Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Accepting new patients: Guidance for specialists

Originally published September 2019
19-15-E

A specialist receives a referral from a family physician. She carefully reviews the request and the accompanying documents. The patient’s condition does not seem urgent now, but some of his symptoms suggest he would benefit from being seen as soon as possible. The physician then considers her wait list, which has grown longer in the last few months. This patient’s condition falls within her scope of practice, yet she is apprehensive about accepting the referral. How soon can she see him? Is that soon enough to allow him the best possible outcomes? Is there someone else with the same scope of practice who could see him sooner?

The high demand for access to specialist care can put specialists in a difficult position when asked to accept a new patient. Those who work outside a hospital or institution may find themselves in a situation similar to the physician in the scenario above. They are using professional judgment to determine if they can provide care for a new patient while continuing to provide appropriate and timely care for current patients. Keeping in mind their obligations for accepting new patients and effectively communicating with referring physicians and patients can help these specialists make what can sometimes be a critical decision.

Obligations for accepting new patients

As with all physicians, specialists' acceptance of new patients is guided by ethical responsibilities, as outlined in the Canadian Medical Association Code of Ethics and Professionalism1, and by professional responsibilities, as stated in the policies of the provincial and territorial medical regulatory authorities (Colleges).

College policies on accepting new patients vary across the country, but generally require that specialists accept new patients on a first-come, first-served basis, free from discrimination.

They also generally require that specialists take a number of factors into account, including the following:

  • urgency and clinical need
  • wait lists
  • scope of practice and clinical competence

Urgency and clinical need

Although not generally obligated to agree to treat any individual seeking non-urgent or non-emergent care, specialists who receive requests to accept new patients should consider whether the patient needs emergency care.

The CMA Code of Ethics and Professionalism advises physicians to "provide whatever appropriate assistance you can to any person who needs emergency medical care."1 College policies often advise specialists to address the urgent or emergent situation similarly.2

The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta, for instance, says, “A regulated member must provide care to the best of his or her ability to a patient in an urgent medical situation where no other regulated member is providing care, regardless of whether a physician-patient relationship has been established.”3

Wait lists

With specialists’ care in high demand, many have a wait list. Although the general expectation is to accept patients on a first-come, first-served basis, Colleges advise specialists to triage patients based on the urgency or seriousness of their clinical condition. Patients may need to be moved up the list if their condition worsens.4

Managing a wait list and prioritizing appointments can be a significant part of a specialist's practice as new patients in various stages of illness are accepted and added to the list, and patients currently on the list experience changes in their condition. Some Colleges direct specialists to take relevant factors into account when prioritizing and monitoring wait lists, for instance the patient’s condition, and social factors that can influence health outcomes (e.g. housing, food security, employment, income).4

Effective communication and understanding between the referring physician, the consulting physician, and the patient are valuable in managing a wait list. For instance, it should be clear to everyone who is the most responsible physician at all times, including when patients are waiting to be seen by a specialist. Patients need to know who to contact if their condition changes.

Other approaches to managing a wait list could include hiring additional resources such as an assistant or nurse, and discussing with referring physicians the possibility of discharging patients back to the care of the referring physician.

Specialists should also keep in mind the external environment, for example, government targets for wait lists. If a wait list is not close to the target, it may be necessary to decline referrals.

Even if a wait list is within the target, specialists should use their professional judgment to determine if they’ve reached their personal capacity and it’s necessary to decline new referrals.

Scope of practice and clinical competence

Specialists may feel they must refuse a new patient when they've restricted their practice and/or the patient requires care outside the individual specialist’s clinical competence or scope of practice.

If declining a referral, Colleges generally expect specialists to quickly communicate the refusal to the referring healthcare practitioner and, if appropriate, the patient. This gives referring physicians and patients time to find another healthcare provider. When possible, Colleges recommend that specialists suggest alternative providers who may be able to accept the referral.4

Recognizing that some refusals can be seen as discrimination, some Colleges expect specialists to "clearly and respectfully communicate the reasons to the individual making the request, thereby dispelling possible perceptions of discrimination."5 The refusal and the rationale should also be documented in specialists' files.

While a defined scope of practice is an acceptable reason for refusing a referral, it is not acceptable to use it as a means to discriminate.

Discrimination

When asked to accept a referral, specialists should keep in mind that they are prohibited from discriminating against patients.

