Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Preventing the misuse of opioids

Originally published June 2015
P1503-2-E

Patients rightfully believe that the medications prescribed for them are safe and appropriate, and most follow their doctor’s directions to take medications safely. Sometimes, however, patients abuse medications or become addicted to them, or engage in drug diversion and illegal activities involving prescription drugs. Physicians can take steps to help prevent abuse of the opioids they prescribe, while improving safety for their patients and reducing their own medical-legal risk.

Prescribing opioids

Patients may abuse or become addicted to several different types of medications. While very important for the relief of pain, opioids are often scrutinized for their risks and potential for abuse. A common sense approach may help to manage these risks, and this generally includes careful patient evaluation, a clear treatment plan, informed consent, periodic review (monitoring), consultation with other physicians or providers when necessary, careful documentation, and compliance with applicable laws and regulations.1

Physicians who prescribe opioids can consult the Canadian Guideline for Safe and Effective Use of Opioids,2 which offers guidance for prescribing opioids to treat patients with chronic, non-cancer pain. The guideline recommends approaches for initiating and monitoring opioid therapy, managing opioid misuse and addictions, precautions to reduce prescription fraud, and how to work collaboratively with pharmacists.

Some medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) have guidelines on the use of opioids for management of non-cancer pain, with which physicians should be familiar. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador, for example, also provides other resources for doctors, such as patient agreement letters and narcotic flow sheets.3

Physicians should be familiar with and follow College standards and guidelines related to prescribing in general.

Talking to patients about pain medication

When initially prescribing opioids, or restarting a prescription after a long absence, physicians should talk to patients about such things as the reason for the medication; the drug’s benefits, risks, and interactions; the symptoms and signs that might indicate an adverse reaction; and any ongoing monitoring that may be required. Physicians may also consider whether creating an opioid treatment contract with specific patients would be appropriate.

It is important to understand the underlying motivation of a patient who is seeking pain medication. A physician may, for example, assume a patient has addictive tendencies when in fact the patient may misunderstand the normal course of recovery, be unaware of treatment alternatives, or have failed to adhere to a treatment program such as physical therapy.4 The actual discussion with the patient regarding drug use can be difficult.

The following strategies may be helpful in discussing medication use — including opioids — with a patient:5

  • Be empathetic and acknowledge the patient’s suffering.
  • Maintain a respectful relationship with the patient and avoid being paternalistic.
  • Be firm and confident in the presentation of information and encourage honest responses by using simple, open-ended questions.
  • Clearly communicate any opioid use and refill policies.
  • Discuss your intentions to contact the patient’s other physicians or healthcare providers to advance the patient’s care, and obtain the patient’s permission to do so.
  • Maintain privacy and strict confidentiality to make patients comfortable and open to sharing their concerns.
  • Document all discussion and treatment decisions, and verify that the patient understands and accepts any agreement letters or contracts.

Identifying drug-seeking behaviour

All physicians, and pain management specialists in particular, face significant challenges when assessing and treating patients experiencing pain. It is not always simple to determine if patients legitimately require opioid medication to help treat their condition.

To help identify drug-seeking behaviour, physicians should be vigilant when patients say they have lost their prescription or medication, or request specific opioids or precise dosages.

When examining patients seeking opioid medications, physicians should consider the extent to which a patient’s pattern of pain and overall clinical condition has changed. It is important to obtain a thorough understanding of the patient’s past and present condition, and look for consistency in the results of physical or psychological assessments. Appropriate tests, possibly including a risk assessment for substance abuse, may also be warranted.

A patient who repeatedly returns with unresolved complaints, or with symptoms that worsen or are not responding to treatment as expected, may signal an unsuspected serious medical condition. Physicians should keep an open mind and reflect on any diagnosis, being careful to consider other possibilities, including those that may be life-threatening. Physicians should also be mindful of their own emotional responses, as well as those of other team members, which may interfere with the objective assessment of a particular patient.

Preventing drug diversion

The term “drug diversion” refers to the use of prescription medication for unauthorized purposes, or the transfer of medication from lawful to unlawful distribution or use.6 Patients may divert both opioids and non-opioid medications for their own use, or to give or sell to others. Patients may “doctor-shop” or “double-doctor.” Physicians should be vigilant about the security of their prescriptions — whether electronic or paper-based — as well as their office formulary supplies.

