Principles of assistance

Partnerships with other physicians

Originally published December 2002 / Reviewed August 2013

The following outlines the CMPA's principles of assistance for members who enter into partnerships with other physicians.

What is a partnership?

The concept of a partnership in law is generally defined as the relation between persons carrying on a business in common with a view to profit. Partners typically enter into a common activity or enterprise, contributing their resources, knowledge or skill with the intention of making a common profit. The concept of a partnership is distinct from that of a sole proprietor, a co-owner, an association, a joint venture, or a corporation.

Variation between provinces/territories

Partnerships are a matter of provincial/territorial jurisdiction. Physicians should therefore be aware of the applicable partnership legislation in their province/territory, and seek the appropriate legal advice when establishing a partnership.

Liability of partners

Unlike a corporation, a partnership is not necessarily considered to have a distinct legal existence from its partners. In most cases, if a partnership is successfully sued and the partnership assets are insufficient, the individual partners may become liable for the debt. For this reason, physicians will want to carefully assess their potential liability for the losses or wrongdoing of the partnership or individual partners when considering the terms of their partnership agreements.

Help from the CMPA

Eligibility for CMPA assistance is discretionary and is considered on a case-by-case basis.

Generally, if one partner is sued by a patient alleging medical negligence, and if the partnership is also named in the action, then the partnership would be eligible for CMPA assistance provided all partners were CMPA members.

The partnership, and thus its individual partners, may be personally vulnerable if the allegations extend beyond the boundaries of medical professional work. In such instances, the partner may not be eligible for assistance, or may be eligible for only limited assistance from the CMPA. Physicians are encouraged to seek independent legal opinion when creating partnership agreements, including advice on the need for specific liability insurance as protection against allegations of a non-medical nature.

To be eligible for CMPA assistance, all of the following conditions must be met:

  1. All partners must be CMPA members.
  2. All physicians who do clinical professional work for the partnership must have CMPA membership. Other healthcare providers working at the facility – including employees – who are permitted by law to function as independent self-governing health professionals without direct supervision by a physician will not be granted CMPA assistance; they should have their own adequate professional liability insurance.
  3. If the partnership has a management company, the management company must be wholly owned by CMPA members, their spouses, children, parents, or siblings, and CMPA members must retain majority control of its decision-making process. Regardless of the CMPA's definition of family member for the purpose of granting assistance to clinics and facilities, members who have a professional corporation must comply with all regulations, legislation and medical regulatory authority (College) requirements in their jurisdiction. The facility owned by the partnership must meet the requirements as outlined in the CMPA's Assistance to clinics and facilities.
  4. A facility owned by the partnership must not keep a patient overnight for more than one night, whether for investigation, or for observation and supervision following a treatment.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Principes de l’assistance

Constituer une société en nom collectif avec d’autres médecins

Publié initialement en décembre 2002 / révisé en août 2013

Cet article souligne les principes d'assistance de l'ACPM à l'intention des membres qui constituent une société en nom collectif avec d'autres médecins.

Qu'est-ce qu'une société en nom collectif?

Sur le plan juridique, le concept de société en nom collectif est généralement défini comme un regroupement de personnes, appelées associés, qui mettent leurs ressources, leurs connaissances et leurs habiletés en commun pour exercer leurs activités ou fonder une entreprise dans le but d'en tirer un profit. La société en nom collectif se distingue de l'entreprise à propriétaire unique, de la copropriété, de l'association, de la coentreprise, et de la société par actions (aussi appelée compagnie).

Différences entre les provinces et territoires

Les sociétés en nom collectif sont de compétence provinciale ou territoriale. Les médecins devraient donc obtenir des conseils juridiques avant de se constituer en société en nom collectif pour connaître la teneur des lois applicables dans leur province ou territoire.

La responsabilité des associés

Contrairement à une société par actions (ou compagnie), une société en nom collectif n'est pas nécessairement considérée comme une entité juridique distincte de ses associés. Dans la plupart des cas, si une action est intentée avec succès contre une société en nom collectif et que les actifs de la société sont insuffisants, les associés peuvent être individuellement responsables de la dette. Pour cette raison, au moment de considérer les modalités du contrat de société en nom collectif, les médecins voudront évaluer avec soin la responsabilité dont ils peuvent être investis à l'égard des pertes ou dommages résultant de la faute de la société ou d'un associé.

L'assistance de l'ACPM

L'admissibilité à l'assistance est soumise au pouvoir discrétionnaire de l'ACPM et déterminée par l'ACPM au cas par cas.

En règle générale, si un patient intente une action en justice contre un associé, alléguant une négligence ou faute professionnelle médicale, et si la société est également nommée dans la poursuite, la société aura droit à l'assistance de l'ACPM pourvu que tous les associés de la société soient aussi membres de l'ACPM.

La société en nom collectif et chacun de ses associés peuvent être vulnérables sur le plan individuel si les allégations dont ils font l'objet dépassent les limites du contexte professionnel. En pareil cas, il se peut que l'associé ne soit pas admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM, ou n'y soit admissible que de façon limitée. L'Association encourage les médecins qui souhaitent conclure un contrat de société en nom collectif à consulter leur propre avocat pour obtenir des conseils et pour déterminer s'ils doivent souscrire une assurance responsabilité particulière pour se protéger contre les allégations de nature non médicale.

Pour être admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM, toutes les conditions suivantes doivent être réunies :

  1. Tous les associés de la société en nom collectif doivent être membres de l'ACPM.
  2. Tous les médecins qui exercent un travail clinique au sein de la société en nom collectif doivent aussi être membres de l'ACPM. Les autres professionnels de la santé travaillant dans la clinique – y compris les employés – et qui, en vertu de la loi, exercent leurs fonctions à titre de professionnels de la santé autonomes ne nécessitant pas la supervision directe d'un médecin n'ont pas droit à l'assistance de l'ACPM et devraient avoir leur propre assurance responsabilité.
  3. Si la société en nom collectif est gérée par une société de gestion, la société de gestion doit être détenue entièrement par des membres de l'ACPM, conjoints, enfants, parents ou frères et sœurs, et les membres de l'ACPM doivent avoir une participation majoritaire dans le processus décisionnel de la société de gestion. Indépendamment de la définition de l'ACPM relativement au membre de la famille pour déterminer l'assistance aux cliniques et aux établissements privés, les propriétaires d'une société en nom collectif doivent se soumettre aux lois et règlements ainsi qu'aux exigences de l'organisme de réglementation (Collège) en vigueur dans leur province ou territoire. La clinique dont la société en nom collectif est propriétaire doit se soumettre aux exigences citées dans le document : « Assistance de l'ACPM aux cliniques et établissements privés : principes généraux ».
  4. Un patient ne peut être hébergé plus d'une nuit dans les installations de la société en nom collectif, que ce soit aux fins d'investigation, d'observation ou de supervision à la suite d'un traitement.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.