Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Is it time to rethink your use of chaperones?

Originally published March 2019
19-07-E

In Canada, the past few years have seen more attention focused on reports of sexual misconduct and abuse.1 In this environment of heightened focus, some authorities and organizations are changing their policies around the issue. For example, medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) and legislatures are enacting or reinforcing policies of zero tolerance for sexual abuse,2 including redefining what constitutes sexual abuse, and increasing transparency and penalties for sexual abuse.3

This may be an appropriate time for physicians to ask: what can I do in my practice to ensure boundaries are respected and patients feel safe?

One solution is to have a chaperone present for some or all physical examinations, irrespective of your gender or the patient’s, or the fact that you and the patient have a longstanding professional relationship. Even if you have previously decided you don’t need a chaperone with some or all of your patient examinations, now might be an appropriate time to reassess your approach, particularly with examinations of a sensitive nature.

When deciding whether using a chaperone might be prudent, you may want to consider the following.

Deciding whether to use a chaperone

A chaperone can offer protection and reassurance to you and your patients. Patients may feel less vulnerable and more comfortable with a chaperone present during a sensitive physical examination. At the same time, you might find that a chaperone can reduce College complaints or legal actions.

When deciding whether a chaperone is appropriate, you should consider several factors. You will want to consider the expectations of your College. Some Colleges recommend that physicians have a chaperone, or at least offer to have one, for sensitive examinations such as pelvic (rectal, vaginal, testicular) or breast exams.4 Some Colleges also encourage physicians to strongly consider a chaperone for contentious examinations, such as independent medical examinations.5

If you are practising in a hospital, speak with the hospital administration about policies or procedures around the use of chaperones in the hospital. Other factors you will want to consider when deciding on a chaperone include such things as the type of examination, your relationship with the patient, and the patient’s disposition. For example, some patients might not want a third party present during an examination.

Patient consent is necessary for a chaperone to be present. When a member of the clinical team is both assisting with the examination and acting as a chaperone (e.g. a nurse), consent may be implied. However, a patient’s express consent is required if the chaperone’s only role is as an observer.

The patient’s consent and the chaperone’s presence should be documented in the medical record. If the patient does not consent to a chaperone, you should also document this in the medical record.

Patients who are initially reluctant to have a chaperone may change their mind if you clearly explain the chaperone’s role. For example, you may tell patients the chaperone is strictly an observer who is there to protect them and ensure they feel safe. Patients should be assured that the chaperone will respect their privacy and confidentiality.

If you feel a chaperone is necessary despite the patient's contrary wishes, you might consider as a last resort deferring a non-urgent examination and referring the patient to another physician who is prepared to perform the examination without a chaperone. You should pay particular attention to ensuring the patient understands the clinical consequences of delaying care.

A referral should not delay required or urgent treatment. If the patient does not consent to a chaperone and you decide to delay care or not provide care, the patient might complain to the College or human rights tribunal.

If the physical examination is necessary to address an urgent or emergent condition and the patient does not consent to a chaperone being present, it is generally advisable to proceed with the urgent examination. The additional risk management steps discussed in the “Respecting boundaries” section of this article should be considered in these circumstances.

Selecting a chaperone

Preferably, the chaperone should be a trained health professional familiar with the examination so that, if necessary, they can confirm the examination was appropriately conducted. A trained chaperone may also feel more comfortable raising questions or concerns about how the examination is conducted.

When a trained health professional is not available, non-medical staff—such as an office assistant—may substitute. However, these individuals may not have the clinical knowledge necessary to comment on the appropriateness of the examination. Some Colleges offer training courses for office staff to help them understand their roles and responsibilities as chaperones.6 If you are considering using non-medical staff as chaperones, you will want to investigate any chaperone-training resources available through your College or medical professional association. Regardless of who is chaperoning, it is your responsibility to discuss with them their role and your expectations, especially the need to respect patient dignity and privacy.

In some cases, it may be reasonable to suggest the patient bring a person of their choosing to the examination, particularly when you do not have the resources to offer a chaperone.

Alternatively, some patients may wish to have a family member or friend present during the examination, in addition to any chaperone you offer. You should generally comply with any reasonable request. Consider, however, that not all friends or family members will be impartial and might not fully understand the purpose or steps of the examination.

Respecting boundaries

If patients do not have enough information about what an examination will entail or if they misunderstand the purpose of an examination, they may feel boundaries were not respected. These individuals may be more likely to file a College complaint or start a civil action. There are other risk management strategies you can consider to maintain appropriate boundaries in addition to having a chaperone.

Respect patient privacy

Always respect patient privacy by leaving the room when patients undress and redress. This applies to you, your staff, and the chaperone. Provide a suitable cover or gown. Avoid removing or adjusting patients’ clothing during the examination without express consent.

