Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Clearing the haze: How the legalization of recreational marijuana may affect your medical practice

Originally published October 2018

18-21-E

The recreational use of marijuana is legal across Canada effective October 17, 2018. So, will the new law signal the end of marijuana for medical purposes? And, what other changes could it bring to your medical practice?

Impact on marijuana for medical purposes

Although the federal Cannabis Act1 legalizes and regulates marijuana for personal use, it does not substantively change or affect the current regulations around marijuana for medical purposes.

The government purposely kept the legislation governing marijuana for personal use separate from the regime for marijuana for medical purposes. The reasons include ensuring individuals who need marijuana for medical purposes are not limited by the restrictions that apply to recreational use under the Cannabis Act.

For example, some patients may ask their insurer to reimburse them for the cost of marijuana for medical purposes, which presumably will not be possible for recreational cannabis. As well, while there is no age restriction on access to marijuana for medical purposes, the Cannabis Act restricts access to recreational marijuana to persons 18 years of age and older.2 The limits for possession are also different under the two regimes.

The new legislation for recreational marijuana does not change the role you as a physician and nurse practitioners play with respect to marijuana for medical purposes. It is expected patients will continue to ask you for the medical documents needed to access marijuana for medical purposes. When determining whether it is appropriate to complete a medical document for a patient, you should follow the guidelines and policies of your medical regulatory authority (College) that are specific to marijuana for medical purposes. To date, all Colleges except Northwest Territories and Nunavut have issued such guidance.

For more information on marijuana for medical purposes, please see the CMPA’s publication, "Medical marijuana: Considerations for Canadian doctors."3 The Canadian Medical Association also has guidance for physicians in its policy, "Authorizing Marijuana for Medical Purposes."4

Impact on other aspects of medical practice

Until many of the details concerning the legal use of recreational marijuana are fleshed out in legislation and by-laws at the provincial and municipal levels, it’s difficult to predict its full impact. The parts of your medical practice that may see changes include police requests for blood samples, some clinical practices, and the duty to report patients unfit to operate a motor vehicle.

Police requests for blood samples

You may see an increase in police requests for blood samples from patients suspected of driving while impaired by marijuana, especially if you are an emergency physician. The government has amended the Criminal Code, making it an offence to have a blood drug concentration (BDC) equal to or in excess of the prescribed level for tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) within two hours after driving a motor vehicle. These amendments will also make it somewhat easier for police to demand a blood sample from a suspect, which could result in more requests to physicians.

You may also find that the police have a greater sense of urgency in requesting blood samples from suspected marijuana-impaired drivers than suspected alcohol-impaired drivers. BDC levels, particularly for smoked cannabis, can decline more rapidly after consumption than alcohol so time can take on greater importance for the police.

Despite these amendments and any perceived sense of urgency, you are still not allowed to take blood samples from competent patients without their consent. It is not an offence to refuse to take a sample from an individual in these circumstances.

If you determine a patient is incapable, but the police have obtained a search warrant requiring the taking of blood from this patient, you must comply. The police can only obtain and execute such a warrant if a qualified medical practitioner forms the opinion that the individual is unable to consent to the taking of a blood sample, and taking the sample would not endanger the person’s life or health.

For additional information about search warrants and police investigations, please see the CMPA’s publication, "Physician interactions with police."5

Clinical issues

Marijuana may interact with other medications being taken by a patient. It may also potentially affect a patient’s existing medical condition.

The legalization of recreational marijuana may prompt you to consider more routinely asking patients about use of the substance. This will allow you to better assess the health risks and potential interactions with other medications.6 You should consider discussing with patients the known risks of cannabis consumption on their health. This discussion should be documented in the patient’s medical record.

Fitness to drive

You should also consider whether a patient’s marijuana consumption might render them unfit to operate a motor vehicle safely. Health Canada states, "...it is well known that exposure to [cannabis] impairs psychomotor performance and patients must be warned not to drive or operate complex machinery after smoking or eating cannabis or consuming psychoactive cannabinoid medications (e.g. dronabinol, nabilone, nabiximols)."7

For more information about the duty to report unfit drivers, please see the CMPA’s publication "Fitness to drive: When do physicians have a duty to report?"8 and the Canadian Medical Association’s Driver’s Guide: Determining Medical Fitness to Operate Motor Vehicles (9th ed.),9 which contains a section on marijuana consumption. You may also wish to consult with your provincial or territorial motor vehicle licensing authority about any guidance on the use of cannabis and driving.

Contact the CMPA

You are encouraged to contact the CMPA with any questions concerning medical-legal issues resulting from the legalization of recreational use marijuana.




