■ Principles of assistance:

Practising telehealth

Originally published March 2006 / Reviewed September 2021

The following article applies in normal circumstances. For more information specific to the COVID-19 pandemic, see the CMPA COVID-19 Hub.

Related articles

Using electronic communications, protecting privacy

Treating non-residents of Canada

Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement

Assistance to clinics and facilities

The following outlines the CMPA's principles of assistance for members whose practice includes telehealth. The CMPA considers "telehealth" to include any technology that enables the delivery of care at a distance.

Eligibility for assistance

The CMPA's approach to assisting members with matters related to telehealth is consistent with its approach to assisting members in other matters: The CMPA will generally assist members in the event of medico-legal difficulties arising in Canada as a result of professional work done in Canada. The CMPA is not structured to assist with medico-legal problems and legal actions that arise outside of Canada or that result from care given outside of Canada.

When patients or physicians, or both, are temporarily outside of Canada, issues concerning continuity of care and physician obligations may arise. The CMPA recognizes such challenges and the benefits of using telehealth technologies to bridge or mitigate interruptions in healthcare delivery. Under such circumstances, members would generally be eligible for CMPA assistance, provided the medico-legal problem or legal action is initiated in Canada.

Assistance scenarios

  1. Patient and member in Canada
    A telehealth encounter occurs between a patient ordinarily resident in Canada and a CMPA member. The patient and the member are in Canada at the time of the encounter, although they may not necessarily be in the same province/territory. If the medico-legal problem or legal action is initiated in Canada, the member is generally eligible for CMPA assistance.
     
  2. Patient and/or member temporarily outside Canada
    A telehealth encounter occurs between a patient and a CMPA member, both of whom are ordinarily residents of Canada (and have an established doctor-patient relationship). At the time of the encounter, the patient or the member, or both, are temporarily located outside of Canada. The CMPA will consider providing assistance with a medico-legal problem or legal action initiated in Canada, arising from urgent follow-up care to the existing patient.
     
  3. Patient residing outside Canada
    A telehealth encounter occurs between a patient residing outside of Canada and a CMPA member located either in or outside Canada. In this scenario, the CMPA will generally not assist regardless of whether the medico-legal problem or legal action was initiated in Canada or elsewhere.

  4. Member residing outside Canada. Members who are located outside of Canada on a more permanent basis are at greater risk of being sued in that foreign jurisdiction. Where a member is residing outside of Canada on a long-term basis and providing telehealth to patients in Canada, the member will not generally be eligible for assistance regardless of whether the medico-legal problem or legal action was initiated in Canada or elsewhere.

If a patient is outside of Canada temporarily (e.g. on vacation, temporary employment, or students pursuing studies abroad) and phones or emails the physician's office regarding a medical problem related to a condition the physician is managing, the member would generally be eligible for assistance, as long as the medico-legal problem or legal action is initiated in Canada. Given the potential limitations of such communication, it may be prudent to consider advising the patient to seek local follow-up.

If a member is temporarily outside of Canada for a purpose other than providing care (e.g. on vacation, at a conference), the member would generally be eligible for assistance arising from providing any urgent follow-up care to an existing patient, as long as the medico-legal problem or legal action is initiated in Canada. While CMPA assistance is always discretionary, the CMPA generally considers a member to be “temporarily outside Canada” when they are away without the intention to be engaged in clinical care and where they are away for days or a few weeks (less than 30 days).

Checklist

Before providing a telehealth service, consider the following:

  • Have you complied with all applicable licensing requirements in the jurisdictions involved in the telehealth encounter? To ensure you are aware of applicable licensing requirements, consult your provincial/territorial regulatory authority (College). If you and the patient are located in different jurisdictions, you should also inquire with the College in the jurisdiction where the patient is located.
  • Do you meet all applicable credentialing requirements established by the hospitals or clinics involved in the telehealth encounter?
  • Do you meet all applicable technological standards established by the appropriate organizations?
  • If the telehealth encounter is outside your province of work, have you indicated the proper province of work to the CMPA and are you paying the appropriate membership fee?
  • If you live outside Canada on a more permanent basis, do you have professional liability protection for medico-legal problems and legal actions brought inside and outside of Canada?
  • Have you communicated to your patients the conditions of your availability when either they or you are temporarily absent?

Other CMPA principles of assistance may affect eligibility for assistance in telehealth encounters


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Principes de l’assistance

La pratique de la télésanté

Publié initialement en mars 2006 / révisé en septembre 2013

Articles connexes

Utilisation du courrier électronique dans les communications avec les patients : les risques juridiques

Traitement de non-résidents du Canada

Convention relative aux lois d'application et à la compétence judiciaire

Assistance aux cliniques et établissements privés

Cet article souligne les principes d'assistance de l'ACPM à l'intention des membres dont la pratique comporte la télésanté. L'ACPM considère comme pratique de télésanté, toute utilisation d'une technologie permettant la prestation de soins à distance.

