Principles of assistance

Regulatory authority (College) matters

Published July 2020

Over the course of their careers, physicians may become involved in matters before their medical regulatory authority (College). College matters generally include complaints, investigations, discipline or fitness proceedings, and practice reviews.

The CMPA will generally assist members with College matters relating to the professional practice of medicine; however, CMPA assistance will not generally be available for matters primarily arising from business or personal issues.1 The CMPA also does not typically assist members in obtaining or regaining medical licenses and registration certificates.

When members face College matters for which they are eligible for assistance, they will be assisted by the Association’s knowledgeable and experienced physician advisors. In some cases where legal advice is required, the matter will be referred to legal counsel. While the CMPA may provide legal representation, it does not typically pay any fines, penalties, or other costs assessed against a member by the College (e.g. the College's costs for the hearing). The CMPA will also not typically assist members with an appeal or review of a College decision unless there are reasonable grounds to believe the physician was denied a fundamental procedural right (e.g. not being given an opportunity to respond to the allegations).

Undertakings or orders

In response to a complaint or investigation, the College may require a physician to sign an undertaking (or an agreement) or order the physician to take specific steps or refrain from doing something for a defined period of time. For example, the physician may be required to practise under supervision or to refrain from seeing certain patients.

Where a member enters into an undertaking with the College or is subject to an order, the member will be expected to comply with the undertaking or order. Failure to comply with an undertaking or order may affect a member’s eligibility for continued assistance from the CMPA with the issue related to the undertaking or order.

Sexual impropriety

Members are generally eligible for assistance from the CMPA to defend against allegations before the College of sexual impropriety related to the professional practice of medicine.

However, if a finding is made that the member engaged in sexual impropriety, the CMPA will generally withdraw assistance and/or decline further assistance with any other legal matters arising from the same facts in which the burden of proof is lower (i.e. balance of probabilities instead of beyond a reasonable doubt).

For example, if a College committee finds a member guilty of sexual impropriety, the CMPA will generally decline to assist with any health authority or hospital matter relating to the same facts. Assistance may also be withdrawn in any related civil action unless it includes allegations of medical negligence against the member.2

Criminal findings

The CMPA will generally withdraw assistance and/or decline to assist with a College matter following a guilty finding in a criminal proceeding arising from the practice of medicine where the College matter arises from the same facts that led to the criminal finding.


References

  1. Matters primarily arising from business and personal issues include such things as advertising, rental or leasing disputes, social media activity, employment issues, and marital and family disputes.
  2. The CMPA always maintains discretion to assist with existing or future related matters that arise from the same facts to which a finding relates.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Principes de l’assistance :

Affaires relevant des organismes de réglementation de la médecine

Publié en juillet 2020

Au cours de sa carrière, tout médecin pourrait se voir impliqué dans une affaire relevant d’un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège). Ces affaires constituent généralement des plaintes, des enquêtes, des procédures disciplinaires, des procédures relatives à l’aptitude et des évaluations de l’acte médical.

De façon générale, l’ACPM offre aux membres une assistance dans le cadre d’affaires découlant de l’exercice professionnel de la médecine; par contre, les membres n’ont généralement pas droit à l’assistance de l’ACPM dans le cadre de problèmes d’ordre principalement commercial ou personnel.1 En outre, l’Association n’aide généralement pas les membres en ce qui a trait à l’obtention ou au rétablissement de leur permis d’exercice ou certificat d’inscription.

Les membres qui sont admissibles à l’assistance de l’ACPM dans le cadre d’une affaire relevant du Collège peuvent compter sur l’appui de médecins-conseils compétents et chevronnés. Dans certains cas où un avis juridique est requis, le dossier sera transmis à un avocat. Même si l’ACPM peut offrir une représentation légale, elle ne paie généralement pas les amendes, pénalités et autres frais imposés à un membre par le Collège (p. ex. les frais d’audience du Collège). Normalement, l’ACPM ne prête pas assistance à un membre dans le cadre de l’appel ou de la révision d’une décision d’un Collège, à moins qu’un médecin se voit refuser ses droits procéduraux élémentaires (p. ex. s’il n’a pas eu l’occasion de répondre aux allégations).

Engagements ou ordonnances

En réponse à une plainte ou à une enquête, le Collège peut exiger qu’un médecin signe un engagement (une entente), prenne des mesures particulières, ou s’abstienne de poser certains actes pendant une période déterminée. Le médecin pourrait entre autres devoir exercer sous supervision ou s’abstenir de voir certains patients.

Lorsqu’un membre conclut un engagement avec le Collège ou fait l’objet d’une ordonnance, il doit respecter ce qui lui a été imposé. Le non-respect de l’engagement ou de l’ordonnance pourrait affecter son admissibilité à une assistance dans le cadre de l’affaire en cause.

Inconduite sexuelle

Un membre est généralement admissible à l’assistance de l’ACPM pour se défendre, devant le Collège, contre des allégations d’inconduite sexuelle découlant de son travail professionnel.

Cependant, si le membre est trouvé coupable d’inconduite sexuelle, l’ACPM retire généralement son assistance et (ou) refuse toute autre assistance dans le cadre d’une action en justice découlant des mêmes faits dans lesquels le fardeau de la preuve est moins lourd (c.-à-d. une preuve sur la prépondérance des probabilités plutôt qu’une preuve hors de tout doute raisonnable).

Par exemple, si un comité du Collège conclut à une inconduite sexuelle, l’ACPM refuse généralement de prêter assistance dans le cadre de toute plainte intrahospitalière ou auprès d’une autorité en matière de santé concernant les mêmes faits. L’ACPM peut également retirer son assistance dans le cadre d’une action civile connexe, sauf lorsque celle-ci porte aussi sur des allégations de négligence ou de faute professionnelle à l’égard du membre.2

Verdict de culpabilité criminelle

De façon générale, l’ACPM retire son assistance et (ou) refuse de porter assistance dans le cadre d’une affaire relevant du Collège à la suite d’un verdict de culpabilité dans une affaire criminelle découlant de l’exercice de la médecine, lorsque celle-ci résulte des mêmes faits que ceux ayant mené au verdict de culpabilité criminelle.


Références

  1. Les affaires découlant principalement de problèmes d’ordre commercial ou personnel comprennent entre autres : publicité, litiges de prêt-bail ou de location, activités liées aux médias sociaux qui ne relèvent pas de la promotion de la santé, questions d’emploi, litiges familiaux et matrimoniaux.
  2. En tout temps, l’ACPM se réserve la discrétion d’accorder une assistance dans les instances en cours ou les instances futures découlant des mêmes faits que ceux auxquels se rapporte une décision.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.