Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Addressing physician disruptive behaviour in healthcare institutions

Originally published September 2013
P1303-3-E

There is growing interest in addressing the issue of disruptive behaviour in healthcare due in part to legislative and regulatory changes, and mounting recognition of the negative impact of this behaviour on providers and on patient safety. Recognizing that disruptive actions by doctors and others have never been acceptable, the healthcare community is collectively working to eliminate this conduct.

During the 2013 CMPA Annual Meeting in Calgary, the Association released a discussion paper entitled, The role of physician leaders in addressing physician disruptive behaviour in healthcare institutions [PDF].

The CMPA's interest in helping address physician disruptive behaviour stems from its mandate to protect the professional integrity of doctors and to promote safer medical practice. Highlights from the CMPA's discussion paper, which are included here, can help physician leaders and practising physicians address the issue in a constructive and proactive manner.

Establishing a common understanding

Disruptive behaviour generally refers to inappropriate conduct, whether in actions or in words, that interferes with or has the potential to interfere with quality healthcare delivery.1 Examples include inappropriate words, abusive language, shaming, outbursts of anger, throwing medical instruments, and use or threat of unwarranted physical force. There is usually a pattern to physician disruptive behaviour, rather than a single isolated incident. Disruptive behaviour can also be quite subtle, such as refusing to work cooperatively with others or being chronically late for meetings, scheduled appointments, or surgeries.

Not all instances of behaviour which may initially seem inappropriate are actually disruptive. Much depends on the nature of the behaviour and the context in which it arises. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario provides examples of conduct which is not deemed disruptive, including "healthy criticism offered in good faith with the intention of improving patient care or facilities, making a complaint to an outside agency, testifying against a colleague, or good faith patient advocacy."2

Disruptive behaviour has both immediate and long-term consequences. There is an immediate effect on the individual at the receiving end of the behaviour, such as a nurse or another doctor, and this can affect performance in providing care. In the long term, disruptive behaviour can lead to ineffective care, harm to patients, and poorer clinical outcomes.3

Although all health professionals and administrators can display disruptive behaviour, such conduct by doctors may be particularly noticeable because of their role in the delivery of healthcare. Studies show approximately 5% of practising physicians engage in recurrent disruptive behaviour.4 An analysis of CMPA closed cases found that cases pertaining to disruptive behaviour represented 5% of all medical regulatory authority (College) cases and 5% of all hospital cases. The majority of these had unfavourable outcomes for the physician.

Legislation and regulations are helping to raise awareness about disruptive behaviour. In all provinces and territories, legislation now exists regarding obligations to address violence, harassment, and safety in the workplace. In addition, many provinces have legislation requiring hospitals to report to Colleges cases of physician suspensions or privilege restrictions due to misconduct. Moreover, some Colleges have developed guidance on disruptive behaviour. Physician health programs are also striving to assist by offering resources specifically aimed at addressing disruptive behaviour.

Tiered response to distruptive behaviour

Physician disruptive behaviour requires a collaborative and tiered response within institutions, and also when College involvement is appropriate.

Institutional response

The CMPA shares the perspective advanced by most stakeholders that disruptive behaviour by doctors should be addressed by the healthcare institution where the conduct occurs. Healthcare institutions are well positioned to address these matters in-house, given their knowledge of the situation, the workplace, and the individuals involved.

Medical regulatory authority response

Generally, the medical regulatory authorities have indicated healthcare organizations should investigate and follow a staged response to a complaint about disruptive physician behaviour. Colleges commonly want to be notified about physicians whose employment is terminated or where privileges are restructured or suspended, or when physicians resign from the medical staff during the course of an investigation.

Constructive approaches to be considered

From the CMPA's perspective, an adversarial process at either the institutional or College level should be avoided in favour of a step-by-step approach which includes:

  • Early identification
  • Proactive intervention
  • Workplace assessment
  • Remediation

Empowering physician leaders

Physician leaders can foster a culture of respect and address disruptive behaviour in healthcare institutions by setting clear expectations, modeling first-rate behaviour, and emphasizing the positive values and behaviour important to the organization. Since physician disruptive behaviour may begin early in a doctor's career, opportunities exist to address this behaviour before it takes hold. Physician leaders should set expectations for professional behaviour among residents and faculty, including clear and tiered consequences for non-compliance.

Physician leaders should receive and lead training on acquiring the skills required to address disruptive behaviour effectively.

Actions and tools for physician leaders

Within healthcare institutions, physician leaders and other doctors and healthcare providers should be educated about disruptive behaviour and its impact. Specific training on teamwork, communication skills, and conflict resolution may be beneficial. Beyond training opportunities, medical leaders should play a role in monitoring physician behaviour. This may include conducting reviews or regular staff surveys, team member evaluations, and direct observation.

