Principles of assistance

Providing medical input in an administrative role

Originally published June 1999 / Revised February 2016

The Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA) provides medical-legal assistance to members, where eligible, for matters arising from their medical professional work or that call into question their medical professional expertise.

Physicians may be asked to participate in committees, boards (including research boards), or management for organizations such as hospitals, health authorities, community colleges, and universities. Physicians may also act as the medical director/chief medical officer for corporations, health-related organizations, and cultural or sporting events. The following outlines the CMPA's principles of assistance for members who serve in administrative roles.

The CMPA will not generally extend assistance with respect to administrative duties undertaken by members. Therefore, the CMPA will not typically assist with non-clinical acts that members perform in their administrative role. For example, the CMPA will not generally extend assistance to defend policies, procedures, or other directives established on behalf of other organizations. Physicians fulfilling an administrative role should ensure that the organization that they are being asked to serve will provide them with full defence and full indemnification in the event of legal problems that arise from their role.

CMPA members will generally be eligible for assistance in the event of medical-legal difficulties arising from their medical advice and opinions. For example, CMPA assistance would generally be available to a member facing an allegation that any medical input such as advice and opinions provided by the member to a board, committee, or management was negligent.

The bottom line

Physicians contemplating an administrative role should consider the following:

  • CMPA assistance is generally limited to matters arising from a member's medical professional work.
  • CMPA assistance is generally available to members for matters arising from their medical input, but not for matters related to non-clinical acts that members perform in their administrative role.
  • Members should obtain, in writing, confirmation from the organization that it will provide full defence and full indemnification for any legal matter arising from their administrative role.
  • Members should carefully review all indemnification clauses in any contract or agreement with their personal lawyer prior to signing it. 

For further information, please see:


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Principes de l’assistance

Conseils médicaux prodigués dans le cadre d’un rôle administratif

Publié initialement en juin 1999/révisé en février 2016

L’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) offre aux membres admissibles une assistance dans l’éventualité de problèmes médico-légaux découlant de l’exercice de la médecine ou mettant en cause leur expertise médicale.

Les médecins peuvent être invités à participer à des comités, à des conseils (y compris de recherche) ou à la direction de divers organismes, tels que des hôpitaux, des autorités en matière de santé, des collèges communautaires et des universités. Les médecins peuvent aussi agir en tant que directeur médical ou médecin-chef pour le compte de sociétés, d’organismes du domaine de la santé et de manifestations culturelles ou sportives. Cet article décrit les principes de l’ACPM en matière d’assistance offerte aux membres exerçant un rôle administratif.

L’ACPM n’offre généralement pas d’assistance à l’égard des tâches administratives assumées par les membres. Ainsi, l’ACPM n’accorde généralement pas d’assistance aux membres pour des actes qui ne sont pas de nature clinique, effectués dans le cadre de leur rôle administratif. À titre d’exemple, l’ACPM n’offre généralement pas d’assistance pour défendre des politiques, procédures ou directives établies par d’autres organismes. Les médecins qui exercent un rôle administratif devraient s’assurer que l’organisme pour le compte duquel on leur demande de travailler les défendra et leur fournira une indemnisation complète advenant des problèmes juridiques découlant de leur rôle.

Les membres de l’ACPM sont généralement admissibles à une assistance dans l’éventualité de problèmes médico-légaux découlant de leurs conseils et opinions d’ordre médical. À titre d’exemple, l’assistance de l’ACPM serait généralement accordée à un membre s’il était allégué que les opinions ou les conseils médicaux donnés à un conseil, à un comité ou à la direction relevaient de la négligence ou d’une faute professionnelle.

En bref

Les médecins qui envisagent d’assumer un rôle administratif devraient prendre en considération les éléments suivants :

  • L’assistance que l’ACPM prête à ses membres se limite en règle générale aux problèmes découlant de l’exercice de la profession médicale.
  • L’assistance de l’ACPM est généralement offerte aux membres pour des questions découlant de conseils médicaux et non pour des questions liées à des actes qui ne sont pas de nature clinique, effectués dans le cadre de leur rôle administratif.
  • Les membres devraient obtenir, par écrit, une confirmation dans laquelle l’organisme accepte de les défendre et de leur accorder une indemnisation complète advenant tout problème médico-légal découlant de leur rôle administratif.
  • Les membres devraient lire attentivement toutes les clauses d’indemnisation dans tout contrat ou toute entente avec leur avocat personnel avant d’apposer leur signature.

Pour plus d’information, consultez les ressources suivantes :


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.