Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Advance care planning the key to person-centred end-of-life care

Don’t wait until it’s too late, and avoid potential disagreements and conflict

Originally published March 2019
19-04-E

Consider this scenario experienced by many Canadians today. As a physician, what would you advise this individual to do next?

Mrs. Jones is 70 years old, recently widowed, and in generally good health. She tells you she had previously discussed her end-of-life preferences with her husband, but has not shared these wishes with anyone else, including her only son who lives in Australia. Mrs. Jones has a close relationship with a friend who lives nearby. She would like this friend to be involved in decision-making when she no longer has capacity to consent to treatment.

Conversations about end-of-life care can be difficult. Only half of Canadians discuss their end-of-life wishes with family or friends, and even fewer communicate their end-of-life care preferences to their healthcare providers.1, 2 However, a discussion between physician and patient about clinical care that is likely to be needed in the future may encourage a patient to articulate an advance care plan before it’s too late.

Treatment decisions for end-of-life care can be challenging, particularly when the patient is incapable of consenting and the patient’s wishes are unknown or unclear. This can increase the likelihood of disagreements and conflict between family members and within healthcare teams. Advance care planning (ACP) can reduce these challenges and risks, and help to improve the overall end-of-life experience for patients and their families.3

ACP is a process that includes the patient choosing a substitute decision-maker (SDM) and communicating his or her wishes, values, and beliefs to others. The goal of such planning is to ensure others understand the individual’s preferences for healthcare in the event he or she is unable to provide consent when needed. ACP helps ensure the patient’s wishes are respected and reduces the likelihood of conflicts between family members or with the healthcare team. It also allows healthcare providers to deliver care that more closely meets the patient’s needs and wants.

ACP is not a replacement for consent. While it can help guide decision-making, consent is still required for specific treatments. That consent may come from the patient if he or she is capable, or from an incapable patient’s SDM, or through an advance care directive, where permitted. It’s important to note that ACP cannot include consent to medical assistance in dying, either through an SDM or an advance directive.4

Advance care planning ≠ Advance directive

Advance care planning is not the same as an advance directive. Advance directives often include explicit instructions to consent or withhold consent to treatment in specific circumstances. They may also serve to formally assign a substitute decision-maker in the event the patient becomes incapacitated. In many provinces and territories, advance directives come into effect when the patient is incapacitated or otherwise unable to communicate his or her wishes.

Identifying substitute decision-makers

When a patient loses the capacity to consent, physicians need to turn to the appropriate person to obtain consent for end-of-life treatment. An SDM is an individual who has the legal authority to make decisions on behalf of the patient. This authority may be granted through a legal document, such as an advance directive, by legislation, or by the courts. In the absence of an SDM, when a physician incorrectly makes an assumption about who is authorized to make decisions on the patient’s behalf, this can lead to complaints to the hospital or regulatory authority (College) and potentially expose providers to civil legal actions.

Generally speaking, SDMs must comply with any wishes of the patient expressed orally or in writing when he or she was capable of making such decisions. The SDM should be guided by the patient’s best interests, and ideally there will have been a prior conversation between the patient and SDM about the patient’s wishes. The patient may also identify other people who can support the SDM through the decision-making process, or who should not be involved in care decisions.

In the example scenario described earlier, Mrs. Jones did not prepare a document concerning her preferences for care. Without such a document, her son would likely be appointed as the SDM, in keeping with the legislation. However, Mrs. Jones may not want her son to act as her SDM, for reasons that may include that he lives too far away, is not aware or does not agree with her final wishes, and so on.

Mrs. Jones’ doctor might choose to proactively discuss with her the importance of doing an advance care plan that specifies her care preferences at end-of-life should she become incapable of giving consent to treatment. This may include making legal arrangements to appoint someone—such as her close friend—who she feels will best represent her treatment goals, and her values and beliefs.

Discussing ACP with patients

Discussing ACP early and respectfully with patients and families can help promote person-centred care and assist in ensuring SDMs and family members support and follow through on the patient’s end-of-life wishes.

