■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

Deceased patients’ medical records: When can they be disclosed?

Factors for physicians to consider when responding to information requests

Medical files

6 minutes

Published: June 2022

The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
22-03-E

As a physician, you may occasionally receive a request for a deceased patient’s medical records. There are many reasons why family members or other individuals may want this information, such as when applying for insurance benefits, settling disputes about the validity of a will, or learning more about the patient’s health condition.

The first items to consider in all such requests are whether you are the custodian of the medical records, whether the individual is entitled to the information, and what type of information may be disclosed. Other factors to consider are the intended uses for the information, and whether the medical records contain sensitive information.

Legal representatives

An individual states they are the legal representative of the deceased patient (e.g. administrator or executor of the estate). Are they entitled to unfettered access to the patient’s medical record?

A legal representative’s ability to access a deceased patient’s medical record depends on the applicable privacy legislation.

In most provinces and territories, the privacy legislation limits such access to purposes related to the administration of the estate.

In some jurisdictions, the privacy legislation grants the legal representative a broad right of access (e.g. British Columbia, Manitoba and Ontario). Legal representatives in these jurisdictions essentially have the same access as the deceased to information in the medical record, subject to any prescribed exemptions (e.g. risk of harm).

What proof do I need they are the legal representative?

You may request a copy of the patient’s will appointing the individual as the legal representative. If the deceased did not appoint a legal representative, some privacy statutes extend access rights to the patient’s nearest relative or the person assuming responsibility for administration of the estate (e.g. British Columbia, Ontario, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Northwest Territories and Yukon).

If a copy of the will is not readily available, and there is no reason to believe the estate is contentious, you may simply confirm that the individual requesting the information is the legal representative or person assuming responsibility for administration of the estate. Make a notation to this effect in the medical record. If you are aware of a potential dispute regarding the estate, and the records may prove to be controversial, it would be prudent to obtain the will before releasing the information.

Legal representatives and substitute decision-makers

The legal representative of the deceased patient may be different from the patient’s substitute decision-maker while alive. The legal representative of a deceased patient is generally the person named in the patient’s will as the executor, administrator or estate trustee.

Administration of an estate

What is a “purpose related to the administration of the estate”?

In responding to a request for records, it’s prudent to confirm with the legal representative that the records are needed for administering the estate (in those provinces/territories where this requirement exists). You generally do not need to conduct further inquiries.

Generally speaking, the medical records will be considered relevant to administering the estate if for purposes such as determining whether the estate/beneficiaries should receive benefits under an insurance policy, defending claims against the estate, or preparing an action on behalf of the estate for injuries suffered by the deceased person prior to death.

If the legal representative indicates they only want the information for personal reasons, it would generally not be reasonable to provide the records, unless there is permissive authority in the relevant privacy legislation (discussed below). For example, reasons such as bringing closure to the patient’s death are generally not considered to be related to the administration of the estate.

Sensitive information

There is sensitive information in the deceased patient’s records. Can I refuse to provide access to the legal representative?

If the records are required for administering the estate, you are generally only able to withhold information if a prescribed exemption applies. This is true even if the information is sensitive and the patient had indicated while alive that they did not want anyone to have access to certain information.

It is not up to the physician to determine whether the information is relevant for administering the estate. A physician would be vulnerable to a complaint and criticism from their regulatory authority (College) and/or privacy commissioner if they unreasonably deny access to records.

  • In these situations, the best you can do is to alert the legal representative that the records contain sensitive information that the patient did not want disclosed.

All Canadian privacy statutes include exceptions that may limit what information a legal representative can access within the deceased’s records.

  • You may refuse access to sensitive information if, for example, the access could reasonably be expected to result in a risk of serious harm to another person, or if it enables a person who provided information in confidence to be identified and it is appropriate in the circumstances for their identity to remain confidential.

If an exception applies to some parts of the record, the legal representative may still have a right of access to the other parts of the record that can reasonably be severed from the part of the record to which the exception applies.

Other permissible access

May I share information with family members or other individuals who are not the legal representative, or for purposes other than administrating the estate?

In most jurisdictions, you may be permitted to disclose a deceased’s personal health information for reasons other than administering the estate and to someone other than the legal representative. The information that can be disclosed is typically limited to the circumstances surrounding the death of the individual or health services the patient recently received.

In some jurisdictions, you may also be permitted to disclose patient information to the deceased person’s spouse, common-law partner, sibling or descendant if the recipient reasonably requires the information to make decisions about their own or their child’s healthcare (e.g. Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador and Prince Edward Island).

Because these provisions are permissible, you are not required to disclose the information. Accordingly, if the patient had expressed a prior wish not to share personal health information with anyone, avoid disclosing the information unless the requesting individual is the legal representative of the deceased patient.

Responding to coroners and medical examiners

Legislation may allow a coroner to access medical records, while physicians should consider their duty of confidentiality to a deceased patient. Read the CMPA article “Understanding the role of coroners and medical examiners”, on how to respond to a coroner (or delegate) who is seeking medical information about a deceased patient.

