■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

When can you safely delegate?

Points to keep in mind before delegating

A small group of healthcare professionals meets in a hallway.

4 minutes

Published: October 2022

The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
22-06-E

Case scenario: Order for Botox administration

Daniel, a nurse, wants to begin administering Botox to patients for cosmetic purposes, but does not have the authority to perform this activity. He knows Kate, a family physician, from their children’s school. When he sees Kate at a school function, he asks if she can write the order for Botox, and offers her 10% of the proceeds. Kate declines, saying that she is unable to safely delegate because she has never administered Botox or any other dermal filler, and because no doctor-patient relationship exists.

What is delegation?

Delegation occurs when a physician authorized to perform a controlled act1 confers that authority to someone else. Delegation can be a challenging area for physicians, since the level of direct guidance varies widely across the country. In Ontario, for instance, the Regulated Health Professions Act and the CPSO’s Delegation of Controlled Acts policy both address delegation. However, in many jurisdictions, there are no specific laws or College policies that guide delegation.

When is delegation appropriate?

Regardless of whether your jurisdiction has a specific law or policy on delegation, the same general principles apply. In order to delegate safely, you should ask the following questions:

  1. Can you competently perform the activity in question? Any activity you plan to delegate must be within your scope of practice, and you must have the knowledge and experience necessary to perform the activity yourself. In the case scenario, although administering an injection is clearly within a family physician’s scope of practice, the physician had no experience injecting Botox or dermal fillers, so delegation was not appropriate.
  2. Can you provide appropriate supervision and monitoring? While direct supervision may not be required in every case, the level of supervision necessary for safe delegation will generally depend on: the act being delegated and the risk it entails; the patient’s specific circumstances; the setting where the act will be performed; and the skill of the delegate.
  3. Does the person you’re delegating to have the required knowledge, skill, and judgment? To ensure safe care, a physician should have previously observed the individual perform the activity, or had a discussion with the individual to ensure they have the knowledge, skill, and judgment necessary to perform the activity and obtain informed consent from the patient.
  4. Does a doctor-patient relationship exist? In the absence of broad standing orders for delegation (such as those used in hospital settings), a physician is expected to have assessed the patient before delegation can occur. The physician should also re-assess the patient whenever a change in treatment is contemplated.

Delegation in specific situations

Delegating to other healthcare providers

When a healthcare provider performs an authorized act within their scope of practice, physician delegation or supervision is not required. A physician who is asked to delegate or adopt a supervisory role in these circumstances may unnecessarily assume responsibility, and expose themselves to liability for acts the other provider was already authorized to perform independently. If you are considering delegating to another healthcare provider, and have questions about their scope of practice, contact the provider’s regulatory authority.

Cosmetic procedures

Some jurisdictions have specific policies around delegating cosmetic procedures (such as Botox and dermal fillers) outside of an existing doctor-patient relationship. For example, see the CPSO’s Advice to the Profession: Delegation of Controlled Acts, and the CPSBC’s practice standard on Injection of Botulinum Toxin, Dermal Fillers and Venous Sclerotherapy. As with any other delegated act, the delegation of cosmetic procedures requires: competence on the part of the delegating physician; supervision and monitoring of the delegate; an assessment of the delegate’s skill, knowledge, and judgment; and assessment of the patient by the physician.

Delegation and CMPA’s Extent of Assistance

Physicians and their employees may be named in legal actions arising from delegated tasks. CMPA members are generally eligible for assistance for medico-legal matters arising from clinical care in which they are named even if actions or omissions of their employees are at issue. However, CMPA assistance will only be available to employees of physician members if they meet the CMPA’s Principles of Assistance to Clinics and Facilities.

The bottom line

Delegation works well in many situations, and a physician can appropriately delegate many acts to other healthcare providers. However, a physician could be subject to a lawsuit or College complaint if the delegated act leads to patient harm, and the physician was aware that:

  • the delegate was not capable of performing the act safely
  • delegation was not appropriate in the case of that particular patient
  • the delegation was not sufficiently precise, or
  • there was insufficient supervision.

Carefully assessing whether delegation is appropriate in each situation can help reduce medico-legal risk. Physicians are encouraged to review College policies or standards, and any applicable legislation related to delegation in their jurisdiction.

