Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Completing medical certificates of death: Who’s responsible?

Originally published March 2016 / Revised June 2016
P1601-4-E

A medical certificate of death is a permanent, legal record of a person’s death and its circumstances. Death certificates are important legal documents. They also provide statistics on causes of death and data for measuring health problems, assist in public health surveillance, and guide health promotion and disease control activities.

While most physicians have experience with a patient dying, some doctors remain uncertain about who can pronounce a death, who can certify a death, and what their obligations are in both these circumstances.

Pronouncing death

Pronouncing a death means issuing an opinion that life has ceased based on a physical assessment of the patient. Contrary to popular belief, there is no legal requirement that death be pronounced by a physician. Another person, such as a nurse who was caring for the deceased, could pronounce a patient’s death. If death occurs in a hospital or long-term care home, there may be specific policies and procedures on who may pronounce death in the facility.

Certifying death

Certifying a death is not the same as pronouncing death. Certifying a death is the legal process of attesting to the fact, cause, and manner of someone’s death, in writing, on the form prescribed by the local authority. Each province and territory has legislation governing who can certify a death.

In general, any physician who was in attendance during the last illness of the deceased person or who has sufficient knowledge of the last illness has a legal obligation to complete the death certificate. In some provinces and territories, legislation also states that a nurse practitioner who was in attendance during the last illness can complete and sign the death certificate if the death was expected as the result of a diagnosed chronic or acute illness or condition.1 In Québec, nurses are authorized to document, in a prescribed form, clinical information specific to the patient’s death. The form must then be transmitted to the responsible physician for completion of the death certificate.

It is important to note that any physician in attendance during the last illness or with sufficient knowledge of the deceased’s last illness can complete the death certificate. This physician does not need to be the patient’s primary care physician. Physicians who have sufficient knowledge of the patient’s last illness may be asked to complete the death certificate even though the primary care physician may have greater knowledge of the patient.

Death certificates and medical assistance in dying

As medical assistance in dying (MAID) has been legal in Québec since December 10, 2015, and federal legislation now authorizes MAID in accordance with eligibility criteria and safeguards, it is expected that provincial and territorial legislation will be adopted to address the legislative and regulatory requirements regarding the completion of death certificates in the context of MAID, and in particular the classification of the cause of death and regarding the reporting of the death to the coroner or medical examiner.

When the duty to complete the death certificate is engaged, physicians must do so promptly after the patient’s death. Several provinces and territories require that the death certificate be completed immediately or without delay, while others require completion within 48 hours of death. Undue delays or failure on the part of a physician to complete the death certificate could expose a physician to the risk of a complaint to the regulatory authority (College) or a fine under the applicable statute.

Duty to report

Each province and territory also has legislation relating to a physician’s reporting obligations following a death. For example, physicians have a duty to report a death to the coroner or medical examiner that they believe is suspicious or that has occurred under the circumstances listed in the legislation. These circumstances include death that is the result of violence or homicide, negligence, misconduct, or malpractice; during pregnancy; or that is unexplained or unexpected. The specific legislation in each jurisdiction might require physicians to report information about a death to the coroner in other circumstances.  In addition, physicians in some provinces and territories may also be required to report to a medical officer of health a death resulting from certain communicable diseases.2

The difference between coroners and medical examiners

The terms “coroner” and “medical examiner” are often used interchangeably, but they represent different systems of investigating deaths. For example, although medical examiners are physicians, coroners in some provinces and territories do not need to be physicians. The majority of provinces and territories use the coroner system to investigate deaths.

There are two objectives for reporting deaths to the coroner or medical examiner. The first is to determine the cause and manner of the death (and at times, the identity of the deceased). The second is to make recommendations about any systemic issues that may have contributed to the death. In cases where coroners or medical examiners have been brought in, they are responsible for completing the death certificate. That said, physicians may still need to attend to the deceased to make a determination that the cause of death is suspicious, sudden, unexpected, or otherwise requires notification of the coroner under the legislation.

Medical-legal issues

A family practitioner who had primary responsibility for the care of a deceased patient during the last illness might be asked to attend to the patient if the patient died at home and there are no concerns about the circumstances or cause of death. Rather than risk a complaint being made by the deceased’s family to the College or being liable to a fine, it may be prudent for physicians to attend to the deceased in these situations to certify the death.