Guidance for physicians in Québec

The Collège des médecins du Québec provides guidance for physicians practising in Québec when responding to requests for deceased patients’ medical records. See “L’accès au dossier médical d’un patient décédé [PDF]” (available in French only).

The bottom line

If you receive a request for a deceased patient’s medical records:

  • Ask yourself whether you are the custodian of the medical records, as only the custodian may disclose them.
  • Determine whether the individual has authority to access the records, either because they are the legal representative or there is another permissive authority under the relevant privacy legislation.
  • Where applicable, confirm with the legal representative that the records are required for administering the estate.
  • Assess whether any information should be excluded based on an exception under the relevant privacy legislation.
  • You may contact the CMPA if you are uncertain whether to release the requested records.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Obligations et responsabilités :

Les attentes vis-à-vis des médecins

Dans quels cas peut-on donner accès au dossier médical d’une personne décédée?

Demande d’accès : facteurs à considérer avant d’y répondre

Dossiers médicaux

7 minutes

Publié : juin 2022

Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
22-03-F

En tant que médecin, vous pouvez parfois recevoir une demande d’accès au dossier médical d’une personne décédée, et les raisons pour lesquelles un membre de la famille ou une autre personne peut vouloir y accéder sont nombreuses (p. ex. demande de prestations d’assurance, règlement d’un litige concernant la validité d’un testament ou volonté d’en savoir plus sur l’état de santé du patient ou de la patiente).

Lorsqu’une telle situation se présente, la première étape consiste à vérifier si vous êtes bien dépositaire du dossier médical, si la personne qui soumet la demande est en droit d’accéder au dossier et s’il s’agit de renseignements pouvant être divulgués. Il faut également tenir compte de l’utilisation prévue de l’information et de la présence de renseignements délicats dans le dossier médical.

Représentants légaux

Une personne dit représenter légalement quelqu’un qui faisait partie de votre patientèle (p. ex. responsable de l’exécution testamentaire ou de l’administration de la succession). Dispose-t-elle d’un droit d’accès sans restriction au dossier médical de la personne décédée?

L’accès au dossier médical qui est accordé à la représentante ou au représentant légal varie en fonction des lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels qui s’appliquent.

Dans la plupart des provinces et territoires, la législation limite cet accès aux fins liées à l’administration d’une succession.

Néanmoins, dans certaines provinces (p. ex. Colombie-Britannique, Manitoba et Ontario), la législation relative à la protection des renseignements personnels accorde un droit d’accès général à la représentante ou au représentant légal. Ces personnes disposent donc d’un accès comparable à celui des patients, sous réserve des exceptions prévues (p. ex. risque de préjudice).

Quelles preuves doit fournir une représentante ou un représentant légal?

Vous pouvez demander une copie du testament dans lequel figure le nom de la personne désignée comme représentante légale. Dans les cas où une personne décédée n’a pas désigné quelqu’un pour la représenter, certaines lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels accordent un droit d’accès général au plus proche parent ou à la personne responsable de l’administration de la succession (p. ex. Colombie-Britannique, Ontario, Nouvelle-Écosse, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Yukon).

S’il vous est impossible d’obtenir une copie du testament et qu’il n’y a pas de raison de croire que la succession est litigieuse, vous pouvez simplement confirmer auprès de la personne qui soumet la demande d’accès qu’elle est bien la représentante légale de la personne décédée ou la responsable de la succession. Assurez-vous de verser une note à ce sujet dans le dossier médical. Si vous savez qu’une succession risque d’être litigieuse et que le dossier médical pourrait susciter la controverse, il serait prudent d’obtenir une copie du testament avant de donner accès aux renseignements.

Représentants légaux et décideurs remplaçants

Ce n’est pas nécessairement la même personne qui joue le rôle de décideur remplaçant (avant le décès) et celui de représentant légal (après le décès). En général, celle qui agit à titre de représentante légale est celle qui est désignée comme responsable de l’exécution testamentaire ou de l’administration de la succession dans le testament.

Administration d’une succession

Que signifie la mention « fins liées à l’administration de la succession »?

Lorsqu’une demande d’accès au dossier médical est soumise, il est important de vérifier auprès de la représentante ou du représentant légal si les renseignements sont requis aux fins de l’administration de la succession (dans les provinces et territoires où cette condition est appliquée). Souvent, il n’est pas nécessaire de poser plus de questions.

En général, on considère que les dossiers médicaux sont nécessaires à l’administration de la succession lorsqu’on doit déterminer si la succession ou d’autres bénéficiaires désignés ont droit à des prestations d’assurance, contester des réclamations à l’égard des biens de la succession ou préparer une action en justice au nom de la succession pour des préjudices subis avant le décès.

