■ Physician wellness:

Coping with the stress of medical practice

CMPA physician advisors offer meaningful support for your health

Stone composition on a beach

Published: September 2020
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
20-12-E

Physicians facing a medical-legal concern, legal action, or complaint while practising during the COVID-19 pandemic can experience a double hit of distressing emotions. Confusion, disappointment, self-doubt, guilt, and shame created by a medical-legal matter can be joined by fear, anxiety, and uncertainty created by the pandemic. All of these can take a toll on physicians’ health and wellbeing and, possibly, their ability to practise safely.1

When you as a CMPA member contact us with a medical-legal concern, you will be connected with one of our physician advisors. These knowledgeable physicians will support you with expert medical-legal advice. But, more than that, they will help you manage the emotions you may experience from a medical-legal concern. And, if needed, they will guide you to other resources to support your wellbeing.

Our physician advisors are here for you

Physician advisors are physicians with medical-legal expertise, who understand what it’s like to deal with a medical-legal event. They have personal experience with the demands of being in active practice. In addition, they receive ongoing medical-legal training on issues that can affect your practice, from medical assistance in dying to electronic records.

Over and above these areas of expertise, physician advisors are trained to support your health during a medical-legal difficulty.

When you reach out to the Association, you can speak to a physician advisor who will begin by listening to you with care and empathy. They will then advise and guide you in finding a suitable resolution to your specific situation.

As part of that assistance, they may encourage you to take a pause and talk about your feelings and anxieties. It’s important to acknowledge the personal cost of a medical-legal concern. They may talk to you about treating yourself with compassion and being alert to the potential risks to your emotional health and your ability to practise safely.

There is a link between physician health and quality of care. Research shows that feelings of distress may reduce physicians’ ability to deliver care, increase their medical-legal risks, and impact the healthcare system. 234

Speaking with one of our physician advisors is like being in a safe space. Conversations are confidential, empathetic, and non-judgmental.5 The physician advisors know that during medical-legal difficulties, members often experience many normal, human feelings such as sadness and anger. They are also trained to recognize difficult emotions, including stress or distress. If you need additional emotional support, they will guide you to other resources that can help you take the steps necessary to improve wellness.

You can see for yourself how physician advisors approach these discussions by watching a series of videos on the Association’s physician wellness web page. Here you can witness physician advisors, along with CMPA-appointed lawyers, describing in their own words how they can support you in managing your emotions.

Support that makes a difference

Members have told us that talking peer-to-peer to a CMPA physician advisor makes a difference to their feelings of wellbeing. A survey of members found the average level of stress drops by 33% following a phone call with a physician advisor. As well, 96% agreed that the physician advisor created a non-judgmental and supportive environment.6

Additional resources

Our physician advisors have pulled together a number of wellness resources that may help you take care of your emotional and mental health. Go to the physician wellness page to find links to provincial and territorial physician health programs, as well as CMPA articles with information on working through various medical-legal matters such as College and hospital complaints. In addition, on the wellness page you'll find a link to a list of health resources for front-line workers specific to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The bottom line

If you have a medical-legal issue or concern, no matter how small, contact the CMPA and speak with one of our physician advisors for peer-to-peer support. They will give you expert advice and guidance, along with a safe space to talk about the emotions you may be experiencing.


References

  1. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Ottawa:CMPA;2018. Supporting physician wellness [cited 2020 Aug 10]
  2. Wallace J, Lemaire, J, Ghali W. Physician wellness: A missing quality indicator. Lancet. 2009:374(9702); 1714-1721
  3. Shanafelt T, Goh J, Sinsky C. The business case for investing in physician well-being. JAMA Intern Med. 2017:177(12);1826-1832
  4. West C, Huschla M, Novotny P, et al. Association of perceived medical errors with resident distress and empathy. A prospective longitudinal study. JAMA. 2006:296(9);1071-1078
  5. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Physicians supporting physicians. Ottawa (CA):CMPA;2020. [cited 2020 Feb. 24] 
  6. Canadian Medical Protective Association. CMPA;2020. 2019 Annual Report Highlights [cited 2020 Aug 3] 

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Bien-être des médecins :

Gestion du stress et maintien de la santé

Les médecins-conseils de l’ACPM ont votre santé à cœur

Composition de pierres sur une plage

Publié : septembre 2020
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
20-12-E

La détresse qu’éprouvent les médecins qui font face à un problème médico-légal, une action en justice ou une plainte peut être exacerbée pendant la pandémie de COVID-19. La peur, l’anxiété et l’incertitude qu’entraîne la pandémie peuvent en effet s’ajouter à la confusion, la déception, la culpabilité, la honte et le doute suscités par un problème médico-légal. Tous ces affects peuvent avoir des conséquences néfastes sur la santé et le bien-être des médecins, et peut-être même sur leur capacité d’exercer en toute sécurité.1

À titre de membre de l’ACPM, lorsque vous communiquez avec nous pour nous faire part de vos préoccupations d’ordre médico-légal, vous serez mis en contact avec l’un de nos médecins-conseils. Ces médecins bien informés vous offriront non seulement du soutien et des conseils médico-légaux éclairés, mais également de l’aide pour vous aider à gérer les émotions qu’un problème médico-légal pourrait susciter en vous. De plus, au besoin, ils vous orienteront vers d’autres ressources afin de mieux soutenir votre bien-être.

