Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

The new reality of reporting a privacy breach

Originally published November 2018
18-22-E

  • A staff member downloads patient records from the office electronic medical record (EMR) to an unsecured memory stick to work on them at home, but then misplaces the memory stick.
  • While on the office computer, you accidentally open an email attachment you don’t recognize. The attachment turns out to be a virus allowing a hacker to remotely access your computer’s hard drive, including patient files.
  • While paying the barista for your coffee, you momentarily set down your briefcase containing billing records. In that split second, the briefcase is snatched and disappears with the thief.

In any one of these situations, do you know whether you need to notify anyone of the incident, and if so, who?

Recently, new and significant requirements for reporting privacy breaches of personal health information have come into effect across the country. Co-coordinating this reporting can be challenging when you are the legal custodian of the information and when you’re not, such as when you work in a clinic or hospital.

Changes to legislation in several provinces and territories have expanded and clarified when custodians must report the loss, theft, or unauthorized access to personal health information, that is, a privacy breach. The result is that, depending on where you are, it may be necessary to report a privacy breach to the affected individuals, the privacy commissioner, your regulatory authority (College), or possibly all three.

As the notification and reporting requirements have become more complex, your first action after discovering a possible privacy breach is to contact the CMPA as soon as possible.

Notification and reporting obligations

Most jurisdictions in Canada now require that custodians notify individuals who are affected by a breach of their personal health information. Custodians must also report the breach to specified parties, such as the privacy commissioner, or their College, or both. The jurisdiction you’re in and the nature of the breach will determine what notification and reporting is required, what parties must receive the notice or report, and the information that must be conveyed.

Custodianship

Privacy legislation identifies the individuals and entities who have custody and control of personal health information and who are ultimately responsible for ensuring compliance with notification and reporting requirements. These individuals and entities are most often referred to as custodians or trustees, but the terminology can vary.

Notification to affected individuals

When identifiable personal health information is inappropriately accessed, lost, or stolen, it is necessary to consider whether patients or other affected individuals should be notified.

In the Northwest Territories and Ontario, notification is required in every case where personal health information is inappropriately accessed, lost, or stolen. Notification is also required in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, the Yukon, and most recently Alberta (Aug. 31, 2018), but only when the breach poses a reasonable risk of harm to the affected individual(s).

New federal legislation, which went into effect on Nov. 1, 2018, imposes a similar notification requirement on custodians practising in private clinics and offices in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Prince Edward Island, and all three territories.1 These obligations under federal legislation may overlap with some provincial requirements.

Reporting to privacy commissioner and ministry of health

Custodians in an increasing number of provinces and territories are required to report privacy breaches to their provincial or territorial privacy commissioner. The new federal legislation also requires custodians in some provinces and territories to report significant privacy breaches to the Privacy Commissioner of Canada. A report to the provincial ministry of health is also required in Alberta.

In New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Ontario, Northwest Territories, the Yukon, and Alberta, it is mandatory to notify the provincial or territorial privacy commissioner of a privacy breach in specified circumstances. In New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, for example, a report is required unless the breach will not adversely affect individuals or lead to their identification. In Alberta, it is mandatory to notify the provincial privacy commissioner (in addition to the ministry of health) when there is a real risk of harm to an individual.

In addition to any applicable provincial or territorial requirements, the Privacy Commissioner of Canada must also be notified when there is a "real risk of significant harm to an individual"2 arising from a privacy breach of information held by a custodian practising in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Prince Edward Island, and all three territories. Significant harm is defined in the legislation to include bodily harm or property damage, humiliation, damage to reputation or relationships, loss of business or professional opportunities, financial loss, identity theft, and negative effects on the individual’s credit record.3 Custodians in these jurisdictions must maintain a record of every privacy breach for 24 months.

Annual reporting

Beginning in 2019, custodians must report annually (before March 1) to the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario. The report must specify the number of times personal health information in their custody and control was stolen, lost, or used or disclosed without authority.

Physicians in Ontario acting as custodians of personal health information should be tracking any such privacy breaches effective Jan. 1, 2018.4

Reporting to the medical regulatory authority (College)

It may also be necessary in some cases to report a privacy breach to a College, though this obligation is currently limited to Ontario only. Ontario’s privacy legislation requires notification to the applicable College where a custodian takes disciplinary action against a regulated healthcare professional as the result of a privacy breach. Physicians outside of Ontario do not currently have the same obligation to notify a College.5

Notifying police and other organizations

Custodians in the Northwest Territories must notify law enforcement where patient information is lost or stolen, or where information is disclosed, altered, destroyed, or disposed through fraud or identity theft.

