Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Thinking of working with virtual clinics? Consider these medical-legal issues

Originally published July 2018
18-16-E

A young father is home with his child who is recovering from an apparent viral illness. During the late evening, the father notices a rash on the child’s back. Because the local walk-in clinic is closed at this hour and he is concerned about a possible long wait at the emergency department, he decides to phone a “virtual clinic.” He connects with a physician via video chat. The physician performs a virtual examination and concludes the child has a mild viral exanthem. The physician reassures the father that no further action is immediately required.

Although this scenario was once only seen in science fiction, the delivery of medical services online through virtual consultation is now reality. If you are thinking about providing medical services through one of these platforms, you should consider the medical-legal issues that can emerge.

What is a virtual medical clinic?

Most virtual clinics allow patients to connect remotely with a healthcare provider through text, video chat, or telephone. Like walk-in clinics, the medical services typically provided in a virtual clinic are episodic and include consultations, tests, referrals, and prescriptions. Depending on the service, the patient and healthcare providers could potentially be located anywhere in the world.

College requirements

You should be aware of the standards and guidelines of your medical regulatory authority (College), especially with respect to the areas of virtual clinics, telemedicine, and online prescribing.

Some Colleges have published statements specifically on virtual clinics. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia states “the care of unattached strangers in virtual walk-in clinic models is to be discouraged,” and “it is almost impossible for physicians to meet expected standards for the majority of patients presenting with episodic concerns in this fashion.”1

The Colleges that do not expressly discourage physicians from providing care through virtual clinics generally encourage physicians to use professional judgment and consider the standard of care when deciding whether to deliver medical services to a specific patient using telemedicine. In the case of virtual clinics, this means you should consider whether the patient’s medical history, including information about medications and allergies, is accessible. You should also consider whether an adequate assessment can be performed using telemedicine, and whether appropriate medication monitoring and follow-up care can be provided or arranged.

Licensing considerations

Some virtual clinics limit services to patients within the same province or territory as the physician. Others, however, permit interactions across national and international borders, including with Canadians located outside of Canada and non-Canadians in Canada.

Before interacting in a virtual clinic with patients in a different jurisdiction, you should consider whether you meet the applicable telemedicine licensing requirements. These requirements vary across the provinces and territories. In some cases, it may be necessary for you to be licensed in the jurisdiction in which you are located and also in the jurisdiction where the patient is located. Other Colleges require special registration, or may place conditions on the provision of such services, or both.

Medical records

It is essential that records are made and maintained for any patient encounter through virtual clinics. In addition to containing information about a patient's medical history and clinical interactions vital to continuity of care, medical records are legal documents that serve as evidence of the care provided.

It is also important for physicians to have continued access to the medical records after the clinical encounter, especially if the patient initiates a claim or complaint. You should clarify with the owner or operator of the virtual clinic who is the custodian of the medical records for patients seen through the clinic. These issues should ideally be addressed in the contract between you and the owner or operator.

Privacy and information security

As it is physicians' ethical and legal obligation to protect patients’ personal health information, you should be satisfied that security protocols are in place to adequately protect patient information transmitted electronically, including video chat software, text messaging, or both. Each has unique privacy challenges that must be considered and addressed.

When providing telemedicine services across provinces or territories, you should also consider the privacy legislation in your home jurisdiction and in the jurisdiction where the patient is located. As well, you should consider what the Colleges in those jurisdictions expect for safeguarding the privacy and confidentiality of patient information. Many privacy commissioners have also issued guidelines relevant to these encounters.

Consent

This method of delivering care, through a virtual clinic, can present some unique challenges in obtaining informed consent. Some Colleges impose or recommend additional consent requirements when using telemedicine. These can include informing patients where physicians are located, what the status of their licence is, and how they will manage the privacy of the patient’s personal health information2. Other Colleges expect physicians to explain the limitations of the telemedicine services and any extra risks arising from those services3. Some require a process to verify the identity of the patient, the physician, or both4.

You should note all consent discussions in the medical record, including any steps you took to comply with specific regulatory requirements. In addition, it may be prudent for you to speak with the owner or operator of the virtual clinic about having all patients read and accept standard terms and conditions. The CMPA has published a template form you can consider using when confirming consent for electronic communications with patients. (Consent to use electronic communications can be found in the Risk Management Toolbox.)

Eligibility for CMPA assistance

The CMPA will generally assist members if medical-legal difficulties arise in Canada from professional work done in Canada. When providing medical services through virtual clinics, the CMPA deems the location where care is provided to be the patient's location at the time of the telemedicine encounter. If the patient is ordinarily resident in Canada and is located in Canada at the time of the encounter, and the legal action is initiated in Canada, you will generally be eligible for assistance.

