Vaccination

Contact us

Contact the CMPA and schedule time to speak to a physician advisor

Call us at 1-800-267-6522 (in Ottawa area: 613-725-2000)

Updated: January 10, 2022

As the COVID-19 vaccination rollout expands, there are a number of medico-legal considerations physicians will want to be aware of.

Articles

Collaboration and joint action

FAQ


Who is permitted to administer the COVID-19 vaccine?

Administration of the COVID-19 vaccination is a regulated act. Regulated acts can only be performed where authorized by law. In most provinces/territories, administration of the COVID-19 vaccination can only be performed by physicians, nurses, and pharmacists.

In an effort to facilitate vaccination, some jurisdictions have expanded the list of qualified health professionals who can administer COVID-19 vaccinations as long as those individuals meet certain requirements (e.g. specified training) or where those individuals are supervised by a health professional who is authorized to perform immunizations (e.g. Manitoba, British Columbia, Quebec, and New Brunswick).

Ontario has also recently implemented a regulation to allow “any person” (such as retired nurses and physicians, paramedics, dentists and firefighters) to administer the COVID-19 vaccination under certain limited circumstances. While the regulation makes an exemption for these persons to administer the vaccine without delegation, it still requires a physician, nurse or pharmacist to be present at the premises where the vaccine is administered and to be accessible to the person administering the vaccine to discuss questions relating to or to give directions with respect to the administration of the vaccine. The person administering the vaccine must also be engaged to do so by an organization that is a party to an agreement with the Minister governing the administration of the vaccine.

In any other circumstance where members are engaged in supervision or delegation of the COVID-19 vaccination, they will want to refer to relevant College policies on supervision and delegation for additional guidance. Members who delegate or supervise the administration of the COVID-19 vaccine to other persons, in accordance with the applicable legislation or regulation, remain eligible for liability protection for medico-legal difficulties arising from the delegation.



How do I engage parents or legal guardians who are reluctant or refuse to vaccinate their children against COVID-19? What if there is a dispute between the parents about the child receiving the vaccine?

  1. Confirm authorized decision-maker: Physicians will need to be aware of who is legally authorized to provide consent for the child’s vaccination. When a child is not capable of consenting to treatment, the physician providing the vaccine will want to make inquiries of the adult accompanying the child for the vaccination to confirm they are the custodial parent, legal guardian, or have authority to consent on behalf of the child. However, when the physician determines that the child has the capacity to consent, parental/legal guardian consent is not required. In such circumstances, the physician must obtain consent from the child, even when the child is accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
  2. Respect decisions of mature minors: Except in Québec, physicians should generally respect an informed decision by a child who they consider to be a mature minor and capable of understanding the risks of accepting or refusing the vaccination. In Québec, the law generally only permits children 14 years of age and older to consent to their own care. Physicians should document the wishes of the minor and the parent/legal guardian, if known, in the medical record along with the physician’s assessment of the child’s capacity to consent and understanding of the risks.
  3. Explore, address and document reluctance: If a child is not capable of consenting and the parents/legal guardians are reluctant about the vaccine, physicians should explore and address the reasons for their reluctance, answer any questions to the best of their ability, and refer them to other relevant resources for information. Physicians will want to be empathetic and respectful, and remind parents/legal guardians that the best interests of the child are the primary concern. If the parents/legal guardians still refuse to consent to the vaccination, a detailed note of both the consent discussion and the refusal should be made in the medical record.
  4. Manage disputes: Communication problems can arise when a physician receives conflicting directions from parents. Even in cases where the child’s parents are separated or divorced, both parents will typically have the right to provide or refuse consent for treatment on behalf of the child, unless an agreement or court order specifically modifies the rights of the parents. To clarify the authority of each parent to consent on behalf of the child, physicians may request copies of agreements or court orders regarding decision-making. These copies should be kept in the child’s chart. When there is a dispute between the parents, the physician should make reasonable attempts to obtain a consensus in the child’s best interests. If consensus cannot be achieved, the vaccine should not be administered. Physicians may contact the CMPA for further advice in these situations. Depending on the circumstances, it may be necessary to contact the public guardian, child services, or to apply to the court (or an administrative body) for direction.

    See also: Shen S, Dubey V. Addressing vaccine hesitancy. Clinical guidelines for primary care physicians working with parents. Can Fam Physician. 2019 March, 65(3) 175-181.



