Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

What to do when patients do not follow the doctor’s advice: Dealing with non-adherence

Originally published December 2013
W13-006-E

Physicians work in partnership with patients to achieve optimal care.

But what happens when a patient does not follow a doctor's advice? Addressing non-compliance or non-adherence — when a patient does not adhere to advice for investigative or treatment plans which a physician has set out in the patient's best interests — can be challenging.

Increasingly, the term used in the medical profession is "non-adherence" rather than "non-compliance." This reflects the patient-centered approach to healthcare delivery.  

Non-adherent patients are those who seem to agree with the recommendations of their physician, then, for one reason or another, decide not to follow through. Often they do not tell their doctor. Non-adherence may relate to health issues, such as smoking cessation, weight loss, or dietary considerations. It may also include missing appointments, deciding not to follow up on referrals, missing tests, avoiding filling prescriptions, or simply stopping taking medication.

Non-adherence can be dangerous for the patient and frustrating for the physician. While evidence varies, some reports note that, depending on the condition and complexity of treatment, non-adherence by patients may be as high as 40%.1 It can also lead to additional costs to the medical system due to an increase in complications and hospitalization, and as a result multiply the medico-legal risk for doctors. A report published in 2003 by the World Health Organization notes that increasing the effectiveness of adherence may have a greater impact on the health of the population than an improvement in specific medical treatments.2

Patients may not heed the guidance provided by their physicians for several reasons. Changes may be difficult for the patient, either because of other obligations, lack of commitment, interest, or understanding. Patients may not completely comprehend the ramifications of not following through on tests and appointments, or of neglecting to take medications. Socio-economic conditions may mean treatments are unaffordable or living conditions are difficult. Issues of language, culture, or literacy may also come into play.

Between 2008 and 2012 there were 369 closed CMPA medico-legal cases involving patients' non-adherence to treatment. Of these, 157 were legal actions and 191 were medical regulatory authority (College) cases. Nearly 50% of the legal cases and 83% of the College cases were unfavourable to members. While the majority of College complaints were dismissed with concern, remedial actions were identified and documented in the physicians' record. All types of medical practice were identified in the legal and College cases, however the most common was family practice.

The issues identified in these cases were most often administrative, for example the failure to document the patient's refusal of an examination. Cases also involved diagnostic issues, a misunderstanding over what was being communicated between the patient and the physician, or difficulties with the manner in which the physician was communicating the information.

Non-adherence with recommendations for referral

An obese patient with a previous negative cardiac stress test presents to the emergency department (ED) complaining of substernal chest pain following a large meal and heavy drinking. The patient's regular physician takes over care.

An electrocardiogram shows non-specific changes and both the cardiac enzymes and telemetry are reported as normal. Reflux esophagitis is diagnosed and the patient is discharged home.

The following day the patient is re-assessed at the doctor's office. The patient only complains of pain with eating. Esophageal reflux is diagnosed. The physician discusses the patient's risk factors for heart disease — stress and excessive alcohol consumption —  and advises the patient to have a cardiac stress test as well as a cardiac and gastroenterology referral but the patient refuses. The physician does not document the discussion or the subsequent refusal.

The patient subsequently suffers a myocardial infarction and dies. Autopsy confirms the cause of death and reveals a 95% obstruction of the anterior branch of the left coronary artery.

Experts are critical of the physician's failure to send the patient for a cardiac stress test prior to or shortly after discharge, and the failure to document his advice regarding referral to a cardiologist and the patient's refusal. The case is settled in favour of the patient and compensation is paid by the CMPA on behalf of the physician.

To reduce the medico-legal risk generated by non-adherence, physicians must be in a position to justify the approach being recommended and demonstrate that the patient was made aware of and understood the risks of non-adherence. Keeping accurate and comprehensive medical records regarding the treatment plan and about the consent discussion is important. A physician is unlikely to be criticized if a competent patient has made an informed decision to pursue a particular course of action.

Dealing with non-adherence — Building the physician-patient partnership

Identifying non-adherence is not an easy task, but understanding the reasons patients do not comply is a good beginning. Having frank discussions with patients and being non-judgmental can be effective in finding out more about the patient's perspective and non-adherence.  Many patients need encouragement and need to know that they can discuss any concerns they may have with their doctor. Patients are also likely to react more positively to treatment if they are involved in core decisions and if they understand that the advice given by their physician is personal, and is not a one-size-fits-all solution to their health issue. As well, patients should be made aware of any resources available to help them implement and follow proposed treatment plans or lifestyle changes.