References

  1. Cannabis Act, S.C. 2018, c. 16
  2. Most provinces and territories (except Québec and Alberta) have set 19 years as the minimum age to be consistent with provincial age restrictions for alcohol
  3. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Medical marijuana: Considerations for Canadian physicians. Ottawa (CA):CMPA;2016 Aug [cited 2018 Sept 13]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2014/medical-marijuana-new-regulations-new-college-guidance-for-canadian-doctors
  4. Canadian Medical Association [Internet]. Authorizing marijuana for medical purposes. Ottawa (CA):CMA;2015 [cited 2018 Sept 13]. Available from: https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/CMA_Policy_Authorizing_Marijuana_for_Medical_Purposes_Update_2015_PD15-04-e.pdf
  5. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Physician interactions with police. Ottawa (CA):CMPA;2018 Oct [cited 2018 Sept 13]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2011/physician-interactions-with-police
  6. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario [Internet]. Legalization may see more patients discuss marijuana use. Dialogue, Issue 2, 2018 at 40. Accessed September 10, 2018 from: https://www.cpso.on.ca/cpso/media/documents/publications/dialogue/dialogue_vol14iss2.pdf.
  7. Health Canada, "Information for Health Care Professionals: Cannabis (marihuana, marijuana) and the cannabinoids". Accessed September 10, 2018 from: https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/drugs-medication/cannabis/information-medical-practitioners/information-health-care-professionals-cannabis-cannabinoids.html#chp771
  8. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Fitness to drive: When do physicians have a duty to report? Ottawa (CA);CMPA:2016 Oct [cited 2018 Sept 13]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2011/physician-interactions-with-police
  9. Canadian Medical Association. Drivers’ Guide: Determining medical fitness to operate motor vehicles. 9th ed. Ottawa (CA):CMA

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Pour y voir plus clair : la légalisation du cannabis à usage récréatif et son incidence sur votre pratique

Publié initialement en octobre 2018; révisé en avril 2019
18-21-F

Maintenant que le cannabis à usage récréatif est légal au Canada, les médecins peuvent s’attendre à ce que leurs patients leur posent davantage de questions au sujet de son usage à des fins récréatives et médicales. Cet article décrit comment la légalisation du cannabis à usage récréatif peut avoir une incidence sur votre pratique médicale.

Répercussions sur le cannabis à des fins médicales

Bien que la Loi sur le cannabis1 fédérale légalise et réglemente le cannabis à des fins personnelles, elle ne modifie pas de façon substantielle le cadre juridique actuel qui s’applique au cannabis à des fins médicales, maintenant en vertu du Règlement sur le cannabis.2

Le gouvernement s’est expressément assuré de distinguer la loi régissant le cannabis à des fins personnelles du régime qui s’applique au cannabis à des fins médicales. Parmi les raisons invoquées, on trouve le fait d’éviter que les patients utilisant du cannabis à des fins médicales se voient imposer les restrictions qui régiront l’usage récréatif de cette substance en vertu de la Loi sur le cannabis.

Par exemple, certains patients pourraient demander à leur assureur de les rembourser pour l’achat de cannabis à des fins médicales, ce qui ne sera vraisemblablement pas possible pour le cannabis à usage récréatif. De plus, bien qu’aucune restriction en fonction de l’âge ne s’applique au cannabis à des fins médicales, la Loi sur le cannabis restreint l’usage récréatif du cannabis aux personnes de 18 ans ou plus.3 Les limites en matière de possession diffèrent également dans les deux cas.

La nouvelle loi régissant le cannabis à usage récréatif ne modifie pas le rôle des médecins et des infirmiers praticiens à l’égard du cannabis à des fins médicales. On s’attend à ce que des patients continuent de vous demander les documents médicaux requis pour obtenir du cannabis à des fins médicales. Au moment de déterminer s’il est indiqué de remplir de tels documents, vous devriez respecter les lignes directrices et les politiques de votre organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) s’appliquant au cannabis à des fins médicales. À ce jour, de telles lignes directrices ont été émises partout au pays, sauf aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le cannabis à des fins médicales, reportez-vous à l’article de l’ACPM intitulé « Le cannabis à des fins médicales : ce que les médecins canadiens devraient prendre en considération »4 Le site web de l’Association médicale canadienne offre également des conseils aux médecins.5

Conséquences sur d’autres aspects de l’exercice de la médecine

Jusqu’à ce que les détails de la consommation légale du cannabis à usage récréatif soient établis dans les lois et règlements provinciaux et municipaux, il est difficile d’en prédire toutes les conséquences. Les demandes des policiers concernant des prélèvements sanguins, certaines pratiques cliniques et l’obligation de signaler les patients inaptes à conduire sont les aspects de votre pratique qui pourraient changer.

Demandes des policiers concernant les prélèvements sanguins

Vous pourriez recevoir de policiers un plus grand nombre de demandes de prélèvement sanguin chez des patients soupçonnés de conduite avec facultés affaiblies par l’effet du cannabis, particulièrement si vous travaillez au service des urgences. Le gouvernement a modifié le Code criminel de façon à criminaliser une concentration de drogue dans le sang (CDS) égale ou supérieure au taux de tétrahydrocannabinol (THC) prévu par la loi dans les deux heures suivant la conduite d’un véhicule à moteur. Ces modifications facilitent également quelque peu la tâche des policiers qui exigent un échantillon de sang d’un suspect, ce qui pourrait entraîner une hausse des demandes adressées aux médecins.

