Principles of assistance

Treating professional athletes

Originally published September 2007 / Reviewed July 2013

The following outlines principles for CMPA assistance in legal matters arising from the provision of care to professional athletes. These principles include circumstances where:

  • members act as team physicians
  • members, who are not team physicians, are providing urgent or emergent medical care at major professional sporting events
  • members who in the normal course of their practice provide medical care to
    professional athletes who are residents of Canada

Physicians for professional teams

In general, members will be eligible for CMPA assistance:

  • when acting as a team physician for Canadian professional sports teams, but not major league North American-based professional sports teams from the National Hockey League, National Basketball Association, Major League Baseball, and the National Football League. Canadian professional sports teams may include minor league affiliates of major league North American-based professional sports teams
  • when acting as a team physician for Canadian Olympic and national teams which may include professional athletes, provided only a few members of the team are professional athletes from major league North American-based professional sports teams. Members are encouraged to contact the CMPA to confirm their eligibility for assistance if acting as a team physician for an Olympic or national team that consists of at least one professional athlete from a major league North American-based professional sports team

In general, members will not be eligible for CMPA assistance:

  • when acting as a team physician for major league North American-based professional sports teams from the National Hockey League, National Basketball Association, Major League Baseball, and the National Football League
  • when acting as a team physician for Canadian Olympic and national teams that consist largely of professional athletes from major league North American-based professional sports teams

A team physician for a major league North American-based professional sports team is defined as a physician who has a financial or other arrangement with a major league North American-based professional sports team. This includes a physician who, on behalf of the team, participates in pre-season assessment and training camp, provides ongoing care for injuries and illnesses during the season and out of season, or provides medical coverage at sporting events and makes return-to-play decisions.

Urgent or emergent care

The CMPA will generally extend assistance to members (excluding members who are acting as team physicians) who are asked to provide urgent or emergent medical care to professional athletes at major professional sporting events in Canada (including major league North American-based professional sporting events). This may include events at which professional athletes compete such as professional tennis, golf, and the Olympics.

Urgent or emergent care will not generally include making fitness-to-play or return-to-play decisions beyond the advice required for that specific sporting event. For example, physicians providing urgent or emergent care at a tennis tournament can make return-to-play decisions during that tournament, but not beyond that event. Members who provide non-urgent or non-emergent medical care to a professional athlete at a major professional sporting event will not generally be eligible for assistance.

In all circumstances, the CMPA's approach to assisting members who provide care to patients who are not ordinarily residents of Canada applies.  The CMPA will generally extend assistance to members who treat non-resident patients in urgent or emergent circumstances, provided that:

  1. the care was provided in Canada; and
  2. the members made reasonable efforts, in the circumstances, to obtain an executed Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement in a form satisfactory to the CMPA, where the members knew or ought to have known that the patient was ordinarily resident outside of Canada

Care in the normal course of practice

The CMPA will generally extend assistance to members who in the normal course of their medical practice (excluding those areas of their normal practice which involve acting as the team physician for major league North American-based professional sports teams) provide medical care to professional athletes who are residents of Canada. This may include professional athletes on major league North American-based professional sports teams and professional athletes who compete at major professional sporting events such as professional tennis, wrestling, boxing, motor sport, and golf.

When a member acts as the primary care physician for a professional athlete who is resident in Canada, the member will generally be eligible for assistance with medical-legal difficulties arising in Canada.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Principes de l’assistance

Soins prodigués aux athlètes professionnels

Publié initialement en septembre 2007 / révisé en juillet 2013

Cet article décrit les principes d'assistance de l'ACPM dans les actions en justice découlant de soins prodigués à des athlètes professionnels. Ces principes englobent les circonstances ou :

  • des membres de l'ACPM agissent à titre de médecin d'une équipe sportive
  • des membres, qui ne sont pas médecins d'une équipe sportive, prodiguent des soins médicaux d'urgence ou d'extrême urgence dans le cadre de grandes manifestations sportives professionnelles.
  • des membres qui, dans le cadre habituel de leur pratique, prodiguent des soins médicaux à des athlètes professionnels qui sont résidents du Canada.