When it comes to prescribed medications, affordability is often a factor in adherence. Doctors should diplomatically ask patients if this might be an issue and can propose less expensive, but effective, alternatives. Side effects may also concern patients, and doctors should discuss the possibilities beforehand so patients understand what action might need to be taken. In some instances patients may have no symptoms (i.e. high blood pressure or high cholesterol), which makes it even more important to discuss the purpose of the medication.

Missed appointments or not following up on referrals are also forms of non-adherence. Doctors may want to implement what are commonly called "tickler" systems. A tickler system reminds the physician and staff of a pattern of missed or cancelled appointments, non-receipt of test results or consultants' reports, or failure to follow up as ordered by the physician.3

A physician may also want to consider creating a checklist that triggers electronic reminders, flags cancellations, initiates follow-up letters for missed appointments or tests, and monitors non-adherence so that efforts to follow up by contacting patients is documented in the medical record.

The bottom line

Consider, as appropriate, the following strategies which may encourage adherence to medical treatment and help mitigate the medico-legal risk engendered by patients who do not follow the prescribed prevention or treatment plan.

  • Have a frank discussion with patients about why the treatment plan or lifestyle change is important and how best to implement an agreed upon course of action. Explore any barriers to effectively carrying out the plan.
  • Set up office systems to help identify patients who engage in non-adherence such as missed appointments, cancellations, or failure to follow up on referrals.
  • Discuss the reasons for non-adherence with patients to better understand any barriers, and then work to overcome the barriers by suggesting alternatives or providing additional information or confirmation.
  • Document the consent discussion in the medical record, as well the patient's behaviour in terms of adherence.

Members who want more information or additional advice on patient adherence should call the CMPA to speak with a medical officer.

References

1. Martin, L.R., Williams, S.L., Haskard, K.B., DiMatteo, M.R., "The challenge of patient adherence," Therapeutics and Clinical Risk Management (2005) Vol. 1, no.3 p.189. Retrieved August 16 2013 from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1661624

2. World Health Organization, Adherence to long-term therapies: Evidence for action, 2003, 211pp, ISBN 92 4 154599 2.

3. Richman, D., Ward, P., Fager&Amsler, LLP, "The Noncompliant Patient — A Risk Management Perspective," Spring 2006, Dateline, Medical Liability Mutual Insurance Company

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Que faire lorsque les patients ne suivent pas les conseils du médecin? Gérer la non-adhésion

Publié initialement en décembre 2013
W13-006-F

Les médecins travaillent en partenariat avec les patients pour obtenir des soins optimaux.

Mais que se passe-t-il lorsqu'un patient ne suit pas les conseils de son médecin? Gérer la non-observance ou la non-adhésion (c'est-à-dire lorsqu'un patient n'adhère pas aux conseils du plan d'investigation ou de traitement que le médecin a établi dans l'intérêt du patient) peut représenter un véritable défi.

Le milieu médical utilise de plus en plus le terme «  non-adhésion », plutôt que « non-observance », pour mieux refléter que l'approche à la prestation des soins est centrée sur le patient.

Les patients non adhérents sont ceux qui semblent être d'accord avec les recommandations de leur médecin, mais qui, pour une raison quelconque, décident de ne pas les suivre; souvent, ils n'en parlent même pas à leur médecin. La non-adhésion peut être liée à des questions de santé telles que la désaccoutumance au tabac, la perte de poids ou des conseils diététiques. Toutefois, elle inclut également les rendez-vous manqués, la décision de ne pas donner suite aux demandes de consultation, le fait de manquer un examen, de ne pas aller chercher les médicaments prescrits, ou tout simplement, l'arrêt des médicaments.