Some provinces/territories are requiring proof of vaccination to access certain services and settings. Can I ask patients (or family members/caregivers/others attending with patients) about their vaccination status and request proof of vaccination?

Provincial/territorial proof of vaccination requirements do not apply to accessing essential services such as healthcare. However, it may be reasonable to ask patients and others attending with patients about their vaccination status if it is relevant to providing care to the patient. It would not be appropriate to ask patients and others about their vaccination status in order to deny care to patients. A refusal to provide care could put a physician at risk of a College complaint, human rights complaint and/or civil action, the success of which will depend upon the specific circumstances.

It may also not be reasonable to ask for proof of vaccination status. It may be difficult for some patients and individuals to provide this information. Demanding proof of vaccination may also undermine the trust in the doctor-patient relationship.



Once more of my patients are vaccinated, how do I manage unvaccinated patients in my practice?

As more patients are vaccinated, physicians will need to be mindful of the vaccination status of patients in their practice. Despite a patient’s refusal to be vaccinated, physicians should make every effort to continue to care for unvaccinated patients in the existing doctor-patient relationship in accordance with current standards of care. A refusal to provide care could put a physician at risk of a College complaint, human rights complaint and/or civil action; the success of which will depend upon the specific circumstances.

Physicians will want to make best efforts to find reasonable alternatives to provide care to patients who refuse to be vaccinated. Physicians may offer to see these patients using virtual care, if appropriate. For patients who require an in-person visit, scheduling appointments at different times of the day or week to treat unvaccinated patients could be another approach. Physicians should also refer to public health guidance for treating patients in these circumstances.

For additional assistance and advice on caring for patients who refuse to be vaccinated, physicians should consult with the expectations and guidance of their College and local public health authority, as well as contact the CMPA directly.



I have been asked to sign a medical directive for the administration of the COVID-19 vaccination. What are the medical liability risks?

Physicians who are involved in developing a medical directive will be expected to ensure it is clinically appropriate and reflects the expected standard of care in the circumstances. A physician authorizing a medical directive should be comfortable with its contents and have consulted with healthcare professionals who have expertise in vaccination programs, if the physician does not have this expertise. It is also important that the medical directive include sufficient detail to ensure that it can be properly implemented. This includes articulation of a clear process for obtaining and documenting informed consent. Reassurance should also be obtained that the individuals who will be implementing the directive are competent and have the necessary information to administer the vaccine.



I have heard about the federal government’s Vaccine Injury Support Program. Does this protect me from liability if I recommend or administer the COVID-19 vaccine?

The Vaccine Injury Support Program (VISP) is a pan-Canadian no-fault vaccine injury support program for all Health Canada approved vaccines – including COVID-19 vaccines – that are administered in Canada on or after December 8, 2020. The VISP is built on the model that has been in place in Québec for a number of years. Patients vaccinated in Québec will continue to receive coverage from the longstanding Québec Vaccine Injury Compensation Program. The purpose of the VISP is described as “to ensure that all people in Canada who have experienced a serious and permanent injury as a result of receiving a Health Canada authorized vaccine…have fair and timely access to financial support.” Further details regarding the VISP can be found here. The CMPA supports broader liability protection for physicians and other healthcare providers so that their good faith efforts in recommending and administering the vaccination will not put them at increased medico-legal risk.



Do I have an obligation to be vaccinated against COVID-19? What are the repercussions if I do not comply with my facility’s or government’s mandatory vaccination policy? Will the CMPA assist me with College or hospital matters arising from my refusal to be vaccinated?

The CMPA generally encourages physicians to be aware of any mandatory vaccination programs applicable to their practice setting. Physicians will want to reasonably consider any mandatory vaccination policies that applies to them, bearing in mind their ethical, professional and legal obligations. Failure to comply with mandatory vaccination policies could lead to discipline. In particular, non-compliance with any applicable policy may result in remedial and/or disciplinary action by the hospital or health authority and may lead to an investigation by the College.

The CMPA generally assists members with College matters relating to the professional practice of medicine; however, CMPA assistance will not generally be available for matters primarily arising from business or personal issues. The CMPA’s assistance for hospital matters is generally limited to ensuring that the member is treated fairly when there is a loss or threat of loss of privileges. The CMPA does not generally extend assistance to members to assist them in advocating for changes to government, hospital or College policies.

Members are encouraged to contact their provincial/territorial medical association or federation for more information regarding policy initiatives and measures with respect to mandatory vaccine policies.