If a physician is truly unable to attend to the deceased patient in the short term, because the patient no longer lives in the same geographic area or the physician is not immediately available, it may be helpful for the physician to remind the requesting party that any physician who has sufficient knowledge of the death can complete the death certificate. It may be more expedient and practical for another physician (or a nurse practitioner, where applicable and appropriate) to certify the death.

The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario recommends a similar approach when physicians have made a commitment to care for patients who are expected to die at home. The College’s policy on “Decision-making for the End of Life” states that in these situations, physicians should ensure there is a plan for the certification of death, including arranging to certify the death themselves or to have another qualified person certify the death if they are unavailable.3

Alternatively, physicians should also be aware that provincial and territorial legislation does not necessarily require that physicians formally attend to the body to certify the death in every case. If it is appropriate, physicians can rely on the patient’s file and on information reported to them by other health professionals who attended to the patient during his or her last illness. Physicians in these cases should carefully review the record and make the necessary inquiries to satisfy themselves that the information is correct, especially as it relates to the cause of death. Physicians may, however, wish to attend to the body to certify the death if they feel they have insufficient information or if they have questions about the circumstances of the death. Physicians who complete a medical certificate without making reasonably necessary inquiries could expose themselves to liability.

When a patient’s death is imminent and expected to occur naturally, physicians may prepare some parts of the death certificate in advance of the patient dying. However, the form should not be finalized until after the patient has died.

The essential points

  • There is no legal requirement that death be pronounced by a physician. The medical certificate of death, however, must generally be completed by the physician in attendance during the patient’s last illness or any physician who has sufficient knowledge of the last illness. In some jurisdictions, nurse practitioners who attended the patient during the last illness can complete a death certificate. In Québec, nurses can document the clinical information specific to the patient’s death and transmit that information to the responsible physician for completion of the death certificate.
  • When a death occurs in unusual circumstances or in circumstances that are specified in legislation as reportable, physicians must report it to the coroner or medical examiner. Physicians should be aware of what constitutes a reportable death in their province or territory. The coroner or medical examiner will then investigate the case and complete the medical certificate of death.
  • Physicians should know their legal obligations for certifying a death, be aware of the potential medical-legal issues, and act reasonably and professionally when requested to attend and certify a patient’s death.
 
 
  1. Currently, nurse practitioners in Nova Scotia, Ontario, British Columbia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, and the Northwest Territories can complete a medical certificate of death.
  2. Members should contact the CMPA if they have questions or need assistance related to their duty to report in specific cases.
  3. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, Policy #4-15, “Planning for and Providing Quality End-of-Life Care,” reviewed and updated September 2015. Accessed October 8, 2015 from: http://www.cpso.on.ca/Policies-Publications/Policy/Planning-for-Providing-Quality-End-of-Life-Care.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Le certificat de décès : à qui la responsabilité?

Publié initialement en mars 2016 / révisé en juin 2016
P1601-4-F

Le certificat de décès constitue un élément permanent du registre légal d’une personne attestant du décès de cette dernière ainsi que des causes et circonstances de ce décès. Il s’agit d’un document juridique important, qui fournit également des statistiques sur les causes de décès, de même que des données permettant de mesurer les problèmes de santé, de contribuer à la surveillance de la santé publique, et de guider les activités de promotion de la santé et de lutte contre la maladie.

Bien que la plupart des médecins aient déjà vécu l’expérience de la mort d’un de leurs patients, des incertitudes subsistent quant à la différence entre le fait de prononcer le décès et la préparation du certificat de décès, les personnes qui sont autorisées à remplir ces documents, et les obligations qui s’y rattachent.

Prononcer le décès

Prononcer un décès signifie émettre une opinion, fondée sur une évaluation physique, qu’un patient a cessé de vivre. Contrairement à une croyance répandue, il n’y a pas d’exigence légale nécessitant que le décès soit prononcé par un médecin. Une autre personne, telle une infirmière qui prenait soin du patient, peut prononcer le décès de ce dernier. Lorsqu’un décès survient dans un centre hospitalier ou un établissement de soins de longue durée, il peut y avoir des politiques et des procédures qui déterminent quelles sont les personnes autorisées à prononcer le décès dans cet établissement.

Certifier un décès

La certification d’un décès ne doit pas être confondue avec le fait de prononcer le décès. En effet, certifier un décès est le processus légal par lequel on atteste par écrit du fait, de la cause et des circonstances du décès d’une personne, au moyen du formulaire prescrit par l’autorité locale. Chaque province et territoire a des lois stipulant quelles sont les personnes habilitées à certifier un décès.