Communicate clearly and seek consent

Before you begin, ensure the patient has consented to the examination. Explain what body parts will be examined and why. Alert the patient before approaching a sensitive area. For example, patients may not know if the procedure will involve palpation. If an examination involves palpation, inform the patient in advance.

If you need to modify the examination while it is underway, tell the patient and reconfirm consent.

Encourage the patient to ask questions and to speak up immediately if they feel uncomfortable or are in distress. After the examination is complete and the patient is given an opportunity to get dressed in private, it can be helpful to ask the patient if they have any questions or concerns.

Remain professional

Some physicians try to alleviate patients’ anxiety during sensitive examinations by using humour, making lighthearted comments, sharing personal stories, or minimizing the significance of the examination. While it’s natural to try to put patients at ease, these types of comments should be avoided in circumstances involving sensitive examinations as they might be misinterpreted by the patient.

In the CMPA’s experience, the best way to minimize patient discomfort is to be personable and compassionate, and ensure that your professional behaviour is beyond reproach.

The bottom line

  • Re-evaluate whether to use a chaperone for some or all physical examinations, regardless of the gender of the patient or the long-term nature of the doctor-patient relationship. Chaperones can offer protection and comfort for you and your patients, particularly during sensitive physical examinations.
  • While consent may be implied when a member of the clinical team (e.g. a nurse) is both assisting with the examination and acting as a chaperone, obtain express consent when the chaperone’s only role is that of an observer. Document a chaperone’s presence and the patient’s consent in the medical record.
  • Irrespective of whether a chaperone is used, consider employing other general risk management strategies when performing physical examinations, including being particularly respectful of patient privacy, maintaining appropriate boundaries, and demonstrating professional behaviour at all times.

 


 

References

  1. Rotenberg C. Cotter A. Police-reported sexual assaults in Canada before and after #MeToo, 2016 and 2017. Ottawa (CA):Statistics Canada; 2018 Nov 8, Catalogue no. 85-002-X
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta [Internet]. Edmonton: CPSA; 2018 June 11. Creating Safe Spaces for All in Alberta’s Healthcare System [cited 2019 Jan 10]. Available from: http://www.cpsa.ca/creating-safe-spaces-for-all-in-albertas-healthcare-system/.
  3. For example, see Ontario’s Protecting Patients Act, SO 2017, c 11, Québec’s An Act to amend various legislation mainly with respect to admission to professions and the governance of the professional system, SQ 2017, c 11 and Alberta’s Act to Protect Patients, SA 2018 c 15
  4. For example, see the following: College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia document, FAQ on Boundary Violations in the Patient-Physician Relationship, November 2017; College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta document, Chaperone Requirements, June 2014; College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador document, Practice Guideline on Chaperones & Sensitive Examinations (December 2016).
  5. For example, see the College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia’s document, Guideline on Independent Medical Examinations, revised February 2013.
  6. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta offers a Chaperone Training Workshop.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

L’accompagnement en salle d’examen : serait-il temps d’y repenser?

Publié initialement en mars 2019
19-07-F

Ces dernières années au Canada, on a accordé une plus grande attention aux signalements d’inconduite et d’abus sexuels.1 Dans ce contexte de vigilance accrue, certaines autorités et organisations modifient leurs politiques en la matière. Par exemple, les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) et les assemblées législatives ont adopté ou renforcé des politiques de tolérance zéro à l’égard des abus sexuels,2 notamment en redéfinissant ce qui constitue un abus sexuel, et en augmentant la transparence et les sanctions envers de tels abus.3

Le moment est peut-être venu pour les médecins de se demander ce qu’ils peuvent faire dans leur pratique pour veiller à ce que les limites soient respectées et à ce que les patients se sentent en sécurité.

Une solution est d’avoir un accompagnateur présent pour certaines ou toutes évaluations physiques, quel que soit votre sexe ou celui du patient, et même si votre relation professionnelle est établie de longue date. Si vous aviez décidé que vous n’aviez pas besoin d’un accompagnement lors de ces examens, le moment est peut-être venu de repenser à votre approche, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux examens intimes.

Au moment de décider si vous devriez avoir recours aux services d’un accompagnateur, vous voudrez peut-être tenir compte de ce qui suit.

Recours à l’accompagnement

Le recours à l’accompagnement peut vous protéger comme médecin et vous rassurer, ainsi que vos patients. Ces derniers peuvent en effet se sentir moins vulnérables et plus à l’aise en présence d’un tiers lors d’un examen physique intime. Vous pourriez aussi constater que le recours à un tiers peut réduire le nombre d’actions en justice et de plaintes auprès du Collège.

