Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Understanding how Colleges handle complaints or allegations of professional misconduct

Originally published June 2012
P1202-5-E

Over the course of their careers, physicians may face a regulatory authority (College) complaint. The most serious type of complaint is one which alleges professional misconduct. These complaints most often originate from patients, but may also be initiated by other third parties, including other physicians and healthcare providers, hospitals and institutions, family members, insurance agencies, and others.

While many physicians will interact with their College regarding a complaint or proceeding, only a small number of physicians will face allegations of professional misconduct. In Ontario, for example, each year 8% to 9% of all physicians are notified of a complaint against them whereas 1% to 2% of all physicians have a more serious charge of professional misconduct levelled against them.

Colleges take allegations of professional misconduct very seriously and are generally obligated to investigate the matter thoroughly. These investigations can often cause physicians significant stress, particularly given that the outcome could include loss of licence, licence suspension, limitations or modifications placed on their licence, or a reprimand.

When facing a professional misconduct investigation, physicians should promptly contact the CMPA. In addition to providing timely advice, the Association will generally provide legal representation to assist members in these cases.

The CMPA is available to assist members with all College complaints. Early contact with the Association can often alleviate stress for physicians and contribute to a satisfactory resolution.


Colleges obligated to review complaints

All provinces and territories have legislation giving Colleges the mandate and authority to regulate and discipline the medical profession. The Colleges' role is to protect public health and safety. Colleges are legally obligated to review all complaints they receive about physicians.

Investigating complaints

While each College has its own procedures and processes for handling complaints, it is generally the nature of the complaint that determines the extent of the process.

To resolve most complaints, Colleges will conduct a confidential review of the facts. Complaints may be about a lack of parking spaces near the doctor's office, long waiting periods in a physician's office, or communication issues such as not providing reports in a timely manner (e.g. to third parties). Colleges generally resolve this type of complaint through correspondence between the College, the physician, and the complainant. Physicians are generally asked to respond to the complaint in writing, providing all necessary facts. CMPA medical officers are available to assist in the preparation of the response. On occasion, legal counsel may also assist members in responding to this type of complaint.

After a careful review of the facts, including the physician's explanation, the College will determine findings. There are no hearings and physicians provide an explanation only through a written submission.

However, when a complaint is deemed more serious and concerns a physician's care, conduct, or capacity, Colleges will conduct a more formal investigation.

If a physician's fitness to practice or competence is questioned, the College may order the physician to undergo a skills assessment, or medical or psychological examination.

Should the College believe an act of professional misconduct or incompetence has occurred, it will generally investigate more extensively to determine what, if any, remedial action should be taken.

College investigators typically have broad powers. They may inspect a physician's administrative records, patient records, and physical premises and practice. The notice period provided to physicians of an upcoming inspection varies in each jurisdiction and depends on the College's procedures. During an inspection, investigators can take documents including medical records and administrative records. In some provinces and territories, investigators are permitted to physically remove documents, while in others documents can be copied and returned. Investigators may also question the complainant and the physician, and interview witnesses such as office or clinic staff, family members, other healthcare professionals, or members of the public.

 

Outcome of investigations

If the investigation confirms there is an issue, the College may impose a range of remedial measures to be completed by the physician.

They may caution physicians, or order physicians to take specified continuing education or remedial action to alter their practice. If the issue is related to a physician's capacity to practise because of a mental or physical condition, the College may impose restrictions on the physician's licence and refer the physician to a physician health program.

The outcome may also include a finding of professional misconduct or incompetence. The term professional misconduct is imprecise, and is further explained in provincial or territorial statutes and regulations. Most explain the term using phrases such as conduct unbecoming a member; demonstrated incapacity or unfitness to practise medicine; unbecoming, improper or unprofessional conduct; engages or has engaged in unbecoming or criminal conduct.

Some Colleges have tried to clarify what is meant by the term and created a list of activities that will result in a charge of professional misconduct. It is impossible for these lists to be exhaustive, so Colleges have a generic statement giving a broad interpretation of the term. This gives them discretion in determining the activities that constitute professional misconduct. In the past, physicians have been charged with professional misconduct for activities such as advertising their services using testimonials, participating in Internet prescribing, falsifying a College application form, treating family and friends, accepting gifts, improperly performing intimate procedures (e.g. gynecological examinations), and violating professional boundaries.