However, you are not generally eligible for CMPA assistance for matters arising outside of Canada or that result from care provided to patients located outside of Canada.

Nevertheless, you will generally be eligible for CMPA assistance with a legal action commenced in Canada related to care of a patient through a virtual clinic who is ordinarily resident in Canada, but temporarily located outside of Canada. However, if the matter is brought in a foreign jurisdiction, the Association will generally decline to extend assistance.

For more detailed information, you should refer to the Association's “Principles of assistance when treating non-residents of Canada.”

The bottom line

Virtual clinics are a new reality in the delivery of healthcare. If you are thinking about providing medical services through one of these platforms, you will need to consider the medical-legal issues that can emerge. Keep in mind the following, amongst other things:

    • Consider whether you meet any special licensing requirements that may apply.
    • Be aware of other standards and guidelines concerning telemedicine, including privacy and security, consent, and online prescribing.
    • Confirm with the owner or operator of the virtual clinic who is the custodian of the medical records and ensure you’ll have access to these records if needed later.

Members wanting more information on working with virtual clinics can contact the CMPA.




References

  1. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia (“CPSBC”), “Telemedicine as a stand-alone, episodic care service rarely meets expected standards” College Connector, January/February 2017. Accessed May 9, 2018 from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/for-physicians/college-connector/2017-V05-01/05.
  2. CPSBC, Telemedicine, March 13, 2018. Accessed May 9, 2018 from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Telemedicine.pdf; College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia, Guidelines for the provision of telemedicine services, December 13, 2013. Accessed May 9, 2018 from: https://cpsns.ns.ca/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Provision-of-Telemedicine.pdf.
  3. CPSBC, ibid.; Collège des médecins du Québec (“CMQ”), The physician, telemedicine and information technologies, November 2015. Accessed May 9, 2018 from: http://www.cmq.org/publications-pdf/p-1-2015-02-01-en-medecin-telemedecine-et-tic.pdf; College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan, The practice of telemedicine, November 2016. Accessed May 9, 2018 from: https://www.cps.sk.ca/imis/CPSS/Legislation__ByLaws__Policies_and_Guidelines/Legislation_Content/Policies_and_Guidelines_Content/The_Practice_of_Telemedicine.aspx.
  4. CPSBC, ibid.; CMQ, ibid.; College of Physicians and Surgeons of Manitoba, Bylaw 11, Schedule K (Telemedicine), September 29, 2017. Accessed May 9, 2018 from: http://cpsm.mb.ca/cjj39alckF30a/wp-content/uploads/ByLaws/By-Law-11.pdf;

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Sécurité des soins :

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Vous songez à travailler en clinique virtuelle?

Publié initialement en juillet 2018/révisé en avril 2021
18-16-F

Les conseils prodigués dans l’article qui suit s’appliquent dans des circonstances normales. Pour obtenir plus de précisions sur la pandémie de la  COVID-19, consultez le Carrefour sur la COVID-19 de l’ACPM.

Un jeune père est chez lui, auprès de son enfant qui se rétablit d’une infection probablement virale. En fin de soirée, il constate une éruption cutanée sur le dos de l’enfant. Comme la clinique sans rendez-vous est déjà fermée, et que l’urgence est sûrement bondée, il communique avec une clinique virtuelle, et consulte un médecin par appel vidéo. Le médecin effectue un examen virtuel et conclut à un léger exanthème viral. Il rassure le père; aucune autre mesure n’est requise dans l’immédiat.

Ce scénario, relevant de la science-fiction il n’y a pas si longtemps, est devenu réalité. Si vous songez à offrir des services en clinique virtuelle, vous devriez tenir compte des enjeux médico-légaux qui peuvent s’y rattacher.

Qu’est-ce qu’une clinique médicale virtuelle?

Une clinique virtuelle, dans la plupart des cas, permet aux patients de communiquer à distance avec un professionnel de la santé par texto, appel vidéo, ou téléphone. Tout comme dans les cliniques sans rendez-vous, les services médicaux qui y sont normalement prodigués sont ponctuels et comprennent consultations, examens, demandes de consultations et prescription de médicaments. Selon le type de service proposé, le patient et le professionnel de la santé peuvent se trouver n’importe où dans le monde.

Exigences du Collège

Les médecins devraient connaître les normes et lignes directrices établies par l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) de leur province ou territoire, surtout en ce qui a trait aux cliniques virtuelles, à la télémédecine et à la prescription en ligne.

