Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Who has custody of medical records, and who can they be shared with?

Originally published June 2018
18-14-E

Having completed her residency, a family physician sets up a practice at a walk-in clinic. A patient for whom she provided care during her residency wants to establish a doctor-patient relationship with her at the clinic. Eager to provide continuing care for this patient, the physician wants to obtain the patient’s record from the hospital, but the administrator tells her that the hospital is the custodian of the record and the patient’s authorization is needed to release information in the patient’s record.

This scenario highlights the fact that physicians who are new to practice, or in a hospital or other group practice, may not be able to take patient records with them when they leave their current practice arrangement. How, then, can a physician in these circumstances arrange the transfer of patient health information?

Custody of and access to records

Hospitals, clinics, and healthcare institutions typically maintain patient health information in an electronic medical record (EMR) or electronic health record (EHR) system. This complicates the issue of custody and access, due to the intermingling of information from various care providers. In a solo practice, the issues are more straightforward: the physician is the custodian of the medical record and therefore has control over access to the record, as well as its retention and disposal.

In both practice scenarios—shared and solo practice—the patient has the right to determine who may have access to their health information. Indeed, a patient can place conditions or restrictions on which health providers and others have access to their information. As a general rule, patients are also entitled to have access to their medical record unless there are compelling reasons to withhold such access, as outlined in the article “A matter of records: Retention and transfer of clinical records.” The onus is on the physician to justify withholding access, such as if the physician believes access is likely to cause a substantial adverse effect on the patient or another person.

Sharing records

In the case of shared EMRs and EHRs where information is accessible by a greater number of people, physicians still have an obligation to protect patient information that is in their custody from being accessed inappropriately. Clarity over control and stewardship of information in a shared practice arrangement can be achieved by entering into a Data Sharing Agreement or Inter-Physician Agreement. The CMPA’s Electronic Records Handbook [PDF] a includes data sharing principles for EMR/EHR agreements as well as a template agreement that can be used as the basis for developing a data sharing contract with another party (such as hospital, health region, or service provider) or with other physicians. Such agreements should include appropriate security protocols to restrict access to the information to those who require it for providing care or for other authorized purposes.

In a private practice, when asked to provide a patient’s health information—whether by another care provider in the patient’s circle of care or the patient—the treating physician should retain the original files and take steps to preserve the confidentiality of patient information. To accommodate such a request, the information may be transferred via a report or letter summarizing the relevant entries in the file, or a secure electronic or paper copy of the file can be sent if requested. Physicians should be aware of applicable regulatory authority (College) policies and guidelines as well as privacy legislation governing the electronic transfer of personal health information.

Who may have access to IME files?

Independent medical examinations (IMEs) provide a physician’s perspective of an individual’s medical needs or condition. The IME file will normally include information from the party that made the request, the notes taken of the IME itself, and possibly information from other sources.

If the examinee asks the physician for access to the IME file, the physician may be required to provide the individual with that access. The disclosure, however, may be in a redacted format that excludes such items as instructions from the third party that requested the IME (if applicable), and the physician’s observations and thought process concerning the examination. Before providing an examinee with access to IME information, physicians should first consult with the third party that requested the IME, and contact the CMPA, to discuss the facts and circumstances of the case. When physicians provide IMEs in their capacity as employees in an organization, the request for information would typically need to be directed to the organization.

What about fees?

Physicians are expected to charge only nominal fees, and to inform the patient of these fees in advance, to cover overhead costs for retrieving, copying, and sending information in medical records. Physicians may want to contact their regulatory authority (College) or medical association for guidance about the amount that is considered appropriate. Privacy commissioners may also provide such guidance. Physicians should not refuse access to records solely on the basis that the individual making the request has not paid the fee.

What happens to records when leaving a practice?

In a group practice, there should be a clear understanding about who will retain the medical records when a physician leaves the practice. It is possible the group will undertake retention of the records, especially if patients will continue to be followed by that group. The physician who created a specific medical record should have access to a copy of the portion of the record that he or she created even after leaving the practice; this access should be specified in a Data Sharing Agreement.