Médecins d'équipes sportives professionnelles

En général, les membres seront admissibles à l'assistance de l'ACPM dans les situations suivantes:

  • Lorsqu'ils agissent à titre de médecins d'équipes canadiennes de sports professionnels, mais non d'équipes de ligues majeures nord-américaines relevant de la Ligue nationale de hockey, de l'Association nationale de basketball, de la Ligue majeure de baseball ou de la Ligue nationale de football. Les équipes canadiennes de sports professionnels peuvent inclure des équipes des ligues mineures affiliées à des équipes professionnelles nord-américaines des ligues majeures.
  • Lorsqu'ils agissent à titre de médecins d'équipes olympiques ou d'équipes nationales canadiennes pouvant inclure des athlètes professionnels, pourvu que seulement quelques membres de l'équipe soient des athlètes d'équipes professionnelles d'une ligue majeure nord-américaine. Les membres sont encouragés à communiquer avec l'ACPM pour confirmer leur admissibilité à l'assistance s'ils prodiguent des soins à titre de médecin d'une équipe olympique ou nationale qui compte au moins un athlète d'une équipe professionnelle nord-américaine d'une ligue majeure.

En général, les membres ne seront pas admissibles à l'assistance de l'ACPM dans les situations suivantes :

  • Lorsqu'ils agissent à titre de médecins d'une équipe professionnelle d'une ligue majeure nord-américaine relevant de la Ligue nationale de hockey, de l'Association nationale de basketball, de la Ligue majeure de baseball ou de la Ligue nationale de football.
  • Lorsqu'ils agissent à titre de médecins d'une équipe olympique ou nationale canadienne qui se compose en grande partie d'athlètes provenant d'équipes sportives professionnelles nord-américaines relevant d'une ligue majeure.

Le médecin d'une équipe affiliée à une équipe professionnelle d'une ligue majeure nord-américaine est défini comme étant un médecin ayant une entente financière ou autre avec cette équipe. Cette définition comprend le médecin d'une équipe qui participe aux évaluations d'avant-saison et aux camps d'entraînement, soigne de façon continue les blessures et les maladies pendant et après la saison sportive, assure les soins médicaux des athlètes lors de manifestations sportives, et prend régulièrement les décisions concernant leur retour au jeu.

Soins d'urgence ou d'extrême urgence

L'ACPM viendra généralement à l'aide des membres (à l'exclusion des membres qui sont médecins d'une équipe) auxquels on a fait appel pour prodiguer des soins d'urgence ou d'extrême urgence à des athlètes professionnels dans le cadre de grandes manifestations sportives au Canada (y compris les manifestations sportives professionnelles nord-américaines associées à une ligue majeure). Il peut s'agir d'événements où des athlètes professionnels compétitionnent, comme le tennis ou le golf professionnel et les Jeux olympiques.

Les soins d'urgence ou d'extrême urgence ne comprendront généralement pas les décisions concernant le retour au jeu au-delà des conseils requis pour une manifestation sportive particulière. Par exemple, un médecin prodiguant des soins d'urgence ou d'extrême urgence lors d'un tournoi de tennis peut décider du retour au jeu d'un athlète pour ce tournoi en particulier, mais non pour les tournois à venir. Les membres qui prodiguent à un athlète professionnel des soins médicaux qui ne sont pas des soins d'urgence ou d'extrême urgence lors d'une grande manifestation sportive professionnelle ne seront généralement pas admissibles à l'assistance de l'ACPM.

Quelles que soient les circonstances, l'ACPM observe les mêmes principes en ce qui a trait à l'assistance offerte aux membres prodiguant des soins à des patients qui ne sont pas normalement des résidents du Canada. L'ACPM prêtera généralement assistance aux membres qui soignent des patients non-résidents dans des situations d'urgence ou d'extrême urgence, à condition que :

  1. les soins aient été fournis au Canada; et
  2. le membre ait déployé des efforts raisonnables, dans les circonstances, afin que le patient ou son ayant droit signe une Convention relative aux lois d'application et à la compétence judiciaire considérée acceptable par l'ACPM, lorsque le membre savait ou aurait dû savoir que le patient résidait ordinairement à l'extérieur du Canada.

Soins prodigués dans le cadre habituel de l'exercice de la médecine

L'ACPM prêtera généralement assistance aux membres qui, dans le cadre habituel de l'exercice de la médecine (à l'exclusion des domaines de leur pratique habituelle où ils travaillent comme médecin d'une équipe sportive professionnelle nord-américaine d'une ligue majeure), prodiguent des soins médicaux à des athlètes professionnels qui sont résidents du Canada. Cela peut inclure des athlètes d'équipes professionnelles nord-américaines d'une ligue majeure, ainsi que les athlètes professionnels qui compétitionnent dans de grandes manifestations sportives professionnelles comme le tennis, la lutte, la boxe, le sport automobile et le golf professionnels.

Lorsqu'un membre est le médecin de soins primaires d'un athlète professionnel qui est résident du Canada, il sera généralement admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM dans le cas de problèmes médico-légaux survenant au Canada.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.