Nos médecins-conseils sont là pour vous

Les médecins-conseils de l’ACPM comprennent le fardeau lié au fait de devoir faire face à un problème médico-légal et détiennent une expertise en la matière. En raison de leur expérience, ils connaissent bien ce qu’exige l’exercice de la profession. De plus, ils bénéficient d’une formation médico-légale continue sur des sujets pouvant affecter votre pratique, de l’aide médicale à mourir à la gestion des dossiers électroniques.

Au-delà de ces domaines d’expertise, les médecins-conseils sont formés pour soutenir votre santé pendant la résolution d’un problème médico-légal.

Lorsque vous communiquez avec l’Association, vous pouvez consulter un médecin-conseil qui commencera par vous écouter avec empathie, puis vous conseillera et vous guidera dans le processus menant à la résolution adéquate de la situation à laquelle vous êtes confronté.

Dans le cadre de cette assistance, le médecin-conseil pourrait vous encourager à prendre du recul et à parler de vos émotions et de vos anxiétés. Il est important de reconnaître les coûts personnels liés à un problème médico-légal. Le médecin-conseil pourrait aborder l’importance de faire preuve de compassion envers vous-même et de demeurer à l’affût des risques pour votre santé émotionnelle et votre capacité d’exercer en toute sécurité.

Il existe un lien entre la santé des médecins et la qualité des soins prodigués. La recherche révèle que les sentiments de détresse pourraient atténuer la capacité des médecins à prodiguer des soins, accroître leurs risques médico-légaux et affecter le système de santé. 234

Il est rassurant de pouvoir discuter avec l’un de nos médecins-conseils. Vos conversations seront confidentielles et exemptes de jugement, et se dérouleront dans un climat d’empathie.5 Les médecins-conseils savent que lorsque les membres font face à des problèmes médico-légaux, cela évoque de nombreuses émotions tout à fait normales, telles la tristesse et la colère. Ils sont également formés pour reconnaître les émotions difficiles, dont le stress ou la détresse. Si vous avez besoin d’un soutien émotionnel supplémentaire, les médecins-conseils vous orienteront vers d’autres ressources qui pourront vous aider à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour améliorer votre bien-être.

Pour obtenir un aperçu de la façon dont les médecins-conseils abordent ces discussions, vous pouvez visionner une série de vidéos sur la page web de l’Association vouée au bien-être des médecins. Vous y verrez des médecins-conseils, ainsi que des avocats retenus par l’ACPM, décrire dans leurs mots la façon dont ils peuvent vous aider à gérer vos émotions.

Un soutien habilitant

Les membres nous ont dit que le fait de pouvoir discuter de pair à pair avec un médecin-conseil de l’ACPM exerce un effet palpable sur leurs sentiments de bien-être. Un sondage auprès des membres a permis de constater que le niveau moyen de stress chute de 33 % à la suite d’une conversation téléphonique avec un médecin-conseil. De plus, 96 % des répondants ont affirmé que le médecin-conseil avait créé un cadre de soutien exempt de jugement.6

Autres ressources

Nos médecins-conseils ont dressé une liste de ressources portant sur le bien-être qui pourraient vous aider à prendre soin de votre santé émotionnelle et mentale. Consultez la page sur le bien-être des médecins pour obtenir des liens menant à des programmes provinciaux et territoriaux sur la santé des médecins, ainsi qu’à des articles de l’ACPM contenant de l’information sur la gestion et la résolution de divers problèmes médico-légaux, tels que les plaintes auprès du Collège et les plaintes intrahospitalières. Vous y trouverez également un lien menant à une liste de ressources en santé à l’intention des professionnels de première ligne traitant particulièrement de la pandémie de COVID-19.

En bref

Pour toute question ou préoccupation d’ordre médico-légal, peu en importe l’envergure, communiquez avec l’ACPM et discutez avec l’un de nos médecins-conseils pour obtenir du soutien de pair à pair. Ils vous offriront des conseils éclairés, ainsi qu’une occasion de discuter de vos émotions dans un climat rassurant.


Références

  1. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Ottawa:ACPM; 2018. Soutien envers le bien-être des médecins [cité le 10 août 2020]
  2. Wallace J, Lemaire, J, Ghali W. Physician wellness: A missing quality indicator. Lancet. 2009:374(9702);1714-1721
  3. Shanafelt T, Goh J, Sinsky C. The business case for investing in physician well-being. JAMA Intern Med. 2017:177(12);1826-1832
  4. West C, Huschla M, Novotny P, et al. Association of perceived medical errors with resident distress and empathy. A prospective longitudinal study. JAMA. 2006:296(9);1071-1078
  5. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Soutien de médecin à médecin. Ottawa:ACPM; 2020. [cité le 24 février 2020] 
  6. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Ottawa:ACPM; 2020. Faits saillants du rapport annuel 2019 [cité le 3 août 2020] 

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.