Introducing ACP as part of routine care in a physician-patient relationship can help normalize these conversations. Ideally, discussions about ACP should be ongoing and revisited with the patient as his or her medical condition evolves or significant life events occur.

Here are some tips to help get started:

  • Obtain available tools to guide discussions about ACP with patients. The Speak Up Campaign, an initiative of Advance Care Planning in Canada, has helpful resources for patients and healthcare professionals at www.advancecareplanning.ca.
  • Initiate discussions about ACP sensitively. You may need to introduce the subject during the course of multiple visits.
  • Strive to inform your patient’s decisions about end-of-life care. Provide information about potential symptoms associated with end-of-life conditions. Discuss your patient’s preferences or concerns about specific treatments, such as resuscitation and intubation, so that any misunderstandings by the patient are corrected and apprehensions are mitigated.5
  • Encourage patients to document and share their care plan with loved ones, their SDMs, and other healthcare providers.

The bottom line

  • Advance care planning can reduce uncertainty and conflicts around difficult decisions during end-of-life care when the patient no longer has the capacity to consent.
  • As part of routine care, consider discussing with patients the importance of having an advance care plan and appointing an SDM.
  • Document discussions with your patients about advance care planning, and file any written documents concerning SDMs and the patient’s wishes in the medical record.

Additional reading

Many provincial governments, regional health authorities, and medical associations or federations offer online resources to help with ACP. Visit resources from British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, and Prince Edward Island.

 


 

References

  1. Howard M, Bernard C, Tan A, et al. Advance care planning, Let’s start sooner, Commentary. Can Fam Physician. Vol 61 [Internet]. 2015 Aug [cited 2019 Feb 6]: 663-665
  2. Teixeira AA, Hanvey L, Tayler C, et al. What do Canadians think of advanced care planning? Findings from an online opinion poll. BMJ Support Palliat Care. 2015;5(1):40-7
  3. Heyland DK, Barwich D, Pichora D, et al. Failure to engage hospitalized elderly patients and their families in advance care planning. JAMA Intern Med. 2013;173(9):778-87
  4. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Ottawa (CA): CMPA; 2018. Medical assistance in dying: Where do we stand two years later? [Modified Nov. 2018; cited 2019 Jan 30]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2018/medical-assistance-in-dying--where-do-we-stand-two-years-later
  5. Incardona N, Myers J. Advance Care Planning Conversation Guide—Clinician Primer. 2016. Speak Up Ontario. Available from: https://www.speakupontario.ca/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/ACP-Conversation-Guide-Clinician-Primer.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Planification préalable des soins : au cœur des soins de fin de vie axés sur le patient

Évitez tout malentendu ou conflit en agissant dès maintenant

Publié initialement en mars 2019
19-04-F

Envisagez ce scénario tiré du quotidien de nombreux Canadiens. En tant que médecin, que conseillerez-vous à cette personne?

Mme Tremblay, veuve de 70 ans, présente une bonne santé générale. Elle vous confie avoir déjà discuté de ses préférences de fin de vie avec son mari, mais qu’elle n’en a fait part à personne d’autre, pas même à son fils unique vivant en Australie. Elle entretient une relation privilégiée avec une amie du quartier et aimerait que cette amie participe aux décisions lorsqu’elle ne sera plus en mesure de consentir aux traitements.

Les conversations sur les soins de fin de vie peuvent être ardues. Seule la moitié des Canadiens discutent de leurs préférences quant aux soins de fin de vie avec famille et amis, et un nombre encore moindre d’entre eux en font part à leurs professionnels de la santé.1, 2 Quoi qu’il en soit, une discussion médecin-patient au sujet des soins qui seront probablement requis pourrait encourager le patient à envisager et à formuler un plan préalable de soins à temps.