De façon générale, tout médecin ayant traité un patient au cours de sa dernière maladie, ou tout médecin étant suffisamment au fait de la dernière maladie de ce patient, a l’obligation légale de dresser le certificat de décès. Dans certaines provinces et certains territoires, la loi permet également à l’infirmière praticienne ayant traité le patient au cours de sa dernière maladie à remplir et à signer le certificat de décès si ce décès était prévisible en raison d’une quelconque affection, ou d’une maladie chronique ou en phase aiguë.1 Au Québec, les infirmières sont autorisées à documenter, dans un formulaire prescrit, des renseignements cliniques qui se rapportent spécifiquement au décès du patient. Ce formulaire doit ensuite être transmis au médecin responsable afin qu’il puisse dresser le constat de décès.

Il importe de souligner que tout médecin ayant traité un patient au cours de sa dernière maladie, ou étant suffisamment au fait de la dernière maladie de la personne décédée, peut remplir le certificat de décès. Ce médecin n’est pas tenu d’être le médecin traitant du patient. Un médecin suffisamment informé de la dernière maladie du patient peut être appelé à remplir le certificat de décès, même si le médecin traitant peut avoir mieux connu le patient.

Le certificat de décès et l’aide médicale à mourir

Étant donné que l’aide médicale à mourir est permise au Québec depuis le 10 décembre 2015 et que la législation fédérale autorise maintenant l’aide médicale à mourir sous réserve du respect des critères d’admissibilité et des mesures de sauvegarde, on s’attend à ce que des lois provinciales et territoriales soit adoptées pour répondre aux exigences législatives et réglementaires concernant la rédaction des certificats de décès dans le contexte de l’aide médicale à mourir et, en particulier, en ce qui a trait à la classification de la cause du décès et au signalement du décès au coroner ou au médecin légiste.

Lorsque survient l’obligation de certifier un décès, le médecin doit s’en acquitter aussitôt que possible. Plusieurs provinces et territoires exigent qu’un certificat de décès soit dressé immédiatement, ou sans tarder, alors que d’autres s’attendent à ce que ce soit fait dans les 48 heures suivant le décès. Un médecin risque de faire l’objet d’une plainte auprès de l’organisme de réglementation (Collège), ou d’être passible d’une amende, en vertu de la loi applicable, pour tout retard indu ou manquement de sa part à dresser le certificat de décès.

Obligation d’informer

Chaque province et territoire a des lois qui prévoient les obligations des médecins quant au signalement d'un décès. Les médecins sont tenus, par exemple, de signaler au coroner ou au médecin légiste un décès qui, à leur avis, est suspect ou est survenu dans des circonstances particulières précisées dans la loi. Ces situations incluent les actes de violence, les homicides, les décès au cours d’une grossesse, la négligence ou faute professionnelle, l’inconduite ou le manquement aux exigences professionnelles, ou encore les cas de décès inexpliqués ou inattendus. La législation propre à chaque province et territoire pourra prévoir d’autres circonstances en vertu desquelles un médecin devra rapporter au coroner des informations relatives à un décès. De plus, dans certaines provinces et certains territoires, les médecins peuvent être tenus d'informer un médecin conseil en santé publique de décès survenus à la suite de certaines maladies transmissibles.2

La différence entre un coroner et un médecin légiste

Même si les termes « coroner » et « médecin légiste » sont souvent employés de façon interchangeable, ils désignent des systèmes différents d’enquête sur les décès. Tandis que les médecins légistes sont médecins, les coroners qui exercent dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires ne le sont pas nécessairement. La plupart des provinces et territoires ont adopté un réseau de coroners pour mener les enquêtes sur les décès.

Le signalement d’un décès à un coroner ou un médecin légiste se fait normalement dans le cadre de deux objectifs. Le premier est de déterminer la cause et les circonstances du décès (et, parfois, l’identité de la personne décédée). Le deuxième est de faire des recommandations à l’égard de tout problème systémique pouvant avoir contribué au décès. Dans les cas où l’on a fait appel à un coroner ou à un médecin légiste, c’est à ce dernier qu’incombe la responsabilité de remplir le certificat de décès. Cela dit, un médecin peut tout de même être tenu d’examiner la dépouille d’un patient afin de déterminer si la cause du décès est suspecte, soudaine, imprévue ou qu’il y a sinon un autre motif exigeant que le coroner en soit avisé conformément à la loi.

