Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Social media: The opportunities, the realities

Originally published October 2014
P1404-1-E

Virtual interactions and exchanges have never been more frequent. Individuals in most parts of the world can now exchange information instantaneously, to one person or a million. The ability to learn and share is vast — largely driven by social media.

For the medical professional, social media offer opportunities and innovative options for sharing information. Along with the innovation, however, comes risks such as online content that is inaccurate, is unmoderated, attributed to the wrong author, violates privacy, blurs professional and personal activities, and hurts reputations.

Physicians should recognize the impact of social media, and consider how much they want to engage and how to mitigate any potential risks.

Learning and sharing

Medical trainees and faculties are increasingly leveraging several social media sites to enrich trainees' medical education. Students are looking for opportunities to exchange and learn beyond the formal education setting, often using mobile devices to capture and share clinical learnings on social media sites. Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, SlideShare, Flickr, and blogs are among the most popular sites.1

Students and faculty have an obligation to protect the privacy of patients and must refrain from sharing identifiable patient cases through social media, unless the patient has consented. This principle applies regardless of whether the platform's privacy setting is public or private. Some medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) remind physicians that confidentiality may be breached if patients, while not expressly named, can still be identified in an online case example.2

It is recognized that generic case examples or other learning material that does not contain identifiable patient information can help students learn. As physicians strive to keep current and abreast of medical findings, social media can prove invaluable.3

Patient engagement with social media

Patients are also participating in social media to keep current on health matters.4 Some join online patient groups to exchange information with others experiencing similar health conditions. Hungry for information, treatment options, and hope, patients may be acquiring knowledge that is inaccurate or inappropriate for their medical condition. However, it is comforting to know patients continue to view physicians as the most valuable source of information for their medical condition.5

As patients seek to share their clinical experience with others, they may wish to capture the physician-patient encounter or procedure for social media sharing. Physicians will want to consider how to manage these situations, recognizing the broad reach of social media and the beneficial impact this may have. Physicians who decline to participate should explain why so the patient understands the decision.

Most hospitals and facilities have policies governing the use of photographs or videos during doctor-patient exchanges. If in private practice, physicians may wish to develop policies or guidelines to help manage such requests.

Professional social media engagement

Physicians have long recognized and applied professional behaviour in all facets of care and private life. This behaviour extends to social media, where society's expectations of doctors remain the same as in "real life."

The consequences of unprofessional behaviour over social media are often more significant because of its reach and permanency. Once posted or recorded, the ability to retract a comment is very limited.

At times, social media content gives a false sense of detachment. Because of this, users may post responses or interact in ways that would be considered inappropriate in face-to-face encounters. Doctors should always ask themselves:

  • Is this how I would frame my response, if the individual or group was in my office, or if I was in direct contact?
  • Is my response typical of how I interact?
  • Will I feel the same way tomorrow, or 2 months from now, or 1 year from now, when my comment or contribution remains publicly available?
  • Will my response respect my professional obligations?

Know the obligations

Physicians have a duty to protect the personal health information of their patients, including on social media. Both physicians and patients should be aware of the risks and agree to certain conditions before engaging in electronic communications.

False or incorrect information can spread quickly and broadly through social media. This introduces a risk for both patients and their doctors. Imagine having a discussion with a patient about a recommended treatment which has been portrayed as dangerous on social media. Patients may be conflicted and may decline the treatment, based on false information.

Physicians are well-positioned to correct misinformation with patients. While physicians don't have an obligation to monitor everything that is stated on social media, they may want to contribute to the exchange with a view of providing factual information that will benefit others. When it comes to a physician's own social media platform, it is important to monitor what is said and be prepared to correct or interject when necessary.

Leverage social media

The value of social media in public health is well recognized. It broadens the opportunity to alert a community of outbreaks, vaccination centres, and measures that can be taken to mitigate exposure to contagious diseases.

Choosing the appropriate social media site is important. Weblogs, instant messaging platforms, video chat, and social networks can all be valuable platforms with benefits such as:

  • reaching large numbers of professionals for public health and policy exchanges
  • connecting with professionals at the national and international level to advance research, treatment, and care options
  • disseminating timely health information to trigger action

Physicians who use blogs or other social media sites to discuss health-related issues may want to include a reference to the Canadian context in which the information is provided. This will help mitigate the risks of non-Canadians heeding advice that may not be appropriate or relevant.