La non-adhésion peut être dangereuse pour le patient et frustrante pour le médecin. Même si les données probantes diffèrent, certains rapports soulignent que selon la pathologie et la complexité du traitement, la non-adhésion des patients peut s'élever à 40 %.1 Cela peut également engendrer des coûts supplémentaires pour le système médical en raison d'une augmentation des complications et des hospitalisations, ce qui multiplie les risques médico-légaux pour les médecins. Un rapport de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé publié en 2002 révèle qu' améliorer l'adhésion pourrait avoir une influence plus importante sur la santé des populations qu'améliorer un traitement médical spécifique ou réaliser des réformes du système de soins de santé. 2

Plusieurs raisons peuvent expliquer pourquoi les patients ne suivent pas les conseils de leur médecin. Les changements peuvent être difficiles pour les patients, soit en raison de leurs autres obligations, soit par manque d'engagement, d'intérêt ou de compréhension. Les patients peuvent ne pas bien comprendre les conséquences de ne pas se conformer aux demandes d'examen et de rendez-vous ou celles de ne pas prendre leurs médicaments. La précarité socio-économique peut, pour certains patients, rendre les traitements inabordables ou les conditions de vie plus difficiles. La langue, la culture, et la littératie peuvent également représenter une problématique ayant une incidence sur l'adhésion au traitement.

Parmi les dossiers médico-légaux de l'ACPM conclus entre 2008 et 2012, on dénombre 369 dossiers liés à la non-adhésion d'un patient à son traitement. Parmi ces dossiers, 157 représentent des actions en justice et 191 des plaintes déposées auprès d'un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège). Près de 50 % des dossiers médico-légaux et 83 % des plaintes au Collège se sont soldés par un résultat défavorable pour le membre. Même si la majorité des plaintes au Collège ont été rejetées avec admonestation, des mesures de remédiation ont été identifiées et documentées au dossier du médecin. Tous les types de pratique médicale sont représentés dans les dossiers médico-légaux et les plaintes au Collège, même si la médecine familiale l'était davantage.

Les problèmes identifiés dans ces dossiers sont le plus souvent d'ordre administratif, p. ex., l'omission de documenter le refus d'un patient de subir un examen. On retrouve également des problèmes de diagnostic, une mauvaise compréhension des informations partagées entre le patient et le médecin, ou des problèmes sur la manière de communiquer du médecin.

Non-adhésion avec les demandes de consultation

Un patient obèse, dont les résultats à l'épreuve d'effort étaient négatifs, se présente à l'urgence en raison d'une douleur thoracique rétrosternale apparue à la suite d'un repas copieux et bien arrosé. Le médecin habituel du patient prend le relais des soins.

L'électrocardiographie révèle des altérations non spécifiques et l'analyse des marqueurs cardiaques, ainsi que les résultats de télémétrie s'avèrent normaux. Un diagnostic d'œsophagite peptique est posé et le patient reçoit son congé.

Le lendemain, le patient est de nouveau évalué au cabinet du médecin. Le patient ne se plaint que de douleurs quand il mange. Un diagnostic de reflux gastro-œsophagien est posé. Le médecin discute avec le patient des facteurs de risque de maladie cardiaque, à savoir le stress et la consommation excessive d'alcool, et lui recommande de subir une épreuve d'effort cardiaque, ainsi que de consulter un cardiologue et un gastroentérologue. Le patient refuse. Le médecin ne documente pas la discussion, ni le refus du patient dans le dossier médical.

Quelque temps plus tard, le patient décède d'un infarctus du myocarde. L'autopsie confirme la cause du décès et met en évidence une occlusion à 95 % de l'artère interventriculaire antérieure.

Les experts critiquent le médecin pour ne pas avoir envoyé le patient subir une épreuve d'effort cardiaque avant ou peu de temps après lui avoir donné son congé, ainsi que pour l'absence de documentation sur la recommandation de consulter un cardiologue, et le refus du patient. L'ACPM a choisi de régler le dossier au nom du membre en concluant une transaction avec la succession du patient.

 

Afin de diminuer les risques médico-légaux associés à la non-adhésion, les médecins doivent pouvoir justifier l'approche recommandée et démontrer que le patient a été averti et a compris les risques liés à la non-adhésion. Il est important de tenir un dossier précis et complet sur le plan de traitement et la discussion en vue du consentement. Il est peu probable qu'un médecin soit critiqué si un patient apte à consentir prend une décision éclairée d'adopter une ligne de conduite particulière.