In Québec, healthcare professionals are only permitted to perform acts authorized by their relevant governing legislation and in accordance with any specified requirements. Accordingly, physicians can only request that another healthcare professional perform a reserved act if the legislation governing the other healthcare professional authorizes them to perform that act.

Additional reading


Note

  1. Different jurisdictions use different terms to refer activities that can be performed only by certain healthcare professionals. For example, the term “controlled act” is used in Ontario, while the term “restricted activity” is used in Alberta. The same principles apply regardless of the term used.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Obligations et responsabilités :

Les attentes vis-à-vis des médecins

Déléguer en toute sécurité : conditions requises

Facteurs à considérer avant de déléguer

Petit groupe de professionnelles et professionnels de la santé qui se rencontrent dans un couloir.

4 minutes

Publié : octobre 2022

Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
22-06-F

Exemple de cas : demande d’injection de Botox

Daniel, un infirmier, souhaite injecter du Botox à des patients à des fins esthétiques, mais il n’est pas autorisé à le faire. À l’école de ses enfants, il fait la rencontre de Karine, qui est médecin de famille. Au cours d’un événement organisé à l’école, il lui demande si elle peut lui fournir une ordonnance de Botox. En contrepartie, il lui remettrait 10 % des profits. Karine refuse et lui explique qu’il lui est impossible de déléguer une telle intervention de façon sécuritaire puisqu’elle n’a jamais effectué d’injection de Botox ou de tout autre agent de comblement, et parce qu’il n’existe pas de relation thérapeutique.

En quoi consiste la délégation?

La délégation est un mécanisme qui permet aux médecins qui ont l’autorisation d’accomplir un acte contrôlé1 d’accorder cette autorisation à quelqu’un d’autre. Il s’agit d’une décision complexe pour certains médecins puisque les lignes directrices varient dans une vaste mesure d’une province et d’un territoire à l’autre. En Ontario, par exemple, la Loi sur les professions de santé réglementées et la politique Délégation des actes autorisées de l’OMCO abordent toutes deux le sujet. Cependant, dans plusieurs provinces et territoires, il n’existe aucune loi ou politique de Collèges régissant la délégation.

Dans quelles conditions la délégation est-elle appropriée?

Peu importe si votre province ou territoire dispose d’une loi ou d’une politique spécifique en matière de délégation, les mêmes principes s’appliquent. Pour déléguer en toute sécurité, vous devez vous poser les questions suivantes :

  1. Disposez-vous des compétences nécessaires pour effectuer l’activité en question? Toute activité que vous prévoyez déléguer doit relever de votre champ d’exercice, et vous devez disposer des connaissances et de l’expérience nécessaires pour l’effectuer vous-même. Dans cet exemple de cas, même si l’administration d’une injection relève clairement du champ d’exercice de la médecin de famille, celle-ci n’a pas d’expérience quant à l’injection de Botox ou d’autres agents de comblement et il n’est donc pas approprié pour elle de déléguer cette intervention.
  2. Pouvez-vous assurer une supervision et une surveillance appropriées? Il n’est pas nécessaire d’assurer une supervision directe dans tous les cas, mais de façon générale, le niveau de supervision requis pour déléguer une activité en toute sécurité dépend de ce qui suit : l’activité déléguée et les risques associés; les particularités de la patiente ou du patient; le milieu dans lequel l’activité sera réalisée; et les aptitudes de la personne à qui on délègue l’activité.
  3. Est-ce que la personne à qui vous déléguez l’activité dispose des connaissances, des aptitudes et du jugement nécessaires? Les médecins doivent veiller à ce que les soins prodigués soient sécuritaires et, par conséquent, lorsqu’ils délèguent une activité à une autre personne, il leur faut avoir déjà vu celle-ci effectuer cette activité, ou encore avoir eu une discussion avec elle pour s’assurer qu’elle dispose des connaissances, des aptitudes et du jugement nécessaires pour le faire et pour obtenir le consentement éclairé des patients.
  4. Existe-t-il une relation thérapeutique? En l’absence de directives internes de portée générale en matière de délégation (comme celles qui sont mises en place en milieu hospitalier), on s’attend à ce que les médecins évaluent les patients avant de déléguer une activité. De plus, ils devraient évaluer à nouveau les patients chaque fois qu’une modification du traitement est envisagée.

