Physician obligations and rights

Contact us

Contact the CMPA and schedule time to speak to a physician advisor

Call us at 1-800-267-6522 (in Ottawa area:
613-725-2000)

Updated: January 19, 2022

Understanding your professional obligations and rights in the context of COVID-19 helps to focus on providing quality care and reduces your medico-legal risk.

FAQ


I have heard Bill C-3 will enhance protections for healthcare workers and patients accessing healthcare services. How can this legislation help protect me, my patients and my colleagues in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic?

Bill C-3 amends the Criminal Code to create a new intimidation offence to prohibit conduct intended to provoke fear, to interfere with the duties of a health care worker, or to impede a person from receiving health care services. The Bill also makes it an offence to intentionally obstruct or interfere with another person’s access to a place at which health services are provided. Bill C-3 does not, however, prohibit individuals from peacefully protesting, even if this activity has a minor impact on the ability of others to access the facility.

Given the novelty of Bill C-3, it is uncertain how it will ultimately be applied and enforced. In the context of the pandemic, the provisions of Bill C-3 could apply to persons demonstrating outside a health facility and purposefully obstructing a healthcare worker or patient from accessing the facility, such as protests outside hospitals held by people opposed to vaccination and other public health measures related to the pandemic. It could also apply to patients trying to intimidate healthcare providers with respect to the implementation of public health measures. Additionally, it could apply where patients are trying to access other health services (e.g. abortion).

Members concerned about their safety for any reason (including intimidating or threatening conduct) in any setting are encouraged to contact police. Members working in a hospital or other facility who are concerned about intimidating or threatening conduct may also wish to consult with their hospital or health facility to inquire whether a policy or procedure has been implemented with respect to the enforcement of Bill C-3. Where it is necessary to make a report to police about a patient, members should minimize the disclosure of personal health information to only the information that is required to make the report.

Members who feel their safety is threatened are also encouraged to contact the CMPA for case-specific advice. Where appropriate, the CMPA will assist members to ensure steps are taken to minimize the risk of harm caused by intimidating and threatening behaviour that creates significant concern for personal safety.


Can I be exempted from the hospital/health authority/clinic requiring me to disclose my travel history/travel plans, undergo COVID-19 testing, be vaccinated or adjust/remove religious symbols to ensure proper fitting of protective gear (e.g. shaving facial hair, removing head or face coverings, etc.)?

The CMPA does not typically comment on, or become involved in, public health or policy decisions of hospitals, health authorities or clinics. However, institutions generally have a right to restrict physicians from exercising their privileges if they believe the physician’s actions are posing a reasonable risk to patient safety or workplace safety.

Physicians are encouraged to reasonably consider any hospital/health authority/clinic policy that applies to them, bearing in mind their ethical, professional and legal obligations, including their fiduciary duty to their patients to act in good faith, with loyalty, and not to place his or her own personal interests ahead of patient safety.

Physicians may wish to contact their provincial/territorial medical association for additional guidance and information on these issues.



Can I be exempted from the requirement to self-isolate if I recently returned from out-of-country travel?

If you qualify for the federal government’s fully vaccinated traveller exemption, you may be exempt from self-isolating for 14 days upon entry and the day-8 testing requirement. Unless you qualify for the fully vaccinated traveller exemption, you must not directly care for persons 65 years of age or older within the 14-day period that begins on the day on which you entered Canada and you are not exempt from self-isolating when you re-enter Canada. Physicians are encouraged to monitor and comply with federal government travel requirements, public health directives in their particular province or territory, as wel l as guidance from their College and hospital.



What are my obligations if I become aware that I have been exposed to a COVID-19 positive individual?

Physicians should take appropriate steps if they suspect they may have been exposed to or are infected with COVID-19. This includes following all applicable public health recommendations and notifying appropriate third-parties such as public health and their institution. Before returning to practice, physicians are encouraged to monitor and comply with all relevant public health directives, as well as guidance from their College and hospital.

