Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Organ and tissue donation: Who has the final say?

Originally published February 2017
17-03-E

Physicians involved with post-mortem organ and tissue donations may be concerned about informed consent—particularly, who can provide it and how it should be obtained. Physicians may also worry about exposing themselves to complaints or legal actions when taking part in harvesting and transplanting organs and tissue. By gaining an understanding of the regulatory requirements governing organ and tissue donation, physicians can be confident they are effectively meeting their obligations to patients and their families, and potentially helping to increase the limited supply of transplantable organs.

Physicians who act in good faith and are reasonably satisfied that valid consent has been given are unlikely to face medical-legal difficulties. Indeed, the CMPA is not aware of any legal actions or regulatory authority (College) complaints arising from organ and tissue donations in Canada in the past 10 years.

Opting in to give consent

Requirements for consent to donate organs and tissue are addressed in provincial and territorial statutes (in Québec, consent for such donations is addressed in the Civil Code).1

All provinces and territories operate opting-in systems. This means that the express consent of the donor or other specified individual is required. Such consent can commonly be given when a prospective donor registers with a provincial donor registry such as BC Transplant or Ontario’s Trillium Gift of Life Network, or when renewing one’s health card or driver’s license, or can be given more contemporaneously by the patient or substitute decision-maker (SDM).

Legislation in many provinces also allows family members and SDMs to consent at the time of death or when death is imminent. In general, consent may be given in priority order by next of kin or other specified individuals when certain conditions are met such as the absence of personal knowledge that the donor would have refused to give consent.2

Presumed consent and mandated choice

In an effort to increase the availability of organs, some advocates call for a system of presumed consent—the presumption that consent has been given unless there is evidence to the contrary—or a system of mandated choice whereby all Canadians would be required to declare whether they wish to donate. However, in countries that use presumed consent, donation rates vary widely and have overall average rates similar to those in opting-in systems.6

Suitability for organ and tissue donation

An ongoing challenge for physicians and organ procurement organizations is finding ways to reduce barriers to organ and tissue donation, thus narrowing the gap between supply and demand. While Canadian regulations3 identify many contraindications4 to organ and tissue donation, such as infections and some neurological disorders, they do allow for exceptions to be made on a case-by-case basis. Indeed, one recent study found that about one-third of deceased donors in Ontario were such exceptions.5 Suitability is typically assessed by the organ procurement organization and the decision whether to proceed is ultimately made by the transplant physicians.

Physicians may be subject to additional obligations. In Alberta, for example, physicians who make a determination of death are required to consider and document in the patient record the medical suitability of the deceased person’s organs for transplantation.7 For more information physicians should refer to the applicable College guidelines and to policies such as the Canadian Medical Association’s Policy on Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation.8 As well, some provincial donor registries and organ procurement organizations offer resources and advice from transplant specialists; in many hospitals transplant physicians may also be available for consultation.

Providing care in good faith

Provincial legislation on organ and tissue donation provides immunity from civil liability for physicians who act in good faith and without negligence in removing tissue for post-mortem donation.9 Such legislation is grounded in the general principle that physicians will not be found liable when acting according to the appropriate standard of care applicable in the circumstances, which is based on medical knowledge and prevailing practices at the time.

Communicating with donor patients and their families

Physicians are encouraged to provide prospective donors with “meaningful, understandable information” concerning donating their organs and tissue. Preferably this information is part of ongoing care and provided in advance of any crisis requiring an urgent decision or when the patient’s capacity to consent might be compromised.8 Such information may normally include the following: benefits and risks of donation and transplantation, procedures on the determination of death, testing of organs and tissues to determine their suitability for transplantation, measures that may be required to preserve organ function until death is determined, what will happen to the body once death has been declared, what organs or tissues are being donated, and the protocol that will be followed in the event the family objects.8

Physicians should encourage prospective donors to discuss their choice with their family or SDM. This can provide greater certainty and avoid possible later conflict.

