■ Legal and regulatory proceedings:

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

College complaints during COVID-19: What to do if you receive a complaint

Male doctor speaking on phone and taking notes

Published: June 2021
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
21-07-E

The COVID-19 pandemic is giving rise to new types of complaints to regulatory authorities (Colleges). Since the start of the pandemic, patients have been lodging complaints to Colleges about issues such as:

  • physicians closing their clinics out of safety concerns and failing to offer virtual care or referrals to other physicians
  • inadequate infection prevention or inadequate use of PPE by physicians
  • physicians continuing to work following a known COVID-19 exposure
  • physicians declining to respond to patient requests for mask exemptions or work-related accommodations
  • physicians insisting that patients wear masks during appointments

In response to the pressures physicians are facing, some Colleges have issued statements about their expectations of patient care during COVID-19, and confirmed they will consider the context of the pandemic when assessing complaints. As well, the CMPA has created an online COVID-19 Hub to provide guidance about emerging medico-legal issues.

If you find yourself facing a College complaint relating to your care or clinical practice during COVID-19, consider the following.

  1. Seek support from the CMPA

    If the complaint is related to the practice of medicine, the CMPA is there to assist you. Our physician advisors will advise you about your individual situation, and help you deal with any stress and anxiety you may be feeling.

    Our online wellness resources, especially the article “Coping with a College complaint” can help put the complaint in context. Most physicians face at least one complaint during their careers, and most complaints do not result in disciplinary action or are dismissed outright.

  2. Assess the complaint

    Colleges typically notify physicians of a complaint by email, letter, or telephone. They may provide a copy of the complaint letter, or simply enumerate the complaint issues.

    To assess the complaint, begin by determining who complained about what. Anyone—patients, family members, employers, or colleagues—can complain if dissatisfied with your care or conduct. Although most complaints stem from patient interactions, some may refer to activities outside your professional practice. This is especially the case during COVID-19, which has seen an increase in complaints filed against physicians for social media posts or other statements perceived as spreading disinformation. To learn more about engaging with the public during COVID-19, see the text box on “Advocating online and in the media”.

  3. Review the medical record

    When the complaint is about a clinical event, review the patient’s medical record. If the record belongs to a hospital or other institution, contact the CMPA first, since there are steps you may need to take before accessing the record. If the College requests a copy of the patient’s record and it is under the custodianship of another organization or individual, contact the CMPA for more detailed advice.

    After reviewing the record, you may find inaccuracies or omissions in your documentation. When you see information you think is incorrect, you may want to respond by providing additional information or attempting to clarify what happened. However, it is very important that you not alter the record. Instead, you should contact a CMPA physician advisor to help you decide on the best course of action. If you make changes without first speaking to the CMPA, those changes may impact your credibility and lead to a charge of unprofessional conduct.

    Finally, confirm that you understand what the College is asking you to do. If asking you to respond, Colleges typically give directions on how and when, including deadlines. While Colleges expect a reply within a certain timeframe, extensions can be granted in certain circumstances.

  4. Write a response

    Before writing your response, contact the CMPA and speak to a physician advisor for guidance.

    Your initial response should be factual, and describe what happened with the patient or third party, as well as the rationale for your decisions. Include your recollections of the encounter and information from the medical record, clearly indicating the source of the information.

    Use a respectful and professional tone. Avoid expressing anger, or being defensive or dismissive. Remain objective and avoid making subjective comments about others involved in the clinical situation.

    It can be helpful if you can demonstrate to the College that you are able to assess your practice when an interaction with a patient was unsatisfactory. This means being able to consider the key issues in the complaint and determine if there are steps you could take to mitigate the risk of a recurrence.

What happens next?

Many Colleges will send a copy of your response to the complainant, asking for further comments. Occasionally, this satisfies the complainant. Frequently, however, the complainant will send a second letter to the College, which the College may send to you for further comments.

If there are new issues to be addressed or clarified, you should consult again with a CMPA physician advisor about whether to send an additional response to the College.

The College will consider the information from the complainant and the physician. If the medical issues are complex, the College might seek an expert peer opinion from an independent physician. On occasion, the College will seek information from witnesses such as office staff or hospital employees.

How does it get resolved?

In most cases, physicians successfully demonstrate their actions were appropriate medically and professionally, and the College takes no action on the complaint. In cases involving less serious complaints (e.g. minor communication concerns), an alternative dispute resolution process may be used to resolve the complaint in a mutually agreeable way.