A physician may be found to have breached his/her duty of care to patients for continuing to provide medical services and prevent transmission of the virus where the physician suspects he or she has COVID-19 or has been diagnosed with COVID-19 and patients are subsequently infected. These circumstances may lead to a legal claim, hospital complaint, or College proceedings.

If a physician is required to self-isolate due to unprotected exposure or a positive screening test, the Colleges generally expect physicians to take reasonable steps to ensure patients still receive appropriate care. These steps might include relying on virtual care where possible, coordinating with colleagues to help provide coverage (virtually or in-person), re-directing patients appropriately, and supporting patients as much as possible to access care the physician is not able to provide.



As a result of the pandemic, innovative ways are being developed to administer the influenza vaccine (e.g. drive-thru, parking lot or mobile clinics). What are my obligations for delivering care in these non-traditional settings?

The professional obligations and legal principles that usually apply to physicians continue in the context of COVID-19. Physicians have a legal duty to ensure that everything they do for their patients meets the standard of care of a reasonably competent physician in similar circumstances. Physicians should therefore be aware of clinical guidance regarding the administration of the influenza vaccine – including in non-traditional settings – available from their local public health office or the Public Health Agency of Canada. The CMPA is aware that the Colleges are taking into account the current COVID-19 situation and would assess any College complaint in that context.

Regardless of the setting in which the vaccination is administered, physicians will need to consider how patients will be properly monitored for the recommended observation period following immunization. A physician would be at risk of liability if a patient is permitted to leave prior to the recommended observation period and suffers an adverse event after the vaccination.

If the delivery of the vaccine is being provided in a public space (e.g. parking lot), it would be prudent to implement measures to assist in creating some degree of privacy, such as erecting portable curtains or screens behind which the vaccine can be administered to patients.

Physicians who are contemplating delegating the administration of the influenza vaccine to other health care professionals should consult with their College to determine if delegation is appropriate in the circumstances. Where delegation is permitted, physicians can minimize their risk of liability by only delegating medical acts where it is appropriate to do so and by ensuring the person to whom the act is delegated is competent and has the necessary information to carry out the delegated act.

As always, the details of the informed consent discussion and the patient’s (or legal guardian’s) consent to the vaccine, including the fact that it was delivered in a non-traditional setting, should be documented in the patient’s medical record.



I have been asked to complete requisitions for COVID-19 testing for staff of the long-term care home, clinic or healthcare facility in which I work. What are my obligations towards these staff members if I complete these requisitions?

Whenever a physician orders a test for an individual, the physician will be generally considered to have entered into a doctor-patient relationship. Once a doctor-patient relationship is established, a duty of care arises. Accordingly, a physician agreeing to order COVID-19 testing for staff will need to be in a position to fulfill the obligations flowing from this duty. Physicians should not be agreeable to having their names included on requisitions if they cannot fulfil these obligations.

Specifically, physicians who complete requisitions would be responsible for reviewing the test results and following up with the patient/staff member. Physicians will also need to create a medical record and document the fact that the test was ordered, the results of the test and the recommended follow-up.

Physicians who have been asked to order COVID-19 tests for staff will want to work with the administration at their facility to determine the best way to communicate test results, ensure appropriate follow-up and properly document these encounters.



Do I have a duty to report patients who are acting in contravention of public health requirements or using falsified public health records (e.g. vaccine passports)?

All provinces/territories impose mandatory obligations on physicians to report patients with communicable diseases, which generally include COVID-19. The public health legislation in some jurisdictions may also include more general reporting obligations such as where an individual is not following treatment advice related to the communicable disease. For those patients who have tested positive for COVID-19 and fail to self-isolate, an argument could be made that they are not following treatment advice. Physicians are encouraged to be familiar with the specific public health reporting obligations in their jurisdiction.