Relation de partenariat entre le médecin et le patient

Il n'est pas facile d'identifier les situations de non-adhésion, mais comprendre les raisons qui motivent les patients à ne pas adhérer constitue un bon début. Il peut être efficace d'avoir des discussions franches et non critiques avec les patients afin d'en savoir davantage sur le point de vue du patient et son éventuelle non-adhésion. Plusieurs patients ont besoin d'être encouragés et de savoir qu'ils peuvent discuter avec leur médecin de tout ce qui pourrait les préoccuper. Les patients sont également enclins à réagir plus positivement au traitement s'ils sont partie prenante dans les éléments essentiels de la décision et s'ils comprennent que les conseils prodigués par leur médecin sont personnels et ne représentent pas une solution toute faite à leur problème de santé. Par ailleurs, les patients doivent être informés de la disponibilité de toute ressource pouvant les aider à mettre en œuvre et à suivre le plan de traitement ou les changements de style de vie proposés.

En ce qui concerne les médicaments prescrits, leur caractère abordable ou non constitue souvent un facteur dans l'adhésion. Les médecins doivent demander avec tact si le coût peut représenter un problème et proposer dans ce cas d'autres médicaments efficaces, mais moins onéreux. Les effets indésirables peuvent également préoccuper les patients. Les médecins doivent discuter des effets possibles au préalable de sorte que les patients comprennent quelles mesures pourraient s'avérer nécessaires. Dans certains cas, les patients peuvent ne présenter aucun symptôme, tel qu'une hypertension artérielle ou une hypercholestérolémie, ce qui rend la discussion sur l'objectif du traitement médicamenteux encore plus importante.

Le fait de manquer un rendez-vous ou de ne pas donner suite à une demande de consultation constitue également une forme de non-adhésion. Les médecins peuvent mettre en place un système communément appelé « boîte de rappel ». Un système de rappel permet au médecin et aux membres du personnel d'identifier les rendez-vous manqués ou annulés, la non-réception des résultats d'examen ou des rapports des consultants, ou l'absence de suivi tel que demandé par le médecin.3

Un médecin peut également envisager de créer une liste de contrôle qui déclenche des rappels électroniques, identifie les annulations, déclenche l'envoi de lettres de suivi pour rendez-vous ou examens manqués, et surveille la non-adhésion, ce qui permet de documenter au dossier médical tous les efforts de suivi consentis en communiquant avec le patient.

En bref

Envisagez, le cas échéant, les stratégies suivantes pouvant favoriser l'adhésion au traitement médical et atténuer les risques médico-légaux causés par les patients qui ne suivent pas les plans de prévention ou de traitement prescrits.

  • Ayez une discussion franche avec vos patients sur l'importance du plan de traitement ou des changements de style de vie, et sur la meilleure façon de mettre en œuvre une démarche consentie. Examinez tous les obstacles qui s'opposent à la réalisation du plan.
  • Mettez en place des systèmes bureautiques pour vous aider à identifier les patients non-adhérents et qui manquent ou annulent des rendez-vous ou ne donnent pas suite aux demandes de consultation.
  • Discutez des raisons de non-adhésion avec les patients afin de mieux comprendre tous les obstacles possibles, puis efforcez-vous de les surmonter en suggérant d'autres options ou en fournissant des informations ou une confirmation supplémentaires.
  • Documentez la discussion sur le consentement dans le dossier médical, ainsi que le comportement du patient en termes d'adhésion.

Les membres qui souhaitent plus d'informations ou de conseils sur l'adhésion des patients au plan de traitement peuvent communiquer avec un médecin-conseil de l'ACPM.

Références

1. Martin, Leslie R., Summer L., Williams, Kelly B. Haskard, M. Robin DiMatteo, « The challenge of patient adherence » Therapeutics and Clinical Risk Management (2005), vol. 1, no. 3 p. 189. Consulté le 16 août 2013 à : http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1661624

2. World Health Organization, Adherence to long-term therapies: Evidence for action, 2003, 211pp, ISBN 92 4 154599 2.

3. Richman, Donnaline, Patricia Ward, Fager et Amsler, LLP, « The Noncompliant Patient — A Risk Management Perspective » Spring 2006, Dateline, Medical Liability Mutual Insurance Company.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.