Physician leaders must take appropriate and fair steps to help resolve disruptive behaviour. A tiered approach to promoting professionalism can help to manage disruptive behaviour. This would generally begin with a "coffee conversation" with a colleague in the case of a single unprofessional incident, followed by documented intervention for recurring behaviour. A persistent pattern of disruptive behaviour unresponsive to lower level intervention may require escalation to a higher authority figure, with further documentation and an action plan. Finally, failure to respond to the authority intervention would lead to disciplinary action.5

The CMPA believes physician leaders can play a meaningful role in addressing physician disruptive behaviour. The CMP's discussion paper includes recommendations that can help guide physician leaders in this effort.

 


References

  1. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, "Guidebook for Managing Disruptive Physician Behaviour," 2008, p.4
  2. Ibid, 5
  3. Joint Commission Perspectives on Patient Safety, Managing Disruptive Behaviour, January 2009. Retrieved June 2013 from: www.jcrinc.com
  4. Leape, L. L., Fromson, J. A., "Problem doctors: Is there a system-level solution?" Annals of Internal Medicine (2006) Vol. 144, no.2 p.108
  5. Hickson, G. B., Pichert, J. W., Webb, L. E., Gabbe, S. G., "A complementary approach to promoting professionalism: identifying, measuring, and addressing unprofessional behaviors," Academic Medicine (2007) Vol. 82, no.11 p.1042

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Le comportement perturbateur des médecins dans les établissements de santé

Publié initialement en septembre 2013
P1303-3-F

La nécessité d'aborder la question du comportement perturbateur des médecins dans le domaine des soins de santé fait l'objet d'un intérêt croissant notamment en raison des modifications apportées aux lois et règlements, et de la reconnaissance croissante de l'incidence négative d'un tel comportement sur les professionnels de la santé et la sécurité des patients. Bien que les actions perturbatrices des médecins et des autres intervenants n'aient jamais été acceptables, la communauté médicale travaille collectivement à l'élimination de tels comportements.

Lors de l'assemblée annuelle 2013 de l'ACPM à Calgary, l'Association a publié un document de discussion intitulé « Le comportement perturbateur des médecins dans les établissements de santé : quel est le rôle des médecins chefs de file [PDF] ». L'intérêt que manifeste l'ACPM pour l'amélioration des problèmes de comportement perturbateur chez les médecins découle du mandat de l'Association, visant à protéger l'intégrité professionnelle des médecins et à promouvoir des soins médicaux plus sécuritaires. Les faits saillants du document de discussion de l'ACPM, reproduits ici, peuvent aider les médecins chefs de file et les médecins à aborder la question de façon constructive et proactive.

L'établissement d'une compréhension commune

Un comportement perturbateur renvoie généralement à une conduite inappropriée, exprimée par des actions ou des paroles, qui porte atteinte ou qui a le potentiel de porter atteinte à la prestation de soins de santé de qualité.1 Des exemples d'un tel comportement comprennent les paroles inappropriées, les propos violents, l'humiliation, les accès de colère, le lancer d'instruments médicaux et la menace ou le recours à une force physique injustifiée. Le comportement perturbateur des médecins correspond habituellement à un type de conduite plutôt qu'à un seul incident isolé. Un comportement perturbateur peut aussi prendre des formes très subtiles, comme refuser de collaborer avec d'autres personnes ou se présenter régulièrement en retard aux réunions, aux rendez-vous prévus ou à la salle d'opération.

Les comportements qui à priori peuvent sembler inappropriés ne sont pas nécessairement tous perturbateurs. Cela dépend en effet de la nature du comportement et du contexte dans lequel il se manifeste. L'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario offre des exemples de comportements qui ne sont pas considérés comme perturbateurs, notamment les « critiques constructives formulées de bonne foi avec l'intention d'améliorer les soins aux patients ou le fonctionnement des établissements de santé, déposer une plainte auprès d'une agence externe, témoigner contre un collègue ou défendre les intérêts d'un patient en toute bonne foi ».2 [Traduction]

Un comportement perturbateur entraîne des conséquences immédiates et à long terme. Il produit un effet immédiat sur la personne qui le subit, telle une infirmière ou un autre médecin, ce qui peut compromettre le rendement de cette personne lors de la prestation des soins. à long terme, un comportement perturbateur peut conduire à une inefficacité des soins, des préjudices chez les patients et de plus mauvais résultats cliniques.3

Bien que tous les professionnels de la santé et les administrateurs puissent manifester un comportement perturbateur, une telle conduite chez les médecins peut être plus évidente en raison de leur rôle dans la prestation des soins de santé. Des études ont montré qu'environ 5 % des médecins manifestent des comportements perturbateurs récurrents.4 Une analyse des dossiers conclus de l'ACPM a révélé que les dossiers portant sur un comportement perturbateur représentaient 5 % de toutes les plaintes déposées auprès d'un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) et 5 % de toutes les plaintes intrahospitalières. La majorité de ces dossiers se sont soldés par un résultat défavorable pour le médecin.