Les décisions quant aux soins de fin de vie peuvent être complexes, particulièrement lorsque le patient est inapte à consentir et que ses souhaits sont inconnus ou mal circonscrits. Une telle situation peut engendrer des différends et des conflits parmi les membres de la famille et au sein des équipes de soins. La planification préalable des soins (PPS) peut atténuer ces problèmes et ces risques, ainsi qu’aider à améliorer l’expérience globale de la fin de vie pour le patient et sa famille.3

La PPS est un processus qui demande, entre autres, au patient de choisir un décideur remplaçant et de communiquer ses souhaits, valeurs et croyances à des tiers. Cette planification a pour objectif d’assurer que ces tiers comprennent les préférences du patient en matière de soins advenant qu’il soit inapte à consentir lorsque cela s’avérera nécessaire. La PPS contribue à assurer que les souhaits du patient sont respectés et atténue la probabilité de conflits parmi les membres de la famille ou au sein de l’équipe de soins. Elle permet également aux professionnels de la santé de prodiguer des soins qui répondent mieux aux besoins et souhaits du patient.

La PPS ne se substitue pas au consentement. Bien qu’elle puisse éclairer la prise de décisions, la prestation de traitements particuliers nécessite néanmoins un consentement. Ce consentement peut provenir du patient, s’il en est apte, ou sinon, de son décideur remplaçant. Il peut aussi être accordé au moyen d’une directive préalable (lorsque cela est permis). Il est important de souligner que la PPS ne peut comprendre le consentement à l’aide médicale à mourir, que ce soit par l’intermédiaire d’un décideur remplaçant ou d’une directive préalable.4

Planification préalable des soins ≠ directive préalable

Il existe une distinction entre la planification préalable des soins et les directives préalables. Ces dernières englobent souvent des instructions explicites quant au consentement au traitement, ou à l’absence de consentement, dans des circonstances particulières. Elles peuvent également servir à officiellement assigner un décideur remplaçant, advenant qu’un patient soit inapte. Dans de nombreuses provinces et de nombreux territoires, les directives préalables entrent en vigueur lorsque le patient devient inapte ou s’il est incapable de communiquer ses souhaits.

Identification des décideurs remplaçants

Lorsqu’un patient n’est plus apte à consentir, les médecins doivent se tourner vers la bonne personne pour obtenir le consentement aux soins de fin de vie. Le décideur remplaçant est celui qui dispose légalement du pouvoir de prendre des décisions au nom du patient. Ce pouvoir peut être accordé par un document juridique (comme une directive préalable), par la loi ou par les tribunaux. Un médecin qui présume à tort de la personne autorisée à prendre des décisions au nom du patient s’expose au risque de plaintes auprès de l’hôpital ou de l’organisme de réglementation (Collège), et peut-être même d’actions civiles.

En général, le décideur remplaçant doit respecter les souhaits exprimés par écrit ou de vive voix par le patient lorsque celui-ci était en mesure de prendre de telles décisions. Le décideur remplaçant doit agir dans l’intérêt du patient; idéalement, il aura eu l’occasion de discuter au préalable des souhaits exprimés par ce dernier. Le patient pourrait également nommer d’autres personnes pouvant épauler le décideur remplaçant au cours du processus décisionnel, ou encore identifier ceux et celles qui ne devraient pas y participer.

Dans notre scénario, Mme Tremblay n’avait pas rédigé de document indiquant ses préférences quant aux soins. En l’absence d’un tel document, son fils sera probablement nommé décideur remplaçant, conformément à la loi. Mme Tremblay pourrait cependant ne pas souhaiter que son fils agisse à ce titre, pour des raisons telles que le fait qu’il vive à l’étranger, qu’il ne connaisse pas ses dernières volontés ou s’y oppose, etc.

Le médecin de Mme Tremblay pourrait choisir de prendre les devants et de discuter avec elle de l’importance de rédiger un plan préalable de soins indiquant ses préférences quant aux soins de fin de vie, advenant qu’elle ne soit plus en mesure de consentir à un traitement le moment venu. Ce plan peut comprendre la prise de dispositions légales pour nommer une personne (comme sa bonne amie) qu’elle estime être mieux en mesure de défendre ses objectifs de traitement, valeurs et croyances.