In addition to any potential legal requirements, physicians may also have an ethical duty to report a patient to the relevant public health agency where a patient is in breach of public health requirements (e.g. refusing to self-isolate) or an unvaccinated patient is using a falsified or fake vaccine passport and putting others at risk by doing so. However, there is no general duty for physicians to report patients suspected of having committed a crime to police, which includes vaccine passport fraud. Physicians should generally refrain from sharing patient information with the police unless there is patient consent or the disclosure is required by law (e.g. warrant) or to address a risk of harm.



Do I have a duty to provide care to a patient suspected of COVID-19 infection?

The professional obligations and legal principles that usually apply to all physicians continue in the context of COVID-19.

Physicians have a legal duty to ensure that everything they do for their patients meets the standard of care of a reasonably competent physician in similar circumstances. Colleges also expect physicians to meet their professional obligations by providing or arranging ongoing care for their patients irrespective of any symptoms consistent with COVID-19 or whether they have been exposed to COVID-19.

A number of Colleges also have policies that set out physicians’ obligations in the context of a public health emergency, which address some more specific obligations such as keeping informed of all pertinent emergency plans and public health communication systems.

While physicians may not be required in every case to assess patients in person who are exhibiting symptoms of COVID-19 or have been exposed to COVID-19, they would be expected to consult with patients over the telephone or through other means of telemedicine to assess whether patients should be re-directed to a properly equipped facility (e.g. public health unit, designated assessment centre, or hospital) for a detailed examination.

Where a patient is referred to an assessment centre or another facility, to the extent possible, it is preferable to coordinate the referral with your local public health unit and/or the assessment centre/facility, to provide advance notice and to arrange for, or provide advice to the patient regarding an appropriate method of transportation to the facility (i.e. avoid public transportation).



Do I have the right to refuse to provide care to patients suspected of having COVID-19?

Physicians are expected to provide medical services during public health emergencies. The Colleges may, however, recognize that physicians with health conditions (or family members or others close to them with health conditions) may limit the physician’s ability to provide direct medical care. In these circumstances, physicians will likely still be expected to participate in indirect activities that support the response effort.

Physicians are prohibited from refusing to provide medical treatment based on a prohibited ground of discrimination (e.g. race, age, national or ethnic origin). Discriminating against a patient on grounds related to a patient’s illness or ethnic origin leaves a physician vulnerable to a human rights complaint, a College complaint, and possibly even a civil action. Physicians should also be aware that refusing to conduct a proper assessment and making conclusions about the patient’s medical condition based solely on their ethnicity would generally be considered discrimination.

Obligations et droits des médecins

Communiquer avec nous

Communiquez avec l’ACPM et prenez un rendez-vous pour consulter un médecin-conseil

Appelez-nous au
1-800-267-6522
(dans la région d’Ottawa :
613-725-2000)

Mise à jour : novembre 2021

En comprenant vos droits et obligations professionnelles dans le contexte de la pandémie de COVID-19, vous serez mieux à même de vous centrer sur la prestation de soins de qualité et de réduire vos risques médico-légaux.

FAQ


Puis-je être exempté de l’obligation qui m’est faite par l’hôpital/l’autorité en matière de santé/la clinique de divulguer mes antécédents/plans de voyage, de subir un test de dépistage de la COVID-19, de me faire vacciner ou de modifier/retirer des symboles religieux pouvant affecter l’ajustement adéquat du matériel de protection (p. ex. rasage de la pilosité faciale, retrait de vêtements couvrant la tête ou le visage, etc.)?

L’ACPM ne se prononce habituellement pas, ni n’intervient, en ce qui concerne les décisions qui touchent la santé publique ou les politiques des hôpitaux, des autorités en matière de santé ou des cliniques. Cependant, les établissements ont généralement le droit d’empêcher un médecin d’exercer ses privilèges s’ils estiment que les gestes de ce dernier posent un risque raisonnable pour la sécurité des patients ou du milieu de travail.

Les médecins sont encouragés à prendre raisonnablement en considération les politiques des hôpitaux/autorités en matière de santé/cliniques qui s’appliquent à eux, en gardant à l’esprit leurs obligations déontologiques, professionnelles et légales, y compris leur obligation fiduciaire envers leurs patients d’être de bonne foi et fidèles, et de se garder de placer leurs intérêts personnels avant ceux de la sécurité des patients.