Patients who abuse opioids or who divert drugs may visit clinics specifically in an attempt to obtain opioids. Some individuals may indicate they are on long-term opioid therapy and have run out of their medication or are unable to access their usual care provider, and ask for a temporary prescription.7 Physicians should remember they retain the professional responsibility for every prescription they write. Physicians working in clinics and facilities should familiarize themselves with any organizational policies concerning opioid prescribing, as this may enable a consistent response from all physicians at the facility. Adoption of e-prescribing, which incorporates additional controls and audit capabilities, may also help to effectively curb prescription fraud.

Drug diversion, particularly for opioids, can also occur in patients’ homes. For instance, some individuals have been known to self-medicate or to take the medications of others with whom they live, to use themselves or to trade or sell.8 When appropriate, physicians should discuss the importance of secure medication storage and the risk for drug diversion in the patient’s home.

Risk management

There is often a delicate balance between relieving a patient’s pain, anxiety, and discomfort and the possibility of contributing to or compounding an addiction. Physicians can take steps to help achieve this balance and manage their risks:9

  • Maintain an up-to-date knowledge base about medications, including opioids, as well as treatment indications and contra-indications.
  • Write opioid prescriptions carefully, including prescribing exact amounts of medication to carry through to the next appointment. Consider instituting a one-doctor/one-pharmacy treatment plan with the patient.
  • Document all medication-related discussions and decisions in the health record.
  • Consult with peers, supervisors, or experts when needed.
  • Obtain informed consent from patients. Provide patients with information about the benefits and risks of opioids or other medications (including risks related to operating machinery and driving), as well as other treatment choices.
 

References

 

  1. Toombs, James D., “Commonsense opioid risk management in chronic non-cancer pain,” Practical Pain Management (2008) Vol.8, No.3. Accessed December 12, 2014 from: http://www.practicalpainmanagement.com/treatments/pharmacological/opioids/commonsense-opioid-risk-management-chronic-non-cancer-pain
  2. National Opioid Use Guideline Group, “Canadian Guideline for Safe and Effective Use of Opioids For Chronic Non-Cancer Pain,” April 2010. Accessed October 28, 2014 from: http://nationalpaincentre.mcmaster.ca/documents/opioid_guideline_part_b_v5_6.pdf. The Guideline is also available in app formats
  3. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador, “Guideline – Safe and Effective use of opioids for chronic non-cancer pain,” 2010. Accessed December 12, 2014 from: http://www.cpsnl.ca/default.asp?com=Policies&m=329&y=&id=68
  4. Marks, Michael R., Phillips, Donna, Wong, Andrew, “Tips for dealing with the drug-seeking patient,” American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Now (March 2014)
  5. Ibid
  6. Forschini-Field, Darlene, Inciardi, James A., “Prescription drug abuse and diversion: An expert interview with James A. Inciaridi, PhD,” Medscape Neurology (September 2008)
  7. Ibid
  8. Shehnaz, S.I., Agarwal, A.K., Khan, N., “A systematic review of self-medication practices among adolescents,” Journal of Adolescent Health (2014) Vol. 55 No.4, p.467-483
  9. Longo, Lance P., Parran, Ted, Johnson, Brian, Kinsey, William, “Addiction: Part II. Identification and management of the drug-seeking patient,” American Family Physician (2000) Vol. 61 No.8, p.2401-2408

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Prévenir le mésusage des opioïdes

Publié initialement en juin 2015
P1503-2-F

Les patients estiment, à juste titre, que les médicaments qui leur sont prescrits sont sécuritaires et appropriés; la plupart d’entre eux suivent les consignes de leur médecin pour prendre ces médicaments en toute sécurité. Toutefois, il arrive que des patients fassent un usage abusif de leurs médicaments, en deviennent dépendants ou participent au détournement de médicaments d’ordonnance ou à d’autres activités illégales. Pour prévenir l’abus des opioïdes prescrits, les médecins peuvent entreprendre des démarches; ils réduiront ainsi leurs risques médico-légaux et amélioreront la sécurité de leurs patients.

Prescrire des opioïdes

Divers types de médicaments peuvent être utilisés de manière abusive ou entraîner une dépendance. S’ils sont très importants pour le soulagement de la douleur, les opioïdes font souvent l’objet d’une attention particulière en raison des risques et du potentiel d’abus qu’ils comportent. Une approche judicieuse à la gestion de ces risques comporte généralement les éléments suivants : évaluation rigoureuse du patient, plan de traitement clair, consentement éclairé, suivi régulier, consultation auprès d’autres médecins ou professionnels de la santé au besoin, documentation exhaustive et respect des lois et règlements en vigueur.1

Le Canadian Guideline for Safe and Effective Use of Opioids2 offre des conseils aux médecins pour prescrire des opioïdes dans le but de traiter les douleurs chroniques non cancéreuses. Cette directive recommande des précautions à prendre pour réduire la fraude en matière d’ordonnance, ainsi que des approches pour amorcer et surveiller le traitement aux opioïdes, gérer les mésusages et dépendances, et travailler de manière collaborative avec les pharmaciens.