When a patient has died, a good practice is to call on the hospital’s organ donation coordinator (or equivalent), who may access the donor registry and who is well versed in communicating information about the donation process with the family. Communicating effectively with the family to obtain their consent has been shown to improve rates of authorization for organ and tissue donation as well as the overall quality of the donation experience.10 When requesting consent from family members in the absence of the donor’s express consent, it may be helpful to keep in mind that families are more likely to regret refusing to donate their loved one’s organs and tissue rather than feeling remorseful about giving permission.11

When the patient’s wishes are known and there is no reason to believe the patient changed his or her mind to donate, physicians are not obligated from a legal perspective to seek additional consent from family members or the SDM. While family members and SDMs are encouraged to respect their loved one’s expressed wishes, consensus may not always be easily achieved. For physicians, it may not be prudent to proceed without first having a tactful, considerate discussion with the family or SDM to review the donor’s wishes and secure the family’s consent. Such a discussion will serve to avoid potential disagreements, help grieving survivors cope with their loss, and reduce the possibility of medical-legal difficulties for the physicians involved.

The bottom line

  • Physicians who act in good faith and are reasonably satisfied that valid consent has been given to harvest a deceased person’s organs or tissue are unlikely to face medical-legal difficulties.
  • Information concerning donating organs and tissue is best provided to patients as part of ongoing care and in advance of any crisis that might give urgency to the decision.
  • When a patient’s wishes are not known, legislation generally allows next of kin to consent to donate under specified conditions.
  • When a patient’s wishes are known, a discussion with the family to confirm the donor’s wishes may help avoid possible disagreements and medical-legal difficulties for physicians.



References

  1. art. 10, 11 CCQ
  2. For example, in Alberta, Human Tissue and Organ Donation Act.. Chapter H-14.5, 2006 (http://www.qp.alberta.ca/documents/Acts/h14p5.pdf). In Ontario, Trillium Gift of Life Network Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. H.20
  3. Government of Canada. Safety of Human Cells, Tissues and Organs for Transplantation Regulations (SOR/2007-118). Canada Gazette Part II. June 27, 2007. 141(13): 1216-1274
  4. Canadian Standards Association. CAN/CSA-Z900.1-12 - Cells, tissues, and organs for transplantation: General requirements. Ottawa: CSA, 2012
  5. Deceased Organ Donor Potential in Canada [Internet]. Ottawa: Canadian Institute for Health Information; 2014 Dec [cited 2015 Mar 22]. 36 p. Available from: https://www.cihi.ca/web/resource/en/organdonorpotential_2014_en.pdf
  6. Multi-Organ Transplant Program, Organ and Tissue Donation [Internet]. London (ON): London Health Sciences Centre; 2013 [cited 2016 Mar 22]. Available from: http://www.lhsc.on.ca/Patients_Families_Visitors/MOTP/Organ_and_Tissue_Donation/
  7. Human Tissue and Organ Donation Act.. Chapter H-14.5, 2006 (http://www.qp.alberta.ca/documents/Acts/h14p5.pdf)
  8. CMA Policy, Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation [Internet]. Ottawa: Canadian Medical Association; 2015 [cited 2016 Mar 22]. 9 p. Available from: https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/cma_policy_organ_and_tissue_donation_and_transplantation_update-2015_pd16-02-e.pdf#search=organ%20donation%20policy
  9. For example, in Nova Scotia, the Human Tissue Gift Act. R.S., c. 215, s. 1
  10. Siminoff LA, Traino HM, Genderson, MW. Communicating effectively about organ donation: A randomized trial of a behavioral communication intervention to improve discussions about donation. Transplantation Direct [Internet]. 2015 Mar [cited 2016 Mar 22]. Available from: http://journals.lww.com/transplantationdirect/Fulltext/2015/03000/Communicating_Effectively_About_Organ_Donation___A.6.aspx#P81 doi: 10.1097/TXD.0000000000000513
  11. Tymstra TJ, Heyink JW, Pruim J, Slooff MJH. Experience of bereaved relatives who granted or refused permission for organ donation. Fam Pract [Internet]. 1992 [cited 2016 Mar 22]; 9 (2): 141-144. Available from: http://fampra.oxfordjournals.org/content/9/2/141.short doi: 10.1093/fampra/9.2.141

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Les dons d’organes et de tissus : qui a le dernier mot?

