Medico-legal difficulties

A legal action, complaint to a medical regulatory authority (College), or other medical-legal difficulties arising from a physician's professional work can entail considerable anxiety for all involved. The CMPA is standing by to assist.

When difficulties arise, members are encouraged to contact the CMPA as soon as possible for advice and, if necessary, legal assistance. Contacting the CMPA promptly benefits members because, in our experience, this makes it easier for issues to be resolved.

Examples of the types of medical-legal difficulties with which the CMPA assists include:

  • civil legal actions
  • regulatory authority (College) complaints, investigations, and disciplinary hearings
  • coroner's inquest and other fatality inquiries
  • billing audits and inquiries
  • hospital complaints and privilege matters
  • criminal proceedings
  • some general contract and research contract matters
  • privacy legislation breaches and privacy complaints
  • human rights complaints

When you contact the CMPA you will be assisted by one of our physician advisors — a physician with a clinical practice background who understands your situation. The physician advisor will assist you and, if appropriate, make arrangements with legal counsel. All personal information you share with the CMPA is held in strict confidence. For details read the CMPA's privacy policy.

As a member, you are eligible for assistance in the form of legal representation, and payment of legal costs, judgments, or settlements to compensate patients when it is determined they were harmed by negligent care.

As your association, we understand each situation is unique and can sometimes be complex. You can be confident in the knowledge that the CMPA is backed by a team of seasoned experts — physicians and legal counsel with experience in all medical-legal areas.

Find out more about how we protect you and learn about our principles of assistance.

Problèmes médico-légaux

Une action en justice, une plainte à un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) ou tout autre problème médico-légal découlant des activités professionnelles du médecin peut engendrer beaucoup d'inquiétudes chez toutes les parties concernées. L'ACPM est là pour vous aider.

Lorsque des problèmes médico-légaux surviennent, les membres sont encouragés à communiquer avec l'ACPM dès que possible pour obtenir des conseils et, au besoin, une assistance juridique. Il est avantageux pour les membres de communiquer promptement avec l'ACPM car, d'après l'expérience acquise, cela facilite la résolution des problèmes.

Exemples de problèmes médico-légaux pour lesquels l'ACPM prête assistance :

  • poursuites au civil
  • organismes de réglementation (Collèges) : plaintes, enquêtes et audiences disciplinaires
  • enquêtes du coroner ou autres enquêtes sur un décès
  • vérifications ou enquêtes en matière de facturation
  • hôpitaux : plaintes et questions de privilèges
  • poursuites au criminel
  • certaines questions relatives aux contrats généraux et de recherche
  • plaintes relatives à la confidentialité et à la violation de la loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels
  • plaintes concernant les droits de la personne

Lorsque vous communiquez avec l'ACPM, vous êtes pris en charge par un de ses médecins-conseils — un professionnel possédant une expérience clinique qui comprend votre situation. Ce médecin vous conseillera et, le cas échéant, prendra des dispositions auprès d'un avocat. Tous les renseignements personnels que vous partagez avec l'ACPM demeurent strictement confidentiels. Pour plus de détails, lire la Politique sur la protection de la vie privée de l'ACPM.

En qualité de membre, vous êtes admissible à une assistance sous forme de représentation juridique et de paiement des frais juridiques, des jugements ou des règlements pour compenser les patients lorsqu'il est prouvé qu'ils ont subi un préjudice causé par la faute professionnelle.   

L'ACPM est votre association et ses représentants comprennent que chaque situation est unique et qu'elle peut parfois être complexe. Vous pouvez faire confiance à l'équipe d'experts chevronnés de l'ACPM : des médecins et des conseillers juridiques qui détiennent une expérience dans tous les domaines médico-légaux.

Informez-vous sur la protection de l'ACPM et sur les principes de l'assistance.