Les policiers pourraient également vous sembler plus insistants dans leurs demandes de prélèvement sanguin dans les cas de conduite affaiblie par l’effet du cannabis, par comparaison avec ceux mettant en cause l’alcool. Puisque la CDS propre au cannabis, particulièrement lorsque celui-ci est fumé, peut connaître une baisse plus rapide que celle de l’alcool, les délais d’exécution peuvent prendre une plus grande importance.

Malgré ces modifications et toute urgence perçue, vous ne pouvez toujours pas prélever de sang d’un patient apte sans son consentement. Dans de telles circonstances, le refus de procéder à un prélèvement sanguin ne constitue pas une infraction.

Si vous déterminez qu’un patient est inapte à consentir et que les policiers détiennent un mandat de perquisition exigeant un prélèvement sanguin, vous devez vous y conformer. Les policiers ne peuvent obtenir et exécuter un tel mandat que si un médecin qualifié est d’avis que la personne visée n’a pas la capacité de consentir au prélèvement sanguin, et qu’un tel prélèvement ne mettrait pas la vie ou la santé de cette personne en danger.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les mandats de perquisition et les enquêtes policières, reportez-vous à l’article de l’ACPM intitulé « Les interactions des médecins avec les services policiers ».6

Enjeux cliniques

Le cannabis pourrait interagir avec les autres médicaments d’un patient. Il pourrait également affecter une pathologie existante chez ce dernier.

La légalisation du cannabis à usage récréatif pourrait vous mener à questionner plus systématiquement vos patients sur leur consommation de cette substance. Vous pourriez ainsi mieux en évaluer les risques pour la santé et les interactions possibles avec d’autres médicaments.7 Vous devriez envisager de discuter avec vos patients des risques connus de la consommation de cannabis sur la santé. Ces discussions doivent être consignées dans le dossier médical du patient.

Aptitude à conduire

Vous devriez également déterminer si un patient est inapte à conduire un véhicule à moteur en raison de sa consommation de cannabis. Santé Canada indique ce qui suit : « ... il est notoire que l’exposition [au cannabis] nuit à la fonction psychomotrice et que les patients doivent être avertis de ne pas conduire ou de faire fonctionner de la machinerie complexe après avoir fumé ou mangé du cannabis, ou après avoir consommé des médicaments cannabinoïdes psychoactifs (p. ex. dronabinol, nabilone, nabiximols) ».8

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’obligation de signaler les conducteurs inaptes, reportez-vous à l’article de l’ACPM intitulé « Aptitude à conduire : Quand faut-il effectuer un signalement? »9 et au document de l’Association médicale canadienne intitulé : « Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire – Guide du médecin (9e éd.) »,10 qui contient une section traitant de la consommation de cannabis. Vous pourriez également souhaiter consulter l’autorité délivrant les permis de conduire de votre province ou territoire pour obtenir des lignes directrices quant à l’usage de cannabis et la conduite automobile.

Communiquer avec l’ACPM

Pour toute question à l’égard des enjeux médico-légaux de la légalisation du cannabis à usage récréatif, nous vous incitons à communiquer avec l’ACPM.




Ouvrages de référence

  1. Loi sur le cannabis, L.C. 2018, ch. 16
  2. Règlement sur le cannabis, (DORS/2018-144), art. 264-353
  3. La plupart des provinces et des territoires (sauf le Québec et l’Alberta) ont établi à 19 ans l’âge minimum, de façon à ce qu’il concorde avec l’âge prescrit par les règlements provinciaux quant à la consommation d’alcool.
  4. Association canadienne de protection médicale [en ligne]. Le cannabis à des fins médicales : ce que les médecins canadiens devraient prendre en considération. Ottawa (CA) : ACPM; août 2016 [cité le 13 septembre 2018]. Disponible à : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2014/medical-marijuana-new-regulations-new-college-guidance-for-canadian-doctors
  5. Consultez les renseignements de l’AMC sur le cannabis à www.cma.ca/cannabis.
  6. Association canadienne de protection médicale [en ligne]. Les interactions des médecins avec les services policiers. Ottawa (CA) : ACPM; octobre 2018 [cité le 13 septembre 2018]. Disponible à : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2011/physician-interactions-with-police
  7. Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario [en ligne]. Legalization may see more patients discuss marijuana use. Dialogue, numéro 2, 2018, p. 40. Consulté le 10 septembre 2018 à l’adresse : https://www.cpso.on.ca/cpso/media/documents/publications/dialogue/dialogue_vol14iss2.pdf.
  8. Santé Canada, « Renseignements destinés aux professionnels de la santé : le cannabis (marijuana, marihuana) et les cannabinoïdes. » Consulté le 10 septembre 2018 à l’adresse : https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-canada/services/drogues-medicaments/cannabis/renseignements-medecins/renseignements-destines-professionnels-sante-cannabis-cannabinoides.html
  9. Association canadienne de protection médicale [en ligne]. Aptitude à conduire : quand faut-il effectuer un signalement? Ottawa (CA); ACPM : oct. 2016 [cité le 13 septembre 2018]. Disponible à : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2015/fitness-to-drive-when-do-physicians-have-a-duty-to-report
  10. Association médicale canadienne. Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire – Guide du médecin Determining medical fitness to operate motor vehicles. 9e éd. Ottawa (CA) : AMC

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.