Avant de décider de vous faire accompagner lors d’examens physiques, il importe de tenir compte de plusieurs facteurs. Vous voudrez respecter les attentes du Collège. Certains Collèges recommandent la présence d’un tiers, ou qu’une telle présence soit au moins offerte lors d’examens intimes, comme un examen pelvien (rectal, vaginal, testiculaire) ou mammaire.4 Ils encouragent également les médecins à envisager sérieusement la présence d’un tiers lors d’examens pouvant donner lieu à une controverse, comme les examens médicaux indépendants.5

Si vous exercez en milieu hospitalier, discutez avec l’administration des politiques ou des procédures concernant la présence de tiers, dans l’hôpital, pour certains examens. D’autres facteurs dont vous devrez tenir compte au moment de choisir un accompagnateur comprennent le type d’examen, votre relation avec le patient et la disposition du patient à cet égard. Certains patients pourraient, par exemple, ne pas souhaiter la présence d’un tiers lors d’un examen.

Le consentement du patient à la présence d’un tiers est requis. Lorsqu’un membre de l’équipe clinique participe à l’examen et agit aussi à titre d’accompagnateur (p. ex. une infirmière), le consentement peut être implicite. Toutefois, il faut obtenir le consentement explicite du patient si cette personne ne joue qu’un rôle d’observateur.

Le consentement du patient et la présence de cette personne doivent être clairement consignés. Si le patient n’y consent pas, ceci doit également figurer au dossier.

Les patients qui sont initialement réticents à la présence d’un tiers peuvent changer d’avis si vous leur expliquez clairement le rôle de cette personne. Par exemple, vous pouvez dire aux patients que cette personne est strictement là à titre d’observateur pour les protéger et veiller à ce qu’ils se sentent en sécurité. Les patients doivent être assurés que le tiers respectera leur vie privée et la confidentialité des renseignements sur leur santé.

Si vous estimez que la présence d’un tiers est requise malgré les souhaits exprimés par le patient, vous pouvez envisager, en dernier recours, de reporter un examen non urgent et de diriger le patient vers un autre médecin qui est disposé à effectuer l’examen sans accompagnateur. Vous devriez toutefois veiller tout particulièrement à ce que le patient comprenne les conséquences cliniques d’un retard dans les soins.

L’orientation vers un autre médecin ne devrait pas retarder un traitement requis ou urgent. Si le patient ne consent pas à la présence d’un tiers et que vous décidez de retarder les soins ou de ne pas les prodiguer, le patient peut porter plainte auprès du Collège ou du tribunal des droits de la personne.

Si un examen physique est requis en raison d’un problème urgent ou très urgent et que le patient ne consent pas à la présence d’un tiers, il est généralement recommandé de procéder tout de même à l’examen. Dans de telles circonstances, il faut tenir compte des mesures supplémentaires de gestion des risques décrites plus loin dans cet article sous la rubrique « Respect des limites ».

Choix d’un accompagnateur

De préférence, l’accompagnateur devrait être un professionnel de la santé qualifié qui connaît bien l’examen en question et qui pourra au besoin confirmer que celui-ci a été effectué correctement. Une personne qualifiée peut aussi se sentir plus à l’aise pour poser des questions ou soulever des préoccupations sur le déroulement de l’examen.

En l’absence d’un professionnel de la santé qualifié, un membre du personnel non médical, comme un adjoint administratif, peut prendre sa place. Toutefois, cette personne pourrait ne pas avoir les connaissances cliniques nécessaires pour commenter le caractère approprié de l’examen. Certains Collèges offrent des cours de formation au personnel de bureau pour les aider à comprendre leurs rôles et responsabilités en tant qu’accompagnateur.6 Si vous envisagez de vous faire accompagner par du personnel non médical, vous voudrez vous renseigner sur les ressources de formation offertes par votre Collège ou votre association ou fédération professionnelle médicale. Peu importe la personne qui vous accompagne, il est de votre responsabilité de discuter avec elle de son rôle et de vos attentes, en particulier de la nécessité de respecter la dignité et la vie privée des patients.

Dans certains cas, il peut être raisonnable de suggérer au patient de se faire accompagner par une personne de son choix, surtout si vous n’avez pas les ressources nécessaires pour lui offrir les services d’un tiers.

Certains patients peuvent aussi souhaiter la présence d’un membre de leur famille ou d’un ami pendant l’examen, en plus de celle du tiers. Vous devez généralement vous conformer à toute demande raisonnable, en sachant toutefois que les amis ou les proches ne seront pas tous nécessairement impartiaux et qu’ils pourraient ne pas comprendre pleinement le but ou les étapes de l’examen.