Les lois et les règlements contribuent à sensibiliser la population aux comportements perturbateurs. Dans l'ensemble des provinces et des territoires, il existe désormais des lois portant sur les obligations de contrer la violence, le harcèlement et la sécurité au travail. De plus, plusieurs provinces ont adopté des lois exigeant que les hôpitaux signalent aux Collèges les cas de suspensions de médecins ou de restrictions des privilèges attribuables à l'inconduite. Certains Collèges ont même élaboré des directives sur la façon d'aborder les problèmes de comportement perturbateur. Les programmes d'aide aux médecins s'efforcent eux aussi de prêter assistance en offrant des ressources conçues spécialement pour aborder les comportements perturbateurs.

Réponse multiniveau au comportement perturbateur

Le comportement perturbateur des médecins exige une intervention de collaboration et de participation à plusieurs niveaux dans les établissements. Il en est de même lorsque la participation du Collège s'avère appropriée.

Réponse des établissements

L'ACPM partage la perspective de la plupart des partenaires, soit que le comportement perturbateur des médecins devrait être examiné par l'établissement de santé où il se manifeste. Les établissements de santé sont bien positionnés pour gérer ces questions à l'interne, étant donné leurs connaissances de la situation, du milieu de travail et des personnes concernées.

Réponse des organismes de réglementation de la médecine

De façon générale, les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) ont indiqué que les organisations de soins de santé devraient enquêter sur les plaintes liées au comportement perturbateur des médecins, puis adopter une réponse échelonnée. Tous les Collèges souhaitent être informés des situations où des médecins ont été congédiés ou ont eu leurs privilèges restructurés ou suspendus, ou encore lorsqu'un médecin a démissionné de son poste à titre de personnel médical au cours d'une enquête.

Approches constructives à considérer

Selon l'ACPM, les établissements et les Collèges devraient, lorsque c'est possible, éviter tout processus accusatoire en faveur d'une approche par étapes qui englobe :

  • l'identification précoce
  • une intervention proactive
  • une intervention proactive
  • la remédiation

Responsabilisation des médecins chefs de file

Les médecins chefs de file peuvent favoriser une culture de respect et aborder le comportement perturbateur dans les établissements de santé en déterminant des attentes claires, en adoptant une conduite exemplaire et en mettant l'accent sur les valeurs positives et les comportements qui sont importants pour l'organisation. Si un comportement perturbateur peut se manifester tôt dans la carrière d'un médecin, il existe des occasions pour l'aborder avant qu'il ne s'enracine. Les médecins chefs de file devraient préciser, auprès des résidents et des professeurs, les attentes liées au comportement professionnel, y compris les conséquences claires et multiniveaux en cas de non-conformité.

Les médecins chefs de file devraient aussi suivre et dispenser de la formation sur les compétences requises pour aborder efficacement les comportements perturbateurs.

Actions et outils pour les médecins chefs de file

Au sein des organismes de soins de santé, les médecins chefs de file, les autres médecins et les professionnels de la santé devraient recevoir une formation sur les comportements perturbateurs et leurs conséquences. Une formation particulière liée au travail d'équipe, aux aptitudes à la communication et à la résolution de conflit peut s'avérer bénéfique. En plus de se perfectionner, les médecins chefs de file devraient surveiller le comportement des médecins en effectuant entre autres des évaluations ou des sondages réguliers auprès du personnel, des évaluations des membres de l'équipe et une observation directe.Les médecins chefs de file doivent prendre des mesures appropriées et équitables pour contribuer à régler les comportements perturbateurs. Une approche multiniveau visant à promouvoir le professionnalisme peut favoriser la gestion des comportements perturbateurs. De façon générale, il s'agirait d'abord d'une « conversation autour d'un café » avec un collègue dans le cas d'un seul manquement, suivie d'une intervention documentée si le comportement se reproduit. Un problème persistant de comportement perturbateur réfractaire aux interventions des échelons inférieurs peut devoir être déféré à une autorité supérieure, avec documentation supplémentaire et plan d'action. Enfin, le défaut de réagir à l'intervention de l'autorité entraînerait des mesures disciplinaires.5

L'ACPM est d'avis que les médecins chefs de file peuvent jouer un rôle clé dans les cas de comportement perturbateur des médecins. Le document de discussion de l'ACPM renferme des recommandations qui peuvent orienter les médecins chefs de file.



References

  1. L'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario, « Guidebook for Managing Disruptive Physician Behaviour », 2008, p. 4
  2. Ibid, p. 5
  3. Joint Commission Perspectives on Patient Safety, « Managing Disruptive Behavior » , janvier 2009
  4. Leape, L.L. , Fromson, J.A., « Problem doctors: Is there a system-level solution? » Annals of Internal Medicine (2006) vol. 144, no 2, p. 108
  5. Hickson, G.B., Pichert, J.W., Webb, L.E., Gabbe, S.G., « A complementary approach to promoting professionalism: identifying, measuring, and addressing unprofessional behaviors », Academic Medicine (2007) vol. 82, no 11, p. 1042


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.