Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Hospital complaints: Understanding the process and reducing anxiety

Originally published June 2014 / Revised February 2016
W14-006-E

Hospitals, physicians, and other health professionals strive to provide safe, quality care for their patients. Occasionally, patients, their families or representatives may express concern or dissatisfaction with the care the patient received in a hospital setting. Complaints to a hospital may extend to specific physicians. Having confidence that they will be treated justly and the hospital will respect and follow a fair process to resolve the issue — and knowing the CMPA is available to help — can alleviate some of the anxiety associated with being the subject of a hospital complaint.

Most physicians in Canada — nearly 70% — practise in a hospital setting either entirely or in part. Legislation and hospital or regional health authority bylaws establish the framework under which physicians provide clinical care within a particular institution and provide the mechanisms for handling patient complaints. Hospital complaints involving physicians typically concern issues around the care that was provided, and difficulties contacting the physician or related communication issues. In some cases a complaint is launched as a consequence of a series of missteps on the part of one or more individuals or due to system failures. Patients may be left with a negative perception of the physician, the hospital, or the quality of healthcare generally.

Case example: Inadequate communication leads to complaint

A 35-year-old female presents to a busy emergency department, complaining of fever, sore throat, and difficulty breathing. She is seen by the emergency department doctor, who briefly examines the patient and informs her it could be the flu or bronchitis, though he states he is uncertain. The physician recommends bed rest and acetaminophen, to which the still anxious patient reflects that she could have just stayed home and avoided the two-hour wait at the hospital. The doctor shrugs his shoulders and walks away.

Later the patient shares her story with friends who have similar experiences of being sent home without their concerns being adequately acknowledged. The friends believe their problems were abruptly dismissed. The apparent lack of attention leads the patient to conclude the hospital doesn't care about its patients. The patient complains to the hospital, naming the emergency department doctor. The doctor is informed he has been named in a complaint and that an investigation will take place. No sanctions are imposed; however, the doctor is counselled to improve his communication skills and professionalism to avoid similar issues in future.

Handling a complaint

Physicians may experience anxiety and stress when the care they provided is questioned. On receiving a complaint through the hospital, it is important for physicians to engage in the resolution process to ensure the patient and family are given accurate information to understand what had happened. Most hospitals have protocols for receiving and handling complaints, and these are described in the hospital's or regional health authority's bylaws. These processes can vary significantly, depending on the jurisdiction and the institution itself. In Québec, the hospital complaint process is legislated in all public healthcare facilities. In British Columbia, patient care quality offices and review boards review complaints in each health authority.

In most hospitals, the resolution process begins with a review of the care provided. This may be done through discussion between the physician and reviewer, or may require the physician to respond in writing. It is important to read the patient’s complaint to gain a fulsome understanding of the patient’s point of view. The response should provide a clear and factual account of what happened, and not appear defensive or argumentative. If the patient wishes to meet with the physician or the hospital leadership, such a meeting may help to resolve the issue. The CMPA is also available to provide advice.

Patients often make complaints in the hope of reducing the likelihood of future reoccurrences. They want to know what corrective actions the hospital will be taking to address the issue. The hospital's patient advocacy department (or equivalent) generally closes the feedback loop by communicating with the patient about the investigation’s findings and actions taken.1 It is important for physicians to be involved in these discussions in order to learn from a complaint or incident.

Consequences of a complaint

Most complaints can be resolved by engaging collaboratively with the hospital and health authority. In a small number of cases the complaint may uncover some concerns regarding a physician’s medical care, communication practices, or behaviour. A remedial plan to deal with these concerns, agreed to by the department or hospital chief, may be warranted.

As the majority of physicians with hospital practices provide patient care under the privileges model, on rare occasions the hospital may impose a sanction such as restricting, suspending, or terminating the physician's privileges. In each province and territory, legislation and regulations require procedures for restricting and ending privileges, which are typically set out in hospital or regional health authority bylaws. For physicians working under contract, the CMPA has encouraged that such contracts contain the same procedural protections as those under the privileges model. If the physician's privileges or contract status are affected, the legislation in some jurisdictions requires the hospital to report this to the medical regulatory authority (College). A report may also be required if a physician resigns in the midst of an unresolved complaint investigation.

Sometimes patients may take other actions if the hospital or health authority is too slow to respond or appears not to be taking the complaint seriously. They may, for example, complain to the College, contact the news media, or voice their feelings on social media. To reduce the likelihood of this occurring, it is crucial for the physicians involved to work with the hospital or health authority to deal with a complaint as soon as possible.

Coping with, and learning from, a complaint

Being named in a complaint can be time-consuming and emotionally taxing or even overwhelming. Many physicians fear the unknown about the process and consequences of a complaint. They may struggle to understand why a patient to whom they thought they had provided good care is now complaining, and may even begin to question their own abilities.