Do I have an obligation to implement a mandatory COVID-19 vaccination policy at my private office or clinic? What should I do if my employees do not comply with this policy?

Clinics and private offices generally have an obligation to provide a safe environment for their patients and staff pursuant to occupational health and safety legislation. Members are encouraged to consult with their local public health authority and/or their personal or business legal counsel to assess the necessity of a mandatory COVID-19 vaccination policy and any consequences for non-compliance.



Is the informed consent process different for the COVID-19 vaccination? What if a patient refuses to be vaccinated?

While vaccines are not new, COVID-19 vaccines may be novel in the manner in which they have been developed and approved. As with other novel treatments, special care should be taken when obtaining informed consent to disclose all of the known risks, side effects and discomfort that might be encountered (regardless of how remote the risk might be). In addition, it is generally expected that the patient will be informed if there may be other risks not yet known and the anticipated benefits may not be achieved.

Generally speaking, the healthcare professional who is proposing the treatment is responsible for ensuring that informed consent is obtained from the patient. However, the act of obtaining informed consent can be delegated to another healthcare provider (e.g. under a medical directive for the administration of the vaccine). Regardless of which healthcare professional obtains the patient’s informed consent, it is essential to document the content of the consent discussion with the patient, including reference to the information provided and any questions asked and answered. Many provincial/territorial governments have prepared standard informed consent forms to assist in the consent process. Where a consent form is used, there should still be a mechanism to document additional information and questions addressed with the patient receiving the vaccination.

If a patient is reluctant about receiving a COVID-19 vaccine, you will want to explore and address the reasons for the patient’s concern, answer any questions to the best of your ability and consider referring the patient to other relevant resources for additional information. If the patient still refuses to be vaccinated, a detailed note of both the consent discussion and the refusal should be made.



Will the CMPA assist me with medico-legal difficulties related to the rollout of COVID-19 vaccines?

The CMPA remains committed to providing members with liability protection for medico-legal difficulties arising as a result of care provided in Canada in the context of the COVID-19 efforts, including related to the deployment of vaccines.

Physicians who are involved in developing medical directives are also generally eligible for CMPA assistance if they face medico-legal difficulties as a result of the medical content of the medical directive. Examples include the patient selection exclusion criteria or informed consent process. The CMPA will not generally extend assistance with respect to administrative or logistical issues associated with the vaccination process, such as decisions about prioritization of individuals eligible to receive vaccines. Physicians who are involved in these issues should ensure that the organization that they are being asked to serve will provide them with full defence and full indemnification in the event of medico-legal difficulties that arise from this role.



Will the CMPA assist me with medico-legal difficulties related to the administration of COVID-19 vaccines to non-residents?

CMPA members will be eligible for CMPA assistance when administering vaccines in Canada, without regard to whether an individual is a resident or non-resident of Canada. The CMPA’s assistance will include support for matters brought inside or outside of Canada in relation to the administration of COVID-19 vaccines.  The CMPA remains committed to providing members with liability protection for medico-legal difficulties arising as a result of care provided in Canada in the context of the COVID-19 efforts, including related to the administration of vaccines.

While the CMPA does not generally provide assistance to members for matters arising outside of Canada, the CMPA appreciates the unique circumstances of the pandemic and the public health objective of broad vaccination. In the context of COVID-19 vaccine administration only, CMPA members do not need to ask non-residents to execute the Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement or confirm that the vaccine is not reasonably available in the patient’s home country in order to be eligible for CMPA assistance.



My patients are asking if my staff have been vaccinated against COVID-19. Are they entitled to that information?

An employee’s vaccination status is personal health information. Just as it would with other personal health information, the clinic has an obligation to treat the vaccination status of its employees as confidential information. Vaccination status of health care providers should not be shared with patients. The clinic does have an obligation to offer care in a safe manner. Therefore, the clinic will need to ensure that appropriate precautions are being taken to protect both the health care providers and the patients who attend at the clinic. The clinic should continue to follow precautions outlined by the Ministry of Health and/or College for providing in-person care.

Vaccination

Communiquer avec nous

Communiquez avec l’ACPM et prenez un rendez-vous pour consulter un médecin-conseil

Appelez-nous au
1-800-267-6522
(dans la région d’Ottawa :
613-725-2000)

Mise à jour : novembre 2021

Au fur et à mesure de la mise en œuvre de la vaccination contre la COVID-19, les médecins souhaiteront en apprendre davantage sur un certain nombre de considérations d’ordre médico-légal.