Respect des limites

Les patients qui ne sont pas suffisamment bien informés de ce qu’un examen comporte ou qui ne comprennent pas bien le but de l’examen peuvent avoir l’impression que les limites n’ont pas été respectées. Ces personnes sont alors plus susceptibles de déposer une plainte auprès du Collège ou d’intenter une action civile. Outre la présence d’un tiers, il existe d’autres stratégies de gestion des risques que vous pouvez envisager pour maintenir des limites appropriées.

Respectez l’intimité du patient

Il importe de toujours respecter l’intimité des patients en quittant la salle pour leur permettre de se déshabiller et de se rhabiller. Cette mesure s’applique à tous : vous, votre personnel et l’accompagnateur. Vous devriez prévoir un drap ou une chemise pour que le patient puisse se couvrir, et éviter d’ajuster ou de retirer le vêtement d’un patient sans son consentement explicite.

Communiquez clairement et obtenez le consentement du patient

Avant de procéder à un examen, assurez-vous que le patient y a consenti. Expliquez-lui en quoi consiste l’examen et la raison pour laquelle vous devez l’effectuer. Alertez-le avant de vous approcher de toute partie vulnérable. Par exemple, le patient peut ne pas savoir si l’intervention impliquera une palpation. Si vous devez faire cette intervention, informez-le à l’avance.

S’il vous faut modifier votre approche à un examen déjà en cours, expliquez ceci au patient et reconfirmez son consentement.

Encouragez le patient à poser des questions et à vous dire immédiatement s’il se sent mal à l’aise ou en détresse. Une fois que l’examen est terminé et que le patient a eu la possibilité de se rhabiller en privé, il peut être utile de lui demander s’il a des questions ou des préoccupations.

Conservez une attitude professionnelle

Certains médecins tentent d’atténuer l’anxiété des patients pendant les examens intimes en plaisantant et en tenant des propos amusants, en relatant des histoires personnelles ou en minimisant l’importance de l’examen. Bien qu’il soit naturel de vouloir mettre les patients à l’aise, il est préférable d’éviter ces types de conversations lors d’examens intimes, car le patient pourrait mal les interpréter.

Selon l’expérience de l’ACPM, la meilleure façon de mettre le patient à l’aise est de se montrer attentionné et compatissant et de faire preuve d’un comportement professionnel irréprochable.

En bref

  • Réévaluez s’il y a lieu de recourir aux services d’un tiers pour certains examens physiques, ou pour tous les examens, peu importe le sexe du patient ou la durée de la relation médecin patient. Le recours à un tiers peut vous offrir protection et réconfort, à vous et à vos patients, en particulier pendant les examens intimes.
  • Bien que le consentement puisse être implicite lorsqu’un membre de l’équipe de soins (p. ex. une infirmière) participe à l’examen et agit à titre de tiers, obtenez un consentement explicite lorsque le rôle de cette personne se limite à celui d’observateur. Le consentement du patient et la présence d’un tiers doivent être clairement consignés dans le dossier médical.
  • Que vous ayez ou non recours à un tiers, envisagez d’autres stratégies générales pour gérer les risques lors d’examens physiques, notamment en respectant l’intimité des patients, en maintenant des limites appropriées et en adoptant en tout temps un comportement professionnel.

 


 

Références

  1. Rotenberg C, Cotter A. Les agressions sexuelles déclarées par la police au Canada avant et après le mouvement #MoiAussi, 2016 et 2017. Ottawa (CA) : Statistique Canada; 8 novembre 2018, Catalogue no 85-002-X
  2. Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Alberta [En ligne]. Edmonton : CPSA : 11 juin 2018. Creating Safe Spaces for All in Alberta’s Healthcare System [cité le 10 janvier 2019] Disponble : http://www.cpsa.ca/creating-safe-spaces-for-all-in-albertas healthcare-system/.
  3. Par exemple, consulter la Loi de 2017 sur la protection des patients de l’Ontario, LO 2017, c 11, la Loi modifiant diverses lois concernant principalement l’admission aux professions et la gouvernance du système professionnel du Québec, LRQ 2017, c 11 et Act to Protect Patients, SA 2018 c 15 de l’Alberta
  4. Par exemple, consulter le document du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique, FAQ on Boundary Violations in the Patient-Physician Relationship, novembre 2017; le document du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Alberta, Chaperone Requirements, juin 2014; la publication du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Practice Guideline on Chaperones & Sensitive Examinations (décembre 2016).
  5. Par exemple, voir le document du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie Britannique, Guideline on Independent Medical Examinations, révisé en février 2013.
  6. Par exemple, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Alberta offre un atelier de formation pour les accompagnateurs.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.