Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Understanding your rights—The rules of natural justice

How the legal right to be treated fairly can impact you during an administrative proceeding

Originally published November 2018
18-24-E

The right to a fair process is critical if you are facing regulatory authority (College) or hospital proceedings. In Canada, the legal right to be treated fairly is known as natural justice or procedural fairness. This may sound abstract, but the principles of natural justice can have a huge impact on how proceedings against you unfold. The following scenario, based on a compilation of CMPA cases, illustrates the part natural justice can play.

Natural justice and physician-hospital relationships

The principles of natural justice apply if your privileges in a hospital are suspended or terminated. They may not extend to you, however, if you work in another practice arrangement, including being in a contract with a hospital. Still, some contracts do contain provisions concerning dispute resolution. For more information on contracts, see the CMPA resource "Medical-legal issues to consider with individual contracts."1

Natural justice scenario: One physician’s experience

A physician meets with his hospital's chief of staff, chief of surgery, and administrator. He is informed that an audit report was critical of the care in some of his cases. He is told to resign immediately, or have his privileges suspended or terminated. The physician refuses to resign.

The executive committee, which includes the chief of staff and the administrator, recommends to the hospital board that the surgeon's privileges be terminated. Written reasons for this decision are promised to the physician.

The medical advisory committee hears the chief of staff summarize the conclusions of the audit report; the physician is absent. Members are then polled individually by telephone. The committee votes in favour of supporting the executive committee’s recommendation to terminate the surgeon’s privileges.

The physician and his legal counsel are invited to a hospital board meeting. The audit report is available before the meeting, but the written reasons from the executive committee are never provided. The physician tries to discuss charts identified in the audit report but is stopped. He and his legal counsel are excused from the meeting. The board hears from the chief of surgery who discusses the audit report and other background information. The board votes in favour of terminating the physician's privileges. The chief of staff and the administrator, who had previously taken part in the process as members of the executive committee and the medical advisory committee, vote in favour of the resolution.

The physician receives a notice from the board that his privileges are terminated. He applies to the courts for judicial review of the hospital board’s decision on the basis that he was denied natural justice in the procedure and methods used by the hospital in terminating his privileges.

Natural justice and physician leaders

In the CMPA’s medical-legal cases concerning a hospital’s or health authority’s investigation and discipline of a physician, the fairness of the process is often an issue. As a physician leader, this shows a need to be aware of your organization’s bylaws, policies, and procedures for investigating and disciplining doctors. You may also play an important role in ensuring that bylaw and policy procedures are sound and applied appropriately.2

What are the principles of natural justice?

The principles of natural justice come from the area of law known as administrative law. This area includes proceedings before administrative bodies such as hospital boards, Colleges, tribunals, commissions, or agencies. The principles of natural justice in administrative law are concerned with the way decisions are reached by these administrative tribunals. They are designed to help ensure that you receive an appropriate level of procedural fairness before an administrative tribunal.

The scenario with the physician and the hospital board highlights three of the most important principles of natural justice: the right to be heard, to have your case decided by persons free of bias, and to receive reasons for decisions.

The right to be heard

The right to be heard means you have the right to be notified of allegations against you. The notice must be sufficiently precise and timely to ensure that the right to present a response is meaningful and informed by the facts.

The right to be heard does not necessarily imply that there must be a formal hearing. In some instances, the ability to make written submissions and rebuttals is considered sufficient. More often, however, you are given the opportunity to attend with legal counsel before the decision-making body to present your arguments, particularly where the consequences of the decision are serious, such as in the scenario with the physician and the hospital board.

The right to adjudicators free from bias

You have the right to have adjudicators or decision-making bodies be free from bias. It is also important that there be no reasonable apprehension that bias might exist among the decision-makers.

Determining reasonable apprehension of bias

The Supreme Court of Canada defined the test for determining whether there is a reasonable apprehension of bias as whether a reasonable person properly informed would apprehend that there was conscious or unconscious bias on the part of the judge or decision-makers.3

The appearance of bias might arise, for example, when some of the same people participate in each phase of the investigation, hearing, and decision-making process. It is important to note, however, that the law does not go so far as to say every type of prior connection between the decision-maker and the parties will justify a finding of reasonable apprehension of bias. Indeed, decision-makers are often chosen precisely because they have expertise and experience with the matters on which they will be called to adjudicate.

The right to reasons for decisions

The right to a fair hearing includes the right to receive the reasons for the decision. Such reasons must be detailed and adequate so the individuals concerned know the facts that were relied on and the reasoning behind the decision.

Application for judicial review

In our example scenario, the physician brought an application before the courts for a judicial review of the hospital board’s decision on the basis that the termination of his privileges was not made in accordance with the principles of natural justice.

The court in this scenario found that the physician was denied procedural fairness for the following reasons:

  • The physician was not given the opportunity to be heard or appear before the medical advisory committee.
  • The medical advisory committee had limited and selective information on which to base its recommendation.
  • As the members of the medical advisory committee were polled individually by telephone, they did not have the benefit of discussion with each other before being asked to vote.
  • The members of the executive committee and the medical advisory committee who were involved in the initial investigation should not have participated in the decision-making process of the hospital board.
  • The procedure before the board was not a proper hearing—it was one-sided and arbitrary.