 

Investigating professional misconduct

Cases of professional misconduct or incompetence are referred to the appropriate College committee for further investigation and a hearing.

This committee is known by a variety of names in different provinces and territories. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario refers a potential case of professional misconduct or incompetence to its Discipline Committee, while the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Manitoba refers such a case to its Inquiry Committee.

If after an extensive investigation a College believes a physician is guilty of professional misconduct, it lays formal charges and schedules a hearing. The hearing is a quasi-legal process with members of the committee forming a panel. The panel is typically composed of a combination of physicians and public members of the committee.

The hearing can have many of the characteristics of a court trial with College lawyers prosecuting the charges, lawyers to defend the physician, and a panel reporter. There can also be sworn witnesses, examinations, and cross-examinations. The physician and the complainant may also be called as witnesses, and hearings are generally open to the public.

The panel considers the charge, hears the evidence, and ascertains the facts of the case. Finally, it determines whether the allegations have been proven. In some jurisdictions, the committee has the authority to impose the penalty it deems appropriate within the limits set out in the legislation. In other jurisdictions, the panel makes a finding and recommends a decision to the College's governing body. The governing body is then responsible for making a decision on the charge and determining the penalty, if any.

 

A case of professional misconduct

The following case illustrates how a College investigation can lead to charges of professional misconduct against a physician.

A patient complained to the College that his family physician prescribed benzodiazepines inappropriately. The College's investigator sent a letter to the physician notifying her of the complaint. A few weeks later, the investigator provided the doctor with a copy of the patient's letter detailing the concerns. The College asked for a written response and a copy of the patient's medical record.

The investigation was broadened when the College's review of the medical record raised concerns about the physician's prescribing of narcotics and benzodiazepines. In a visit to the physician's office, the College investigator randomly selected and removed 30 medical records together with another 15 records that were connected with pharmacy profiles from 2 nearby pharmacies. A review of the pharmacy profiles confirmed that large quantities and large dosages of narcotics and controlled drugs were being prescribed by the physician.

As part of the investigation, the College appointed a medical inspector to give an opinion on whether the physician's care and management of the 45 patients met the standard of practice for prescribing narcotics, benzodiazepines, and anti-depressants. The inspector stated that in many charts there was a serious lack of assessment and diagnosis before opioids were prescribed. There was also a problem of inadequate follow-up. The inspector concluded that the physician did not meet the standard of practice in her care and treatment of 35 of the 45 patients. He also stated that the physician showed a lack of clinical judgment, but did not demonstrate a disregard for the welfare of her patients.

The physician admitted to the facts found by the medical inspector and the College found her guilty of professional misconduct. Counsel for the physician and counsel for the College made a joint submission as to an appropriate penalty. In a hearing before the College, the physician was reprimanded and limits were placed on her practice that included a ban on prescribing narcotics and controlled drugs. A number of other penalties were imposed on the physician, including further unannounced inspections of her practice and payment of $3,600 to the College to cover the costs of the investigation and hearing.

 

Penalties for professional misconduct

When a physician is found guilty of professional misconduct, the penalty takes into consideration all the circumstances of the case.

Some penalties can be professionally and financially damaging. Although consequences vary, physicians can have their licence revoked, suspended, or subject to limitations or modifications, or they may face a reprimand. They can also be required to pay fines and to cover the cost of conducting the hearing, which can amount to many thousands of dollars. A loss of reputation may also arise since the outcomes of the hearing are usually made public and often published in print or on the College's website.

Appealing a College decision

Physicians found guilty of professional misconduct or incompetence can appeal the decision. The specific appeal route will vary depending on the province or territory. The CMPA will normally not assist a member with an appeal unless the physician was denied a fundamental procedural right (e.g. not being given an opportunity to respond to the allegations).

CMPA assistance

Physician members are eligible to receive CMPA assistance when facing any type of College complaint. Physicians who receive notice of a College complaint are urged, before responding, to contact the Association to obtain advice from experienced medical officers. It is critical for members who are facing a charge of professional misconduct to contact the Association in a timely way.

Although College issues do not always require legal counsel, members facing charges of professional misconduct will generally receive legal representation. If there is a hearing, legal counsel will take steps to prepare and defend the member's case. While the CMPA will provide legal representation, the Association does not typically pay fines, penalties, or other costs assessed against a member by the College (e.g. the College's costs for the hearing).