Publishing information on blogs or other social media platforms could result in legal actions being brought outside of Canada. The CMPA will not generally provide assistance to members who encounter medico-legal difficulty arising from the publication of information to a non-medical audience, when the matter is brought outside of Canada.

Consider the level of engagement

Whether doctors choose to engage in social media or not, they cannot ignore the implications.

If you are not active on social media, you should consider:

  • Learning enough about it to understand the implications for your patients, colleagues, and other members of the healthcare team.
  • Making an assessment of the potential benefits and risks, and being prepared to explain your decision to not participate to patients, colleagues, and others.
  • Recognizing that even if you're not participating, what you say or do can still be shared online.
  • Developing a social media policy for your practice and sharing it with your staff and patients. Stating that you're not engaging may help manage the expectations of staff and patients.
  • Determining if it is worthwhile to monitor what is said online about you and your practice.

Engaging on social media — on a personal basis

  • Recognize that delineating your personal and professional life on social media is often difficult, but you will want to separate the two as much as possible.
  • Act on social media as you would in your personal and professional life (virtual behaviour should mirror real-life behaviour).6 Compassion, respect, and integrity also belong on social media.
  • Do not "friend" patients on social media sites, as it becomes difficult to separate professional activities from personal ones. Just as with in-person consultations, remember that professional boundaries also apply to social media.
  • Recognize that irrespective of privacy settings, most of what is shared on social media is accessible broadly.
  • Appreciate the implications of what you share, albeit personal, to your professional life, as the two are often blurred.
  • Recognize the permanency of what is shared on social media and the difficulty in retracting or removing content.
  • Monitor what is said on social media about you and be prepared to correct or interject when and if appropriate.
  • Review and comply with your College guidance on the use of social media.

Engaging on social media — on a professional basis

  • Assess and determine which social media sites align with your objectives (e.g. blogs for sharing healthy lifestyle tips; Twitter to provide timely updates; Facebook to network; YouTube to post educational videos).
  • Establish guidelines on the use of social media, including the expectations for your staff. Make your guidelines known to patients, colleagues, and other healthcare providers.
  • Determine if you are the only contributor or if others will support your social media activities. Establish protocols for passwords and renew them often, to avoid misappropriation of your social media identity.
  • Recognize that your activities on social media are an extension of your professional activities.
  • Establish measures to ensure that patients' personal health information remains private and confidential, unless patients have provided consent.
  • Maintain appropriate professional boundaries and ensure that medical information posted is not seen as establishing a therapeutic relationship with online users.7 Information should remain general and geared to broad-based issues (e.g. vaccination).
  • Media are often leveraging social media to identify opinion leaders or experts on specific topics — determining ahead of time your interest, preparedness, and availability for media interviews will be helpful.
  • Recognize the permanency of what is shared on social media and the difficulty in retracting or removing content.
  • Monitor what is said on your social media site and be prepared to correct or interject when and if appropriate.
  • Review and comply with your College's policies or guidelines on the use of social media.

The value remains

Social media can be a powerful platform to improve healthcare decisions, share knowledge, and promote adherence to healthy lifestyles. When managed effectively, it can contribute to beneficial exchanges of information. Its full potential has yet to be realized and despite its well-recognized pitfalls, the value of social media remains.

Suggestions to help you get started on social media8:

  1. Learn about the various sites and determine which one will help you reach your intended audience. Different platforms serve different purposes. Set social media objectives for yourself and select the appropriate platform(s) to achieve them.
  2. Become familiar with the security settings and policies. Before benefiting from the information you'll find on social media, educate yourself on the security settings for each platform and the social media policies that pertain to your organization.
  3. Join, listen, learn. Before engaging, create a profile on Twitter and Facebook, for instance, and observe the conversations.
  4. Learn to manage your social media time. The amount of information shared on social media can be overwhelming. Learn how to filter what is relevant to you to make it more manageable.