The application for judicial review was granted, the physician’s privileges were reinstated, and he was given a reasonable opportunity to correct the deficiencies found in the audit report.

The bottom line

In our example scenario, the outcome was in the physician’s favour. The principles of natural justice entitle individuals to a fair process, but they do not predict the final decision or outcome, or guarantee an outcome in favour of the physician. Yet, it is reassuring to know that these principles ensure you will receive at least an appropriate level of procedural fairness.




References

  1. CMPA [Internet]. Ottawa (CA): The Canadian Medical Protective Association. Principles of Assistance. Medical-legal issues to consider with individual contracts [cited 2018 Aug 9]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/membership/protection-for-members/principles-of-assistance/medico-legal-issues-to-consider-with-individual-contracts#1
  2. Medical-legal handbook for physician leaders. 2nd ed. Ottawa (CA): The Canadian Medical Protective Association; 2017. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/handbooks/medico-legal-handbook-for-physician-leaders
  3. Wewaykum Indian Bank v Canada, [2003] 2 S.C.R. 259, at para. 66

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Les règles de la justice naturelle et vos droits

L’incidence du droit légal à un traitement équitable dans une instance administrative

Publié initialement en novembre 2018
18-24-F

Il est essentiel d’avoir droit à un processus équitable dans une instance hospitalière ou une enquête d’un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège). Au Canada, ce droit légal à un processus équitable est ce qu’on appelle justice naturelle ou équité procédurale. Bien que cela puisse sembler abstrait, les principes de justice naturelle peuvent avoir d’immenses répercussions sur le déroulement d’une procédure contre un médecin. Le scénario suivant, qui s’inspire de dossiers de l’ACPM, illustre le rôle que peut jouer la justice naturelle.

Justice naturelle et relations entre le médecin et l’hôpital

Les principes de justice naturelle s’appliquent si vos privilèges hospitaliers sont suspendus ou révoqués. Vous pourriez toutefois ne pas être en mesure d’invoquer ces principes si vous avez conclu d’autres arrangements de pratique, y compris si vous travaillez à contrat pour un hôpital. Rappelons cependant que certains contrats peuvent contenir des clauses sur la résolution des conflits. Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, consultez « Questions médico-légales à considérer en matière de contrats individuels ».1

Justice naturelle : L’expérience d’un médecin

Un médecin se présente devant le médecin-chef, le chef du service de chirurgie et un administrateur de l’hôpital dans lequel il travaille. On l’informe que certains de ses dossiers ont fait l’objet de critiques dans un rapport de vérification. On lui demande de démissionner immédiatement, sinon ses privilèges seront suspendus ou révoqués. Le médecin refuse de démissionner.

Le comité directeur, auquel siègent le médecin-chef et l’administrateur, recommande au conseil d’administration de l’hôpital de révoquer les privilèges du médecin. On promet à ce dernier de lui donner par écrit les motifs de cette décision.

Le comité médical consultatif écoute le médecin-chef résumer les conclusions du rapport de vérification en l’absence du médecin. Les membres du comité sont ensuite consultés individuellement par téléphone. Le comité se prononce alors en faveur de la révocation des privilèges du médecin telle que recommandée par le comité directeur.

Le médecin et son avocat sont ensuite invités à une réunion du conseil d’administration de l’hôpital. On leur remet au préalable le rapport de vérification, mais l’exposé écrit des motifs de la décision du comité directeur n’est jamais produit. Le médecin essaie de discuter des dossiers soulevés dans le rapport, mais il est interrompu. On lui demande, ainsi qu’à son avocat, de se retirer. Le conseil écoute le chef du service de chirurgie présenter son point de vue sur le rapport de vérification et sur certaines autres questions connexes. Le conseil se prononce alors pour la révocation des privilèges du médecin dans l’établissement. Le médecin chef et l’administrateur, qui avaient déjà pris part au processus à titre de membres du comité directeur et du comité médical consultatif, votent en faveur de la motion.

Le médecin reçoit du conseil d’administration un avis de révocation de ses privilèges. Il demande une révision judiciaire de cette décision au motif que l’hôpital n’avait pas respecté les principes de justice naturelle dans la procédure et les méthodes utilisées pour mettre fin à ses privilèges.

Justice naturelle et médecins chefs de file

L’équité procédurale ressort souvent comme problématique dans les dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM sur les enquêtes et les questions de discipline d’un hôpital ou d’une autorité en matière de santé. Les médecins chefs de file doivent donc bien connaître les règlements, politiques et procédures de leur organisation en ce qui a trait aux enquêtes et aux questions de discipline concernant les médecins. Ils peuvent aussi jouer un rôle important en veillant à ce que les procédures relatives aux règlements et aux politiques soient rigoureuses et bien appliquées.2

Qu’est-ce que les principes de justice naturelle?