Many Colleges incorporate or refer to provincial or territorial human rights legislation when addressing discrimination in their policies on accepting new patients. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia’s policy refers to the Nova Scotia Human Rights Act. That legislation prohibits discrimination regarding provisions of or access to services or facilities on the basis of “age, race, colour, religion, creed, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, physical disability or mental disability, an irrational fear of contracting an illness or disease, ethnic, national or aboriginal origin, family status, marital status, source of income, political belief, affiliation or activity, or an individual's association with another individual or class of individuals having characteristics aforementioned.”6

Other Colleges’ policies also address forms of discrimination specific to healthcare. For instance, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario states physicians cannot refuse patients "with complex or chronic health needs; with a history of prescribed opioids and/or psychotropic medications; requiring more time than another patient with fewer medical needs; or with an injury, medical condition, psychiatric condition or disability that may require the physician to prepare and provide additional documentation or reports."4

The bottom line

  • Accept new referrals on a first-come, first-served basis, free from discrimination.
  • Triage patients based on the urgency of their clinical needs. If you have a wait list, manage it to provide patients with more urgent needs greater access to care. Ensure patients on the wait list are appropriately monitored and they know who to call if there is a change in their condition.
  • If it is necessary to decline a referral because the patient requires care outside your clinical competence or scope of practice, assist the referring physician and patient by recommending an alternative care provider, if possible.

Additional reading

Other resources

 


 

References

  1. Canadian Medical Association [Internet]. Ottawa (CA):CMA;2018. CMA Code of Ethics and Professionalism [cited 2019 May 24]. Available from: https://policybase.cma.ca/documents/policypdf/PD19-03.pdf
  2. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan [Internet]. Saskatoon (CA): College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan;2016 Sept. Guideline, Patient-Physician Relationships [cited 2019 May 24]. Available from: https://www.cps.sk.ca/iMIS/Documents/Legislation/Policies/GUIDELINE%20-%20Patient%20Physician%20Relationships.pdf
  3. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta [Internet]. Edmonton (CA):CPSA;2010 Jan (reissued 2015 June 11). Establishing the Physician-Patient Relationship. [cited 2019 May 24]. Available from: http://www.cpsa.ca/standardspractice/establishing-physician-patient-relationship/
  4. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario [Internet]. Toronto (CA):CPSO;2008 Nov (updated 2017 May). Accepting New Patients, Policy Statement #1-17 [cited 2019 May 24]. Available from: https://www.cpso.on.ca/Physicians/Policies-Guidance/Policies/Accepting-New-Patients
  5. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Ottawa (CA); CMPA; 2018. Accepting new patients: The key to effective practice management [cited 2019 July 3]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2018/accepting-new-patients-the-key-to-effective-practice-management
  6. Nova Scotia Human Rights Act CHAPTER 214 of the revised statutes, 1989 as amended by 1991, c. 12; 2007, c. 11; 2007, c. 14, s. 6; 2007, c. 41; 2008, c. 59; 2012, c. 51; 2016, c. 4, s. 21

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Vous acceptez de nouveaux patients? Conseils destinés aux spécialistes

Publié initialement en septembre 2019
19-15-F

Une spécialiste reçoit une demande de consultation d’un médecin de famille. Elle analyse soigneusement la demande et les documents qui l’accompagnent. L’état du patient ne semble pas urgent pour l’instant, mais certains de ses symptômes portent à croire que le patient tirerait avantage d’être vu dès que possible. La spécialiste prend ensuite sa liste d’attente en considération, car celle-ci s’est allongée au cours des derniers mois. L’état du patient relève de son champ d’exercice, et pourtant elle hésite à accepter cette demande. Quand pourrait-elle bien le voir? Serait-ce assez tôt pour lui permettre d’obtenir les meilleurs résultats possible? N’y a-t-il pas un autre spécialiste ayant le même champ d’exercice qui pourrait l’accepter plus rapidement?

La forte demande de soins de spécialité peut placer les spécialistes dans une situation difficile lorsqu’on leur demande d’accepter un nouveau patient. Ceux qui ne travaillent pas en milieu hospitalier ou institutionnel pourraient se trouver dans une situation semblable à celle de cette spécialiste. Ils doivent faire appel à leur jugement professionnel pour déterminer s’ils peuvent prendre en charge un nouveau patient tout en continuant à prodiguer des soins appropriés et en temps voulu à leurs patients actuels. Le fait de se souvenir qu’ils sont tenus d’accepter de nouveaux patients et de communiquer efficacement avec les médecins traitants et les patients pourrait aider ces spécialistes à prendre des décisions potentiellement cruciales.

Obligations des médecins acceptant de nouveaux patients

Comme tous les autres médecins, les spécialistes acceptant de nouveaux patients sont guidés par des responsabilités déontologiques, telles que décrites dans le Code d’éthique et de professionnalisme de l’AMC1, et par des responsabilités professionnelles, telles qu’énoncées dans les politiques des organismes de réglementation provinciaux ou territoriaux de la médecine (Collèges).