References

  1. Pearson Learning Solutions. "Teaching, Learning, and Sharing: How Today's Higher Education Faculty Use Social Media," 2011. Accessed on May 24, 2014 from: http://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED535130.pdf
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, Professional Standards and Guidelines, Social Media and Online Networking Forums, September 2010. Accessed on June 5, 2014 from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Social-Media-and-Online-Networking-Forums.pdf
  3. Bahner, David, Adkins, Eric, Patel, Nilesh, Donley, Chad, Nagel, Rolllin, Kman, Nicholas, "How we use social media to supplement novel curriculum in medical education," Medical Teacher, (2012) Vol. 34 No.6. Accessed on May 23, 2014, from: http://informahealthcare.com/doi/abs/10.3109/0142159X.2012.668245
  4. Chen, Xueyu, Siu, Lillian, "Impact of the Media and Internet on Oncology: Survey of Cancer Patients and Oncologists in Canada," Journal of Clinical Oncology, (December 1, 2001) Vol. 19 No.23. Accessed on May 23, 2014 from: http://jco.ascopubs.org/content/19/23/4291.short
  5. Ibid, Accessed on May 23, 2014 from: http://jco.ascopubs.org/content/19/23/4291.short
  6. Canadian Medical Association, "Social media and Canadian physicians – issues and rules of engagement." Accessed on May 23, 2014 from: http://www.cma.ca/advocacy/social-media-canadian-physicians
  7. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, Professional Standards and Guidelines, Social Media and Online Networking Forums, September 2010. Accessed on June 5, 2014 from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Social-Media-and-Online-Networking-Forums.pdf
  8. Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. "Is your practice social media savvy? Four tips to get you started!," Dialogue, (January 2014) Vol. 14, No.1. Accessed on April 30, 2014 from: http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/resources/publications/dialogue/vol14_1/social_media

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Médias sociaux : les possibilités, mais aussi les réalités

Publié initialement en octobre 2014
P1404-1-F

Les interactions et les échanges virtuels n'ont jamais été aussi fréquents. Dans la plupart des régions du monde, les gens peuvent maintenant échanger de l'information instantanément avec une personne ou des millions. Grâce aux médias sociaux, la capacité d'apprendre et d'échanger est énorme.

Ces médias offrent à la profession médicale des occasions et des outils nouveaux pour transmettre de l'information. Cependant, cette innovation entraîne des risques; entre autres, des échanges dont le contenu en ligne est erroné, n'est pas modéré, est attribué au mauvais auteur, porte atteinte à la vie privée ou à la réputation d'autrui, ne fait pas la distinction entre les activités professionnelles et personnelles.

Les médecins doivent donc reconnaître les conséquences de l'usage des médias sociaux, envisager de quelle façon ils veulent y participer et comment atténuer tout risque possible.

Apprentissage et partage

Les résidents ainsi que les professeurs misent de plus en plus sur de nombreux sites de médias sociaux pour parfaire leur formation médicale. Les étudiants y recherchent des occasions d'échanger et d'apprendre au-delà du cadre d'enseignement structuré, souvent au moyen de terminaux mobiles, pour capter et partager des apprentissages cliniques dans des sites de médias sociaux. Parmi les sites les plus populaires, mentionnons entre autres, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, SlideShare, Flickr ainsi que les blogues1.

Toutefois, les étudiants ainsi que les professeurs ont l'obligation de protéger la confidentialité des renseignements sur les patients; ils doivent aussi s'abstenir de donner des exemples de cas cliniques où des patients pourraient être identifiés dans les sites de médias sociaux, sauf si ces patients y ont consenti. Ce principe s'applique, peu importe si les réglages de protection des renseignements personnels sont associés à des plateformes publiques ou privées. Certains organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) rappellent aux médecins qu'il y a violation de confidentialité si les patients, même s'ils ne sont pas identifiés expressément, peuvent quand même être reconnus dans un exemple de cas publié en ligne2.

On constate que des exemples de cas types ou d'autres documents d'apprentissage ne contenant pas de renseignements révélant l'identité d'un patient peuvent tout aussi bien aider les étudiants à apprendre. Les médias sociaux peuvent cependant constituer une ressource précieuse pour les médecins qui cherchent à se tenir à jour et au courant des découvertes médicales3.