Admissibilité à l'assistance

L'approche de l'ACPM vis-à-vis de l'assistance accordée aux membres en matière de télésanté est conforme à son approche vis-à-vis de l'assistance accordée aux membres pour toute autre question : l'ACPM fournira généralement une assistance aux membres qui font face à des problèmes médico-légaux survenant au Canada et découlant du travail professionnel effectué au Canada. L'ACPM n'est pas structurée de façon à prêter assistance aux médecins faisant face à des problèmes médico-légaux ou à des actions en justice, qui surviennent à l'extérieur du Canada ou résultent de soins administrés à l'extérieur du Canada.

Des problèmes vis-à-vis de la continuité des soins et des obligations qui incombent à un médecin peuvent survenir lorsqu'un patient, son médecin, ou les deux, se trouvent temporairement à l'extérieur du Canada. L'ACPM reconnaît que ces circonstances représentent un défi, mais qu'il y a également des avantages associés à l'utilisation des technologies de télésanté en vue de compenser ou d'atténuer les interruptions de la prestation des soins. Dans ces circonstances, les membres  sont généralement admissibles à l'assistance de l'ACPM, à la condition que le problème médico-légal survienne ou l'action en justice soit intentée au Canada.

Scénarios relatifs à l'assistance

  1. Le patient et le membre sont au Canada
    Une rencontre de télésanté a lieu entre un patient résidant ordinairement au Canada et un membre de l'ACPM. Le patient et le membre sont au Canada au moment de la rencontre, quoiqu'ils ne se trouvent pas nécessairement dans la même province/le même territoire. Si le problème médico-légal survient au Canada ou que l'action en justice est intentée au Canada, le membre est généralement admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM.
  2. Le patient et(ou) le membre sont temporairement à l'extérieur du Canada
    Une rencontre de télésanté a lieu entre un patient et un membre de l'ACPM qui résident tous deux ordinairement au Canada. Au moment de la rencontre, le patient, le membre ou les deux sont temporairement à l'extérieur du Canada. Si le problème médico-légal survient au Canada ou que l'action en justice est intentée au Canada, le membre est généralement admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM.
  3. Le patient réside à l'extérieur du Canada
    Une rencontre de télésanté a lieu entre un patient qui réside à l'extérieur du Canada et un membre de l'ACPM se trouvant ou non au Canada. En pareil cas, l'ACPM ne prêtera généralement pas assistance, que l'action en justice soit intentée au Canada ou ailleurs.

Si un patient à l'extérieur du Canada temporairement (vacances, emploi temporaire, études à l'étranger, etc.) communique avec le cabinet d'un médecin par téléphone ou courrier électronique au sujet d'un problème lié à une maladie traitée par ce médecin, le membre est généralement admissible à l'assistance, tant et aussi longtemps que la poursuite est intentée au Canada. Étant donné les limites possibles de ce type de communication, il peut s'avérer prudent de conseiller au patient de consulter un médecin local.

Liste de vérification

Avant de fournir un service de télésanté, vous devriez prendre en considération les éléments suivants :

  • Respectez-vous toutes les exigences applicables en matière de permis d'exercice dans les juridictions impliquées dans la rencontre de télésanté? Afin de vous assurer que vous connaissez les exigences applicables en matière de permis d'exercice, consultez l'organisme de réglementation (Collège) de votre province ou territoire. Si vous êtes dans une province ou un territoire différent de celui du patient, informez-vous également auprès du Collège dans la juridiction où se trouve le patient.
  • Respectez-vous toutes les exigences applicables en matière d'agrément établies par les hôpitaux ou les cliniques participant à la rencontre de télésanté?
  • Respectez-vous toutes les normes technologiques applicables établies par les organisations pertinentes?
  • Si la rencontre de télésanté a lieu à l'extérieur de votre province de travail, avez-vous indiqué à l'ACPM la province ou le territoire approprié et payez-vous la cotisation appropriée?
  • Si vous vivez à l'extérieur du Canada, souscrivez-vous à une assurance responsabilité professionnelle pour les problèmes médico-légaux survenant à l'étranger et les actions en justice intentées à l'extérieur du Canada?
  • Avez-vous informé vos patients des conditions de votre disponibilité en cas d'absence temporaire de leur part ou de la vôtre?

D'autres principes d'assistance de l'ACPM peuvent avoir une incidence sur l'assistance en matière de rencontres de télésanté :


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.