Effective Nov. 1, 2018, custodians in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Prince Edward Island, and all three territories must notify any other organization that will help to reduce the risk of harm to affected individuals from the breach or to mitigate that harm. Such organizations could include, for example, a law enforcement agency or the children’s aid society, depending on the circumstances.

Even in the absence of a legal requirement, if property has been stolen or systems have been subject to a cybersecurity attack, physicians will want to consider whether to notify the police.

Non-custodian physicians

Notification and reporting obligations generally apply to custodians. If you are not the legal custodian of the information under the applicable legislation, someone else may need to know and take action. You should promptly notify the custodian (e.g. hospital, health authority, clinic) as soon as you discover a possible privacy breach. In Alberta, individuals working for a custodian are required to notify the custodian of a breach.

You are encouraged to co-operate and work with the custodian on the appropriate notification or report following a privacy breach. When there is a disagreement with the custodian about whether notification or a report is required, the scope of any notification or report, or the information to be included, you are encouraged to make reasonable efforts to find a mutually acceptable solution and to contact the CMPA for advice.

The bottom line

  • Custodians in most provinces and territories are required to notify or report a privacy breach to specified individuals and entities.
  • The specific requirements vary between jurisdictions and continue to evolve. Stay up-to-date and seek advice from your privacy officer, local privacy commissioner’s office, College, ministry of health, and the CMPA about the current obligations that apply to you. These obligations could include notifying affected individuals; reporting to the privacy commissioner, the College, or both; keeping records, and reporting annually.
  • If you are not the custodian, promptly advise the custodian of any possible privacy breach of personal health information.

Additional reading




References

  1. These new rules will apply to physicians in jurisdictions where existing privacy legislation has not (to date) been deemed substantially similar to the federal Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act.
  2. Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act, SC 2000, c 5, s. 10.1(1)
  3. Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act, SC 2000, c 5, s. 10.1(7)
  4. Further information regarding the contents of the annual report is available on the IPC website (https://www.ipc.on.ca/health/report-a-privacy-breach/annual-reporting-breach-statistics/).
  5. Although other jurisdictions do not have an express requirement to report a privacy breach to the College, physicians may have broader obligations to report unprofessional conduct or disciplinary action, depending on the jurisdiction. Please contact the CMPA for more information.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes vis-à-vis des médecins

Nouvelles exigences en matière de déclaration d’une atteinte à la vie privée

Publié initialement en novembre 2018
18-22-F

  • Un employé télécharge sur une clé USB non sécurisée des parties du dossier médical électronique (DME) de la clinique afin de travailler à la maison. Malheureusement, il égare la clé.
  • En travaillant à l’ordinateur dans votre cabinet, vous ouvrez par accident un fichier joint dans un courriel que vous ne reconnaissez pas. Il s’agit en réalité d’un virus permettant à un pirate informatique d’obtenir accès à distance à votre disque dur, y compris aux dossiers des patients.
  • Au moment de payer un café, vous déposez brièvement votre porte-documents qui contient des dossiers de facturation. En moins d’une seconde, un voleur s’en empare et disparaît.

En pareilles circonstances, savez-vous comment faire une notification? Si oui, à qui devez-vous vous adresser?

D’importantes exigences sont récemment entrées en vigueur dans l’ensemble du pays en matière de déclaration des atteintes à l’intégrité des renseignements personnels sur la santé. Il peut être compliqué de coordonner une démarche de déclaration, que vous soyez le dépositaire légal des renseignements ou non, par exemple si vous travaillez dans un centre médical ou un hôpital.

Plusieurs provinces et territoires ont apporté des modifications législatives qui ont permis de clarifier et d’étoffer les stipulations concernant le moment où le dépositaire doit signaler la perte ou le vol de renseignements personnels sur la santé, ou l’accès non autorisé à ceux-ci, c’est-à-dire toute atteinte à la vie privée. Il se peut donc, selon la province ou territoire où vous exercez, que vous soyez tenu de déclarer ce genre d’atteinte aux personnes concernées, au commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, à l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège), sinon à tous.

