Principles of assistance

Incorporation of a medical practice in Québec

Originally published June 2007 / Reviewed July 2013

The following outlines the CMPA's principles of assistance for members who incorporate a medical practice in the province of Québec.

Québec's Regulation respecting the practice of the medical profession within a partnership or a company authorizes the practice of medicine within a company (i.e. corporation) or limited liability partnership in the province.

The Regulation contains specific requirements concerning the holding of shares. This is to ensure physicians remain in control of the company or partnership at all times.

The Regulation also requires that a physician provide confirmation to the Québec College of Physicians that he or she holds adequate liability protection for the company or partnership. Section 14 of the Regulation specifically states this can be accomplished by remitting "to the secretary a proof that the partnership or company is eligible to receive the assistance offered by the Canadian Medical Protective Association and by maintaining its eligibility regarding any liability that it may incur owing to fault or negligence committed by the physicians in the practice of their profession within that partnership or company."

Single physician owner corporation (company)

If a physician chooses to incorporate a medical practice, CMPA assistance will generally extend to the company provided:

  • the physician is a member of the CMPA, and
  • the medical practice is incorporated in accordance with the Regulation respecting the practice of the medical profession within a partnership or a company.

CMPA assistance may be limited or not available if the member uses the company to employ individuals who can provide services to patients independently. An individual who treats patients independently is someone who does not work under the direct supervision of the physician and who provides services that are not dictated by a treatment plan established by the physician.

A company that employs individuals who can provide services to patients independently is considered a clinic for the purposes of CMPA assistance. In such circumstances, the company's eligibility for CMPA assistance will also be determined in accordance with the CMPA's principles of assistance to clinics and facilities.

Proof of eligibility from the CMPA

The CMPA wrote to the Québec College of Physicians to advise that a single physician who is a member of the CMPA and chooses to incorporate his or her practice in accordance with the Regulation is eligible to receive CMPA assistance for that company, provided the company does not employ any individuals who can provide services to patients independently. 

The College has accepted the CMPA's communication as the proof required by section 14 of the Regulation in cases where it is applicable.

This proof of eligibility will remain valid as long as the physician is a member of the CMPA, the physicians remains the sole shareholder of voting shares, the company continues to be structured in accordance with the Regulation, and the company does not employ individuals having the ability to treat patients independently.

Corporation (company) or partnership owned by multiple physicians or operating a clinic

If a physician chooses to incorporate a medical practice or practises medicine within a partnership, CMPA assistance will generally extend to the company or partnership provided it meets 3 conditions:

  1. The company or partnership is structured to conform with the Regulation respecting the practice of the medical profession within a partnership or a company.
  2. All physicians who have voting rights or hold shares with voting rights in the partnership or company (whether they do so personally or through a legal entity, trust or enterprise) are CMPA members.
  3. All physicians practising at any time within the partnership or company are CMPA members.

If a member chooses to use a professional corporation to own or operate a clinic or facility, then the corporation's eligibility for CMPA assistance will also be determined in accordance with the CMPA's principles of assistance to clinics and facilities.

Proof of eligibility from the CMPA

Members should contact the CMPA to obtain the proof required by section 14 of the Regulation. A statement of eligibility will be provided if the CMPA is satisfied the company or partnership is generally eligible to receive CMPA assistance.

The statement of eligibility provided by the CMPA remains valid as long as the partnership or company continues to be structured in accordance with the 3 conditions described above and the principles of eligibility applicable to clinics, if the partnership or company operates a clinic.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Principes de l’assistance

Exercice de la profession médicale en société au Québec

Publié initialement en juin 2007/révisé en juillet 2013

Cet article décrit les principes de l'assistance offerte par l'ACPM aux membres qui constituent en société une pratique médicale au Québec.

Le Règlement sur l'exercice de la profession médicale en société autorise un médecin du Québec à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d'une société par actions ou d'une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée.

