Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Suspect unlawful activity with prescriptions or medications? Here’s how to respond

Originally published March 2018
18-07-E

During a routine inventory of a clinic’s medication storage, the medical assistant notes that nearly all of the supply of oxycodone is not to be found. Distressed, he brings this news to you (his manager and clinic partner) at the end of a busy day. You ask him to reconcile the month’s prescriptions with the actual inventory, and his findings show that the vials are indeed missing. Do you know what you might do next?

Physicians who know what to do when they become aware of potential illegal activity concerning medications they prescribe, or that are otherwise under their control, are better prepared to resolve the matter effectively—and more likely to avoid possible medical-legal difficulties. For this reason, physicians should know their obligations, which include taking reasonable steps to help prevent drug diversion—the transfer of controlled substances from lawful sources to the illicit marketplace—and related fraudulent activity.

When deciding what steps to take, physicians need to consider their professional obligation to protect the confidentiality of patient health information. Improper disclosure to the police of information about a patient may expose a physician to a complaint to a regulatory authority (College) or privacy commissioner.

The fact that obtaining controlled drugs is lawful only with a physician’s prescription sometimes places physicians at the intersection of medicine and the law. Diversion of prescription medication can occur in many ways such as drug theft, prescription forgery, or a patient obtaining multiple prescriptions from various doctors (i.e. “double-doctoring”).

What is a controlled drug?

The federal Controlled Drugs and Substances Act1 lists the items that are defined as controlled drugs and substances in Canada. In general, these are drugs that can have a detrimental effect on a person’s health and well-being, as well as substances that are prescribed by licensed medical practitioners and sold through pharmacies and dispensaries for legitimate medical treatment. Possession of these substances is legal only with such a prescription or other lawful authorization.

Loss or theft of drugs

Controlled drugs must be stored securely to mitigate the possibility of theft. If drugs are known to be missing, this must be reported to the local police service immediately and to Health Canada’s Office of Controlled Substances within 10 days of the discovery at 613-954-1541.

Loss or theft of prescription pads

When theft of prescription pads is suspected, physicians should contact the CMPA and consult any guidance or policies from their College. Physicians may consider notifying the police of the loss. When speaking to the police, physicians should be careful not to identify any individual patient, while providing the necessary details about the incident.

Prescription monitoring programs (PMPs) in some jurisdictions require that physicians use special paper prescription pads in which there are multiple copies: a pharmacy copy, a prescriber copy, and copy that is submitted to the PMP for tracking purposes. Physicians may be required to report any missing or stolen prescription forms to the program and potentially others, including the College. Similarly, electronic prescriptions are automatically submitted directly to the PMP and pharmacy, which ensures timely data collection and helps mitigate the possibility of fraud.

"Double-doctoring"

If a pharmacist or other practitioner notifies a physician of a patient attempting to obtain controlled drugs from various doctors (double-doctoring), the physician may consider discussing the matter with the patient if doing so does not put the physician or others at risk. Physicians may need to consult with the other treating doctors, but broader notification to pharmacies or the police could breach doctor-patient confidentiality. If physicians are suspicious about a patient’s access to drugs from other practitioners, prior to prescribing or renewing a prescription, physicians may ask the patient if they have sought or obtained a controlled drug from another physician in the past 30 days. Under the federal Controlled Drugs and Substances Act1, it is an offence for a patient to fail to disclose this information to a physician.

Physicians may want to become acquainted with any guidelines from their College on steps to take in ending the doctor-patient relationship. Ending the relationship may be appropriate if a patient is persistently uncooperative and where there is a breakdown in trust.

Responding to police enquiries

The police may, on occasion, contact a physician to verify the information on a prescription in their possession. When presented with a prescription script by the police, the physician’s response should be limited to confirm the legitimacy of the prescription such as whether or not the signature on the script is authentic, that is, made by the physician in question.

CMPA members are encouraged to contact the CMPA for further guidance before volunteering information to the police.

Prescription monitoring and safe prescribing

Each province and territory operates some form of prescription monitoring program. These programs monitor outpatient prescription dispensing activity—collecting information about the prescriber, pharmacist, and patient involved in each prescription transaction; some systems also identify the person picking up the prescription.