Les médecins pourraient communiquer avec leur association/fédération médicale provinciale/territoriale pour obtenir des conseils et des renseignements additionnels à cet égard.



Puis-je être exempté de l’obligation de m’isoler si j’ai récemment effectué un voyage à l’étranger?

Si vous remplissez les conditions requises pour bénéficier de l’exemption pour les voyageurs entièrement vaccinés accordée par le gouvernement fédéral, vous pourriez être exempté de vous isoler pendant 14 jours à votre arrivée au pays et d’effectuer le test de dépistage au huitième jour. À moins que vous ne remplissiez les conditions requises pour bénéficier de l'exemption pour les voyageurs entièrement vaccinés, vous ne devez pas vous occuper directement de personnes âgées de 65 ans ou plus pendant la période de 14 jours qui commence le jour où vous entrez au Canada et vous n’êtes pas exempté de la quarantaine lorsque vous revenez au Canada. Nous encourageons les médecins à prendre connaissance des exigences du gouvernement fédéral en ce qui concerne les voyages, des directives de santé publique dans leur province ou territoire ainsi que des recommandations émises par leur Collège et leur hôpital, et à s’y conformer.



Quelles sont mes obligations si j’apprends que j’ai été exposé(e) à une personne ayant obtenu un résultat positif au dépistage de la COVID-19?

Les médecins doivent prendre les mesures qui s’imposent s’ils pensent avoir été exposés ou infectés à la COVID-19. Parmi ces mesures, il faut suivre toutes les recommandations applicables formulées par la santé publique et aviser les tierces parties indiquées (telles la santé publique et l’établissement où le médecin en question travaille). Avant de reprendre leurs fonctions, les médecins sont encouragés à prendre connaissance de toutes les directives pertinentes issues de la santé publique (ainsi que celles émises par leur Collège et leur hôpital) et à s’y conformer.

Lorsqu’un médecin reçoit un diagnostic de COVID-19 ou qu’il soupçonne avoir contracté la COVID-19 et que ses patients la contractent par la suite, il pourrait être établi qu’il a manqué à son devoir de diligence envers ses patients s’il a continué de prodiguer des services médicaux et ainsi évité de prévenir la transmission du virus. De telles circonstances pourraient mener à une action en justice, une plainte intrahospitalière ou une plainte au Collège.

Lorsqu’un médecin doit s’isoler après avoir été exposé à la COVID-19 sans protection ou avoir reçu un résultat positif au dépistage, les Collèges s’attendent généralement à ce qu’il prenne des mesures raisonnables pour s’assurer que ses patients puissent toujours recevoir des soins appropriés. Ces mesures pourraient inclure le recours aux soins virtuels si possible, la coordination de la continuité des soins prodigués (virtuellement ou en personne) par des collègues, l’envoi approprié des patients en consultation auprès d’autres professionnels, et tout le soutien possible pour que les patients puissent obtenir les soins qu’il n’est plus en mesure de leur prodiguer lui-même.



La pandémie est à l’origine de façons novatrices d’administrer le vaccin contre la grippe (p. ex. service à l’auto, vaccination dans un stationnement ou cliniques mobiles). Quelles sont mes obligations en matière de prestation de soins dans de tels milieux non traditionnels?

Les obligations professionnelles et les principes juridiques qui s’appliquent habituellement aux médecins continuent d’être en vigueur dans le contexte de la COVID-19. Les médecins ont l’obligation légale d’assurer que tout ce qu’ils font pour leurs patients respecte la norme de pratique d’un médecin raisonnablement compétent dans des circonstances semblables. Les médecins doivent donc prendre connaissance des directives cliniques (accessibles auprès du bureau local de la santé publique ou de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada) à l’égard de l’administration du vaccin contre la grippe, y compris dans des milieux non traditionnels. L’ACPM sait que les Collèges prennent en considération la situation actuelle entourant la COVID-19 et qu’ils évalueraient toute plainte leur étant présentée en fonction de ce contexte.