Articles

Collaboration et action concertée

FAQ

Comment dois-je agir lorsque les parents ou les tuteurs légaux d’un enfant hésitent à le faire vacciner contre la COVID-19 ou refusent carrément de le faire? Et s’il y a un conflit entre les parents quant à la vaccination de l’enfant, comment composer avec la situation?

  1. Déterminez qui est le décideur autorisé : Les médecins doivent établir qui est légalement autorisé à consentir à la vaccination de l’enfant. Lorsque l’enfant n’est pas apte à consentir au traitement, le médecin qui donne le vaccin doit alors s’informer auprès de l’adulte qui accompagne l’enfant à la vaccination pour déterminer s’il s’agit du parent ayant la garde de l’enfant ou de son tuteur légal, ou si la personne a l’autorisation de consentir au nom de l’enfant. En revanche, lorsque le médecin détermine que l’enfant est apte à consentir, le consentement d’un parent ou d’un tuteur légal n’est pas requis. Dans de telles circonstances, le médecin doit obtenir le consentement de l’enfant, même si ce dernier est accompagné d’un parent ou d’un tuteur légal.
  2. Respectez les décisions de mineurs matures : Sauf au Québec, lorsque les médecins sont face à un enfant qu’ils considèrent comme un mineur mature capable de comprendre les risques liés au fait d’accepter ou de refuser le vaccin, ils devraient généralement respecter sa décision éclairée. Au Québec, de façon générale, la loi n’autorise que les enfants de 14 ans ou plus à consentir eux-mêmes à des soins de santé. Les médecins devraient consigner dans le dossier médical les volontés de la personne mineure et de son parent ou tuteur légal, le cas échéant; les médecins devraient aussi verser au dossier leur évaluation de l’aptitude à consentir de l’enfant et de sa compréhension des risques.
  3. Cherchez à comprendre et à vaincre l’hésitation, et consignez le tout au dossier : Si un enfant n’est pas apte à donner son consentement et que ses parents ou tuteurs légaux hésitent à l’autoriser à se faire vacciner, les médecins devraient chercher à connaître les motifs de cette réticence pour mieux la vaincre. Ils devraient aussi répondre du mieux qu’ils le peuvent aux questions des parents ou des tuteurs légaux et leur recommander d’autres sources d’information pertinentes. Les médecins doivent se montrer empathiques et respectueux et rappeler aux parents ou aux tuteurs légaux qu’ils agissent d’abord et avant tout dans le meilleur intérêt de l’enfant. Si les parents ou les tuteurs légaux refusent malgré tout de consentir à la vaccination, il y a lieu de consigner au dossier médical une note détaillée sur la discussion ayant visé l’obtention du consentement et sur le refus.
  4. Gérez les conflits : Des problèmes de communication peuvent survenir lorsque les médecins reçoivent des directives contradictoires des parents. Même lorsque les parents de l’enfant sont séparés ou divorcés, les deux parents seront généralement autorisés à accorder ou à refuser leur consentement à un traitement au nom de l’enfant, à moins qu’une entente ou une ordonnance du tribunal ne modifie explicitement leurs droits. Afin de déterminer l’autorisation de chaque parent à consentir au nom de l’enfant, les médecins peuvent demander une copie des ententes ou des ordonnances du tribunal relatives à la prise de décisions. Ces copies doivent être versées au dossier de l’enfant. En cas de conflit entre les parents, les médecins devraient tenter de manière raisonnable d’obtenir un consensus dans l’intérêt de l’enfant. Si aucun consensus ne se dessine, le vaccin ne devrait pas être administré. Les médecins devraient communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir plus de conseils sur ce genre de situation. Dans certaines circonstances, il peut s’avérer nécessaire de communiquer avec le curateur public ou les services à la jeunesse, ou encore de présenter une demande auprès d’un tribunal (ou d’une entité administrative) pour obtenir un avis.

    Voir aussi : Shen S, Dubey V. Addressing vaccine hesitancy. Clinical guidelines for primary care physicians working with parents. Can Fam Physician. 2019 March, 65(3) 175-181.