Many excellent resources are available to help physicians facing complaints. It is important to recognize that a physician is not alone. CMPA members are encouraged to contact the Association and speak to a physician advisor when informed of a hospital complaint. CMPA physician advisors are peers with training and experience in dealing with this type of issue and will provide guidance and support. Discussing the issue with a trusted colleague or department head may also be helpful in putting matters into perspective.

Although difficult at the time, it is always helpful to view a complaint objectively as an opportunity to learn and improve. The CMPA offers education programs and has extensive online resources to help physicians and other health providers improve skills and processes in such areas as communication, handovers of care, dealing with conflict, and managing stress.

 
 
  1. In some jurisdictions, when a hospital's quality assurance committee reviews the incident, legislation prohibits the hospital from disclosing the investigation findings.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Plaintes intrahospitalières : Comprendre le processus pour diminuer l’anxiété

Publié initialement en juin 2014 / Révisé en février 2016
W14-006-F

Les hôpitaux, les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé s’efforcent de fournir aux patients des soins sécuritaires et de qualité. Il arrive que des patients, des membres de leur famille ou leurs représentants expriment des préoccupations ou une insatisfaction à l’égard des soins qu’ils ont reçus à l’hôpital. Les plaintes auprès d’un hôpital peuvent cibler un médecin en particulier. Avoir l’assurance qu’il sera traité de façon juste et que l’hôpital respectera et suivra un processus équitable pour résoudre le problème, tout en sachant que l’ACPM est là pour aider, peut atténuer l’anxiété associée au fait de faire l’objet d’une plainte intrahospitalière.

La plupart des médecins au Canada, soit près de 70 %, exerce en milieu hospitalier à temps complet ou non. Les lois de la province et les règlements des hôpitaux et des autorités régionales en matière de santé déterminent le cadre dans lequel les médecins prodiguent des soins cliniques dans un établissement donné, ainsi que les mécanismes de gestion des plaintes des patients. Les plaintes intrahospitalières qui impliquent des médecins portent habituellement sur les soins prodigués, les difficultés à joindre le médecin ou les problèmes de communication connexes. Parfois, un patient dépose une plainte à la suite d’un certain nombre de faux pas commis par une ou plusieurs personnes ou encore de défaillances systémiques. Le patient peut garder une image négative du médecin, de l’hôpital ou de la qualité globale des soins obtenus.

Exemple de cas : Plainte secondaire à une communication inadéquate

Une femme de 35 ans se présente à un service d’urgence occupé pour fièvre, mal de gorge et difficulté à respirer. Après un examen rapide, l’urgentologue informe la patiente qu’il pourrait s’agir d’une grippe ou d’une bronchite, mais qu’il n’en est pas certain. Il recommande l’alitement et la prise d’acétaminophène, ce à quoi la patiente inquiète répond qu’elle aurait tout aussi bien pu rester à la maison et éviter les deux heures d’attente à l’hôpital. Le médecin s’éloigne en haussant les épaules.

Plus tard, la patiente fait part de son histoire à des amis qui ont également été renvoyés chez eux sans que le personnel n’ait tenu compte de leurs préoccupations. Les amis estiment que leurs problèmes ont été ignorés. La patiente déduit de ce manque apparent d’attention que l’hôpital ne fait pas grand cas de ses patients. Elle dépose une plainte qui désigne l’urgentologue. Le médecin est informé que son nom a été cité dans une plainte et qu’une enquête aura lieu. Bien qu’aucune sanction ne sera finalement imposée, il est recommandé au médecin d’améliorer ses habiletés en communication et son professionnalisme pour éviter des situations similaires à l’avenir.

Gérer une plainte

Un médecin peut éprouver de l’anxiété et du stress lorsque les soins qu’il a prodigués sont remis en question. S’il apprend qu’il fait l’objet d’une plainte intrahospitalière, il importe qu’il participe au processus de résolution pour veiller à ce que les patients et leur famille reçoivent des renseignements exacts leur permettant de comprendre ce qui s’est produit. La plupart des hôpitaux disposent de protocoles pour réceptionner et gérer les plaintes. Ces protocoles sont décrits dans les règlements de l’hôpital ou de l’autorité régionale en matière de santé. Ils peuvent différer de manière importante selon la province ou le territoire, ou encore selon l’établissement lui-même. Au Québec, le processus de traitement des plaintes intrahospitalières est prévu par la loi dans tous les établissements de santé publics. En Colombie-Britannique, des bureaux de la qualité des soins aux patients et des commissions de révision étudient les plaintes au sein de chaque autorité en matière de santé.