Les principes de justice naturelle relèvent du domaine du droit administratif. Celui-ci englobe les procédures devant des organismes administratifs comme les conseils d’administration des hôpitaux, les Collèges, les tribunaux, les commissions ou les agences. Dans ce domaine, les principes de justice naturelle portent sur la façon dont les tribunaux administratifs rendent leurs décisions. Ils sont conçus pour veiller à ce que les médecins puissent bénéficier à tout le moins d’un niveau adéquat d’équité procédurale devant un tribunal administratif.

Le scénario du médecin et du conseil d’administration de l’hôpital illustre trois des plus importants principes de justice naturelle : le droit de se faire entendre, le droit à l’impartialité et le droit d’être informé des motifs des décisions.

Le droit de se faire entendre

Le droit de se faire entendre signifie que vous avez le droit d’être avisé des allégations émises à votre encontre. L’avis doit être suffisamment précis et transmis en temps opportun pour que vous puissiez présenter une réponse pertinente et éclairée par les faits.

Le droit de se faire entendre ne signifie pas nécessairement qu’une audience formelle doit avoir lieu. Dans certains cas, on a déterminé qu’il suffisait d’avoir la possibilité de présenter une argumentation écrite et de réfuter les assertions. Le plus souvent, cependant, vous aurez l’occasion de vous présenter devant l’instance décisionnelle avec un avocat pour présenter vos arguments, particulièrement lorsque les conséquences de la décision sont graves, comme dans le cas du scénario avec le médecin et le conseil de l’hôpital.

Le droit à l’impartialité

Vous avez le droit à l’impartialité des juges ou des instances décisionnelles. Il est également important qu’il n’y ait aucune crainte raisonnable d’un parti pris chez les décideurs.

Détermination d’une crainte raisonnable de partialité

La Cour suprême du Canada a défini le critère permettant de déterminer s’il existe une crainte raisonnable de partialité comme suit : une personne raisonnable et bien renseignée pourrait-elle craindre qu’il y ait eu partialité consciente ou inconsciente chez le juge ou le décideur.3

L’apparence de partialité peut se manifester, par exemple, lorsque certaines des mêmes personnes participent à chaque étape de l’enquête, de l’audience et du processus décisionnel. Il importe toutefois de noter que la loi ne va pas jusqu’à préciser que chaque type de lien antérieur entre le décideur et les parties peut justifier qu’il existe une crainte raisonnable de partialité. En effet, les décideurs sont souvent choisis précisément parce qu’ils possèdent l’expertise et l’expérience des questions sur lesquelles ils seront appelés à se prononcer.

Le droit de connaître les motifs des décisions

Le droit à un procès équitable comprend le droit de recevoir les motifs de la décision. Ces motifs doivent être détaillés et adéquats afin que les personnes concernées sachent quels sont les faits sur lesquels les décideurs se sont appuyés et le raisonnement qui sous-tend la décision.

Demande de révision judiciaire

Dans le scénario donné en exemple, le médecin a demandé une révision judiciaire de la décision du conseil d’administration de l’hôpital au motif que la révocation de ses privilèges ne respectait pas les principes de justice naturelle.

Dans ce scénario, les faits suivants ont mené le tribunal à conclure que le droit du médecin à l’équité procédurale avait été bafoué :

  • Le médecin n’a pas eu l’occasion de se faire entendre ni de comparaître devant le comité médical consultatif.
  • Le comité médical consultatif ne disposait que de données limitées et partielles sur lesquelles fonder sa recommandation.
  • Les membres du comité médical consultatif n’ont pas eu l’occasion de discuter entre eux avant de passer aux voix, étant donné qu’ils n’ont été sondés qu’individuellement au téléphone.
  • Les membres du comité directeur et du comité médical consultatif ayant participé à l’enquête initiale n’auraient pas dû prendre part au processus décisionnel du conseil d’administration de l’hôpital.
  • En raison de son caractère unilatéral et arbitraire, la procédure devant le conseil d’administration ne constituait pas une véritable audience.

La demande de révision judiciaire a été consentie, les privilèges du médecin ont été rétablis et le médecin s’est vu accorder des conditions raisonnables pour corriger les lacunes constatées dans le rapport de vérification.

En bref

Dans notre scénario, le dossier s’est conclu en faveur du médecin. Les principes de justice naturelle donnent droit à l’équité procédurale, mais ne peuvent prédire la décision ou le résultat final, ni garantir une conclusion en faveur du médecin. Il est toutefois rassurant de savoir que, grâce à ces principes, un niveau adéquat d’équité procédurale sera à tout le moins respecté.




Références

  1. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA) : ACPM. Principes d’assistance. Questions médico-légales à considérer en matière de contrats individuels [cité le 9 août 2018]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/membership/protection-for-members/principles-of-assistance/medico-legal-issues-to-consider-with-individual-contracts#1
  2. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA) : ACPM; 2017. Guide médico-légal à l’intention des médecins chefs de file, 2e éd. [cité le 9 août 2018]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/handbooks/medico-legal-handbook-for-physician-leaders
  3. Bande indienne Wewaykum c. Canada [2003] 2 RCS 259, para. 66

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.