’anxiété et de stress, créer un milieu de travail toxique et même causer un épuisement professionnel. Les professionnels de la santé qui travaillent dans un environnement propice aux conflits ont en général du mal à communiquer efficacement. Cette lacune peut nuire au rendement et, par le fait même, entraîner des résultats défavorables chez les patients, notamment :

  • des ruptures dans la continuité des soins;
  • des retards dans l’établissement d’un diagnostic;
  • des tests inutiles;
  • des complications iatrogènes;
  • de la frustration chez les médecins comme chez les patients;
  • le recours à des raccourcis hasardeux.

Voilà autant de facteurs qui peuvent entraîner une hausse des risques auxquels les professionnels de la santé s’exposent en ce qui a trait à leur responsabilité professionnelle.

La gestion des conflits

Savoir bien gérer les conflits est une compétence fondamentale pour les médecins de famille et les spécialistes. Le Guide des bonnes pratiques de l’ACPM traite des différents styles de gestion des conflits tels qu’ils ont été définis par des spécialistes de la question; plusieurs sujets présentés ici sont en outre abordés plus en détail dans le guide.

La résolution des conflits passe par une communication efficace

Pratiquez l’écoute active. « Comment arriver à me faire comprendre? » Voilà la première question qu’on est tenté de se poser quand on est impliqué dans un conflit. Or, il est préférable et plus constructif de se demander plutôt : « Comment arriver à bien comprendre le point de vue de l’autre personne? »2 L’écoute active, qui nécessite entre autres de tenir compte des idées et des émotions d’autrui, est une compétence importante en communication. Prêtez une oreille attentive aux propos de votre vis-à-vis en le laissant livrer le fond de sa pensée. Utilisez les silences à bon escient et résistez à la tentation d’interrompre votre interlocuteur ou de réfuter immédiatement ce qu’il dit. Témoignez de votre écoute active en hochant la tête, par exemple, et n’hésitez pas à demander des précisions pour que la personne sente que vous êtes réellement à l’écoute.

Utilisez des affirmations désarmantes. Quand on communique avec des collègues, il est important de se rappeler que la manière dont on dit les choses est tout aussi importante que les choses qu’on dit. Lorsque quelqu’un fait une affirmation avec laquelle vous n’êtes pas d’accord, évitez d’exprimer votre point de vue de manière frontale. Pour ne pas exacerber la mésentente, employez un vocabulaire non conflictuel et non accusateur. Des phrases qui débutent par « J’ai l’impression que… » peuvent avoir un effet très positif sur une discussion. Vous pouvez également faire une « affirmation désarmante » avant de donner votre opinion, telle que :3

  • « C’est intéressant – il semble que n’ayons pas le même point de vue. Ça va si je vous explique mon raisonnement? »
  • « Mes observations sont différentes des vôtres, probablement parce que mes expériences ont été différentes elles aussi. »
  • « Vos idées à ce sujet sont importantes pour moi, et je comprends que vous hésitiez à aborder cette question autrement. Peut-être pourrions-nous voir comment appliquer cette nouvelle approche? »

Trouvez un terrain d’entente. Bien que les personnes divisées par un conflit puissent ne pas avoir la même vision des choses ou ne pas aspirer aux mêmes résultats, il n’en demeure pas moins qu’avec une bonne communication, elles devraient pouvoir se trouver des intérêts communs (la sécurité des patients, par exemple). Les médecins ont avantage à se concentrer sur ces intérêts mutuels plutôt que sur la prise de position de leur détracteur, en particulier si des patients sont concernés. En focalisant sur les problèmes plutôt que sur les personnalités, on évitera les attaques personnelles qui peuvent aggraver la situation. Quand toutes les parties ont trouvé un terrain d’entente, chacun a le sentiment que son point de vue est considéré et devient donc plus enclin à régler le différend en trouvant une solution équitable.