Bien que les politiques des Collèges sur l’acceptation de nouveaux patients varient d’une région à l’autre, elles exigent généralement que les spécialistes aient recours au principe du « premier arrivé, premier servi » et ne fassent preuve d’aucune discrimination.

Elles exigent aussi habituellement que les spécialistes tiennent compte de certains facteurs, dont les suivants :

  • urgence et indication clinique
  • listes d’attente
  • champ d’exercice et compétence clinique.

Urgence et indication clinique

Bien qu’ils ne soient pas généralement tenus de consentir à traiter une personne nécessitant des soins non urgents, les spécialistes à qui l’on demande d’accepter de nouveaux patients doivent se demander si ces derniers requièrent des soins urgents.

Le Code d’éthique et de professionnalisme de l’AMC affirme que le médecin doit « soigner au mieux de ses capacités toute personne ayant un besoin urgent de soins médicaux ».1 Les politiques des Collèges conseillent souvent aux spécialistes d’aborder les situations urgentes d’une façon semblable.2

Le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Alberta, par exemple, déclare ce qui suit : « Les membres de professions réglementées doivent prodiguer leurs soins dans la mesure de leurs capacités aux patients se trouvant en situation médicale urgente lorsqu’aucun autre de leurs collègues n’est en mesure de le faire, peu importe si une relation médecin-patient a été ou non établie ».3 [Traduction libre]

Listes d’attente

Comme les soins prodigués par des spécialistes sont très en demande, bon nombre de ces médecins doivent gérer une liste d’attente. Bien que l’on s’attende généralement à ce qu’ils acceptent les patients selon le principe du « premier arrivé, premier servi », les Collèges leur conseillent d’effectuer le triage des patients en fonction de l’urgence ou de la gravité de leur état clinique. Ils pourraient donc devoir placer certains patients au haut de la liste si l’état de ces derniers s’aggrave.4

Au fur et à mesure que de nouveaux patients présentant divers stades de maladie sont acceptés et ajoutés à la liste d’attente, et que l’état des patients s’y trouvant déjà évolue, la gestion de cette liste et la priorisation des rendez-vous peuvent prendre de plus en plus de place dans la pratique d’un spécialiste. Certains Collèges enjoignent les spécialistes à prendre les facteurs pertinents en considération, soit l’état du patient et les facteurs sociaux qui peuvent influencer les résultats pour la santé (p. ex. logement, sécurité alimentaire, emploi, revenu), au moment de gérer une liste d’attente et d’en établir l’ordre de priorité.4

Une bonne compréhension et une communication efficace entre le médecin traitant, le médecin consultant et le patient sont de précieux atouts dans la gestion d’une liste d’attente. Par exemple, tous doivent clairement et en tout temps connaître l’identité du médecin le plus responsable, y compris lorsque des patients attendent d’être vus par un spécialiste. Les patients doivent savoir avec qui communiquer si leur état s’aggrave.

L’embauche de ressources additionnelles (tel qu’un adjoint médical ou une infirmière) et le fait de discuter avec les médecins traitants de la possibilité de retourner les patients à leurs soins figurent parmi les autres approches à la gestion d’une liste d’attente.

Les spécialistes doivent également ne pas perdre de vue l’environnement externe (p. ex. les cibles gouvernementales concernant les listes d’attente). Lorsqu’une liste d’attente ne respecte pas la cible établie, ils pourraient se voir obligés de refuser des demandes de consultation.

Même lorsque leur liste d’attente respecte la cible, les spécialistes doivent utiliser leur jugement professionnel pour déterminer s’ils ont atteint leur limite personnelle et s’il leur faut refuser de nouvelles demandes de consultation.

Champ d’exercice et compétence clinique

Un spécialiste peut se sentir obligé de refuser un nouveau patient lorsqu’il a décidé de restreindre sa pratique ou lorsque ce patient nécessite des soins qui ne relèvent pas de son champ d’exercice ou qui dépassent ses compétences cliniques.

Lorsqu’un spécialiste refuse une demande de consultation, les Collèges s’attendent généralement à ce qu’il communique rapidement son refus au médecin traitant et, lorsque cela s’avère approprié, au patient. Cela permet tant au médecin traitant qu’au patient d’avoir le temps de trouver un autre professionnel de la santé. Les Collèges recommandent aux spécialistes de suggérer, dans la mesure du possible, des professionnels de la santé qui pourraient être en mesure d’accepter la demande de consultation.4

Reconnaissant que certains refus peuvent être interprétés comme étant discriminatoires, certains Collèges s’attendent à ce que les spécialistes « communiquent clairement et de façon respectueuse les raisons du refus au demandeur, ce qui permettra de dissiper les possibles perceptions de discrimination ».5 [Traduction libre] Le refus et ses motifs doivent également être consignés dans les dossiers du spécialiste.