Physicians should respond to College complaints in a timely and clear manner. The CMPA is available to advise members on how to formulate an effective response. If warranted, legal counsel can also be available to assist members facing allegations of professional misconduct or incompetence.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Comment les Collèges traitent-ils les plaintes et allégations d'inconduite professionnelle?

Publié initialement en juin 2012
P1202-5-F

À un moment ou un autre de sa carrière, tout médecin peut avoir à faire face à une plainte déposée à un organisme de réglementation (Collège). Une allégation d'inconduite professionnelle constitue le type de plainte le plus grave. Ces plaintes souvent déposées par des patients, peuvent également l'être par d'autres parties et notamment d'autres médecins, des professionnels de la santé, des hôpitaux ou des établissements, des membres de la famille ou des compagnies d'assurance.

Même si de nombreux médecins interagissent avec leur Collège au sujet d'une plainte ou d'une autre instance, seuls quelques-uns auront à faire face à des allégations d'inconduite professionnelle. Ainsi chaque année en Ontario, 8 % à 9 % des médecins reçoivent une plainte, dont 1 % à 2 % pour inconduite professionnelle, qui constitue une plainte plus grave.

Les allégations d'inconduite professionnelle sont prises très au sérieux par les Collèges, qui sont généralement tenus d'enquêter en détails sur l'affaire en cause. Ces enquêtes représentent souvent une source de stress important chez les médecins et particulièrement si l'issue peut comporter une révocation, une suspension, des restrictions ou des modifications de leur permis d'exercice, ou encore un blâme.

Les médecins qui font l'objet d'une enquête pour inconduite professionnelle devraient communiquer avec l'ACPM dans les plus brefs délais. En plus de fournir des conseils en temps opportun, l'Association offre généralement les services d'un avocat pour assister les membres dans ces cas.

Les Collèges sont tenus d'examiner les plaintes

Des lois sont établies dans chaque province et territoire du Canada, accordant aux Collèges le mandat et l'autorité pour réglementer et discipliner la profession médicale. Les Collèges ont pour rôle de protéger la santé et la sécurité du public et ont à ce titre l'obligation légale d'examiner toutes les plaintes qu'ils reçoivent au sujet des médecins.

Enquête sur les plaintes

Même si chaque Collège a ses propres procédures et processus de traitement des plaintes, c'est généralement la nature de la plainte qui déterminera l'étendue du processus.

Dans le but de résoudre la plupart des plaintes, les Collèges effectuent un examen confidentiel des faits. Les plaintes peuvent concerner l'absence de places de stationnement près du bureau du médecin, la longueur de l'attente au bureau, ou encore des problèmes de communication tels que le fait de ne pas faire parvenir les rapports en temps opportun (p. ex., à des tiers). Les Collèges résolvent généralement ce type de plainte par correspondance entre le Collège, le médecin et le plaignant. On demande généralement aux médecins de répondre à la plainte par écrit, en fournissant tous les faits pertinents. Les médecins-conseils de l'ACPM sont disponibles pour les aider à préparer cette réponse. Dans certains cas, les membres peuvent également bénéficier d'une assistance juridique pour répondre à ce type de plainte.

Le Collège détermine les conclusions après une évaluation approfondie des faits, y compris l'explication du médecin. Il n'y a aucune audience et les médecins ne fournissent leurs explications que par écrit.

Cependant, en cas de plainte jugée plus sérieuse concernant les soins médicaux administrés par un médecin, sa conduite ou sa capacité, les Collèges mènent une enquête plus formelle.

Si l'aptitude ou les compétences d'un médecin sont remises en cause, le Collège peut ordonner au médecin de subir une évaluation de ses habiletés ou un examen médical ou psychologique.

En cas de soupçon d'inconduite ou d'incompétence professionnelle, le Collège effectue généralement une investigation plus approfondie afin de déterminer quelle mesure corrective devrait être prise, le cas échéant.

Les enquêteurs du Collège ont généralement de larges pouvoirs. Ils peuvent inspecter les dossiers administratifs du médecin, le dossier médical du patient, les locaux et la pratique. La période d'avis d'une inspection à venir accordée aux médecins varie selon la province ou le territoire et dépend des procédures du Collège. Au cours d'une inspection, les enquêteurs peuvent prendre des documents, et notamment les dossiers médicaux et administratifs. Dans certaines provinces, les enquêteurs ont l'autorisation d'emporter les documents, tandis qu'ailleurs, les documents peuvent être copiés avant d'être retournés. Les enquêteurs peuvent également interroger le plaignant et le médecin, ainsi que des témoins, tels que les personnels du bureau ou de la clinique, des membres de la famille ou d'autres professionnels de la santé ou des représentants du grand public.