Certaines provinces et certains territoires exigent une preuve de vaccination pour accéder à des services et à des établissements particuliers. Puis-je demander à mes patients (ou aux membres de leur famille, à leur proche aidant ou à leur accompagnateur) s’ils ont été vaccinés et leur demander une preuve de vaccination?

Les exigences des provinces et des territoires en matière de preuve de vaccination ne s’appliquent pas aux services essentiels comme les soins de santé. Il peut cependant être raisonnable de demander au patient ou à son accompagnateur s’il a été vacciné lorsque la question est pertinente par rapport aux soins qui seront prodigués. En revanche, il serait inapproprié de poser cette question au patient ou à son accompagnateur pour refuser de prodiguer des soins. En refusant de prodiguer des soins, les médecins pourraient s’exposer à une plainte au Collège ou à la Commission des droits de la personne, ou encore à une poursuite au civil, dont l’aboutissement dépendrait des circonstances en cause.

Il pourrait être déraisonnable de demander une preuve de vaccination puisque certains patients ou certaines personnes pourraient avoir de la difficulté à fournir une telle preuve. En outre, en demandant une preuve de vaccination, le médecin pourrait également miner la confiance du patient à son endroit.



Lorsque mes patients seront plus nombreux à être vaccinés, comment devrais-je gérer la prestation de soins à ceux qui ne sont pas vaccinés?

Puisque de plus en plus de personnes sont vaccinées, les médecins devront tenir compte du statut vaccinal des patients de leur pratique. Bien que certains patients refusent de recevoir le vaccin, les médecins doivent tout faire pour continuer de leur prodiguer des soins dans le cadre de la relation médecin-patient qu’ils ont avec eux et conformément à la norme de pratique actuelle. En refusant de prodiguer des soins, les médecins pourraient s’exposer à une plainte au Collège ou à la Commission des droits de la personne, ou encore à une poursuite au civil, dont l’aboutissement dépendrait des circonstances en cause.

Les médecins voudront déployer tous les efforts possibles pour établir des solutions de rechange raisonnables qui leur permettront de prodiguer des soins aux patients qui refusent de se faire vacciner. Ils pourraient offrir à ces patients l’option de recevoir des soins virtuels, dans la mesure du possible. Cependant, lorsqu’une consultation en personne s’avère nécessaire, les médecins peuvent envisager de recevoir les patients non vaccinés à des moments particuliers de la journée ou de la semaine. Les médecins doivent également consulter les directives de la santé publique pour la prestation de soins aux patients dans de telles circonstances.

Pour obtenir une assistance et des conseils supplémentaires sur la prestation de soins aux patients qui refusent de se faire vacciner, les médecins devraient prendre connaissance des attentes et des directives du Collège de leur province ou territoire et de l’autorité locale en matière de santé publique; nous les encourageons également à communiquer directement avec l’ACPM.



On m’a demandé de signer une directive médicale concernant l’administration des vaccins contre la COVID-19. Quels sont les risques en matière de responsabilité médicale auxquels cela m’expose?

Il est attendu que les médecins qui participent à la rédaction d’une directive médicale s’assureront du caractère adéquat de celle-ci sur le plan clinique et feront en sorte qu’elle reflète la norme de pratique requise dans les circonstances. Les médecins qui autorisent une directive médicale doivent être disposés à en avaliser le contenu; ils doivent également avoir consulté des professionnels de la santé ayant une expertise en matière de programmes de vaccination, s’ils n’ont pas eux-mêmes une telle expertise. Il est également important que la directive médicale en question soit suffisamment détaillée pour en assurer la mise en œuvre de façon appropriée. Cette directive médicale doit donc, entre autres, prévoir un processus clair pour l’obtention et la consignation d’un consentement éclairé. Ces médecins devront également s’assurer que les responsables de la mise en œuvre de la directive disposent des compétences et des données requises pour l’administration du vaccin.



J’ai entendu parler du programme de soutien aux victimes d’une vaccination du gouvernement fédéral. Ce programme m’offre-t-il une protection en matière de responsabilité si je recommande ou administre un vaccin contre la COVID-19?