Le règlement comporte des exigences particulières relatives aux actions ou aux parts sociales de la société. Ces exigences visent à assurer que les médecins contrôlent en tout temps les activités de la société. Le règlement exige également qu'un médecin fournisse au Collège des médecins du Québec la preuve qu'il détient pour la société une protection adéquate en matière de responsabilité professionnelle. L'article 14 du Règlement prévoit expressément que cette obligation peut être satisfaite en transmettant au secrétaire « une preuve que la société est éligible à l'aide offerte par l'Association canadienne de protection médicale et en maintenant cette éligibilité à l'égard de la responsabilité qu'elle peut encourir en raison des fautes ou négligences commises par les médecins dans l'exercice de leur profession au sein de cette société ».

Sociétés n'ayant qu'un seul médecin propriétaire

Si un médecin choisit d'incorporer une pratique médicale, cette société pourra généralement bénéficier de l'assistance de l'ACPM si :

• le médecin est membre de l'ACPM; et

• la société est constituée conformément au Règlement sur l'exercice de la profession médicale en société.

La société pourrait ne pas bénéficier de l'assistance de l'ACPM ou bénéficier seulement d'une assistance limitée si le membre se sert de la société pour employer des personnes pouvant prodiguer des services aux patients de façon autonome. Une personne prodigue des services aux patients de façon autonome si elle ne travaille pas directement sous la supervision du médecin et si elle prodigue des services qui ne sont pas prévus dans un plan de traitement établi par le médecin.

Une société qui emploie des personnes pouvant prodiguer des services aux patients de façon autonome est considérée une clinique aux fins de la détermination de son admissibilité à l'assistance de l'ACPM. Dans de telles circonstances, l'admissibilité de la société à l'assistance de l'ACPM sera également déterminée selon les principes de l'ACPM en matière d'assistance aux cliniques et aux établissements.

Preuve d'admissibilité de l'ACPM


L'ACPM a écrit au Collège des médecins du Québec pour l'informer qu'un médecin membre de l'ACPM qui décide d'incorporer sa pratique médicale conformément au Règlement est admissible à recevoir l'assistance de l'ACPM pour sa société, pourvu que la société n'emploie pas de personnes pouvant prodiguer des services aux patients de façon autonome.

Le Collège a accepté la communication de l'ACPM à titre de preuve requise par l'article 14 du Règlement dans les cas auxquels elle s'applique.

Cette preuve d'admissibilité demeure valide aussi longtemps que le médecin est membre de l'ACPM, que les médecins sont les seuls détenteurs d'actions avec droit de vote, que la société continue d'être constituée conformément au Règlement et qu'elle n'engage pas les services de personnes pouvant prodiguer des services aux patients de façon autonome.

Sociétés ayant plus d'un médecin propriétaire ou exploitant une clinique

Si un médecin choisit d'incorporer sa pratique médicale conjointement avec un ou plusieurs autres médecins, ou si vous exercez la médecine au sein d'une société en nom collectif, la société pourra généralement bénéficier de l'assistance de l'ACPM si elle répond aux trois conditions suivantes :

1. La société est constituée conformément au Règlement sur l'exercice de la profession médicale en société.

2. Tous les médecins qui détiennent des parts sociales ou des actions avec droit de vote dans la société (personnellement ou par l'entremise d'une personne morale, fiducie ou entreprise) sont membres de l'ACPM.

3. Tous les médecins qui exercent la médecine à quelque moment que ce soit au sein de la société sont membres de l'ACPM.

Si un membre choisit d'utiliser une société pour être propriétaire d'une clinique ou exploiter une clinique de quelque autre façon, l'admissibilité de cette société à l'assistance de l'ACPM sera également déterminée conformément aux Principes d'assistance : Assistance aux cliniques et aux établissements privés.

Preuve d'admissibilité offerte par l'ACPM

Les membres devraient communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir la « preuve » requise à l'article 14 du Règlement. L'ACPM produira une déclaration d'admissibilité si elle détermine que la société est généralement admissible à l'aide de l'ACPM.

Cette déclaration d'admissibilité demeurera valide aussi longtemps que la société sera constituée suivant les trois conditions énoncées plus haut, et si elle exploite une clinique, aussi longtemps qu'elle continuera de le faire conformément aux principes d'admissibilité applicable aux cliniques.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.