Peu importe le milieu dans lequel la vaccination est administrée, les médecins doivent songer à la façon dont les patients feront l’objet d’une surveillance adéquate pendant la période d’observation recommandée à la suite de l’immunisation. Un médecin risque d’être tenu responsable si un patient est autorisé à partir avant la fin de la période d’observation recommandée et subit un incident lié à sa sécurité après la vaccination.

Lorsque le vaccin est administré dans un espace public (p. ex. stationnement), il serait prudent de mettre en œuvre des mesures aidant à permettre la protection des renseignements personnels, telles que la mise en place de parois ou d’écrans amovibles derrière lesquels le vaccin peut être administré aux patients.

Les médecins qui envisagent de déléguer l’administration du vaccin contre la grippe à d’autres professionnels de la santé devraient consulter leur Collège afin de déterminer si la délégation est appropriée dans les circonstances. Lorsque la délégation est permise, les médecins peuvent minimiser leurs risques liés à la responsabilité professionnelle en ne déléguant des actes médicaux que lorsque cela s’avère approprié et en s’assurant que la personne à qui ils les délèguent dispose de la compétence et des renseignements nécessaires.

Comme toujours, les détails de la discussion visant l’obtention du consentement éclairé et le consentement du patient (ou de son tuteur légal) au vaccin, y compris le fait que ce dernier a été administré dans un milieu non traditionnel, doivent être consignés dans le dossier médical du patient.



On m’a demandé de remplir des demandes de dépistage de la COVID-19 pour le personnel de l’établissement de soins de longue durée, de la clinique ou de l’établissement de santé où je travaille. Quelles seront mes obligations envers ces membres du personnel si je remplis de telles demandes?

Lorsqu’un médecin prescrit un examen pour une personne, on considère généralement qu’une relation médecin-patient est alors créée, et un devoir de diligence s’impose dès lors qu’une relation médecin-patient est établie. Ainsi, un médecin qui consent à demander un dépistage de la COVID-19 pour le personnel de son établissement devra en assumer les obligations connexes. Les médecins ne devraient pas consentir à voir leur nom inscrit sur de telles demandes s’ils ne sont pas en mesure d’assumer ces obligations.

Plus particulièrement, les médecins qui remplissent de telles demandes doivent assumer la responsabilité de passer les résultats d’examen en revue et d’assurer le suivi après du patient/membre du personnel en question. Ces médecins devront également créer un dossier médical et y consigner le fait qu’un examen a été prescrit, les résultats de cet examen et le suivi recommandé.

Les médecins à qui l’on a demandé de prescrire un dépistage de la COVID-19 pour des membres du personnel devront collaborer avec les services administratifs de leur établissement afin de déterminer la meilleure façon de communiquer les résultats d’examen, d’assurer un suivi approprié et de consigner les rencontres connexes au dossier des membres du personnel visés.



Ai-je l’obligation de signaler les patients qui contreviennent aux exigences de la santé publique ou qui utilisent des documents de santé publique falsifiés (p. ex. passeport vaccinal)?

Toutes les provinces et tous les territoires imposent des obligations légales aux médecins quant au signalement des patients atteints de maladies transmissibles, ce qui inclut généralement la COVID-19. Dans un certain nombre de provinces et de territoires, les lois sur la santé publique comptent également des obligations plus générales en matière de signalement, comme dans le cas d’une personne qui présente une maladie transmissible et qui ne respecte pas les recommandations du médecin. Il serait donc possible de soutenir l’opinion selon laquelle les patients ayant obtenu des résultats positifs au dépistage de la COVID-19 et refusant de s’isoler relèvent de la catégorie des « patients qui ne respectent pas les recommandations du médecin ». Nous encourageons les médecins à se familiariser avec les obligations de santé publique en matière de signalement propres à leur province ou territoire.

