Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Can border agents search your smartphone?

Considerations for protecting patient information on mobile devices when crossing international borders

Originally published January 2019
19-01-E

Anyone travelling internationally knows that border agents are increasingly thorough and intrusive when searching passengers and their belongings. In addition to searches of your personal effects, border agents can also inspect business information, including medical records, in your briefcase or stored electronically on your laptop. You considered this possibility when deciding on the papers to bring with you and the information downloaded to your laptop, but did you consider the information stored on your mobile devices such as your smartphone or tablet?

Border agents generally have broad powers to search the mobile devices of travellers. It does not matter that the device contains confidential information, such as identifiable patient information, or is password-protected or encrypted. As mobile devices become commonplace in delivering patient care, they can contain confidential information that border agents could access, raising concerns about patient privacy.

Considering the recent increase in searches of mobile devices by United States Custom and Border Protection (USCBP), the CMPA encourages its members who travel across international borders to consider whether their devices contain identifiable patient information. Any confidential information that is not required during the trip should be removed from these devices, even if the information or the device is password-protected or encrypted.

Travelling to international destinations

Although Canadians tend to focus their attention on searches when entering the United States, border agents in all countries have the right to search travellers and their belongings before being allowed into the country. Border agents generally have broad discretion and authority to search individuals and anything accompanying them into the country. The goal is to identify and prevent crimes such as terrorist activity, child pornography, and immigration offences.

Since travellers now routinely carry mobile devices including smartphones, tablets, and laptops, border agents are expanding their routine searches to include these devices. Searches may include inspection of the physical device for evidence such as compartments that may be used for smuggling. Travellers might also be required to allow border agents access to information stored on devices, including electronic documents, emails, and contacts.

Travelling to the United States

Searches of mobile devices when entering the United States are increasing. In 2016, United States Custom and Border Protection (USCBP) conducted 19,051 searches of mobile devices accompanying travellers. In 2017, this figure increased significantly to 30,200.1

Authority to search mobile devices

In January 2018, USCBP issued a directive for searches of mobile devices.2 Although the authority to search travellers’ mobile devices is not new, this detailed new directive generated extensive attention. That is, in part, because of the broad implications on the disclosure to government border agents of sensitive information subject to doctor-patient confidentiality and solicitor-client privilege.

The directive confirms that USCBP agents can conduct a routine, non-invasive search, without a warrant or reasonable suspicion, of the information accessible on a traveller’s mobile device. Although the directive states that medical information and other possibly sensitive information will be handled "in accordance with any applicable federal law and [USCBP] policy,"2 it does not preclude a search of the device and the information stored on it or seizure of the device or information by the government.

Without additional grounds and authority, USCBP agents conducting routine searches cannot intentionally access information stored only remotely. For example, medical records accessible on a mobile device only through a remote server and not stored on the device itself should not be subject to search by border agents in the normal course. To prevent inadvertent or unauthorized access to such confidential information, the border agent should ask you to disable network connectivity or put the device into airplane mode. If not expressly asked, you should do so before submitting to a search.

Searches that are more extensive can be conducted only if the border agent has reasonable grounds to suspect illegal activity or a national security concern. An advanced search often involves connecting external equipment to the mobile device to review, copy, and analyze its contents. Border agents may seize the device for a potentially significant period to perform an advanced search.

When the inspection is complete and no further action is being taken, USCBP must destroy copies of any information taken from a device and return the device to the owner.

Password and encryption

If asked, you are obligated to give the border agents your device and the information stored on it in a condition that allows the agent to search it. If the device is password-protected or encrypted, you may be required to give the agent the password or the encryption key, or both. Agents can also demand passwords for applications on the device, which may allow them to access your social media accounts and emails.

The agent must delete passwords and encryption keys obtained during a search once they are no longer required for that purpose.

If you fail to cooperate with border agents, they could seize the device and refuse you entry into the country.

Privacy breach notification

Are you required to notify your local privacy commissioner, College, or patients if border agents accessed identifiable personal health information during a search? Because border searches raise complex legal issues, that question has no easy answer. Members are encouraged to remove any identifiable patient information from their devices when travelling internationally and to contact the CMPA to discuss possible notification requirements when identifiable patient information is accessed during a border search.

When advising members on notification requirements, the CMPA will consider the facts of each case, including the circumstances of the search, the nature of the information accessed by border agents, and the applicable law(s) including the scope of any notification obligation.

Although the search likely occurred outside of Canada, provincial, territorial, or federal privacy laws regarding notification may still apply. Some of these laws may require custodians of personal health information to notify regulators, or patients, or both if identifiable personal health information has been disclosed without consent and where not otherwise permitted under the applicable legislation.