Compte tenu de la complexité croissante des exigences en matière de déclaration et de notification, la première chose à faire si vous découvrez une atteinte possible à la vie privée est de communiquer avec l’ACPM dans les plus brefs délais.

Obligations de déclarer et de notifier

Au Canada, la plupart des provinces et territoires exigent que les dépositaires notifient les personnes concernées de l’atteinte à l’intégrité de leurs renseignements personnels. Les dépositaires doivent également déclarer cette atteinte à des parties précises (p. ex. le commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, le Collège, ou les deux). L’obligation de notifier et de déclarer, les parties devant recevoir la notification ou la déclaration et le type d’information à transmettre sont fonction de la province ou du territoire de travail et de la nature de l’atteinte.

Garde des dossiers

La législation sur la protection des renseignements personnels identifie les particuliers et les entités responsables qui doivent assurer la garde et la gestion des renseignements, et faire respecter les exigences en matière de notification et de déclaration. Il s’agit le plus souvent de dépositaires ou fiduciaires, bien que la terminologie puisse varier.

Avis aux personnes concernées

Lorsque des renseignements personnels sur la santé permettant d’identifier une personne sont consultés sans autorisation, ou sont perdus ou volés, il faut déterminer la nécessité d’en notifier le patient ou toute autre personne concernée.

Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et en Ontario, il faut notifier les personnes concernées dans chaque situation d’accès non autorisé, de perte ou de vol. Une notification est également requise au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, au Yukon et, plus récemment, en Alberta (depuis le 31 août 2018), mais uniquement lorsque l’atteinte pose un risque raisonnable de préjudice aux personnes concernées.

Une nouvelle loi fédérale entrée en vigueur le 1er novembre 2018 exigera aussi que les dépositaires exerçant en centre médical ou en cabinet privé en Alberta, en Saskatchewan, au Manitoba, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, ainsi que dans les trois territoires, notifient aussi les patients.1 Il pourrait y avoir un chevauchement de ces obligations imposées par la loi fédérale et de certaines exigences provinciales.

Déclaration au commissaire à la protection de la vie privée et au ministère de la Santé

Dans plus en plus de provinces et de territoires, les dépositaires sont tenus de déclarer les atteintes à la vie privée au commissaire à la protection de la vie privée. La nouvelle loi fédérale exige aussi que les dépositaires, dans certaines provinces et certains territoires déclarent les atteintes graves au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada. L’Alberta exige également qu’un rapport soit adressé au ministère de la Santé.

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, en Ontario, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Yukon, il est obligatoire de notifier le commissaire à la protection de la vie privée d’une atteinte à l’intégrité dans certaines circonstances précises. Au Nouveau-Brunswick et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, par exemple, une déclaration est requise, à moins que l’atteinte n’ait aucun effet indésirable ou ne permette pas d’identifier les personnes concernées. En Alberta, il est obligatoire de notifier le commissaire à la protection de la vie privée (en plus du ministère de la Santé) lorsqu’une personne risque réellement de subir un préjudice.

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada doit être notifié non seulement de tout ce qui est exigé en fonction des lois applicables des provinces et des territoires, mais aussi de tout « risque réel de préjudice grave »2 pour une personne qui découle d’une atteinte à l’intégrité de renseignements détenus par un dépositaire exerçant en Alberta, en Saskatchewan, au Manitoba, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et dans les trois territoires. Selon la loi, un préjudice grave « vise notamment la lésion corporelle, l’humiliation, le dommage à la réputation ou aux relations, la perte financière, le vol d’identité, l’effet négatif sur le dossier de crédit, le dommage aux biens ou leur perte, et la perte de possibilités d’emploi ou d’occasions d’affaires ou d’activités professionnelles »3. Les dépositaires dans ces provinces et territoires doivent conserver un dossier de chaque atteinte à la vie privée pendant 24 mois.

Rapport statistique annuel

À partir de 2019, les dépositaires ontariens devront soumettre un rapport annuel (avant le 1er mars) au commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de la province. Ce rapport doit préciser le nombre de fois où des renseignements personnels sur la santé dont ils avaient la garde et la gestion ont été volés, perdus, utilisés ou divulgués sans autorisation.

