Français

Informed consent


More than a signature

Three key elements (Page 1 of 2)


For consent to be considered valid:

Multiple hands raised

1. Voluntary consent

  • Patients must be free to consent to or refuse treatment.
  • Consent should be obtained without duress or coercion.

Case: A patient brought by the police
Male police officer leading male in handcuffs

Background

The police bring a man from the airport customs to an emergency department and request that you do the appropriate examinations to determine if the man is trafficking in cocaine. The police suspect he has swallowed the drugs in condoms. Your patient does not give consent for the examinations.

Think about it

As the emergency physician, what is the best next step?

Suggestions

In this case, the physician should explain the grave risks if a condom containing cocaine ruptures internally. The patient might then consent to examination.

In these types of circumstances, physicians should be more careful than usual to assure themselves the patient is in full agreement with what has been suggested, that there has been no coercion (for example, by exaggerating the risks of consenting or of refusing) and that no one else has imposed their will on the patient.

Previous
Next

Case: A 55-year-old man scheduled for colonoscopy
Male physician at bedside of elderly male patient

Background

A gastroenterologist meets a patient for the first time immediately before a screening colonoscopy. He describes the list of potential risks for colonoscopy and requests the patient sign the consent form before proceeding.

Think about it

Is the patient consenting voluntarily?

Suggestions

Ideally the patient would be provided information about the nature and risks of an investigation as early as possible in the process. While timing is important when engaging in a consent discussion — especially for an elective procedure — the practical realities of providing care to all patients in an efficient way may make this difficult.

In this case, the patient has already made the decision to undergo the procedure and has completed the required preparation. Despite this, the patient is entitled to engage in a full discussion and should not be made to feel obliged to continue with the investigation.

Previous
Next

Checklist with 'yes' box marked

2. Capacity to consent

A patient is considered to have the capacity to consent if he or she understands the:
  • nature of the proposed investigation or treatment
  • anticipated effect of the proposed treatment and alternatives
  • consequences of refusing treatment

Patient understanding

  • Take reasonable steps to be satisfied the patient comprehends the consent discussion.

Physicians have a duty to take reasonable steps to be relatively satisfied their patients have received the appropriate information, particularly when there may be language difficulties, emotional issues, or questions of mental function.

By engaging in dialogue with the patient, a physician will be reasonably confident that the patient appears to understand the explanation of consent. One way to achieve such confidence is the teach-back technique: asking the patient to re-phrase what they have just been told and inviting the patient to ask questions. However, what constitutes "reasonable steps" will depend on the facts and circumstances of the particular situation.

As appropriate, a physician may wish to encourage a patient to invite a family member or friend to attend the discussion.

Learn more about E. (Mrs.) v. Eve — a landmark Canadian legal case
Opens in popup

Patients who refuse treatment

  • A capable patient has a right to refuse to follow the advice given.

Case: A patient with skin cancer
Female physician sitting at desk with young male patient

Background

Mr. Jones, a successful tax accountant, has been diagnosed with an invasive melanoma. His dermatologist wishes to excise the cancer as soon as possible. Despite being informed of the risks, Mr. Jones insists on delaying the surgery by four months so he can continue to work during his busiest time of year.

Think about it

What is the dermatologist's next step?

Suggestions

Even when faced with an serious operable cancerous lesion and the strong likelihood of a good surgical outcome, a mentally capable patient may instead choose a less effective treatment than what is recommended, despite a thorough discussion of the risks and benefits of surgery. This is the patient's right.

Mr. Jones should be told about the consequences of leaving the condition untreated. Although there should be no coercion (i.e., unduly frightening patients who refuse treatment), the courts now recognize there is an obligation to inform patients about the potential consequences of refusing treatment.

Suggestions continued

The dermatologist may wish to advise the patient to discuss with  his family about the decision to delay the surgery. If the patient persists in wanting to delay the surgery, consultation with a colleague for a second opinion may be helpful.

Previous
Next

Minors

  • Except in the province of Québec, the criterion for capacity to consent is maturity, not chronological age.
  • A child must be able to appreciate the nature and consequences of their decision.
  • Report to child protection authorities
    Child protection authorities:  The agencies in each province or territory charged with the protection and welfare of children, having the ability to intervene to protect children from harm.
     if a parent/guardian refuses medically necessary treatment.
  • In Québec, the parent/guardian must consent if the child is under the age of 14.

Case: A request from a youth
Female patient sitting with female physician who is pointing at computer screen

Background

A 14-year-old girl comes to see you to ask for a prescription for birth control pills. You find her to be very mature and sensibly wanting protection.

Think about it

Can this youth consent to treatment or must her parents be involved?

Outcome

Yes, this youth can consent to treatment. If, in the physician's judgment, the patient is a mature minor the physician cannot inform the parents without the patient's consent.
Previous
Next

A young person is considered capable of consenting or refusing treatment (i.e. a mature minor) if the physical, mental, and emotional development of the person will allow for a full appreciation of the nature and consequences of the decision.

Only Québec has established a fixed age of 14 years, below which the parent or guardian or the court must consent to the proposed treatment.

Generally, a capable minor would need to consent to the involvement of parents in healthcare decisions. Depending on the nature of the medical condition and the complexity of any proposed treatment, it is often prudent to stress the importance of involving the parents, and to obtain permission to do so.

Case: A conflict with the parents of a child
Young child asleep in hospital bed

Background

Ann, who is eight years old, presents with polydipsia, polyuria, polyphagia, and weight loss over the past two months. You diagnose Type 1 diabetes based on her blood glucose.