Certains Collèges ont publié des énoncés précis sur les cliniques virtuelles. Le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique spécifie, par exemple, « qu’il est déconseillé de soigner des patients n’ayant aucune relation avec le médecin de la clinique virtuelle sans rendez-vous » et « qu’il est presque impossible, pour les médecins, de respecter les normes attendues chez la majorité des patients qui présentent de tels problèmes épisodiques. »1

Les Collèges qui ne déconseillent pas expressément la prestation de soins dans ce genre de clinique incitent toutefois les médecins à faire preuve de jugement et à tenir compte de la norme de pratique dans leur décision de prodiguer des soins de télémédecine. Dans le cas d’une clinique virtuelle, cela signifie que le médecin devrait déterminer s’il peut avoir accès aux antécédents médicaux du patient, ainsi qu’à la liste de ses médicaments et de ses allergies. Il devrait également déterminer s’il est possible d’effectuer une évaluation adéquate en télémédecine, et si une surveillance et un suivi appropriés des médicaments peuvent être assurés ou prévus.

Considérations à l’égard du permis d’exercice

Certaines cliniques virtuelles restreignent les services à la province ou au territoire où exerce le médecin. D’autres, par contre, permettent les interactions dans l’ensemble du pays et au-delà de ses frontières, y compris avec des Canadiens à l’extérieur du pays, ainsi qu’avec des non-Canadiens au Canada.

Il est préférable, préalablement à toute consultation en clinique virtuelle avec des patients dans une autre province ou un autre pays, de déterminer si vous respectez les exigences du permis d’exercice en matière de télémédecine; celles-ci varient en effet d’une province et d’un territoire à l’autre. Dans certaines situations, il est parfois nécessaire de détenir un permis dans la province où vous travaillez, ainsi que dans celle où se situe le patient. Le Collège peut aussi exiger un permis spécial et imposer certaines conditions à la prestation de tels services.

Dossiers médicaux

Il est impératif d’établir et de tenir un dossier pour chaque consultation en clinique virtuelle. En plus de contenir des renseignements sur les antécédents médicaux d’un patient et les interactions cliniques avec celui-ci – essentiels à la continuité des soins – le dossier médical constitue un document légal servant à attester les soins prodigués.

Il est par ailleurs important que le médecin puisse continuer d’avoir accès aux dossiers après une rencontre clinique, en particulier si un patient dépose une action en justice ou une plainte. Il faudrait donc déterminer avec le propriétaire ou l’administrateur de la clinique virtuelle qui est le dépositaire des dossiers médicaux des patients. Idéalement, ces précisions devraient être stipulées dans le contrat établi avec le propriétaire ou l’administrateur de la clinique.

Protection des renseignements personnels et sécurité de l’information

Comme les médecins ont l’obligation déontologique et légale de protéger les renseignements personnels sur la santé des patients, ils doivent veiller à ce que des protocoles soient en place à cet effet pour toute transmission électronique, y compris au moyen de logiciels d’appel vidéo, de textage, ou des deux. Chaque système comporte des problèmes particuliers dont il faut tenir compte.

Avant de prodiguer des services de télémédecine, le médecin devrait se familiariser avec la législation sur la protection des renseignements personnels de sa province ou de son territoire de travail, ainsi que de la province ou du territoire où se trouve le patient. Il devrait également s’informer des exigences des Collèges dans ces provinces ou territoires. Nombre de commissaires à la protection des renseignements personnels ont également publié des lignes directrices sur ce genre de consultation en ligne.

Consentement

Le travail en clinique virtuelle peut présenter des défis particuliers en ce qui a trait à l’obtention d’un consentement éclairé. Certains Collèges imposent ou recommandent d’autres exigences à cet égard en télémédecine. Le médecin peut, par exemple, être tenu d’informer le patient du lieu où il se trouve, du type de permis qu’il détient, et de la façon dont il compte protéger les renseignements personnels sur la santé2. D’autres Collèges peuvent s’attendre à ce que le médecin explique au patient les limites de la télémédecine, ainsi que tout autre risque pouvant en découler3. Quelques-uns exigent un processus de vérification de l’identité du patient, du médecin, ou des deux.4

Le médecin devrait consigner au dossier toutes les discussions entourant le consentement, y compris les mesures prises pour respecter des exigences réglementaires particulières. Il peut également être prudent de demander au propriétaire ou à l’administrateur de la clinique virtuelle de s’assurer que tous les patients acceptent les conditions générales d’utilisation des services. L’ACPM a publié un formulaire type que les médecins peuvent demander aux patients de signer : Consentement à l’utilisation d’un moyen de communication électronique, dans la Boîte d’outils de gestion des risques.