The bottom line

  • Avoid, if possible, bringing unnecessary, identifiable patient information with you when travelling across international borders, including on your mobile devices.
  • Keep your mobile devices in airplane mode when submitting to a border search.
  • Comply when border agents ask you to provide passwords or encryption keys.
  • Contact the CMPA if a border agent has accessed identifiable patient information.




References

  1. Department of Homeland Security [Internet]. Washington: United States Customs and Border Protection; 2018 Jan 5. CBP Releases Updated Border Search of Electronic Device Directive and FY17 Statistics [cited 2018 April 23]. Available from: https://www.cbp.gov/newsroom/national-media-release/cbp-releases-updated-border-search-electronic-device-directive-and.
  2. Department of Homeland Security [Internet]. Washington: United States Customs and Border Protection; 2018 Jan 4. CBP Directive No. 3340-049A, Border search of electronic devices [cited 2018 April 23]. Available from: https://www.cbp.gov/document/directives/cbp-directive-no-3340-049a-border-search-electronic-devices.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Téléphones intelligents : à l’abri des fouilles aux douanes?

Comment protéger les renseignements sur les patients

Publié initialement en janvier 2019
19-01-F

Les agents frontaliers sont de plus en plus exhaustifs et inquisiteurs dans leurs fouilles des passagers et de leurs bagages. En plus de fouiller vos effets personnels, ils peuvent également inspecter les renseignements d’affaires (y compris les dossiers médicaux) se trouvant dans votre porte-documents ou votre ordinateur portable. Vous y avez songé au moment de déterminer ce qui devait se trouver dans vos bagages, mais avez-vous pensé aux renseignements se trouvant sur vos appareils mobiles (p. ex. téléphone intelligent et tablette)?

Les agents frontaliers disposent généralement de pouvoirs étendus pour fouiller les appareils mobiles, peu importe si ceux-ci contiennent des données confidentielles (permettant d’identifier un patient, protégées par un mot de passe ou chiffrées). Puisque ces appareils sont de plus en plus utilisés dans la prestation des soins, des renseignements confidentiels pourraient s’y trouver et donc être consultés par des agents frontaliers, ce qui soulève des inquiétudes en matière de protection de la vie privée des patients.

Compte tenu de la hausse récente du nombre de fouilles d’appareils mobiles par la United States Custom and Border Protection (USCBP), l’ACPM incite ses membres se déplaçant à l’étranger à porter attention aux renseignements que contiennent leurs appareils numériques. Les renseignements confidentiels n’étant pas requis au cours du voyage devraient être supprimés de ces appareils, même en présence d’une protection par mot de passe ou chiffrement.

Déplacements à l’étranger

Bien que les Canadiens semblent se préoccuper des fouilles aux douanes américaines, les agents frontaliers de tous les pays ont le droit de fouiller les voyageurs et leurs bagages. Ces agents disposent généralement de larges pouvoirs pour la fouille des personnes et de leurs effets, l’objectif étant de repérer et de prévenir les crimes (tels les actes terroristes, la pornographie juvénile et les infractions en matière d’immigration).

Compte tenu de leur omniprésence, les appareils mobiles (téléphones intelligents, tablettes, portables, etc.) sont maintenant régulièrement fouillés par les agents frontaliers. Ceci peut inclure l’inspection de l’appareil afin d’y déceler la présence de compartiments destinés à la contrebande. Les agents frontaliers pourraient également exiger des voyageurs qu’ils leur donnent accès aux données que contiennent ces appareils (y compris les documents électroniques, les courriels et le carnet d’adresses).

Déplacements aux États-Unis

De plus en plus d’appareils mobiles sont fouillés aux douanes américaines. En 2016, l’USCBP a procédé à la fouille de 19 051 appareils mobiles; en 2017, ce nombre est passé à 30 200.1

Droit de fouiller les appareils mobiles

En janvier 2018, l’USCBP a émis une directive visant la fouille des appareils mobiles.2 Bien qu’il n’y ait rien de nouveau au droit de fouiller ces appareils, cette nouvelle directive détaillée s’est attirée une attention particulière, qui s’expliquait, en partie, par les profondes répercussions de la divulgation à des agents gouvernementaux de renseignements délicats assujettis au secret professionnel qui encadre les relations médecin-patient et avocat-client.

Cette directive confirme que les agents de l’USCBP peuvent, sans mandat ni doute raisonnable, fouiller de façon régulière et non intrusive les renseignements consultables que contient l’appareil mobile d’un voyageur. Bien qu’elle indique que les données médicales et autres renseignements délicats seront traités « conformément aux lois fédérales et aux politiques [de l’USCBP] applicables »2 [Traduction libre], elle n’interdit ni la fouille de l’appareil et de l’information qu’il contient ni leur saisie par le gouvernement.