Certains organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) disposent de directives sur l’utilisation des opioïdes pour le traitement des douleurs d’origine non cancéreuse et les médecins devraient en prendre connaissance; entre autres, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador fournit des ressources pour les médecins, dont un modèle de lettre d’entente avec le patient et de feuille de surveillance des patients recevant des narcotiques.3

Les médecins devraient connaître et suivre les normes et directives des Collèges en matière d’ordonnances.

Parler des analgésiques avec les patients

Au moment de prescrire des opioïdes ou de rétablir le traitement après une longue période, les médecins devraient parler aux patients des indications du traitement, des risques, des interactions et des avantages liés au médicament, des signes et symptômes indiquant une réaction indésirable possible et tout suivi continu pouvant s’avérer nécessaire. Les médecins peuvent également envisager de conclure une entente de traitement par opioïdes avec certains patients.

Il importe de comprendre les motivations sous-jacentes d’un patient qui recherche un analgésique. Un médecin peut assumer qu’un patient a des prédispositions à la dépendance, alors qu’en fait, le patient peut avoir mal compris le processus normal de rétablissement, ne pas connaître d’autres modalités de traitement ou encore ne pas adhérer au plan de traitement (p. ex., la physiothérapie).4 Il peut être difficile de parler au patient de son usage de médicaments, y compris celui d’opioïdes.

Les stratégies suivantes peuvent faciliter la discussion avec le patient des médicaments qui lui sont prescrits, y compris les opioïdes :5

  • Faire preuve d’empathie et reconnaître la souffrance du patient.
  • Conserver une attitude respectueuse à l’égard du patient et éviter d’être paternaliste.
  • Être ferme et sûr de soi lors de la présentation des informations, et encourager les réponses honnêtes au moyen de questions ouvertes et simples.
  • Communiquer clairement toute politique relative aux opioïdes et au renouvellement d’ordonnances.
  • Prévenir le patient de votre intention de communiquer avec les autres médecins ou professionnels de la santé concernés pour les informer des soins prodigués, et obtenir son autorisation à cet effet.
  • Protéger la confidentialité des renseignements personnels des patients pour que ces derniers se sentent à l’aise d’exprimer leurs préoccupations.
  • Documenter toute discussion et décision thérapeutique et vérifier que le patient comprend et accepte toute lettre d’entente ou tout contrat.

Identifier les comportements de pharmacodépendance

L’évaluation et le traitement de la douleur chez les patients représentent des défis de taille, non seulement pour les spécialistes de la gestion de la douleur, mais également pour l’ensemble des médecins. Il n’est pas toujours facile de déterminer si l’état d’un patient requiert un traitement par opioïdes.

Les médecins doivent être vigilants lorsqu’un patient dit avoir perdu son ordonnance ou son médicament ou demande un opioïde ou une dose en particulier; cette précaution pourrait contribuer à identifier un comportement de pharmacodépendance.

Au moment d’examiner un patient qui cherche à obtenir un opioïde, les médecins devraient prendre en compte l’inventaire de la douleur et l’état clinique général du patient. Il importe d’avoir une bonne compréhension des problèmes antérieurs et actuels du patient, et de rechercher une cohérence dans les résultats des évaluations physiques et psychologiques. Il peut également être approprié de procéder à des examens, y compris une évaluation du risque de pharmacodépendance.

Un patient qui consulte à plusieurs reprises parce que son état ne s’améliore pas, que ses symptômes s’aggravent ou qu’il ne réagit pas adéquatement au traitement, peut présenter une affection grave insoupçonnée. Les médecins doivent faire preuve d’ouverture d’esprit et envisager tous les diagnostics possibles, y compris ceux confirmant une pathologie qui pourrait mettre la vie du patient en danger. Ils doivent également être attentifs à leurs propres réactions émotionnelles, ainsi qu’à celles des membres de leur équipe, qui peuvent fausser l’évaluation objective de certains patients.

Prévenir le détournement de médicaments

L’expression « détournement de médicaments » signifie l’utilisation de médicaments d’ordonnance à des fins non médicales, ou encore le transfert d’un médicament d’une personne à qui il est prescrit à une autre à qui il ne l’est pas, en vue d’une distribution ou d’un usage illégal.6 Les patients peuvent détourner les médicaments, que ce soit des opioïdes ou non, pour leur propre utilisation ou encore pour les vendre ou les donner à un tiers. Ils peuvent faire du « magasinage d’ordonnances » ou consulter plus d’un médecin. Les médecins doivent s’assurer de garder leur réserve de blocs ou de formulaires d’ordonnances en lieu sûr, qu’il s’agisse de versions électroniques ou papier.