Le Programme de soutien aux victimes d’une vaccination est un programme pancanadien de soutien aux victimes d’une vaccination sans égard à la faute pour tous les vaccins approuvés par Santé Canada – y compris les vaccins contre la COVID-19 – administrés au Canada depuis le 8 décembre 2020. Ce programme est fondé sur le modèle en place au Québec depuis un certain nombre d’années. Les patients vaccinés au Québec continueront d’être couverts par le Programme d’indemnisation des victimes d’une vaccination du Québec, en vigueur depuis longtemps. Le Programme de soutien aux victimes d’une vaccination vise à garantir « que les personnes qui subissent une blessure grave et permanente après avoir reçu un vaccin autorisé par Santé Canada, y compris un vaccin contre la COVID-19, ont accès à un soutien financier. » Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de ce programme, cliquer ici. L’ACPM soutient une protection élargie en matière de responsabilité pour les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé, de sorte que leurs efforts de bonne foi à l’égard de la recommandation et de l’administration de la vaccination ne les exposeront pas à des risques médico-légaux accrus.



Ai-je l’obligation de me faire vacciner contre la COVID-19? Quelles seront les répercussions si je décide de ne pas respecter la politique de vaccination obligatoire de mon établissement ou du gouvernement? Et si je fais l’objet d’une plainte intrahospitalière ou d’une plainte au Collège parce que je refuse de me faire vacciner, vais-je pouvoir compter sur l’assistance de l’ACPM?

L’ACPM encourage généralement les médecins à prendre connaissance des programmes de vaccination obligatoire applicables dans leur milieu de pratique. Les médecins devront prendre une décision raisonnablement mûrie face à toute politique de vaccination obligatoire qu’on pourrait leur demander de respecter, en prenant en considération leurs obligations éthiques, déontologiques et légales. Si vous ne respectez pas les politiques de vaccination obligatoire, vous pourriez vous exposer à des répercussions. Plus particulièrement, le non-respect de toute politique applicable en la matière pourrait entraîner des mesures correctives ou disciplinaires de la part de l’hôpital ou de l’autorité en matière de santé, et pourrait mener le Collège à entreprendre une enquête.

L’ACPM prête généralement assistance aux membres dans le cadre de plaintes auprès des Collèges qui sont liées à l’exercice professionnel de la médecine. Toutefois, cette assistance ne s’étend généralement pas aux problèmes d’ordre principalement commercial ou personnel. L’assistance offerte par l’ACPM dans le cadre de plaintes intrahospitalières se limite généralement à faire en sorte que le membre soit traité équitablement en cas de perte de privilèges, réelle ou potentielle. Enfin, les membres qui militent en faveur de changements aux politiques de l’État, des hôpitaux ou des Collèges ne recevront généralement pas d’assistance en ce sens de l’ACPM.

Nous encourageons les membres à communiquer avec l’association ou la fédération médicale de leur province ou territoire pour en savoir plus sur les mesures et les initiatives en matière de politique à l’égard de la vaccination obligatoire.



Ai-je l’obligation d’établir une politique de vaccination obligatoire contre la COVID-19 dans ma clinique ou mon cabinet privé? Que devrais-je faire si mes employés ne respectent pas une telle politique?

Les cliniques et les cabinets privés ont généralement l’obligation de procurer un environnement sécuritaire à leurs patients et aux membres de leur personnel, conformément aux lois sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. Nous encourageons les membres à consulter leur autorité locale en matière de santé publique et leur conseiller juridique personnel ou d’affaires pour évaluer s’il est nécessaire d’établir une politique de vaccination obligatoire contre la COVID-19 et de prévoir des conséquences en cas de non-respect d’une telle politique.



Le processus d’obtention d’un consentement éclairé est-il différent dans le cas de la vaccination contre la COVID-19? Et si un patient refuse de se faire vacciner?

Bien que la mise au point de vaccins ne date pas d’hier, les vaccins contre la COVID-19 pourraient tout de même être considérés novateurs, compte tenu de la façon dont ils ont été conçus et approuvés. Comme pour tout autre traitement novateur, une attention particulière devrait être portée, au moment de l’obtention d’un consentement éclairé, à la divulgation de tous les risques, effets secondaires et inconforts connus possibles (si improbables soient-ils). De plus, il est généralement attendu que le patient sera informé de la possibilité d’autres risques n’étant pas encore connus et du fait que les résultats escomptés pourraient ne pas être obtenus.