La participation des patients

Les patients utilisent également les médias sociaux pour se renseigner sur des sujets associés à la santé4. D'autres se joignent à des groupes de patients échangeant de l'information en ligne avec des personnes vivant des situations de santé semblables. Avides d'informations, de choix de traitement et d'espoir, les patients acquièrent des connaissances pouvant être erronées ou inappropriées pour leur état médical. Cependant, il est réconfortant de savoir que les patients perçoivent toujours leurs médecins comme étant la première source d'information en ce qui a trait à leurs problèmes de santé5.

Certains patients voudront partager leurs expériences cliniques avec d'autres; ils souhaiteront alors enregistrer l'intervention ou la rencontre avec le médecin, pour ensuite la communiquer dans les médias sociaux. Les médecins devront envisager la façon de gérer ces situations en prenant en compte la grande portée des médias sociaux et les conséquences bénéfiques qui peuvent en découler. Si les médecins refusent d'y participer, ils doivent en expliquer la raison au patient pour que celui-ci comprenne la décision.

La plupart des hôpitaux et des établissements ont des politiques concernant l'usage de photographies ou de vidéos lors d'entretiens entre les médecins et les patients. S'il s'agit d'une pratique privée, les médecins voudront élaborer des politiques ou des lignes directrices pour pouvoir gérer de telles requêtes.

La participation des professionnels

Les médecins reconnaissent depuis longtemps l'importance d'adopter un comportement professionnel dans toutes les facettes des soins ainsi que dans leur vie privée. Ce professionnalisme est tout autant de mise dans les médias sociaux, où les attentes de la société envers les médecins demeurent les mêmes que dans la vie courante.

Les conséquences d'un manque de professionnalisme dans les médias sociaux sont souvent plus importantes en raison de la portée et du caractère permanent de ces derniers. En effet, il est très difficile de se rétracter une fois qu'un commentaire est affiché ou enregistré.

Parfois, le contenu des médias sociaux laisse une fausse impression de détachement. Pour cette raison, certains usagers répondent ou agissent d'une façon qui pourrait être jugée inappropriée si la rencontre avait lieu en personne. Voilà pourquoi les médecins doivent toujours se demander :

  • Répondrais-je ainsi si la personne ou le groupe se trouvait dans mon bureau ou si j'avais un contact direct?
  • Ma réponse reflète-t-elle ma façon de communiquer?
  • Penserais-je la même chose demain, dans deux mois ou dans un an alors que mon commentaire ou ma participation est toujours accessible publiquement?
  • Ma réponse reflète-t-elle mes obligations professionnelles?

Connaître les obligations

Les médecins doivent protéger les renseignements personnels sur la santé de leurs patients, y compris dans les médias sociaux. Toutefois, les médecins ainsi que les patients doivent connaître les risques et accepter certaines modalités avant de s'engager dans des communications électroniques.

Une information erronée ou inexacte peut se propager rapidement et largement dans les médias sociaux. Cela représente un risque pour les patients, mais aussi pour leurs médecins. Imaginez que vous avez une discussion avec un patient au sujet d'un traitement recommandé alors que celui-ci est dépeint comme étant dangereux dans les médias sociaux. Le patient pourrait avoir des craintes et refuser un traitement en se fondant sur des informations erronées.

Les médecins sont bien placés pour corriger la désinformation auprès des patients. Alors qu'ils n'ont pas l'obligation de surveiller tout ce qui se dit dans les médias sociaux, ils peuvent participer aux échanges tout en ayant pour objectif de fournir de l'information factuelle qui pourrait servir à d'autres. Par contre, quand il s'agit de la propre plateforme de médias sociaux d'un médecin, il est important que ce dernier surveille ce qui s'y dit et qu'il soit en mesure de corriger l'information ou d'intervenir au besoin.

Miser sur les médias sociaux

On reconnaît la valeur des médias sociaux dans le domaine de la santé publique. Ces médias élargissent, par exemple, les possibilités d'informer une communauté de l'apparition d'épidémies, du lieu des centres de vaccination ainsi que des mesures à prendre pour réduire l'exposition aux maladies contagieuses.

Il importe de choisir le média social approprié. Les blogues, les plateformes de messagerie instantanée, les vidéobavardages et les réseaux sociaux sont des plateformes à envisager, pour, entre autres :

  • joindre un grand nombre de professionnels dans le but d'échanger sur des questions de santé publique et des orientations stratégiques;
  • communiquer avec des professionnels au plan national et international pour promouvoir la recherche, les traitements et les modalités de soins;
  • diffuser en temps opportun des renseignements en matière de santé pour déclencher une action.