Sometimes physicians are criticized for being unprofessional in their interaction with the patient, even though the medical advice was appropriate. In these cases, physicians may receive advice or a caution from the College. In some jurisdictions, the caution may appear on the public register. The College may also suggest remedial actions, such as targeted education or professional development, particularly where there has been a failure to adhere to College policies.

In more severe cases, where the physician’s actions lead the College to have concerns about conduct or competence, the matter may be referred to another College committee for a discipline hearing. Issues with physical or mental health may be referred to the committee responsible for assessing the physician’s fitness to practise.

Advocating online and in the media

The CMPA has seen College complaints recently about statements made by physicians during COVID-19 on platforms such as Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and personal blogs. Media outlets are also asking physicians for their opinions during the pandemic. If you’re thinking of posting comments online or granting a media interview:

  • Review the CMPA’s advocacy resources, available on the CMPA’s COVID-19 Hub. The CMPA encourages physicians to speak out on issues in a professional and respectful manner, provide an informed perspective, and follow any applicable institutional or College policies to ensure appropriate channels are used.
  • Take a pause before making any posts or comments live. With emotions running high during the pandemic, it can be easy to respond angrily if you read something you think is disinformation. Give your emotions time to cool before pressing send, and remember that social media posts are not private. Anything you post should be considered public and permanent.
  • Be aware that some Colleges have issued guidance about online statements during the pandemic. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario reminds physicians that their comments or actions may lead to public or patient harm if their opinion does not align with information from public health agencies or governments.1

CMPA assistance with College complaints

The CMPA will generally assist members with College complaints relating to the professional practice of medicine, but will generally not assist with complaints arising primarily from business or personal issues, such as matters relating to advertising, rental or leasing disputes, employment issues, or marital and family disputes.

The bottom line

If you are notified of a College complaint:

  • Contact the CMPA. Speak with a physician advisor and visit our website to access helpful information on dealing with College complaints and maintaining physician wellness.
  • Assess the complaint. Determine what the complaint is about and what the College is asking you to do. Do not alter the medical record in any way without first speaking to a CMPA physician advisor.
  • Respond professionally. Write to the College and address the complaint in a respectful manner.

Reference

  1. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario [Internet]. Toronto: CPSO; 2021. COVID-19 FAQs for physicians. https://www.cpso.on.ca/Physicians/Your-Practice/Physician-Advisory-Services/COVID-19-FAQs-for-Physicians

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires :

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Plaintes auprès des Collèges pendant la pandémie de COVID 19 : que faire si vous faites l’objet d’une plainte

Médecin de sexe masculin parlant au téléphone et prendre des notes

Publié : juin 2021
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
21-07-F

La pandémie de COVID-19 a donné lieu à de nouveaux types de plaintes auprès des organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges). Depuis le début de cette pandémie, des patients ont déposé des plaintes auprès des Collèges sur des sujets tels que :

  • la fermeture de cliniques médicales pour des raisons de sécurité sans option pour les patients d’avoir des consultations virtuelles ou d’être dirigés vers d’autres médecins;
  • la prévention inadéquate des infections ou l’usage inapproprié de l’équipement de protection individuelle par des médecins;
  • la poursuite du travail par des médecins ayant été exposés à la COVID-19;
  • le refus de médecins de répondre aux demandes d’exemption du port du masque ou d’accommodements liés au travail;
  • l’insistance de médecins sur le port du masque pendant les rendez-vous.

En réponse aux pressions auxquelles les médecins sont confrontés, certains Collèges ont publié des déclarations précisant leurs attentes concernant les soins pendant la pandémie de COVID-19 et ont confirmé qu’ils tiendront compte de ce contexte dans l’évaluation des plaintes. L’ACPM a aussi créé un outil en ligne, le Carrefour sur la COVID-19, pour fournir des conseils sur de nouvelles questions d’ordre médico-légal.

Si vous êtes aux prises avec une plainte déposée auprès de votre Collège concernant des soins prodigués ou votre pratique clinique durant la pandémie de COVID-19, tenez compte des conseils suivants :

  1. Demandez du soutien à l’ACPM

    Si la plainte est liée à l’exercice de la médecine, l’ACPM est là pour vous aider. Nos médecins-conseils vous feront des recommandations en fonction de votre situation personnelle et vous aideront à gérer le stress et l’anxiété que vous pouvez ressentir.

    Nos ressources en ligne sur le bien-être, en particulier l’article « Composer avec une plainte au Collège », peuvent vous aider à replacer la plainte dans son contexte. La majorité des médecins sont confrontés à au moins une plainte au cours de leur carrière; il importe de savoir que la plupart des plaintes ne donnent pas lieu à des mesures disciplinaires ou sont carrément rejetées.