Les patients qui abusent des opioïdes ou qui détournent des médicaments d’ordonnance peuvent se rendre dans des cliniques dans le seul but d’en obtenir. Certains peuvent prétendre être traités à l’aide d’opioïdes depuis longtemps et ne plus avoir de médicament ou ne pas être en mesure de voir leur médecin traitant; ils demanderont alors une ordonnance temporaire.7 Les médecins doivent se rappeler qu’ils ont la responsabilité professionnelle de toutes les ordonnances qu’ils rédigent. Les médecins qui exercent dans une clinique ou un établissement devraient prendre connaissance de toute politique relative aux ordonnances d’opioïdes, car ceci permet une réponse cohérente de la part de l’ensemble des médecins de l’établissement. L’adoption d’un système d’ordonnances électroniques comportant des fonctions de contrôle et d’audit additionnelles peut également freiner efficacement la fraude en matière d’ordonnance.

Le détournement de médicaments, en particulier celui des opioïdes, peut également se produire au domicile des patients. Certains se livrent à l’autotraitement ou prennent les médicaments d’un proche pour les utiliser ou encore les échanger ou les vendre.8 Les médecins pourraient, le cas échéant, discuter avec le patient de l’importance de conserver les médicaments dans un endroit sécuritaire, ainsi que du risque de détournement à son domicile.

Gestion des risques

L’équilibre est souvent délicat entre le fait de soulager un patient de sa douleur, de son anxiété ou de son inconfort, et la possibilité de contribuer à l’apparition d’une dépendance ou de l’aggraver. Les médecins peuvent entreprendre les démarches suivantes pour atteindre cet équilibre et gérer leurs risques : 9

  • Maintenir leurs connaissances à jour à l’égard des médicaments, y compris des opioïdes, ainsi que sur les indications et contre-indications thérapeutiques.
  • Rédiger avec prudence les ordonnances d’opioïdes, en précisant les quantités exactes prescrites jusqu’au prochain rendez-vous. Envisager d’instituer un plan de traitement du type « un médecin-une pharmacie » avec le patient.
  • Documenter toutes les discussions et décisions liées aux médicaments dans le dossier médical.
  • Consulter des pairs, des superviseurs ou des experts au besoin.
  • Obtenir le consentement éclairé des patients. Fournir au patient des renseignements sur les avantages et les risques liés à la prise d’opioïdes ou d’autres médicaments (y compris les risques liés à l’utilisation de machineries et la conduite d’un véhicule) ainsi que sur d’autres choix de traitement.
 
 

Références

  1. Toombs, James D. « Commonsense opioid risk management in chronic non-cancer pain: A clinician’s perspective », Practical Pain Management (2008). vol.8, no 3. Consulté le 28 mai 2015. http://www.practicalpainmanagement.com/treatments/pharmacological/ opioids/commonsense-opioid-risk-management-chronic-non-cancer-pain
  2. National Opioid Use Guideline Group « Canadian Guideline for Safe and Effective Use of Opioids for Chronic Non-Cancer Pain ». (avril 2010) Consulté le 13 mars 2015. http://nationalpaincentre.mcmaster.ca/opioid/ Cette directive est également offerte sous la forme d’une application
  3. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador, « Guideline – Safe and Effective use of opioids for chronic non-cancer pain » 2010. Consulté le 13 mars 2015. http://www.cpsnl.ca/default.asp?com=Policies&m=329&y=&id=68
  4. Marks, Michael R., Phillips, Donna, Wong, Andrew. « Tips for dealing with the drug-seeking patient », American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Now. (mars 2014)
  5. Ibid
  6. Forschini-Field, Darlene, Inciardi, James A. « Prescription drug abuse and diversion: An expert interview with James A. Inciaridi, PhD », Medscape Neurology (10 septembre 2008)
  7. Ibid
  8. Shehnaz, S. I., Agarwal, A. K., Khan, N.« A systematic review of self-medication practices among adolescents » Journal of Adolescent Health, vol. 55, no 4, p. 467-483
  9. Longo, Lance P., Parran, Ted, Johnson, Brian, Kinsey, William. « Addiction: Part II. Identification and management of the drug-seeking patient », American Family Physician, vol. 61, no 8, p. 2401-2408

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.