PMPs typically alert the pharmacy (and in some cases the physician) in real time when unusual activity is detected. In some jurisdictions, clinicians within a patient’s circle of care may also proactively access PMP data. This can assist in clinical decision-making and assessing risk, including whether and how to prescribe and dispense a controlled drug. In other jurisdictions, however, physicians and pharmacies do not have point-of-care access to patient information (i.e. a patient’s prescription history) via the PMP, in which case physicians will want to refer to the patient’s electronic health record, if available.

The bottom line

  • Report the theft or loss of a controlled substance to the local police immediately and to Health Canada’s Office of Controlled Substances no later than 10 days after its discovery.
  • If you suspect a patient of drug diversion or other unlawful prescription-related activity, consider discussing the matter directly with that individual—but only if this is unlikely to put you or your staff in any danger.
  • If a suspected prescription fraud involves a known patient, it is important to respect the confidentiality of patient health information. If it does not involve your patient, confidentiality is not an issue and you may report the incident to the police, if appropriate, if the pharmacist or others have not already done so.

Physicians who are unsure about how to proceed in responding to suspected unlawful prescription activity are encouraged to contact the CMPA for individual advice.




References

  1. Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, S.C. 1996, c. 19

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Que faire si vous soupçonnez une fraude d’ordonnances ou de médicaments?

Publié initialement en mars 2018
18-07-F

Lors d’un inventaire de routine de la réserve de médicaments de la clinique, l’assistant médical remarque que presque tout l’approvisionnement d’oxycodone a disparu. Bouleversé, il vous en parle à la fin d’une journée occupée, puisque vous êtes son gestionnaire ainsi qu’un associé de la clinique. Vous lui demandez alors de procéder à un bilan comparatif des ordonnances du mois. Celui-ci révèle effectivement qu’il manque des fioles. Que devriez-vous faire?

Le médecin qui sait comment intervenir lors de la découverte d’activités illégales possibles liées à des médicaments qu’il a prescrits ou dont il a la garde est mieux préparé pour résoudre le problème efficacement et risque moins de connaître des problèmes médico-légaux. C’est pourquoi un médecin devrait savoir quelles sont ses obligations, entre autres, en ce qui a trait aux mesures raisonnables à prendre pour mieux prévenir le détournement de médicaments d’ordonnance – c.-à-d. le transfert de ces médicaments de provenance légale vers le marché des drogues illicites – ainsi que les activités frauduleuses qui y sont associées.

En choisissant la démarche à mettre en œuvre, le médecin doit se rappeler qu’il est tenu de protéger la confidentialité des renseignements sur la santé des patients. Une divulgation non autorisée aux policiers de renseignements concernant un patient pourrait exposer le médecin à une plainte auprès de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) ou du commissaire à la vie privée.

Comme l’obtention de médicaments contrôlés n’est licite que sur une ordonnance médicale, les médecins se trouvent parfois au confluent de la médecine et de la loi. Le détournement des médicaments d’ordonnance s’effectue par vol, falsification d’ordonnances ou obtention de multiples ordonnances auprès de divers médecins.

Qu’est-ce qu’un médicament contrôlé?

Au Canada, la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances1 énumère les produits définis comme étant des médicaments contrôlés et d’autres substances. En général, ce sont des médicaments qui peuvent avoir un effet néfaste sur la santé et le bien-être d’une personne, de même que des substances prescrites par un praticien, et vendues en pharmacie et en dispensaire, pour des traitements médicaux légitimes. La possession de ces substances n’est légitime qu’au moyen d’une ordonnance ou d’une autre autorisation légale.

Perte ou vol de médicaments

Les médicaments contrôlés doivent être entreposés de façon sécuritaire pour réduire les risques de vol. Si des médicaments disparaissent, vous devez le signaler immédiatement au service de police de votre localité, ainsi qu’au Bureau des substances contrôlées de Santé Canada, au 613-954-1541, dans les 10 jours du constat.

Perte ou vol de bloc d’ordonnances

Lorsqu’un médecin soupçonne qu’un bloc d’ordonnances lui a été volé, il devrait communiquer avec l’ACPM et consulter les avis et politiques émis par le Collège à cet égard. Le médecin peut aussi informer le service de police de cette perte. Dans ses échanges avec les policiers dans une telle situation, il doit toutefois veiller à ne pas identifier le patient.

Dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires, les programmes de surveillance des ordonnances (PSO) exigent que le médecin utilise des blocs d’ordonnances comportant de multiples copies papier : une pour le pharmacien, une pour le prescripteur, et une pour le PSO à des fins de traçabilité. Le médecin peut être tenu de signaler le vol ou la perte de tout formulaire d’ordonnance au PSO, ainsi qu’à d’autres organismes, dont le Collège. De même, les ordonnances électroniques sont soumises directement au PSO et à la pharmacie. Ceci permet de recueillir les données rapidement et de réduire les risques de fraude.

Consultation de plus d’un médecin

Si un pharmacien ou un autre professionnel de la santé avise le médecin qu’un patient tente d’obtenir des médicaments contrôlés auprès de divers praticiens, le médecin peut en parler au patient si la situation ne risque pas de poser un danger pour lui-même ou pour autrui. Le médecin peut consulter des collègues, mais s’il étend l’avis aux pharmacies et aux services de police, il pourrait manquer à son devoir de confidentialité. Si le médecin pense qu’un patient a obtenu des médicaments auprès d’autres praticiens, il devrait, avant de prescrire ou de renouveler une ordonnance, lui demander s’il a cherché à obtenir ou s’il a déjà obtenu un médicament contrôlé auprès d’un autre médecin au cours des 30 derniers jours. Au Canada, un patient qui ne divulgue pas cette information à un médecin prescripteur commet une infraction en vertu de la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances1, it is an offence for a patient to fail to disclose this information to a physician.

Les médecins peuvent se familiariser avec les lignes directrices du Collège sur les mesures à prendre pour mettre fin à la relation médecin-patient. Il peut en effet être approprié de mettre fin à cette relation si le patient persiste à ne pas coopérer ou lorsqu’il y a une perte de confiance.

Comment réagir à une enquête policière

Il se peut, à l’occasion, qu’un policier communique avec un médecin pour vérifier l’information sur une ordonnance qu’il a en sa possession. Le médecin devrait alors se limiter à confirmer la légitimité du document, c’est-à-dire attester que la signature qui y est apposée est bien la sienne.

L’ACPM encourage ses membres à communiquer avec elle pour obtenir plus de précisions avant de divulguer des renseignements aux policiers.

Surveillance des ordonnances

Chaque province et chaque territoire possède une forme de PSO. Ces programmes surveillent l’activité de distribution des médicaments d’ordonnance aux patients et recueillent ainsi de l’information sur le prescripteur, le pharmacien et le patient associés à chaque ordonnance; certains systèmes identifient aussi la personne qui vient chercher le médicament prescrit.

En général, le PSO alerte la pharmacie (et dans certains cas le médecin) en temps réel lorsqu’une activité inhabituelle est détectée. Dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires, les cliniciens du cercle de soins du patient peuvent aussi avoir accès de façon proactive aux données du PSO. Ce processus guide la prise de décision clinique et l’évaluation du risque, y compris sur la façon de prescrire et de délivrer un médicament contrôlé. Cependant, dans d’autres provinces ou territoires, les médecins et les pharmaciens n’ont pas un accès point de service au profil pharmacologique du patient par l’intermédiaire du PSO; dans ces situations, le médecin devra donc se référer au dossier de santé électronique du patient, si celui-ci est accessible.

En bref

  • Signalez la perte ou le vol des médicaments d’ordonnance immédiatement au service de police de votre localité, ainsi qu’au Bureau des substances contrôlées de Santé Canada dans les 10 jours du constat.
  • Si vous soupçonnez un détournement de médicaments d’ordonnance de la part d’un patient ou d’autres activités frauduleuses liées aux ordonnances, vous pouvez en parler directement avec la personne concernée, mais seulement si la situation ne risque pas de poser un danger pour vous-même ou pour autrui.
  • Si vous soupçonnez un patient de fraude d’ordonnance, il importe de respecter la confidentialité des renseignements sur la santé de celui-ci. S’il ne s’agit pas de l’un de vos patients, la confidentialité n’est pas en jeu et vous pouvez signaler la situation aux policiers, s’il y a lieu, à moins que le pharmacien ou d’autres professionnels ne l’aient déjà fait.

L’ACPM encourage ses membres à communiquer avec elle pour obtenir des conseils personnalisés s’ils ne sont pas certains de la procédure à suivre dans les cas de trafic de médicaments d’ordonnance.




Référence

  1. Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances, L.C. 1996, c. 19

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.