Publié initialement en février 2017
17-03-F

Les médecins qui jouent un rôle associé aux prélèvements post-mortem d’organes et de tissus peuvent se poser des questions à l’égard du consentement éclairé – tout particulièrement en ce qui a trait à la personne pouvant l’accorder et à la façon de l’obtenir. Ils peuvent aussi craindre de s’exposer à des plaintes ou des actions en justice s’ils participent au prélèvement et à la transplantation d’organes et de tissus. Les médecins qui connaissent bien les exigences réglementaires en matière de dons d’organes et de tissus peuvent se sentir rassurés sur le fait qu’ils répondent bien à leurs obligations envers les patients et leurs familles, et contribuent possiblement à accroître le nombre d’organes pour la transplantation.

Il est peu probable qu’un médecin qui agit de bonne foi et qui est raisonnablement satisfait qu’un consentement valide ait bien été obtenu fasse l’objet de problèmes médico-légaux. En effet, cela fait plus de 10 ans que l’ACPM n’a pas eu connaissance d’actions en justice ou de plaintes déposées auprès d’organismes de réglementation (Collèges) concernant des dons d’organes ou de tissus au Canada.

Adhésion volontaire

Les exigences en matière de consentement au don d'organes et de tissus sont stipulées dans les lois des provinces et des territoires (et dans le Code civil au Québec).1

Toutes les provinces et tous les territoires ont un système d’adhésion volontaire. Ceci signifie que le consentement explicite est requis du donneur ou d’une autre personne désignée. Un donneur possible peut accorder un tel consentement en s’inscrivant auprès d’un registre provincial de dons d’organes, tels que le Registre de la Régie d’assurance-maladie du Québec, le Registre des consentements au don d’organes et de tissus de la Chambre des notaires du Québec, ou le Réseau Trillium pour le don de vie en Ontario, ou encore en signant la carte de don au moment de renouveler sa carte-santé ou son permis de conduire. Le consentement peut aussi être accordé à un moment ultérieur par le patient ou son décideur-remplaçant.

Dans plusieurs provinces et territoires, la loi permet aussi aux membres de la famille et aux décideurs-remplaçants d’accorder un consentement au moment du décès ou lorsque la mort est imminente. De façon générale, le consentement peut être accordé par le plus proche parent ou par des personnes désignées dans certaines conditions comme, par exemple, lorsque personne n’a connaissance du fait que le donneur aurait refusé d’accorder son consentement.2

Consentement présumé et déclaration obligatoire

Pour accroître l’approvisionnement en organes, certains intervenants plaident en faveur d’un système de consentement présumé – c’est-à-dire la présomption qu’un consentement a été accordé, à moins de preuve du contraire – ou d’un système de déclaration obligatoire, où tous les Canadiens sont tenus de déclarer s’ils veulent ou non faire don de leurs organes. Il faut toutefois noter que les taux de dons d’organes varient beaucoup dans les pays où le consentement présumé est la norme, et qu’en moyenne, ces taux sont semblables à ceux des pays ayant des systèmes d’adhésion volontaire.6

Admissibilité d’un donneur d’organes et de tissus

Il est toujours difficile pour les médecins et les organismes d’approvisionnement en organes de chercher à réduire les obstacles aux dons d’organes et de tissus dans le but de réduire l’écart entre l’offre et la demande. Alors que le Règlement sur la sécurité des cellules, tissus et organes humains destinés à la transplantation3 précise que la norme qui en découle fait état de nombreuses contre-indications4 aux dons d’organes et de tissus, telles que la présence d’infections et de troubles neurologiques particuliers, il permet que certaines exceptions soient faites au cas par cas. En effet, une étude récente a permis d’établir qu’environ un tiers des donneurs décédés en Ontario représentait de telles exceptions.5 Leur admissibilité est normalement déterminée par l’organisme d'approvisionnement en organes et la décision de procéder revient finalement aux médecins.