Délégation dans des situations particulières

Délégation à d’autres professionnelles ou professionnels de la santé

Lorsque des professionnelles ou professionnels de la santé effectuent un acte autorisé qui relève de leur champ d’exercice, il n’est pas nécessaire que cet acte soit délégué ou supervisé par une ou un médecin. Les médecins à qui on demande de déléguer ou de superviser un acte autorisé dans de telles circonstances peuvent avoir à en assumer indûment la responsabilité et risquent ainsi d’être imputables pour les actes d’autres professionnelles ou professionnels de la santé déjà autorisés à les effectuer de façon autonome. Si vous envisagez de déléguer un acte autorisé à d’autres professionnelles ou professionnels de la santé et que vous avez des questions au sujet de leur champ d’exercice, communiquez avec leur organisme de réglementation.

Interventions esthétiques

Quelques provinces et territoires disposent de politiques particulières sur la délégation des interventions esthétiques (comme l’injection de Botox et d’agents de comblement) en l’absence de relation thérapeutique. Par exemple, citons la politique Conseils à la profession : Délégation des actes autorisés de l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario (OMCO) et la norme de pratique du College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia (CPSBC) intitulée Injection of Botulinum Toxin, Dermal Fillers and Venous Sclerotherapy. Comme c’est le cas pour tout autre acte autorisé, la délégation des interventions esthétiques exige ce qui suit : compétences des médecins qui délèguent l’intervention; supervision et surveillance de la personne à qui on délègue l’intervention; évaluation des aptitudes, des connaissances et du jugement de la personne à qui on délègue l’intervention; et évaluation des patients par les médecins.

Délégation et étendue de l’assistance de l’ACPM

Les médecins et les membres de leur personnel peuvent être nommés dans des actions en justice découlant de tâches ayant été déléguées. Les membres de l’ACPM sont généralement admissibles à l’assistance de l’ACPM lorsque des actions en justice sont intentées contre eux pour des actes ou des omissions de leur personnel. Cependant, les membres du personnel des médecins ne pourront bénéficier de l’assistance de l’ACPM que s’ils ont respecté les principes de l’assistance aux cliniques et aux établissements privés.

En bref

La délégation est un mécanisme efficace dans de nombreuses situations, et plusieurs actes peuvent être délégués adéquatement à d’autres professionnelles et professionnels de la santé par les médecins. Cependant, ceux-ci peuvent faire l’objet de poursuites ou d’une plainte auprès de leur Collège si les actes délégués causent un préjudice et qu’ils savaient que :

  • la personne à qui ils ont délégué l’acte n’était pas en mesure de l’effectuer en toute sécurité;
  • la délégation était inappropriée dans le cas particulier de cette patiente ou de ce patient;
  • la délégation manquait de précision;
  • la supervision était insuffisante.

Il est possible de réduire les risques médico-légaux en évaluant avec soin s’il convient de déléguer un acte dans une situation donnée. On encourage les médecins à revoir les politiques et les normes de leur Collège ainsi que toutes les lois qui s’appliquent dans leur province ou territoire en matière de délégation.

Au Québec, seuls les actes autorisés en vertu des lois qui encadrent les professionnels de la santé peuvent être accomplis par ces derniers, conformément aux exigences précisées, s’il y a lieu. Par conséquent, les médecins ne peuvent demander à d’autres membres d’une profession de la santé d’accomplir un acte réservé que si ces derniers sont autorisés à le faire en vertu des lois régissant l’exercice de leur profession.

Suggestions de lecture


Remarque

  1. Les termes utilisés pour désigner les activités ne pouvant être réalisées que par des professionnelles et professionnels de la santé particuliers varient d’une province et d’un territoire à l’autre. Par exemple, si le terme « acte autorisé » est utilisé en Ontario, on utilise plutôt celui d’« activité réservée » au Québec. Les mêmes principes s’appliquent toutefois, sans égard au terme employé.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.