Bien qu’il soit acceptable d’invoquer le caractère défini de son champ d’exercice comme motif de refus, il n’est pas acceptable de l’utiliser à des fins discriminatoires.

Discrimination

Au moment d’accepter ou de refuser une demande de consultation, les spécialistes doivent se rappeler qu’il leur est interdit de faire preuve de discrimination.

De nombreux Collèges intègrent les lois provinciales ou territoriales sur les droits de la personne à leurs politiques sur l’acceptation de nouveaux patients ou y font référence lorsqu’ils traitent de discrimination. Par exemple, la politique du Collège des médecins et des chirurgiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse fait référence à la Nova Scotia Human Rights Act. Cette loi interdit la discrimination en ce qui concerne la prestation de services ou l’accès à de tels services ou à des établissements de soins en fonction « de l’âge, de la race, de la couleur, de la religion, des croyances, du sexe, de l’orientation sexuelle, de l’identité sexuelle, de l’expression sexuelle, de l’incapacité physique ou mentale, d’une peur irrationnelle de contracter une maladie, de l’origine ethnique, nationale ou autochtone, de la situation de famille, de l’état civil, de la source de revenu, de l’opinion, de l’affiliation ou de l’activité politique, ou de l’association avec d’autres personnes ou catégories de personnes présentant les caractéristiques susmentionnées ».6 [Traduction libre]

Les politiques d’autres Collèges abordent également des formes de discrimination propres aux soins de santé. Par exemple, l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario établit que les médecins ne peuvent refuser des patients « nécessitant des soins complexes ou chroniques; présentant des antécédents d’utilisation d’opioïdes ou de psychotropes prescrits; exigeant plus de temps que d’autres patients dont les besoins médicaux sont moindres; ou présentant une lésion, un problème médical, une pathologie psychiatrique ou une incapacité qui ferait en sorte que le médecin devrait rédiger et fournir de la documentation ou des rapports additionnels ».4 [Traduction libre]

En bref

  • Acceptez de nouvelles demandes de consultation selon le principe du « premier arrivé, premier servi », en évitant toute discrimination.
  • Effectuez le triage des patients en fonction de l’urgence de leurs besoins cliniques. Si vous disposez d’une liste d’attente, gérez-la de façon à améliorer l’accès aux soins pour les patients dont les besoins sont plus urgents. Assurez-vous que les patients sur votre liste d’attente font l’objet d’un suivi approprié et qu’ils savent avec qui communiquer si leur état s’aggrave.
  • S’il vous faut refuser une demande de consultation parce que le patient nécessite des soins qui ne relèvent pas de votre champ d’exercice ou de votre compétence clinique, aidez le médecin traitant et le patient en leur recommandant un autre professionnel de la santé, dans la mesure du possible.

Suggestions de lecture

Autres ressources

 


 

Références

  1. Association médicale canadienne [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA):AMC; 2018. Code d’éthique et de professionnalisme de l’AMC [cité le 24 mai 2019]. Disponible : https://policybase.cma.ca/fr/viewer?file=%2fdocuments%2fPolicypdf%2fPD19-03f.pdf#phrase=false
  2. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan [En ligne]. Saskatoon (CA): CPSS; 2016 Sept. Guideline, Patient-Physician Relationships [cité le 24 mai 2019]. Disponible : https://www.cps.sk.ca/iMIS/Documents/Legislation/Policies/GUIDELINE%20-%20Patient%20Physician%20Relationships.pdf
  3. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta [En ligne]. Edmonton (CA):CPSA; 2010 Jan (republié le 11 juin 2015). Establishing the Physician-Patient Relationship. [cité le 24 mai 2019]. Disponible : http://www.cpsa.ca/standardspractice/establishing-physician-patient-relationship/
  4. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario [En ligne]. Toronto (CA):CPSO; 2008 Nov (mis à jour en mai 2017). Accepting New Patients, Policy Statement #1-17 [cité le 24 mai 2019]. Disponible : https://www.cpso.on.ca/Physicians/Policies-Guidance/Policies/Accepting-New-Patients
  5. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA):ACPM [cité le 3 juillet 2019]. Vous acceptez de nouveaux patients... la clé d’une gestion efficace de la pratique. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2018/accepting-new-patients-the-key-to-effective-practice-management
  6. Nova Scotia Human Rights Act CHAPTER 214 of the revised statutes, 1989 as amended by 1991, c. 12; 2007, c. 11; 2007, c. 14, s. 6; 2007, c. 41; 2008, c. 59; 2012, c. 51; 2016, c. 4, s. 21

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.