  2. Évaluez la plainte

    Lorsqu’une plainte est déposée, les Collèges en avisent habituellement les médecins par courriel, par la poste ou par téléphone. Ils peuvent généralement leur fournir une copie de la plainte ou simplement énumérer les problèmes qui y sont soulevés.

    Pour évaluer une plainte, commencez par déterminer qui l’a déposée et quel en était l’objet. Toute personne, qu’il s’agisse d’un patient, d’un membre de la famille, d’un employeur ou d’un collègue, peut porter plainte auprès du Collège si elle est insatisfaite des soins ou de la conduite d’un médecin. Bien que la plupart des plaintes découlent d’une interaction avec un patient, il peut arriver à l’occasion qu’elles portent sur des activités ne relevant pas de votre pratique professionnelle. C’est notamment le cas pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, qui a entraîné une augmentation des plaintes déposées contre des médecins pour des publications sur les plateformes de médias sociaux ou d’autres déclarations perçues comme étant de la désinformation. Pour en savoir davantage concernant les interactions avec le public pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, consultez l’encadré intitulé « Déclarations en ligne et dans les médias ».

  3. Passez en revue le dossier médical

    Passez en revue le dossier médical du patient lorsque la plainte porte sur un événement clinique. Si le dossier appartient à l’hôpital ou à un autre établissement, communiquez d’abord avec l’ACPM, car il y a des étapes à franchir avant d’accéder au dossier. Lorsque le Collège exige une copie du dossier du patient et que le dépositaire de ce dossier est une autre organisation ou personne, communiquez avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils plus précis.

    Après avoir revu le dossier, vous pourriez repérer des inexactitudes ou des omissions dans vos notes. Constatant des renseignements qui vous semblent inexacts, vous pourriez être tenté d’ajouter des renseignements supplémentaires ou de clarifier ce qui s’est passé. Cependant, il est primordial de ne pas modifier le dossier. Vous devriez plutôt communiquer avec un médecin-conseil de l’ACPM qui vous aidera à déterminer la meilleure ligne de conduite à adopter. Si vous modifiez vos notes sans en parler d’abord avec un médecin-conseil de l’ACPM, vous pourriez nuire à votre crédibilité et vous exposer à une accusation d’inconduite professionnelle.

    Enfin, confirmez que vous comprenez ce que le Collège vous demande de faire. Lorsqu’il s’attend à une réponse de votre part, le Collège indique habituellement de quelle façon et à quel moment celle-ci doit lui parvenir, et précise une date limite. Bien que les Collèges s’attendent à une réponse dans un délai précis, ils peuvent, dans certaines circonstances, accorder des prolongations.

  4. Rédigez une réponse

    Avant de rédiger votre réponse, communiquez avec l’ACPM et consultez un médecin-conseil.

    Votre réponse initiale doit être factuelle et décrire ce qui s’est passé avec le patient ou le tiers, ainsi que les raisons justifiant vos décisions. Vous devez y inclure les détails de la rencontre dont vous vous souvenez et les renseignements appropriés provenant du dossier médical, en vous assurant de citer clairement la source de ces renseignements.

    Employez un ton respectueux et professionnel. Évitez d’exprimer de la colère ou d’adopter une attitude défensive ou condescendante. Tenez-vous-en aux faits et évitez les commentaires subjectifs au sujet de tiers impliqués dans la situation clinique.

    Il peut être utile de démontrer au Collège que vous êtes en mesure d’évaluer votre pratique lorsqu’une interaction avec un patient s’est avérée insatisfaisante. Vous devez donc considérer les points clés soulevés dans la plainte et déterminer s’il y a des mesures que vous pourriez prendre pour atténuer le risque que cela ne se reproduise.

Que se passe-t-il ensuite?

De nombreux Collèges envoient au plaignant une copie de la réponse du médecin pour lui demander s’il a d’autres commentaires. Parfois, le plaignant sera satisfait de la réponse. Il arrive souvent, toutefois, que le plaignant réponde en adressant une deuxième lettre au Collège, et que ce dernier la transmette au médecin en lui demandant d’y donner suite.

S’il y a de nouveaux problèmes qui doivent être examinés ou clarifiés, il est préférable de consulter à nouveau un médecin-conseil de l’ACPM pour déterminer s’il y a lieu de répondre une deuxième fois au Collège.