 

Conclusion des enquêtes

Si l'enquête confirme l'existence d'un problème, les Collèges peuvent imposer tout un éventail de mesures correctives que le médecin devra mettre en œuvre.

Ils peuvent avertir les médecins ou encore leur ordonner de suivre une formation continue précise ou de prendre des mesures correctives vis-à-vis de leur pratique. Si le problème est lié à la capacité d'un médecin à exercer du fait d'un problème de santé mentale ou physique, le Collège peut imposer des limites au permis d'exercice de ce médecin ou lui faire suivre un programme d'aide.

Les conclusions peuvent également mettre en évidence une inconduite ou une incompétence professionnelle. Le terme « inconduite professionnelle » est vague. Une explication plus détaillée est présentée dans les statuts et règlements des provinces et territoires. La plupart des textes de loi expliquent ce terme comme suit : conduite indigne d'un membre; membre ayant fait la preuve de son incapacité ou inaptitude à exercer la médecine; conduite indigne, inappropriée, ou non professionnelle; membre qui se rend ou s'est rendu coupable de conduite indigne ou criminelle.

Certains Collèges ont tenté de clarifier la définition de ce terme en constituant une liste des activités entraînant un dépôt de plainte pour inconduite professionnelle. Étant donné que ces listes ne peuvent être exhaustives, les Collèges fournissent une définition générique de ce terme, ce qui laisse une grande marge d'interprétation. Ceci leur accorde la liberté de déterminer les activités constituant une inconduite professionnelle. Dans le passé, les médecins ont fait l'objet de plaintes pour inconduite professionnelle dans les situations suivantes : promotion de leurs services à l'aide de témoignages, prescription sur Internet, falsification d'un formulaire d'admission à un Collège, traitement des membres de la famille et des amis, acceptation de cadeaux, exécution indue d'interventions intimes (p. ex., les examens gynécologiques) et violation des limites professionnelles.

 

Enquête pour inconduite professionnelle

Les cas d'inconduite ou d'incompétence professionnelle sont adressés au comité pertinent du Collège pour une enquête approfondie et une audience.

Ce comité porte différents noms selon les provinces et territoires. Ainsi, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario adresse les cas éventuels d'inconduite ou d'incompétence professionnelle à son Comité de discipline, tandis que le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens du Manitoba adresse ce type de cas à un Comité d'enquête.

Si après enquête approfondie, un Collège estime qu'un médecin est coupable d'inconduite professionnelle, une plainte est formellement déposée et une audience est planifiée. L'audience est un processus quasi légal au cours duquel les membres du comité forment un tribunal. En règle générale, ce tribunal est constitué de médecins et de représentants du public.

Les audiences peuvent présenter plusieurs des caractéristiques d'un procès dans un tribunal avec la présence des avocats du Collège qui poursuivent la plainte, des avocats de la défense et un greffier. Il peut également y avoir des témoins assermentés, des interrogatoires et contre-interrogatoires. Le médecin et le plaignant peuvent également être appelés comme témoins. Les audiences sont généralement publiques. Le tribunal examine la plainte, évalue les éléments de preuve et vérifie les faits.

Finalement, il détermine si les allégations sont fondées. Dans certaines provinces, et s'il le juge approprié, le comité a l'autorité pour imposer une pénalité dans les limites imposées par la réglementation. Dans d'autres provinces, après être parvenu à une conclusion, le tribunal recommande une décision à la direction du Collège. Celle-ci a ensuite la responsabilité de rendre une décision sur la plainte et de déterminer la pénalité, le cas échéant.

 

Cas d'inconduite professionnelle

Le cas suivant illustre comment un médecin peut faire l'objet d'une plainte pour inconduite professionnelle après enquête d'un Collège.

Un patient se plaint au Collège que son médecin de famille a rédigé une prescription inappropriée de benzodiazépines. L'enquêteur du Collège fait alors parvenir une lettre pour informer le médecin qu'une plainte a été déposée. Quelques semaines plus tard, l'enquêteur fait parvenir au médecin une copie de la lettre du patient exposant le problème en détails. Le Collège demande alors une réponse écrite du médecin, accompagnée d'une copie du dossier médical du patient.