Les médecins qui ont recours aux blogues ou à d'autres sites de médias sociaux pour échanger sur des questions en matière de santé devraient envisager d'associer la perspective canadienne à l'information fournie. Cette démarche contribuera à mitiger le risque que des personnes ne résidant pas au Canada suivent des conseils pouvant ne pas être appropriés ou pertinents.

La publication d'information sur des blogues ou autres plateformes de médias sociaux pourrait donner lieu à une action en justice à l'extérieur du Canada. De façon générale, si une action en justice est déposée à l'extérieur du Canada, l'ACPM n'offrira aucune assistance aux membres si des problèmes médico-légaux surviennent à la suite de la publication d'information ciblant un auditoire de non-médecins.

Envisager le niveau d'engagement

Que les médecins choisissent ou non de s'engager dans les médias sociaux, ils ne peuvent en ignorer les conséquences.

Si vous n'utilisez pas les médias sociaux, vous devriez :

  • en apprendre suffisamment sur le sujet pour comprendre les conséquences pour les patients, les collègues et les autres membres de l'équipe soignante;
  • évaluer les avantages et les risques possibles de ce genre d'échanges, et se préparer à expliquer aux patients, aux collègues et à d'autres personnes votre décision de ne pas y participer;
  • reconnaître que même si vous n'y participez pas, ce que vous dites ou faites peut quand même se retrouver en ligne;
  • élaborer une politique en matière de médias sociaux pour votre pratique et la communiquer à votre personnel et à vos patients. Le fait de dire que vous n'y participez pas peut vous aider à gérer les attentes du personnel et des patients;
  • déterminer s'il est nécessaire de surveiller ce qui se dit en ligne sur vous ou votre pratique.

Participer aux médias sociaux – à titre personnel

  • Reconnaître qu'il est souvent difficile de délimiter votre vie personnelle et professionnelle dans les médias sociaux. Vous voudrez cependant les séparer le plus possible.
  • Agir dans les médias sociaux comme vous le feriez dans votre vie personnelle et professionnelle (le « comportement virtuel » devrait refléter le comportement adopté dans la vie courante)6. La compassion, le respect et l'intégrité ont aussi leur place dans les médias sociaux.
  • Éviter de devenir « l'ami virtuel » des patients, car il peut ensuite être difficile de séparer les activités professionnelles des activités personnelles. Rappelez-vous que les limites professionnelles s'appliquent dans les médias sociaux, tout comme dans les consultations en personne.
  • Reconnaître que, peu importe les réglages de protection des renseignements personnels, presque tout ce qui se retrouve dans les médias sociaux est largement accessible.
  • Être conscient que ce que vous partagez peut avoir des conséquences sur votre vie professionnelle, et même personnelle, puisque souvent les limites sont floues.
  • Reconnaître le caractère permanent de ce qui est publié dans les médias sociaux et de la difficulté de se rétracter ou d'enlever du contenu.
  • Vérifier ce que l'on dit de vous dans les médias sociaux et vous préparer à corriger l'information ou à intervenir au moment opportun.
  • Passer en revue les lignes directrices du Collège en matière d'utilisation des médias sociaux et s'y conformer.