Dans les cas où seuls des motifs personnels sont invoqués, il n’est généralement pas raisonnable d’accéder à la demande d’accès, à moins qu’une permission à cet égard ne soit accordée à la représentante ou au représentant légal en vertu de la loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels qui s’applique (abordée ci-dessous). Par exemple, le fait de vouloir tourner la page après le décès d’une personne n’est généralement pas considéré comme nécessaire à l’administration d’une succession.

Renseignements délicats

Le dossier médical d’une personne décédée contient des renseignements délicats. Puis-je en refuser l’accès à la représentante ou au représentant légal?

Lorsqu’un dossier médical est nécessaire à l’administration d’une succession, la confidentialité des renseignements peut être préservée uniquement si une exemption prévue par la loi s’applique. C’est le cas même si les renseignements sont de nature délicate et si la patiente ou le patient a, de son vivant, demandé à ce que personne n’ait accès à certains renseignements.

Il ne relève pas des médecins de déterminer si l’information est pertinente dans les cas d’administration de successions. Les médecins peuvent faire l’objet d’une plainte ou de critiques de la part de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) ou de la commission à la protection de la vie privée de leur région s’ils refusent, sans motif raisonnable, l’accès au dossier médical d’une personne décédée.

  • Dans les cas où une personne a de son vivant demandé à ce que certains renseignements délicats ne soient pas divulgués, la meilleure chose à faire est d’informer la représentante ou le représentant légal de cette volonté.

Toutes les lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels au Canada comptent des exceptions qui peuvent limiter les renseignements issus du dossier médical d’une personne décédée auxquels peut accéder une représentante ou un représentant légal.

  • Vous pouvez refuser l’accès aux renseignements délicats si, par exemple, cela risque vraisemblablement de causer un préjudice grave à un tiers ou permet d’identifier une personne ayant fourni de l’information de manière confidentielle alors qu’il convient, dans les circonstances, de préserver la confidentialité de son identité.

Lorsqu’une exemption s’applique à certaines parties du dossier médical, la représentante ou le représentant légal peut quand même avoir accès aux renseignements pouvant être raisonnablement prélevés de ceux assujettis à l’exemption.

Accès facultatif

Puis-je donner accès au dossier médical d’une personne décédée à un membre de la famille ou à une autre personne qui n’est pas la représentante légale, ou encore pour des fins autres que l’administration d’une succession?

Dans la plupart des provinces et territoires, il est permis de donner accès aux renseignements personnels sur la santé d’une personne décédée à quelqu’un qui ne représente pas légalement cette dernière, mais aussi pour des fins autres que l’administration de la succession. L’information pouvant être divulguée se limite normalement aux circonstances du décès ou aux services de santé ayant été fournis récemment.

Dans certaines provinces et certains territoires (p. ex. Ontario, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et Île-du-Prince-Édouard), il est permis de divulguer les renseignements personnels de personnes décédées à leurs proches (conjoints, conjoints de fait, fratrie, ou descendants) si ceux-ci en ont besoin pour prendre des décisions au sujet de leurs propres soins de santé ou de ceux de leurs enfants.

Comme il s’agit de dispositions facultatives, vous n’avez aucune obligation de divulguer l’information. Par conséquent, si une patiente ou un patient décédé a déjà exprimé la volonté de ne pas divulguer ses renseignements personnels à quiconque, évitez de le faire sauf si la demande provient de sa représentante ou de son représentant légal.

Coroners et médecins légistes : comment répondre à leurs demandes?

S’il est possible pour les coroners d’accéder aux dossiers médicaux de personnes décédées en vertu de la législation en vigueur, les médecins doivent néanmoins tenir compte de leur devoir de confidentialité. Veuillez lire l’article de l’ACPM intitulé Comprendre le rôle des coroners et médecins légistes, qui porte sur la manière de répondre aux coroners (ou aux personnes qui les représentent) qui souhaitent obtenir de l’information médicale sur une personne décédée.

Directives pour les médecins du Québec

Le Collège des médecins du Québec a publié des directives à l’intention des médecins québécois qui doivent répondre à des demandes d’accès au dossier médical de personnes décédées. Voir L’accès au dossier médical d’un patient décédé [PDF].

En bref

Si vous recevez une demande d’accès au dossier médical d’une personne décédée :

  • Vérifiez si vous êtes bien dépositaire du dossier médical puisque seule cette personne est autorisée à divulguer les renseignements qu’il contient.
  • Vérifiez si la personne qui soumet la demande a le droit d’accéder au dossier médical, que ce soit à titre de représentante ou de représentant légal ou parce qu’elle dispose d’un autre droit conféré en vertu d’une loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.
  • S’il y a lieu, confirmez auprès de la représentante ou du représentant légal que le dossier est nécessaire à l’administration de la succession.
  • Vérifiez si certains renseignements devraient être exclus en raison d’une exemption prévue par la loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.
  • En cas de doute, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec l’ACPM pour déterminer si vous pouvez donner accès au dossier demandé.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.