Responsible governance practices

The CMPA Council is committed to responsible governance practices. As stated in the council's terms of reference [PDF], "the primary purpose of the Council is to foster, through sound governance, the long-term success of the Association consistent with its Strategic Plan and responsibilities to the members."

The council actively displays this commitment through its leadership and participation in a variety of governance activities including:

  • Council evaluation — Council performs a biennial evaluation to assess its effectiveness and efficiency.
  • Individual councillor evaluation — Upon reaching the mid-point in his or her three-year term, each councillor participates in an individual evaluation process. The objective of this evaluation is to improve individual performance and strengthen the nomination process by providing to the Nominating Committee a peer perspective of a councillor's performance.
  • Committee structure and effectiveness review — To ensure the duties and responsibilities delegated by council to its committees meet the Association's needs, a biennial review of the committee structure and effectiveness is performed.

Members of council and all non-council committee members are required to adhere to the Association's Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest Guidelines [PDF]. This includes the requirement to sign an acknowledgement each year.

Pratiques de gouvernance responsable

Le Conseil de l'ACPM s'est engagé à assurer des pratiques de gouvernance responsable. Comme l'énonce le mandat du Conseil [PDF], « la principale responsabilité du Conseil est de favoriser, grâce à une saine gouvernance, la réussite à long terme de l'Association conformément à sa mission, à sa vision et aux responsabilités du Conseil envers les membres. »

Le Conseil démontre activement son engagement par son leadership et sa participation à diverses activités de gouvernance, dont :

  • L'évaluation du Conseil – le Conseil effectue une évaluation biennale pour apprécier son efficacité et son efficience.
  • L'évaluation des conseillers individuels – après avoir atteint la moitié de son mandat de trois ans, chaque conseiller participe à un processus d'évaluation individuelle ayant pour objet d'améliorer le rendement individuel et de consolider le processus de mise en candidature en fournissant au Comité des candidatures une perspective des pairs sur le rendement d'un conseiller.
  • L'évaluation de la structure et de l'efficacité des comités – pour veiller à ce que les obligations et les responsabilités déléguées par le Conseil à ses comités répondent aux besoins de l'Association, une évaluation biennale de la structure et de l'efficacité des comités est effectuée.

Les membres du Conseil et tous les membres de comités ne relevant pas du Conseil sont tenus de respecter le Code de conduite et les directives sur les conflits d'intérêts à l'intention des conseillers [PDF] de l'Association. Ceci comprend l'obligation de signer une attestation chaque année.