Continued access to relevant patient information is important as the treating physician may still receive requests from patients to obtain their medical records. Physicians may also need the records in the event of medical-legal issues that may arise years later. Once the applicable retention period for a record has expired, the original record should be destroyed in an appropriate manner that ensures the information remains secure. Lastly, the destruction of records should be documented in a log book listing the destroyed records on a given date.

The bottom line

Physicians in a shared practice can achieve clarity concerning stewardship of medical records by entering into a Data Sharing Agreement or Inter-Physician Agreement. In solo practice, physicians should retain patient records for the required retention duration. Any transfer of information to another healthcare provider should be done in a manner that preserves the security and confidentiality of patient health information, and ensures the original records remain intact.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Obligations et responsabilités :

Les attentes vis-à-vis des médecins

Dossiers médicaux : dépositaires et destinataires

Préserver la sécurité et la confidentialité des renseignements sur la santé des patients

Des étagères remplies de dossiers médicaux

5 minutes

Publié : juin 2018 /
Révisé : juin 2022

Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
18-14-F

À la suite de sa résidence dans un groupe de médecine familiale (GMF), une médecin de famille commence à exercer dans une clinique communautaire sans rendez-vous. Un patient qu’elle a soigné lorsqu’elle était résidente souhaite établir une relation thérapeutique avec elle à cette clinique. Disposée à accepter ce patient, la médecin communique avec le GMF pour obtenir le dossier le concernant, mais l’administratrice lui indique que le GMF en est le dépositaire et que l’autorisation du patient est requise pour en communiquer le contenu.

Comme le démontre ce scénario, les médecins en milieu hospitalier ou dans une autre pratique de groupe ne sont pas nécessairement en mesure de conserver les dossiers de leurs patients s’ils quittent leur milieu de pratique. Dans ce genre de situation, comment les médecins peuvent-ils organiser le transfert des renseignements sur la santé des patients?

Garde et consultation des dossiers

La garde et la consultation des dossiers constituent un enjeu plus complexe dans les hôpitaux, les cliniques et les établissements de santé, compte tenu de tous les renseignements consignés dans les dossiers par divers professionnels de la santé. Les médecins qui exercent en solo dans un cabinet privé sont sans conteste les dépositaires des dossiers médicaux et gèrent donc l’accès à ceux-ci (ainsi que leur conservation et leur destruction).

Que les médecins exercent en solo ou en groupe, les patients ont le droit de déterminer qui pourrait avoir accès aux renseignements sur leur santé. Ils peuvent en effet imposer des conditions ou des restrictions quant aux professionnels de la santé pouvant les consulter. En général, les patients sont également en droit d’obtenir leur propre dossier, à moins qu’il n’existe des raisons sérieuses justifiant sa non-divulgation; c’est ce que souligne l’article Gestion des dossiers médicaux : Conservation | accès | sécurité | entreposage | destruction | transfert. Il appartient aux dépositaires de justifier le refus d’accès (p. ex. si l’on estime que cet accès pourrait grandement nuire à quelqu’un, notamment au patient ou à la patiente).

Dossiers communs

Quand des dossiers sont accessibles à plusieurs personnes, les médecins ont tout de même l’obligation de protéger les renseignements dont ils ont la garde contre les accès proscrits. La gestion de l’information dans une structure de pratique de groupe peut être clarifiée par une entente de partage des données ou une entente entre médecins. Le Guide sur les dossiers électroniques [PDF] de l’ACPM propose des ententes indiquant les principes du partage de données pour les dossiers électroniques, ainsi qu’un modèle d’entente de partage de données avec un tiers (p. ex. un hôpital, une autorité en matière de santé ou un fournisseur de services) ou avec d’autres médecins. De telles ententes devraient comprendre des protocoles de sécurité adéquats pour circonscrire l’accès à l’information à ceux qui en ont besoin pour prodiguer des soins ou à d’autres fins autorisées.