En l’absence de motifs additionnels et d’une autorisation particulière, les agents de l’USCBP procédant à une fouille régulière ne peuvent intentionnellement obtenir accès à des données ne se trouvant pas physiquement dans l’appareil numérique. Par exemple, les dossiers médicaux n’étant accessibles sur un appareil mobile que par l’intermédiaire d’un serveur externe ne devraient normalement pas être fouillés. De façon à prévenir l’accès accidentel ou non autorisé à de tels renseignements confidentiels, l’agent frontalier devrait vous demander de désactiver la connexion au réseau ou de placer l’appareil en mode Avion (assurez-vous de le faire avant toute fouille, même en l’absence d’une telle demande).

Les fouilles plus exhaustives ne peuvent être menées que lorsque l’agent frontalier a des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner des activités illégales ou une menace à la sécurité nationale. Une fouille poussée met souvent en jeu la connexion de matériel externe à l’appareil mobile en vue d’en analyser et d’en copier le contenu. Les agents frontaliers pourraient saisir l’appareil pour une période considérable afin de procéder à une fouille poussée.

Une fois l’inspection terminée et lorsqu’aucune autre mesure n’est prise, l’USCBP doit détruire les copies de toutes les données retirées d’un appareil et remettre ce dernier à son propriétaire.

Mot de passe et chiffrement

Sur demande, vous devez remettre aux agents frontaliers votre appareil et l’information qu’il contient dans un état qui en permet la consultation. Si votre appareil est protégé par un mot de passe ou chiffré, vous pourriez devoir remettre à l’agent votre mot de passe ou votre clé de chiffrement, voire les deux. Les agents peuvent également vous demander vos mots de passe pour les applications de l’appareil, ce qui pourrait leur donner accès à vos comptes de médias sociaux et vos courriels.

Les agents doivent supprimer les mots de passe et les clés de chiffrement obtenus dans le cadre d’une fouille dès qu’ils n’en ont plus besoin.

Si vous refusez de coopérer, les agents frontaliers pourraient saisir votre appareil et vous interdire l’accès au pays.

Signalement des atteintes à la vie privée

Lorsqu’un agent frontalier obtient accès, pendant une fouille, à des renseignements personnels sur la santé permettant d’identifier une personne, avez-vous l’obligation d’en aviser le commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, le Collège ou le patient concerné? Puisque les fouilles aux douanes soulèvent des enjeux médico-légaux complexes, il n’est pas facile de répondre à cette question. L’ACPM incite ses membres, lorsqu’ils se déplacent à l’étranger, à retirer de leurs appareils numériques tous les renseignements permettant d’identifier leurs patients et à communiquer avec elle pour discuter des possibles obligations quant à la notification, en cas d’atteinte à l’intégrité de tels renseignements lors d’une fouille aux douanes.

Au moment de conseiller les membres quant aux exigences en matière de notification, l’ACPM tiendra compte des faits en cause, y compris les circonstances entourant la fouille, la nature des renseignements consultés par les agents frontaliers et les lois applicables (y compris la portée de toute obligation de notification).

Bien que la fouille ait probablement été menée à l’extérieur du Canada, les dispositions sur la notification que contiennent les lois provinciales, territoriales ou fédérale sur la protection des renseignements personnels pourraient tout de même être applicables. Certaines de ces lois pourraient obliger les dépositaires de renseignements personnels sur la santé à aviser les organismes de réglementation ou les patients concernés (ou les deux) lorsque la divulgation de tels renseignements se produit sans consentement et dans des circonstances autres que celles que prévoient les lois applicables.

En bref

  • Lorsque vous vous déplacez à l’étranger, évitez (si possible) de transporter des renseignements permettant d’identifier vos patients, y compris dans vos appareils mobiles.
  • Assurez-vous de placer vos appareils mobiles en mode Avion au moment de les remettre aux agents frontaliers.
  • Divulguez vos mots de passe ou clés de chiffrement lorsque des agents frontaliers vous le demandent.
  • Communiquez avec l’ACPM lorsqu’un agent frontalier obtient accès à des renseignements permettant d’identifier un patient.




Références

  1. Department of Homeland Security [En ligne]. Washington: United States Customs and Border Protection; 2018 Jan 5. CBP Releases Updated Border Search of Electronic Device Directive and FY17 Statistics [cité le 23 avril 2018]. Disponible : https://www.cbp.gov/newsroom/national-media-release/cbp-releases-updated-border-search-electronic-device-directive-and.
  2. Department of Homeland Security [En ligne]. Washington: United States Customs and Border Protection; 2018 Jan 4. CBP Directive No. 3340-049A, Border search of electronic devices [cité le 23 avril 2018]. Disponible : https://www.cbp.gov/document/directives/cbp-directive-no-3340-049a-border-search-electronic-devices.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.