Le Collège examinera les renseignements fournis par le plaignant et le médecin. Si les aspects médicaux se révèlent complexes, le Collège pourrait demander l’opinion d’un expert indépendant. À l’occasion, il peut également demander des renseignements à des témoins tels que le personnel de votre cabinet médical ou des employés de l’hôpital.

Résolution d’une plainte

Dans la plupart des cas, les médecins peuvent démontrer que leurs actions étaient justifiées sur le plan médical et professionnel, et le Collège rejette alors la plainte. Dans les cas de plaintes moins graves (p. ex. des problèmes de communication mineurs), on peut avoir recours à un autre mode de règlement des conflits pour résoudre la plainte de façon mutuellement acceptable.

Il arrive que des médecins soient critiqués pour avoir manqué de professionnalisme dans leurs interactions avec un patient, même lorsque les conseils médicaux étaient appropriés. Dans de tels cas, les médecins pourraient recevoir des conseils ou une admonestation du Collège. Dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires, l’admonestation peut être publiée dans le registre public. Le Collège peut également suggérer des mesures correctives, telles qu’une activité ciblée de formation ou de développement professionnel, en particulier lorsque les politiques du Collège n’ont pas été respectées.

Dans les cas plus graves, où les actions du médecin ont soulevé des inquiétudes sérieuses au sujet de sa conduite ou de sa compétence, le dossier peut être soumis à un autre comité du Collège en vue d’une audience disciplinaire. Les questions portant sur la santé physique ou mentale peuvent être confiées au comité chargé d’évaluer l’aptitude des médecins à exercer.

Déclarations en ligne et dans les médias

L’ACPM a pris connaissance récemment de plaintes auprès de Collèges concernant des déclarations faites par des médecins pendant la pandémie de COVID-19 sur des plateformes telles que Twitter, Facebook et Instagram et dans des blogues personnels. Des organes médiatiques demandent également aux médecins de donner leur avis sur la pandémie. Si vous songez à publier des commentaires en ligne ou à accorder une entrevue aux médias :

  • Consultez les ressources Promotion de la santé et défense des intérêts des patients, publiées dans le Carrefour sur la COVID-19. L’ACPM encourage les médecins à s’exprimer avec professionnalisme et respect, à fournir un point de vue éclairé, et à se conformer aux politiques des établissements ou des Collèges afin de s’assurer que les canaux appropriés sont utilisés.
  • Accordez-vous un temps de réflexion avant de publier ou de commenter en direct. Les émotions étant fortes pendant la pandémie, il peut être facile de réagir avec colère si vous lisez quelque chose qui vous semble être de la désinformation. Maîtrisez vos émotions avant d’appuyer sur le bouton d’envoi, et rappelez-vous que les messages publiés sur les plateformes de médias sociaux ne sont pas privés. Tout ce que vous publiez doit être considéré comme public et permanent.
  • Sachez que certains Collèges ont publié des conseils sur les déclarations en ligne pendant la pandémie. Par exemple, l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario rappelle aux médecins que leurs commentaires ou leurs actions peuvent nuire au public ou aux patients si leurs opinions ne correspondent pas aux renseignements des agences de santé publique ou des pouvoirs publics.1

L’assistance de l’ACPM dans le cadre de plaintes auprès des Collèges

De façon générale, l’ACPM offre aux membres une assistance lors de plaintes auprès du Collège dans le cadre d’affaires découlant de l’exercice professionnel de la médecine; par contre, les membres n’ont généralement pas droit à l’assistance de l’ACPM dans le cadre de problèmes d’ordre principalement commercial ou personnel tels que publicité, litiges concernant une location ou un crédit-bail, problèmes d’emploi, ou litiges d’ordre familial ou matrimonial.

En bref

Lorsque le Collège vous avise d’une plainte :

  • Communiquez avec l’ACPM. Parlez à un médecin-conseil et visitez le site web de l’ACPM pour accéder à des renseignements utiles sur la façon de composer avec les plaintes auprès du Collège et sur le maintien du bien-être des médecins.
  • Évaluez la plainte. Déterminez quel en est l’objet et ce que le Collège vous demande de faire. Ne modifiez pas le dossier médical de quelque manière que ce soit sans parler d’abord à un médecin-conseil de l’ACPM.
  • Répondez de façon professionnelle. Rédigez votre réponse au Collège de façon respectueuse et donnez suite aux préoccupations soulevées.

Références

  1. Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario [En ligne]. Toronto: CPSO; 2021. COVID-19 FAQs for physicians. Disponible : https://www.cpso.on.ca/Physicians/Your-Practice/Physician-Advisory-Services/COVID-19-FAQs-for-Physicians

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.