Mettez des gants blancs. Se mettre en colère, blâmer l’autre personne ou porter des accusations sont des méthodes généralement peu efficaces pour apaiser les frictions. Un médecin ne devrait jamais insulter un autre professionnel de la santé en tenant des propos désobligeants ou en se montrant condescendant. Il doit aussi se garder de faire des commentaires sur les soins prodigués par un autre médecin lorsqu’il se trouve devant des gens, y compris des patients, et ne doit pas non plus consigner ce type de commentaires dans un dossier médical. Bien souvent, un seul commentaire malavisé suffit pour générer de l’insatisfaction chez un patient ou sa famille ou pour les inciter à porter plainte.

Connaissez vos limites. Pour éviter que les conflits ne dégénèrent, on peut aussi inviter les parties prenantes à observer un « temps mort » et à convenir qu’il y a des désaccords sur lesquels il faudrait revenir plus tard. Lorsque la conversation a finalement lieu, elle doit idéalement se dérouler dans un endroit retiré où les intervenants sont mieux à même de s’exprimer librement. Il pourrait aussi être utile de demander l’aide d’une personne neutre comme médiateur du conflit. Enfin, il est souhaitable de résumer les messages clés formulés au fil de la discussion, en particulier si des barrières linguistiques ou des styles de communication contrastés nuisent aux échanges.

Les conflits avec d’autres professionnels de la santé

Non seulement les médecins peuvent-ils se retrouver en conflit entre eux, mais ils peuvent aussi avoir des mésententes avec les autres professionnels de la santé qu’ils côtoient : personnel infirmier, pharmaciens, inhalothérapeutes, technologues et étudiants en médecine, notamment. La dynamique de travail en équipe joue un rôle déterminant dans la sécurité des patients.

Pour éviter la discorde, les médecins doivent faire montre de collégialité et de professionnalisme, et se montrer ouverts et respectueux dans toutes leurs interactions. En contribuant à ce que votre environnement de travail soit sécuritaire sur le plan psychologique, c’est-à-dire à ce que chacun se sente libre de s’y exprimer sans crainte de représailles, vous préviendrez le recours à des raccourcis hasardeux dans votre équipe.4

Situations à risque élevé

Dans les situations à risque élevé – lors d’une crise dans le milieu clinique ou dans des circonstances particulièrement éprouvantes –, les médecins doivent miser d’abord et avant tout sur une communication claire. Il leur sera également utile d’appliquer certaines techniques de communication pour soumettre leurs préoccupations au niveau de pouvoir approprié, selon la gravité de la situation clinique.5 Il peut en effet s’avérer judicieux de confier le cas à une instance supérieure (chef de département, chef clinique ou directeur des services professionnels). En outre, une formation sur la résolution des conflits peut grandement aider à parfaire les compétences des médecins à ce chapitre.

En bref

Lorsque des conflits surviennent, et ils surviendront inévitablement, vous pouvez recourir à divers outils et techniques éprouvés pour les résoudre. En réglant les mésententes sans délai, vous favoriserez l’efficacité au travail et créerez une expérience positive pour vos patients, en toute sécurité.

Suggestions de lecture


Références

  1. Marshall P, Robson R. Résolution des conflits [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada; c2021 [cité le 19 mai 2021]. Accessible : https://www.royalcollege.ca/rcsite/documents/bioethics/conflict-resolution-summary-f.pdf
  2. Covey S. The seven habits of highly effective people. New York (NY): Simon and Schuster, Inc; 2004. 247 p.
  3. Kaufmann M. The Five Fundamentals of Civility for Physicians. Ontario Medical Review. 2014 Mar;81(3):13
  4. Principes fondamentaux du leadership : pour établir une sécurité psychologique. Ottawa (ON): Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM); c2020 [mis à jour en déc. 2020; cité le 19 mai 2021]. Accessible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2020/leadership-essentials-3-steps-to-creating-psychological-safety
  5. Les compétences liées à la sécurité des patients – L’amélioration de la sécurité des patients dans les professions de la santé, 2e éd. Edmonton (AB): Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients; c2020 [cité le 17 juin 2021]. Accessible : https://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/en/toolsResources/safetyCompetencies/Documents/CPSI-SafetyCompetencies_fr_Digital.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.