L'enquête est approfondie lorsque l'étude du dossier médical soulève des inquiétudes relatives à la prescription par le médecin de narcotiques et de benzodiazépines. Au cours de la visite du bureau du médecin, l'enquêteur du Collège sélectionne aléatoirement et retire 30 dossiers médicaux, ainsi que 15 autres dossiers liés aux profils pharmaceutiques de deux pharmacies des environs du bureau du médecin. Une évaluation des profils pharmaceutiques confirme que le médecin a prescrit de grandes quantités et de fortes doses de narcotiques et de médicaments contrôlés.

Dans le cadre de son enquête, le Collège désigne un inspecteur médical chargé de déterminer si les soins et traitements administrés aux 45 patients respectent les normes de pratique en termes de prescription de narcotiques, de benzodiazépines et d'antidépresseurs. L'inspecteur constate dans de nombreux dossiers une absence grave d'évaluation et de diagnostic avant prescription d'opioïdes, ainsi qu'un suivi inadéquat. L'inspecteur conclut que le médecin n'a pas respecté les normes de pratique relatives aux soins et au traitement pour 35 des 45 patients faisant l'objet de l'évaluation. L'inspecteur détermine également que le médecin a fait preuve d'un manque de jugement clinique, sans démontrer toutefois d'indifférence envers le bien-être de ses patients.

Le médecin a admis les faits mis en évidence par l'inspecteur médical et a été reconnu coupable d'inconduite professionnelle par le Collège. L'avocat du médecin et celui du Collège ont fait une proposition commune sur une pénalité appropriée. Lors d'une audience devant le Collège, le médecin a été réprimandé et son permis d'exercice a été restreint pour inclure une interdiction de prescription de narcotiques et de médicaments contrôlés. Un certain nombre d'autres pénalités ont été imposées au médecin et notamment de futures inspections sans préavis de sa pratique, ainsi que le paiement d'une amende de 3 600 $ au Collège afin de couvrir les frais d'enquête et d'audience.

 

Pénalités pour inconduite professionnelle

Lorsqu'un médecin est reconnu coupable d'inconduite professionnelle, la pénalité prend en compte toutes les circonstances du cas.

Certaines pénalités peuvent avoir des impacts professionnels et financiers. Les répercussions peuvent donner lieu à une révocation, une suspension ou encore une restriction ou des modifications du permis d'exercice, ou encore un blâme. Les médecins peuvent également avoir à payer des amendes et à couvrir les frais d'audience, qui peuvent s'élever à plusieurs milliers de dollars. Il peut également y avoir une atteinte à la réputation du médecin, étant donné que les conclusions des audiences sont généralement publiques et sont souvent publiées ou affichées sur le site web du Collège.

Appel d'une décision du Collège

Les médecins reconnus coupables d'inconduite ou d'incompétence peuvent faire appel de la décision. Les étapes précises de l'appel varient selon la province ou le territoire. L'ACPM n'apporte pas normalement d'assistance à un membre pour un appel sauf dans le cas où ses droits procéduraux élémentaires lui ont été refusés (p. ex., s'il n'a pas eu l'occasion de répondre aux allégations).

Assistance de l'ACPM

Les membres sont admissibles à une assistance de l'ACPM dans le cadre de tout type de plainte déposée auprès d'un Collège. Les médecins qui reçoivent un avis de plainte de la part du Collège devraient, avant d'y répondre, communiquer avec l'Association afin d'obtenir de l'aide de médecins-conseils expérimentés. Il est essentiel que les membres faisant face à une plainte pour inconduite professionnelle communiquent avec l'Association dans les plus brefs délais.

Bien que les problèmes soulevés par le Collège ne nécessitent pas toujours une assistance juridique, les membres faisant face à des plaintes pour inconduite professionnelle bénéficieront généralement d'une représentation légale. En cas d'audience, un conseiller juridique entreprendra les démarches visant à préparer et à défendre le cas. Même si l'ACPM peut fournir une représentation juridique, l'Association ne paie généralement pas les amendes, pénalités et autres frais imposés à un membre par le Collège (p. ex., les frais d'audience engagés par le Collège).


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.