Les médecins peuvent être assujettis à d’autres obligations. En Alberta, par exemple, les médecins qui confirment un décès sont tenus de déterminer et de documenter au dossier du patient si les organes de la personne décédée sont médicalement adéquats pour la transplantation.7 Pour obtenir plus de précisions à cet égard, les médecins devraient consulter les lignes directrices du Collège ainsi que les politiques telles que celle de l’Association médicale canadienne sur « Les dons et les transplantations d’organes et de tissus ».8 Par ailleurs, certains registres provinciaux et organismes d’approvisionnement en organes offrent des ressources et des conseils de spécialistes du domaine de la transplantation; dans de nombreux hôpitaux, des médecins spécialisés dans ce domaine peuvent aussi être consultés.

Soins prodigués de bonne foi

Les lois provinciales sur les dons d’organes et de tissus dégagent les médecins de toute responsabilité civile s’ils agissent de bonne foi et sans négligence ou faute professionnelle dans le prélèvement de tissus en vue d’un don post-mortem.9 Ces lois se fondent sur le principe général voulant que les médecins ne soient pas tenus responsables s’ils respectent la norme de pratique qui s’applique dans les circonstances, en fonction des connaissances médicales et des pratiques en cours à ce moment-là.

Communication avec le donneur et sa famille

Les médecins devraient offrir aux donneurs éventuels des renseignements utiles et facilement compréhensibles sur le don d’organes et de tissus. Il est préférable que ces renseignements soient fournis dans le cadre du continuum des soins du patient, avant qu’une crise ne nécessite une décision urgente ou que l’aptitude du patient à consentir ne soit compromise.8 De tels renseignements peuvent normalement comprendre ce qui suit : les avantages et les risques du don et de la transplantation, les procédures suivies pour établir la mort, les examens visant à déterminer l’admissibilité du donneur d’organes et de tissus pour la transplantation, les mesures pouvant être requises pour préserver la fonction des organes jusqu’à la détermination du décès, ce qui adviendra de la dépouille après déclaration de la mort, les organes ou tissus faisant l’objet d’un don et le protocole à suivre en cas d’objections soulevées par la famille.8

Les médecins devraient encourager les donneurs éventuels à discuter de leur choix avec leur famille ou avec leur décideur-remplaçant. Une telle mesure peut offrir une plus grande certitude et éviter d’éventuels conflits.

Lorsqu’un patient décède, il est de mise d’appeler la personne responsable des dons d’organes de l’hôpital, qui a accès au registre des donneurs et qui peut bien communiquer à la famille l’information au sujet du processus. Il a en effet été démontré que le fait de communiquer efficacement avec la famille, tout au long du processus d’obtention du consentement, a amélioré le taux d’autorisation de don d’organes et de tissus, de même que l’expérience dans son ensemble.10 Il peut être utile, lorsque l’on cherche à obtenir le consentement de la famille en l’absence d’un consentement explicite du donneur, de se rappeler que les familles sont plus susceptibles d’entretenir des regrets pour avoir refusé de faire don des organes et tissus de leur être cher que des remords pour avoir accordé leur permission.11