Dans la plupart des hôpitaux, le processus de résolution commence par un examen des soins prodigués. Cela peut prendre la forme d’une discussion entre le médecin et l’examinateur ou exiger une réponse écrite de la part du médecin. Il est important de lire la plainte du patient afin de bien comprendre sa perspective. La réponse doit fournir un exposé clair et factuel de ce qui s’est produit, sans donner l’impression que le médecin se défend ou se justifie. Si le patient souhaite rencontrer le médecin ou la direction de l’hôpital, une telle réunion peut contribuer à résoudre le problème. En outre, l’ACPM est là pour offrir des conseils.

Souvent, les patients portent plainte dans le but de réduire le risque qu’une situation ne se reproduise. Ils souhaitent connaître les mesures correctives que prendra l’hôpital pour aborder le problème. En règle générale, le service hospitalier qui défend les intérêts des patients (ou un service équivalent) fermera la boucle de rétroaction en faisant part au patient des résultats de l’enquête et des mesures entreprises.1 Il est important que le médecin prenne part à ces discussions afin qu’il puisse tirer des leçons de la plainte ou de l’incident.

Conséquences d’une plainte

La plupart des plaintes peuvent être résolues par la collaboration avec l’hôpital ou l’autorité en matière de santé. Dans un petit nombre de cas, la plainte peut faire ressortir des préoccupations relatives aux soins médicaux, aux pratiques de communication ou encore au comportement d’un médecin. Des mesures correctives visant à aborder ces préoccupations, acceptées par le chef du département ou le directeur de l’hôpital, peuvent s’imposer.

Puisque la majorité des médecins qui exercent à l’hôpital fournit des soins sur la base du modèle des privilèges, en de rares occasions l’hôpital peut imposer des sanctions contre le médecin, telles qu’une limitation, une suspension ou un retrait de ses privilèges. Dans chaque province et territoire, des lois et règlements exigent des procédures en vue de restreindre ou de mettre un terme aux privilèges, lesquelles sont habituellement décrites dans les règlements de l’hôpital ou de l’autorité régionale en matière de santé. Pour les médecins travaillant à contrat, l’ACPM encourage l’ajout, dans le contrat, des mêmes protections procédurales dont jouissent les médecins qui travaillent selon le modèle des privilèges. Si les privilèges d’un médecin ou les dispositions de son contrat sont modifiés, la loi dans certains territoires et certaines provinces exige que l’hôpital porte la question à l’attention de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) de la province ou du territoire. Un signalement peut également être exigé lorsqu’un médecin démissionne avant le terme d’une enquête pour plainte.

Il arrive que les patients prennent d’autres mesures si l’hôpital ou l’autorité en matière de santé ne répond pas assez vite ou semble ne pas prendre la plainte au sérieux. À titre d’exemple, ils peuvent se plaindre auprès du Collège, informer les médias ou exprimer leurs sentiments dans les médias sociaux. Afin de réduire la probabilité que de telles choses se produisent, il est essentiel que les médecins en cause collaborent avec l’hôpital ou l’autorité en matière de santé en vue de traiter une plainte le plus tôt possible.

Faire face à une plainte et en tirer des leçons

Faire l’objet d’une plainte peut demander beaucoup de temps et être exigeant, voire accablant, sur le plan émotionnel. De nombreux médecins craignent l’inconnu associé au processus et aux conséquences d’une plainte. Ils peuvent avoir du mal à comprendre pourquoi un patient à qui ils croyaient avoir prodigué de bons soins porte plainte, et même remettre en question leurs propres compétences.

Il existe plusieurs excellentes ressources à l’intention des médecins qui font face à une plainte. Il est important de reconnaître que le médecin n’est pas seul. Il est recommandé aux membres de l’ACPM de communiquer avec l’Association pour parler à un médecin-conseil lorsqu’ils apprennent que leur nom est cité dans une plainte intrahospitalière. Les médecins-conseils de l’ACPM sont des pairs ayant une formation et une expérience liées à de telles situations : ils sauront fournir soutien et conseils. Discuter de la situation avec un collègue à qui vous faites confiance ou le chef du département peut aussi contribuer à mettre les choses en perspective.

S’il est difficile d’apprendre que vous faites l’objet d’une plainte, il est toujours utile de la percevoir objectivement comme une occasion d’apprendre et de s’améliorer. L’ACPM offre des programmes éducatifs et dispose d’importantes ressources en ligne pour aider les médecins et d’autres professionnels de la santé à améliorer leurs compétences et processus dans les domaines de la communication, du transfert des soins, de la gestion des conflits ou de celle du stress.

Suggestions de lecture

 
 
  1. Dans certaines provinces et certains territoires, la loi interdit la divulgation des résultats de l’enquête lorsqu’un comité d’assurance de la qualité procède à l’examen de l’incident.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.