Admissibilité à l’assistance de l’ACPM

L’ACPM offre généralement une assistance aux membres seulement dans les cas où les problèmes médico-légaux surviennent au Canada et découlent d’un travail professionnel effectué au Canada. En ce qui a trait aux services médicaux prodigués en clinique virtuelle, l’ACPM estime que l’endroit où se situe le patient au moment de la consultation en télémédecine détermine le lieu de la prestation des soins. Si le patient réside normalement au Canada, qu’il s’y trouve au moment de la consultation, et qu’une action en justice est intentée au Canada, le médecin sera généralement admissible à une assistance de l’Association.

Toutefois, un membre ne sera généralement pas admissible à une telle assistance en cas de problèmes médico-légaux survenant à l’extérieur du Canada ou résultant de soins administrés à un patient à l’extérieur du Canada. Il ne sera généralement pas admissible non plus à une assistance s'il réside à l'extérieur du Canada à long terme et prodigue des soins de télémédecine à des patients qui se trouvent au Canada ou ailleurs.

En règle générale, un médecin peut néanmoins être admissible à une assistance si l’action en justice est intentée au Canada et porte sur des soins administrés en clinique virtuelle à un patient qui réside habituellement au Canada, mais qui se trouve temporairement à l’étranger. Par contre, lorsqu’une action en justice est intentée à l’étranger, l’Association refuse normalement de prêter assistance au membre.

Pour obtenir plus de précisions, consultez « Principes de l’assistance : Traitement de non-résidents du Canada » et « Principes de l'assistance : La pratique de la télésanté ».

En bref

Les cliniques virtuelles représentent une nouvelle réalité dans le domaine de la santé. Si vous songez à travailler par l’entremise d’un tel service, vous devriez tenir compte des enjeux médico-légaux qui peuvent s’y rattacher, entre autres :

  • Déterminer si vous respectez les exigences particulières pouvant s’appliquer à votre permis d’exercice.
  • Connaître les autres normes et lignes directrices applicables en télémédecine, y compris en ce qui a trait à la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé, au consentement et à la prescription en ligne.
  • Confirmer auprès du propriétaire ou de l’administrateur de la clinique virtuelle qui est le dépositaire des dossiers médicaux et s’assurer de pouvoir éventuellement avoir accès aux dossiers le cas échéant.

L’ACPM invite les membres à communiquer directement avec elle pour en savoir plus sur le travail en clinique virtuelle.




Références

  1. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia. Telemedicine as a stand-alone, episodic care service rarely meets expected standards. College Connector [En ligne]. January/February 2017 [cité le 9 mai 2018];5(1):7. Disponible: https://www.cpsbc.ca/for-physicians/college-connector/2017-V05-01/05.
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia [En ligne]. Vancouver (CA): CPSBC; 2015. Telemedicine [Modifié le 13 mars 2018; cité le 9 mai 2018]. Disponible: https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Telemedicine.pdf ; College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia [En ligne]. Halifax (CA): CPSNS; 2001. Guidelines for the provision of telemedicine services [Modifié le 13 décembre 2013; cité le 9 mai 2018]. Disponible : https://cpsns.ns.ca/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Provision-of-Telemedicine.pdf.
  3. CPSBC, ibid.; Collège des médecins du Québec [En ligne]. Montréal (CA): CMQ; 2015. Le médecin, la télémédecine et les technologies de l’information et de la communication [cité le 9 mai 2018]. Disponible: http://www.cmq.org/publications-pdf/p-1-2015-02-01-fr-medecin-telemedecine-et-tic.pdf; College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan [En ligne]. Saskatoon (CA): CPSS; 2010. The practice of telemedicine [Modifié en novembre 2016; cité le 9 mai 2018]. Disponible: https://www.cps.sk.ca/imis/CPSS/Legislation__ByLaws__Policies_and_Guidelines/Legislation_Content/Policies_and_Guidelines_Content/The_Practice_of_Telemedicine.aspx.
  4. CPSBC, ibid.; CMQ, ibid.; College of Physicians and Surgeons of Manitoba [En ligne]. Winnipeg (CA): CPSM; 2015. Bylaw 11, Standards of practice of medicine, Schedule K −Telemedicine [Modifié le 29 septembre 2017; cité le 9 mai 2018]. Disponible: http://cpsm.mb.ca/cjj39alckF30a/wp-content/uploads/ByLaws/By-Law-11.pdf.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.