Responsible governance practices

The CMPA Council is committed to responsible governance practices. As stated in the Terms of reference for Council and councillors [PDF], "the primary purpose of the Council is to foster, through sound governance, the long-term success of the Association consistent with its Strategic Plan and responsibilities to the members."

Responsibilities of Council and councillors

In accordance with the CMPA's Act of Incorporation and by-law, the Council is responsible for overseeing how the business of the Association is conducted and to direct management, to whom the Council delegates the responsibilities for the day-to-day conduct of business. Article 4 of the by-law outlines the requirements of the Council.

The Terms of reference for Council and councillors [PDF] sets out the way in which the Council organizes and conducts itself to fulfill its responsibilities, and describes the responsibilities of councillors.

The Council actively displays this commitment through its leadership and participation in a variety of governance activities including:

  • Council evaluation—Council performs a biennial evaluation to assess its effectiveness and efficiency.
  • Individual personal professional development and support program—Each year, following the first year of their three-year term, new and returning councillors receive feedback on an anonymous basis from their peers. The objective of this program is to support personal development and individual performance improvement through councillor self-reflection and by providing new and returning councillors with feedback from their peers to identify strengths and provide suggestions for enhancing performance in executing duties as a councillor.
  • Nominating Committee peer review evaluation—Each year, just prior to the end of their three-year term, incumbent councillors seeking re-election to Council are evaluated by their committee peers and senior governors. The objective of this evaluation is to assist the Nominating Committee in choosing the best candidate for election.
  • Committee structure and effectiveness review—To ensure the duties and responsibilities delegated by Council to its committees meet the Association's needs, a biennial review of the committee structure and effectiveness is performed.

Members of Council and all non-Council committee members are required to adhere to the Association's Code of conduct and conflict of interest guidelines for councillors [PDF]. This includes the requirement to review the Code of conduct and sign an acknowledgement form annually.

Responsibilities of the president and vice-presidents

As specified in Article 5 of the CMPA Bylaw, the Council elects the president and one or more vice-presidents. The president provides leadership in guiding the Council and coordinating its activities, and may or may not be its chair. Two vice-presidents assist the president, and have powers and duties that the president may delegate or the council may prescribe.

The president and vice-presidents are elected annually through secret ballot by the council, using an elimination voting method. The president may serve for a maximum of two years; there is no limit on the tenure for vice-presidents.

The mandate, duties, and responsibilities of the president and vice-presidents are provided in the Terms of reference for the president and vice-presidents [PDF].

Pratiques de gouvernance responsable

Le Conseil de l’ACPM s’est engagé à assurer des pratiques de gouvernance responsable. Comme l’énonce le Mandat du Conseil – Mandat des conseillers [PDF], « la principale responsabilité du Conseil est de favoriser, grâce à une saine gouvernance, la réussite à long terme de l’Association conformément à son Plan stratégique et aux responsabilités du Conseil envers les membres ».

Responsabilités du Conseil et des conseillers

Conformément à la Loi constituant en corporation l’Association canadienne de protection médicale et au Règlement de l’Association, le Conseil est responsable d’encadrer la manière dont les affaires de l’Association sont gérées et de mandater la direction, à laquelle le Conseil délègue la responsabilité de l’administration courante des affaires. L’article 4 du Règlement établit les responsabilités exigées du Conseil.

Le Mandat du Conseil – Mandat des conseillers [PDF] établit la façon dont le Conseil s'organise et se conduit pour s’acquitter de ses responsabilités et décrit les responsabilités des conseillers.

Le Conseil démontre activement son engagement par son leadership et sa participation à diverses activités de gouvernance, dont :

  • L’évaluation du Conseil – le Conseil effectue une évaluation biennale pour apprécier son efficacité et son efficience.
  • Le Programme personnel de soutien et de perfectionnement professionnel pour les conseillers – Chaque année, à la suite de la première année de leur mandat de trois ans, les nouveaux conseillers et les conseillers ayant obtenu un nouveau mandat reçoivent des commentaires anonymisés de leurs pairs. Ce programme a pour objectif de soutenir le perfectionnement personnel et l’amélioration du rendement individuel des nouveaux conseillers et des conseillers ayant obtenu un nouveau mandat, au moyen d’un exercice d’autoréflexion et de commentaires provenant de leurs pairs, pour établir leurs forces et leur offrir des suggestions pour les aider à améliorer leur efficacité dans leur rôle.
  • L’évaluation par les pairs effectuée par le Comité des candidatures – Chaque année, juste avant la fin de leur mandat de trois ans, les conseillers en poste qui se représentent aux élections du Conseil sont évalués par leurs collègues des comités ainsi que par les gouverneurs principaux. Cette évaluation a pour objectif d’aider le Comité à choisir les meilleures candidatures aux élections.
  • L’examen de la structure et de l’efficacité des comités – Pour s’assurer que les fonctions et les responsabilités déléguées par le Conseil à ses comités répondent aux besoins de l’Association, un examen biennal de la structure et de l’efficacité des comités est effectué.

Les membres du Conseil et tous les membres de comités ne relevant pas du Conseil sont tenus de respecter le Code de conduite et les directives sur les conflits d’intérêts à l’intention des conseillers [PDF] de l’Association. Ceci comprend l’obligation de revoir le Code de conduite et de signer une attestation chaque année.

Responsabilités du président et des vice-présidents

Comme le précise l’article 5 du Règlement, le Conseil élit le président et un vice-président ou plus. Le président peut diriger ou non le Conseil; il en assure le leadership en guidant le Conseil et en coordonnant ses activités. Deux vice-présidents l’assistent et chaque vice-président a les pouvoirs et les fonctions que le président peut lui déléguer ou que le Conseil peut prescrire.

Le président et les vice-présidents sont élus annuellement par le Conseil par scrutin secret, au moyen d’un vote par élimination. Le président peut occuper ce poste pour un maximum de deux ans; il n’y a pas de limite imposée à la durée du mandat des vice-présidents.

Le mandat du président et des vice-présidents [PDF] décrit les fonctions, les obligations et les responsabilités attribuées aux titulaires de ces postes.