En général, le professionnel de la santé qui propose le traitement a la responsabilité de s’assurer de l’obtention du consentement éclairé du patient. Cependant, l’obtention elle-même d’un tel consentement peut être déléguée à un autre professionnel de la santé (p. ex. en vertu d’une directive médicale pour l’administration du vaccin). Peu importe l’identité du professionnel de la santé qui obtient le consentement éclairé du patient, il demeure essentiel de consigner au dossier le contenu de la discussion visant l’obtention de ce consentement, en s’assurant d’y noter l’information offerte ainsi que les questions posées et les réponses fournies. De nombreux gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux ont conçu des formulaires normalisés de consentement éclairé de façon à faciliter le processus. Lorsque l’on a recours à un tel formulaire de consentement, il faut tout de même prévoir une modalité permettant la consignation de toute information additionnelle et des questions abordées avec le patient recevant le vaccin.

Lorsqu’un patient hésite à se faire vacciner contre la COVID-19, vous devrez explorer et aborder les raisons qui sous-tendent les inquiétudes du patient, répondre de votre mieux aux questions de ce dernier, et envisager de le diriger vers d’autres ressources pertinentes pour l’obtention de renseignements supplémentaires. Si le patient refuse toujours de se faire vacciner, vous devrez consigner au dossier une note détaillant tant la discussion ayant visé l’obtention du consentement que le refus du patient.



L’ACPM me portera-t-elle assistance si je fais face à des problèmes médico-légaux liés à la vaccination contre la COVID-19?

L’ACPM demeure engagée à offrir à ses membres une protection en matière de responsabilité face aux problèmes médico-légaux résultant des soins prodigués au Canada dans le contexte des efforts visant la COVID-19, y compris ceux liés à la mise en œuvre de la vaccination.

Les médecins qui participent à la formulation de directives médicales sont également, en général, admissibles à l’assistance de l’ACPM s’ils font face à des problèmes médico-légaux découlant du contenu d’ordre médical de telles directives (p. ex. le processus d’obtention d’un consentement éclairé ou les critères d’exclusion dans le cadre de la sélection des patients). L’ACPM ne fournira généralement pas une assistance en ce qui a trait aux problèmes administratifs ou logistiques associés au processus de vaccination, tels que les décisions sur l’ordre de priorité à établir chez les personnes admissibles à la vaccination. Les médecins qui sont susceptibles de faire face à de tels problèmes doivent s’assurer que l’organisation pour laquelle on leur demande de travailler leur offrira une défense et une indemnisation complètes en cas de problèmes médico-légaux découlant de leur rôle à cet égard.



L’ACPM me portera-t-elle assistance si je fais face à des problèmes médico-légaux liés à la vaccination de non-résidents contre la COVID-19?

Les membres de l’ACPM seront admissibles à l’assistance de l’Association lorsqu’ils administrent des vaccins au Canada, peu importe si la personne vaccinée a ou non le statut de résident du Canada. L’assistance de l’ACPM englobera le soutien face aux actions intentées tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger en relation avec l’administration de vaccins contre la COVID-19. L’Association demeure engagée à offrir à ses membres une protection en matière de responsabilité face aux problèmes médico-légaux résultant de soins prodigués au Canada dans le contexte des efforts visant la COVID-19, y compris ceux liés à l’administration de vaccins.

Bien que l’ACPM ne prête généralement pas assistance à ses membres face aux actions intentées à l’étranger, elle comprend les circonstances particulières entourant la pandémie et l’objectif de la santé publique d’assurer une vaccination à grande échelle. Exceptionnellement, et uniquement dans le contexte de l’administration de vaccins contre la COVID-19, les membres de l’ACPM ne sont pas tenus de demander aux non-résidents de signer la Convention relative aux lois d’application et à la compétence judiciaire ou de confirmer que le vaccin n’est pas raisonnablement accessible dans le pays d’origine du patient pour être admissibles à l’assistance de l’ACPM.



Mes patients demandent si mon personnel a été vacciné contre la COVID-19. Sont-ils en droit de le savoir?

Le statut vaccinal d’un employé constitue un renseignement personnel sur la santé. La clinique a l’obligation de traiter le statut vaccinal des membres de son personnel comme une information confidentielle, au même titre que n’importe quel autre renseignement personnel sur la santé. Le statut vaccinal des professionnels de la santé ne doit pas être communiqué aux patients. La clinique est tenue d’assurer une prestation de soins sécuritaire : elle doit donc veiller à ce que les précautions appropriées soient prises pour protéger les professionnels de la santé et les patients qui fréquentent les lieux. En outre, elle doit continuer de suivre les précautions dictées par le ministère de la Santé et/ou le Collège en ce qui concerne la prestation de soins en personne.