En Ontario, les médecins qui sont dépositaires de renseignements personnels sur la santé devraient déjà tenir compte de tous ces genres d’atteinte depuis le 1er janvier 2018.4

Déclaration à l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège)

Il peut également être nécessaire, dans certains cas, de signaler une atteinte à la vie privée à l’organisme de réglementation, bien que ceci ne soit requis qu’en Ontario pour le moment. La loi ontarienne sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels exige que l’Ordre responsable soit informé de toute situation où un dépositaire prend des mesures disciplinaires à l’égard d’un professionnel de la santé réglementé à la suite d’une atteinte à la vie privée. Hors de l’Ontario, les médecins n’ont pas, présentement, l’obligation de notifier le Collège.2

Notification aux autorités policières et autres organisations

Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, les dépositaires doivent notifier les autorités policières du vol ou de la perte de renseignements sur les patients ou de la divulgation, de l’altération, de la destruction, ou de l’élimination de renseignements par des moyens frauduleux ou d’un vol d’identité.

À compter du 1er novembre 2018, les dépositaires en Alberta, en Saskatchewan, au Manitoba, dans l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, ainsi que dans les trois territoires devront notifier toute autre organisation pouvant aider à réduire le risque de préjudice chez les patients touchés par une atteinte à la vie privée, ou aider à atténuer le préjudice. Il peut s’agir, entre autres, d’un organisme chargé de l’application de la loi, ou de la société de protection de l’enfance, selon les circonstances.

Même en l’absence d’une obligation légale, les médecins voudront songer à notifier les services policiers si des dossiers ou des systèmes ont été volés ou ont fait l’objet d’une attaque informatique.

Médecins non dépositaires

Les obligations de notifier et de déclarer s’appliquent en général aux dépositaires. Si vous n’êtes pas le dépositaire légal de renseignements en vertu de la loi applicable, il se peut qu’une autre personne doive être informée des problèmes et qu’elle prenne les mesures qui s’imposent. Vous devez donc, dans les plus brefs délais, notifier le dépositaire (p. ex. l’hôpital, l’autorité en matière de santé, le centre médical) lorsque vous découvrez une atteinte possible à la vie privée. En Alberta, les employés d’un dépositaire sont tenus de notifier le dépositaire de toute atteinte.

Vous devriez donc collaborer avec le dépositaire à la préparation des documents requis à la suite de toute atteinte à la vie privée. En cas de désaccord avec le dépositaire sur la nécessité ou la portée d’une notification ou d’une déclaration, ou les renseignements à inclure, vous devriez raisonnablement tenter d’arriver à une solution acceptable pour les deux parties et communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils.

En bref

  • Dans la plupart des provinces et des territoires, les dépositaires sont tenus de notifier des particuliers et des entités définis ou de leur déclarer une atteinte à la vie privée.
  • Les exigences particulières varient d’une province et d’un territoire à l’autre, et continuent de changer. Tenez-vous au fait et obtenez des conseils auprès de votre agent à la protection des renseignements personnels, du commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, du Collège et du ministère de la Santé de votre province, ainsi que de l’ACPM, quant aux obligations actuelles qui vous incombent. Ces obligations pourraient inclure, entre autres, de notifier les personnes concernées, de déclarer la situation au commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, au Collège, ou aux deux, de tenir des dossiers et de faire un rapport statistique annuel.
  • Si vous n’êtes pas le dépositaire, vous devez informer rapidement celui-ci de toute atteinte possible à la protection de renseignements personnels sur la santé.




Références

  1. Ces nouveaux règlements s’appliqueront aux médecins dans les provinces ou territoires où les lois établies sur la protection des renseignements personnels ne sont pas (encore) réputées être essentiellement similaires à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (de compétence fédérale).
  2. Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques, LC 2000, c5, art 10.1(7)
  3. Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques, LC 2000, c5, art 10.1(7)
  4. Plus de précisions sur le contenu du rapport annuel sont présentées sur le site web du Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée (https://www.ipc.on.ca/health-2/report-a-privacy-breach/?lang=fr).
  5. Même si d’autres provinces ou territoires n’exigent pas expressément qu’une atteinte à la vie privée soit déclarée au Collège, les médecins peuvent avoir des obligations plus générales de signaler un manque de professionnalisme ou une mesure disciplinaire, selon l’endroit où ils exercent. Communiquez avec l’ACPM pour obtenir plus de précisions.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.