Hors du cadre hospitalier, lorsque des médecins traitants reçoivent une demande d’accès à des renseignements sur la santé – que la demande émane d’autres professionnels du cercle de soins ou des patients eux-mêmes –, ils devraient conserver les originaux et faire en sorte d’assurer la confidentialité de ces renseignements. En réponse à une telle demande, les médecins peuvent transférer les renseignements dans un rapport ou une lettre résumant les données pertinentes du dossier; ils peuvent aussi transmettre sur demande une copie papier ou électronique sécurisée du dossier. Les médecins devraient connaître les politiques et les lignes directrices applicables des organismes de réglementation (Collèges), ainsi que les lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels qui régissent le transfert électronique des renseignements personnels sur la santé.

Qui peut accéder aux dossiers d’ÉMI?

L’évaluation médicale indépendante (ÉMI) permet aux médecins de se prononcer sur les besoins médicaux ou l’état d’une personne. Le dossier de l’ÉMI contient habituellement le nom du tiers ayant demandé l’évaluation, les notes tirées de l’ÉMI elle-même, voire des renseignements issus d’autres sources.

Si des patients demandent d’accéder au dossier de leur ÉMI, les médecins doivent généralement donner suite à leur requête. Ils peuvent communiquer le contenu du dossier après en avoir caviardé certains passages, tels que les instructions du tiers ayant demandé l’ÉMI (le cas échéant) et leurs propres observations et réflexions en ce qui concerne l’examen. De plus, avant d’autoriser l’accès au dossier, ils doivent communiquer avec les tiers et avec l’ACPM pour discuter des faits et des circonstances en cause. Lorsque les médecins effectuent une ÉMI en tant que membres du personnel d’une organisation, les demandes d’accès doivent habituellement être adressées à l’organisation en question.

Qu’en est-il des frais?

On s’attend à ce que les médecins n’exigent que des frais raisonnables (dont ils informeront leurs patients à l’avance) pour couvrir les coûts généraux engagés pour la récupération, la copie et la transmission des renseignements issus des dossiers médicaux. Les médecins peuvent communiquer avec leur organisme de réglementation (Collège), leur association ou fédération médicale ou un commissariat à la protection de la vie privée pour obtenir des conseils sur les frais considérés comme raisonnables. Toutefois, ils ne devraient pas refuser l’accès aux dossiers uniquement parce que les frais exigibles n’ont pas été acquittés.

Qu’advient-il des dossiers lorsqu’un médecin quitte une clinique?

Dans une pratique de groupe, la conservation des dossiers médicaux devrait faire l’objet d’une entente claire précisant les modalités de départ des médecins. Il est possible que ce soit le groupe qui s’en occupe, particulièrement lorsque les patients continuent d’être suivis par des collègues de la même clinique. Même après leur départ de la clinique, les médecins qui ont créé un dossier médical particulier devraient avoir accès à une copie de la partie qu’ils ont eux-mêmes rédigée; il y a d’ailleurs lieu d’enchâsser ce droit d’accès dans une entente de partage de données.

Il est important que les médecins traitants bénéficient d’un accès ininterrompu aux renseignements pertinents sur leurs patients, puisque ces derniers pourraient toujours leur réclamer l’accès à leurs dossiers médicaux. Les médecins pourraient également devoir accéder aux dossiers en raison de problèmes médico-légaux survenant des années plus tard. Dès que la période de conservation d’un dossier expire, l’original doit être détruit de façon appropriée afin d’assurer la sécurité des renseignements qu’il contient. Enfin, la destruction des dossiers devrait être consignée dans un journal contenant un calendrier des dossiers ayant été détruits.

En bref

La façon dont les dossiers médicaux sont consultés et gérés dans une pratique de groupe peut être clarifiée par une entente de partage des données ou une entente entre médecins. Les médecins qui exercent en solo doivent conserver les dossiers de leurs patients pour la période prescrite. Tout transfert d’information à d’autres professionnels de la santé doit être effectué de manière à assurer la sécurité et la confidentialité des renseignements sur les patients, ainsi que l’intégrité des originaux.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.