Toutefois, lorsque les volontés du patient sont connues et qu’il n’y a aucune raison de croire que le patient a changé d’avis en ce qui a trait au don, les médecins ne sont pas légalement tenus d’obtenir un consentement supplémentaire auprès de la famille ou du décideur-remplaçant. Même si les membres de la famille et les décideurs-remplaçants sont encouragés à respecter les volontés exprimées par l’être cher, il ne leur est pas toujours facile de parvenir à un consensus. Pour les médecins, il pourrait être imprudent d’aller de l’avant sans d’abord avoir une discussion empreinte de tact et de compréhension avec la famille ou le décideur-remplaçant pour passer en revue les volontés du donneur, et valider le consentement. Une telle discussion contribuera à éviter les désaccords possibles, à aider les proches endeuillés à faire face à la perte de l’être cher, et à réduire les risques de problèmes médico-légaux pour les médecins.

En bref

  • Il est peu probable que les médecins qui agissent de bonne foi et qui sont raisonnablement satisfaits qu’un consentement valide au prélèvement des organes ou tissus d’une personne décédée ait bien été obtenu fassent l’objet de problèmes médico-légaux.
  • Il est préférable de présenter des renseignements concernant le don d’organes et de tissus dans le cadre du continuum de soins du patient, avant toute crise nécessitant une décision urgente.
  • Lorsque les volontés d’un patient ne sont pas connues, la loi autorise normalement le plus proche parent à accorder son consentement au don d’organes sous réserve de certaines conditions.
  • Lorsque les volontés du patient sont connues, il est possible qu’une discussion avec la famille pour confirmer ces volontés puisse éviter des désaccords possibles et des problèmes médico-légaux pour les médecins.




Références

  1. Arts 10-11 CcQ.
  2. Par exemple, en Alberta, la Human Tissue and Organ Donation Act, SA 2006, c H-14.5 ; en Ontario, la Loi sur le Réseau Trillium pour le don de vie, LRO 1990, c H20.
  3. Canada. Règlement sur la sécurité des cellules, tissus et organes humains destinés à la transplantation, DORS/2007-118
  4. Association canadienne de normalisation. CAN/CSA-Z900.1-F12 - Cellules, tissus et organes destinés à la transplantation : Exigences générales. Ottawa: CSA, 2012
  5. Donneurs décédés potentiels au Canada [Internet]. Ottawa: Institut canadien d’information sur la santé; décembre 2014 [cité le 22 mars 2016]. 36 p.https://www.cihi.ca/web/resource/fr/organdonorpotential_2014_fr.pdf
  6. Multi-Organ Transplant Program, Organ and Tissue Donation [Internet]. London (ON): London Health Sciences Centre; 2013 [cité le 22 mars 2016]. http://www.lhsc.on.ca/Patients_Families_Visitors/MOTP/Organ_and_Tissue_Donation/
  7. Human Tissue and Organ Donation Act, SA 2006, c H-14.5, art 7(1).
  8. Politique de l’AMC. Les dons et les transplantations d’organes et de tissus. [En ligne]. Ottawa: Association médicale canadienne; 2015 [cité le 22 mars 2016]. 9 p. https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/advocacy/PD14-08-f.pdf
  9. Par exemple, en Nouvelle-Écosse, Human Tissue Gift Act, R.S., c. 215, art 10.
  10. Siminoff LA, Traino HM, Genderson, MW. Communicating Effectively About Organ Donation: A Randomized Trial of a Behavioral Communication Intervention to Improve Discussions About Donation. Transplantation Direct [En ligne]. Mars 2015 [cité le 22 mars 2016]. http://journals.lww.com/transplantationdirect/Fulltext/2015/03000/Communicating_Effectively_About_Organ_Donation___A.6.aspx#P81 doi: 10.1097/TXD.0000000000000513
  11. Tymstra TJ, Heyink JW, Pruim J, Slooff MJH. Experience of Bereaved Relatives Who Granted or Refused Permission for Organ Donation. Fam Pract [En ligne]. 1992 [cité le 22 mars 2016]; 9 (2): 141-4. http://fampra.oxfordjournals.org/content/9/2/141.short doi: 10.1093/fampra/9.2.141

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.