Discussions avec les patients au sujet de la PPS

Le fait de discuter tôt et avec déférence de la PPS avec le patient et sa famille peut contribuer à promouvoir des soins axés sur la personne, et faire en sorte que le décideur remplaçant et la famille soutiennent et respectent les souhaits de fin de vie du patient.

En abordant la PPS dans le cadre des soins réguliers prodigués dans le contexte de la relation médecin-patient, il est possible d’aider à normaliser les conversations qui s’ensuivront. Idéalement, les discussions au sujet de la PPS devraient se poursuivre et être mises à jour avec le patient selon l’évolution de son état ou en réponse à des événements marquants.

Voici des conseils pour vous aider à entamer ces discussions :

  • Procurez-vous des outils permettant d’orienter les discussions au sujet de la PPS avec vos patients. La campagne « Parlons-en » (une initiative de planification préalable des soins au Canada) offre des ressources utiles aux patients et aux professionnels de la santé au www.planificationprealable.ca.
  • Lancez les discussions au sujet de la PPS avec tact. Il pourrait s’avérer nécessaire d’approfondir le sujet au fil de multiples consultations.
  • Efforcez-vous d’éclairer les décisions de vos patients au sujet des soins de fin de vie. Offrez leur des renseignements sur les symptômes qui peuvent être associés aux maladies de fin de vie. Discutez des préférences ou des préoccupations de vos patients au sujet de traitements particuliers, p. ex. la réanimation et l’intubation, de façon à rectifier tout malentendu et à atténuer les craintes.5
  • Incitez vos patients à transcrire leur plan de soins et en faire part à leurs proches, à leurs décideurs remplaçants et à leurs autres professionnels de la santé.

En bref

  • La planification préalable des soins peut atténuer l’incertitude et les conflits entourant les décisions difficiles dans le cadre des soins de fin de vie, lorsque le patient n’est plus apte à consentir.
  • Dans le cadre des soins réguliers, songez à discuter avec vos patients de l’importance de disposer d’un plan préalable de soins et de nommer un décideur remplaçant.
  • Consignez les discussions avec vos patients au sujet de la planification préalable des soins, et versez au dossier médical tout document traitant des décideurs remplaçants et des souhaits du patient. 

Suggestions de lecture

Bon nombre de gouvernements provinciaux, d’autorités régionales en matière de santé ainsi que d’associations et de fédérations médicales offrent des ressources en ligne traitant de la PPS. Consultez des ressources provenant des provinces suivantes : Colombie-Britannique, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba et Île-du-Prince-Édouard (contenu en anglais, sauf pour Î.-P.-É.).

 


 

Références

  1. Howard M, Bernard C, Tan A, et al. Advance care planning: Let’s start sooner, Commentary. Can Fam Physician. 2015;8(61) [En ligne] [cité le 6 février 2019] : 663-65
  2. Teixeira AA, Hanvey L, Tayler C, et al. What do Canadians think of advanced care planning? Findings from an online opinion poll. BMJ Support Palliat Care. 2015 March;5(1):40-7
  3. Heyland DK, Barwich D, Pichora D, et al. Failure to engage hospitalized elderly patients and their families in advance care planning. JAMA Intern Med. 2013;173(9):778-87
  4. Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA): ACPM; 2018. L’aide médicale à mourir... deux ans plus tard [Modifié en novembre 2018; cité le 30 janvier 2019]; [environ 5 écrans]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2018/medical-assistance-in-dying--where-do-we-stand-two-years-later
  5. Incardona N, Myers J. Advance Care Planning Conversation Guide—Clinician Primer [En ligne]. Speak Up Ontario; 2016 [cité le 11 janvier 2019]. Disponible : https://www.speakupontario.ca/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/ACP-Conversation-Guide-Clinician-Primer.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.