Outre les exigences légales potentielles, les médecins ont parfois l’obligation déontologique de signaler à l’agence de la santé publique compétente les patients qui contreviennent aux exigences de santé publique (p. ex. refus de s’isoler) ou encore les patients non vaccinés qui utilisent un passeport vaccinal faux ou falsifié et qui exposent ainsi autrui à un risque d’infection à la COVID-19. Cependant, les médecins n’ont pas l’obligation générale de signaler à la police les patients qui sont soupçonnés d’avoir commis un crime, notamment une fraude relative au passeport vaccinal. Les médecins doivent généralement éviter de transmettre à la police de l’information concernant leurs patients, sauf si ceux-ci y ont consenti, si c’est exigé par la loi (p. ex. en vertu d’un mandat) ou pour éliminer un risque de préjudice.



Ai-je une obligation légale de prodiguer des soins à un patient soupçonné de présenter la COVID-19?

Les obligations professionnelles et les principes juridiques qui s’appliquent habituellement à tous les médecins continuent d’être en vigueur dans le contexte de la COVID-19.

Les médecins ont l’obligation légale d’assurer que tout ce qu’ils font pour leurs patients respecte la norme de pratique d’un médecin raisonnablement compétent dans des circonstances semblables. Les Collèges s’attendent également à ce que les médecins s’acquittent de leurs obligations professionnelles en prodiguant des soins à leurs patients ou en assurant la prestation continue de ces soins, peu importe si ces patients présentent quelque symptôme que ce soit lié à la COVID-19 ou s’ils ont été exposés au virus.

Un certain nombre de Collèges comptent également des politiques qui établissent les obligations des médecins dans le contexte d’une urgence de santé publique; ces politiques traitent d’obligations plus particulières, telles que le fait de se tenir au courant de tous les systèmes de communication de santé publique et plans d’urgence pertinents.

Bien que les médecins ne soient pas toujours tenus d’évaluer en personne leurs patients qui présentent des symptômes de COVID-19 ou qui ont été exposés au virus, on s’attend à ce qu’ils consultent leurs patients, par téléphone ou par l’intermédiaire d’autres modalités de télémédecine, afin de déterminer si ceux-ci doivent être redirigés vers un établissement doté du matériel requis (p. ex. unité de santé publique, centre d’évaluation désigné ou hôpital) pour l’exécution d’un examen détaillé.

Dans la mesure du possible, lorsqu’un patient est dirigé vers un centre d’évaluation ou un autre établissement, il est préférable de coordonner la demande de consultation avec votre unité locale de santé publique et le centre/établissement d’évaluation, de fournir un préavis et de prendre des mesures pour que le patient bénéficie (ou lui offrir des conseils à cet égard) d’un mode de transport approprié pour l’emmener à l’établissement (c.-à-d. éviter les transports en commun).



Ai-je le droit de refuser de prodiguer des soins aux patients soupçonnés de présenter la COVID-19?

On s’attend à ce que les médecins prodiguent des services médicaux pendant les urgences de santé publique. Les Collèges pourraient, toutefois, reconnaître que la capacité des médecins présentant des problèmes de santé (ou qui ont de la parenté ou des proches qui présentent des problèmes de santé) de prodiguer des soins médicaux directs pourrait être limitée. Dans de telles circonstances, on s’attendra probablement tout de même à ce que les médecins participent à des activités indirectes soutenant la réponse à la pandémie.

Il est interdit aux médecins de refuser de prodiguer des soins médicaux en raison d’un motif de discrimination prohibé (p. ex. race, âge, origine nationale ou ethnique). En faisant preuve de discrimination à l’égard d’un patient en raison de motifs liés à la maladie ou à l’origine ethnique de ce dernier, un médecin s’exposerait à une plainte à la Commission des droits de la personne, à une plainte au Collège et peut-être même à une poursuite au civil. Les médecins doivent également être conscients que le fait de refuser d’effectuer une évaluation adéquate et de tirer des conclusions au sujet de l’état de santé d’un patient ne reposant que sur l’ethnicité de ce dernier serait généralement considéré discriminatoire.