Participer aux médias sociaux – à titre professionnel

  • Évaluer et déterminer quels sites de médias sociaux vous permettront d'atteindre vos objectifs : par exemple, des blogues pour prodiguer des conseils relatifs aux modes de vie sains; Twitter pour communiquer des mises à jour en temps opportun; Facebook pour réseauter; YouTube pour diffuser des vidéos éducatives.
  • Établir des lignes directrices sur l'usage des médias sociaux, y compris vos attentes envers votre personnel. Faire connaître ces lignes directrices aux patients, aux collègues et aux autres professionnels de la santé.
  • Déterminer si vous êtes l'unique contributeur ou si d'autres participeront à vos activités de médias sociaux. Établir des protocoles pour les mots de passe et changer ces derniers souvent pour éviter l'usurpation de votre identité dans les médias sociaux.
  • Reconnaître que vos activités dans les médias sociaux constituent un prolongement de vos activités professionnelles.
  • Instaurer des mesures visant à préserver la confidentialité des renseignements personnels sur la santé des patients, sauf si les patients ont consenti à les communiquer.
  • Respecter des limites professionnelles appropriées et s'assurer que les renseignements médicaux affichés ne puissent aucunement laisser l'impression que vous cherchez à établir une relation thérapeutique avec des internautes7. Les informations doivent demeurer d'intérêt général et être axées sur de grands enjeux (p. ex., la vaccination).
  • Les médias se servent souvent des médias sociaux pour rechercher les opinions des chefs de file ou des experts d'un thème particulier – il serait utile de déterminer à l'avance vos intérêts, votre préparation ainsi que votre disponibilité pour des entrevues.
  • Reconnaître le caractère permanent de ce qui est partagé dans les médias sociaux ainsi que la difficulté de se rétracter ou d'enlever du contenu.
  • Surveiller ce qui se dit dans votre site de médias sociaux et être prêt à corriger ou à intervenir au moment approprié.
  • Passer en revue les politiques ou les lignes directrices du Collège concernant l'usage des médias sociaux et s'y conformer.

La valeur

Les médias sociaux peuvent être une plateforme importante pour améliorer les décisions en matière de santé, communiquer des connaissances et promouvoir l'adhésion aux modes de vie saine. Lorsqu'ils sont gérés de façon efficace, ils peuvent contribuer à des échanges d'information bénéfiques. Ces outils n'ont pas encore atteint leur plein potentiel et malgré les pièges bien connus, la valeur des médias sociaux demeure.

Suggestions pour aborder les médias sociaux8 :

  1. Apprenez à connaître les divers sites et déterminez lequel peut vous aider à atteindre l'auditoire voulu. Diverses plateformes visent des objectifs différents. Choisissez des objectifs associés aux médias sociaux ainsi que la ou les plateformes appropriées pour les atteindre.
  2. Familiarisez-vous avec les réglages et les politiques en matière de sécurité. Avant de tirer profit de l'information que vous trouverez dans les médias sociaux, apprenez comment utiliser les réglages de sécurité de chaque plateforme ainsi que les politiques pertinentes à votre organisation.
  3. Adhérez, écoutez, apprenez. Avant de participer, créez un profil sur Twitter et Facebook, entre autres, et observez les conversations.
  4. Apprenez à gérer le temps consacré aux médias sociaux. Le volume d'information transmis dans les médias sociaux peut être impressionnant. Apprenez comment filtrer ce qui vous est pertinent afin de rendre le contenu plus gérable.



Références

  1. Pearson Learning Solutions. « Teaching, Learning, and Sharing: How Today's Higher Education Faculty Use Social Media », 2011. Consulté le 5 septembre 2014 à l'adresse suivante : http://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED535130.pdf
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia. « Social Media and Online Networking Forums », Professional Standards and Guidelines, septembre 2010. Consulté le 5 septembre 2014 à l'adresse suivante : https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Social-Media-and-Online-Networking-Forums.pdf
  3. Bahner, D., Adkins, E., Patel, N., Donley, C., Nagel, R., Kman, N. « How we use social media to supplement novel curriculum in medical education », Medical Teacher, 2012, vol. 34, no 6. Consulté le 5 septembre 2014 à l'adresse suivante : http://informahealthcare.com/doi/abs/10.3109/0142159X.2012.668245
  4. Chen, X., Siu, L. « Impact of the Media and the Internet on Oncology: Survey of Cancer Patients and Oncologists in Canada », Journal of Clinical Oncology, 1er décembre 2001, vol. 19, no 23. Consulté le 5 septembre 2014 à l'adresse suivante : http://jco.ascopubs.org/content/19/23/4291.short
  5. Ibid.
  6. Association médicale canadienne. « Les médias sociaux et les médecins canadiens : Enjeux et règles d'engagement », Politique de l'AMC, 2011. Consulté le 5 septembre 2014 à l'adresse suivante : http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/Policypdf/PD12-03F.pdf
  7. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, ouvr. cité.
  8. Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. « Votre pratique se prête-t-elle aux médias sociaux : Voici quatre conseils pour y faire vos premiers pas! », Dialogue, janvier 2014, vol. 14, no 1. Consulté le 5 septembre 2014 à l'adresse suivante : http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/resources/publications/dialogue/vol14_1/social_media

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.