Les problèmes médico-légaux

Le médecin de famille qui était le principal responsable des soins prodigués à un patient décédé des suites de sa dernière maladie peut être appelé à examiner le défunt si celui-ci est décédé à domicile et s’il n’y a aucune inquiétude quant aux circonstances ou à la cause du décès. Plutôt que de s’exposer au risque de faire l’objet d’une plainte de la famille du défunt auprès du Collège ou de se voir imposer une amende, il peut être prudent pour le médecin d’examiner la dépouille afin de remplir le certificat de décès.

Si le médecin se trouve vraiment dans l’impossibilité d’examiner le défunt dans un bref délai parce que ce dernier ne vivait plus dans la même région géographique, ou si le médecin n’est pas immédiatement disponible, il peut être utile de rappeler à la partie requérante que tout autre médecin étant suffisamment au fait du décès peut remplir le certificat de décès. Il peut être plus rapide et pratique qu’un autre médecin (ou une infirmière praticienne, lorsque ceci est permis et approprié) certifie le décès.

L’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario recommande une approche semblable dans les cas où un médecin s’engage à soigner un patient qui décédera probablement à domicile. La politique de l’Ordre sur la prise de décisions concernant la fin de vie stipule que dans de telles circonstances, le médecin doit s’assurer que des mesures sont en place pour la certification du décès, qu’il s’agisse de certifier le décès lui-même ou d’avoir une autre personne qualifiée pour le faire s’il n’est pas disponible à ce moment-là.3

Parallèlement, les médecins devraient aussi savoir que la loi provinciale ou territoriale n’exige pas nécessairement dans chaque cas qu’un médecin examine une dépouille de façon officielle pour dresser le certificat de décès. Si la situation le permet, le médecin peut en effet se fier au dossier du patient et aux renseignements qui lui sont donnés par d’autres professionnels de la santé qui se sont occupés du patient au cours de sa dernière maladie. Dans de tels cas, le médecin doit soigneusement passer en revue le dossier et effectuer les vérifications nécessaires pour s’assurer que les renseignements sont exacts, surtout en ce qui a trait à la cause du décès. Le médecin peut toutefois choisir d’examiner le corps avant de certifier le décès s’il estime disposer de renseignements insuffisants ou s’il a des questions sur les circonstances entourant le décès. Les médecins qui certifient un décès sans effectuer les vérifications raisonnablement nécessaires pourraient s’exposer à un risque en matière de responsabilité médicale.

Lorsque le décès d’un patient est imminent et que l’on s’attend à une mort naturelle, le médecin peut remplir à l’avance certaines parties du certificat de décès. Toutefois, les formulaires ne doivent pas être finalisés avant le décès du patient.

L’essentiel

  • Il n’y a pas d’exigence légale qu’un décès soit prononcé par un médecin. Cependant, le certificat de décès doit généralement être rempli par le médecin qui a traité le patient au cours de sa dernière maladie ou par tout médecin qui était suffisamment au fait de cette dernière maladie. Dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires, une infirmière praticienne ayant soigné le patient au cours de sa dernière maladie est habilitée à certifier le décès. Au Québec, une infirmière peut documenter l’information clinique concernant le décès du patient et la transmettre au médecin responsable pour qu’il dresse le certificat de décès.
  • Lorsqu’un décès survient dans des circonstances inhabituelles ou dans des circonstances qui doivent, selon la loi, être signalées, le médecin doit en aviser le coroner ou le médecin légiste. Les médecins doivent savoir ce qui constitue un décès à déclaration obligatoire dans leur province ou territoire. Le coroner ou le médecin légiste effectuera alors une enquête et remplira le certificat de décès.
  • Les médecins doivent connaître leurs obligations légales en ce qui a trait au certificat de décès, être conscients des risques médico-légaux, et agir de manière raisonnable et professionnelle lorsqu’ils sont appelés à examiner le corps d’un patient pour certifier le décès.
 
 
  1. Actuellement, les infirmières praticiennes en Nouvelle-Écosse, en Ontario, en Colombie-Britannique, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, ainsi que dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest peuvent remplir un certificat de décès.
  2. Les membres devraient communiquer avec l'ACPM pour toute question ou pour obtenir une assistance liée à leur obligation de signaler un décès survenu dans des circonstances particulières.
  3. L’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario. Politique n4-15, « Planning for and Providing Quality End-of-Life Care », révisée et mise à jour en septembre 2015. Consultée le 17 février 2016.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.