Ann requires insulin therapy; however her parents refuse, believing she can be managed with diet and a new herbal remedy they have read about. What should you do?

Think about it

What should you do?

Suggestion

A parent or guardian is required to act in the best interests of the child. If medically necessary treatment is refused, the doctor is obliged to report the matter to the child protection authorities.
Child protection authorities:  The agencies in each province or territory charged with the protection and welfare of children, having the ability to intervene to protect children from harm.
Previous
Next

Life threatening situations

If life or limb are in danger and the patient is unable to consent and the substitute decision maker is not immediately available, a doctor has a duty to:
  • Do what is immediately necessary.
  • Respect any known previous wishes of the patient.
  • Obtain consent as soon as reasonably possible.

Case: Life-threatening injury requiring immediate treatment
Blurred image of two hospital staff pushing a stretcher

Background

While on vacation, a young woman who is hiking in the woods is attacked by a bear. She is brought to the emergency department unconscious with extensive blood loss. No substitute decision maker is available.

Think about it

Can you treat her to save her life without her consent?

Lesson learned

Yes. In an emergency when the patient or substitute decision maker cannot consent the physician may proceed if there is demonstrable severe suffering or an imminent threat to the life or health of the patient.
Previous
Next

English

Consentement éclairé


Beaucoup plus qu'une signature

Trois composantes fondamentales (Page 1 de 2)


Pour que le consentement soit valide :

De nombreuses mains levées

1. Consentement volontaire

  • Le patient doit être libre de consentir au traitement ou de le refuser.
  • Le consentement doit être obtenu sans contrainte ni coercition.

Cas : Un patient est escorté par la police
Policier escortant un homme menotté

Contexte

La police escorte un homme à l'urgence en provenance de la douane de l'aéroport et vous demande de mener les examens nécessaires pour déterminer si cet homme fait le traffic de cocaïne. La police le soupçonne d'avoir avalé la drogue, cachée dans des condoms. Votre patient ne consent pas aux examens.

Pistes de réflexion

À titre d'urgentologue, quelle serait la prochaine étape?

Suggestions

Dans cette situation, le médecin devrait expliquer les graves risques que comporte une rupture interne d'un condom qui contient de la cocaïne. Le patient pourrait finir par consentir à l'examen.

Dans ce genre de circonstances, les médecins devraient faire preuve de plus de prudence qu'à l'habitude pour s'assurer que le patient accepte entièrement ce qui lui est recommandé, qu'il n'a pas été contraint de consentir (par exemple, parce qu'on a exaggéré le risque lié au consentement ou au refus de consentir) et que personne d'autre n'a imposé sa volonté au patient.

Précédente
Suivante

Cas : Un homme de 55 ans devant subir une colonoscopie
Médecin au chevet d'un patient âgé

Contexte

Un gastro-entérologue rencontre un patient pour la première fois immédiatement avant une colonoscopie de dépistage. Il décrit la liste des risques potentiels de la colonoscopie et demande au patient de signer le formulaire de consentement avant de procéder à l'intervention.

Pistes de réflexion

Le patient donne-t-il son consentement volontairement?

Suggestions

Idéalement, le patient recevrait de l'information sur la nature et les risques d'une învestigation aussitôt que possible dans le processus. Le choix du moment où entamer la discussion sur le consentement est important, surtout pour une intervention non urgente. Toutefois, en pratique, où il faut soigner tous les patients efficacement, il pourrait s'avérer difficile de donner ces renseignements au patient longtemps à l'avance.

Dans ce cas particulier, le patient avait déjà pris la décision de subir l'intervention et avait suivi toutes les étapes de préparation nécessaires. Malgré cela, le patient a droit à une discussion détaillée et ne devrait pas se sentir contraint d'accepter l'investigation.

Précédente
Suivante

Liste de vérification où « oui » est coché

2. Capacité de consentir

On considère que le patient a la capacité mentale de donner son consentement s'il comprend :
  • la nature des investigations ou du traitement proposés;
  • l'effet anticipé du traitement proposé et les solutions de rechange au traitement;
  • les conséquences liées au refus du traitement.

Compréhension du patient

  • Prenez des mesures raisonnables pour avoir la certitude que le patient comprend la discussion sur le consentement.

Les médecins ont l'obligation de prendre des mesures raisonnables pour être relativement certains que leurs patients ont reçu l'information appropriée, surtout dans l'éventualité de barrières linguistiques ou de problèmes émotionnels, ou si les facultés mentales du patient sont en jeu.

En entamant un dialogue avec le patient, un médecin sera raisonnablement assuré que le patient semble comprendre l'explication entourant le consentement. Pour en avoir la certitude, le médecin peut utiliser la technique de vérification par l'explication, qui consiste à demander au patient de reformuler ce qu'on vient de lui dire et à l'inviter à poser des questions. Cependant, la définition de ce qui constitue des « mesures raisonnables » dépend des faits et des circonstances propres à chaque situation.

Selon le cas, le médecin pourrait juger bon d'encourager le patient à inviter un membre de sa famille ou un ami à la discussion sur le consentement.

Renseignez-vous sur l'affaire E (Mme) c. Eve, un cas ayant fait jurisprudence au Canada.
S'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Patients qui refusent le traitement

  • Un patient apte à consentir a le droit de refuser de suivre les conseils qu'il reçoit.

Cas : Un patient atteint d'un cancer de la peau
Femme médecin assise à son bureau, s'adressant à un jeune homme

Contexte

M. Jodoin, comptable fiscaliste de bonne réputation, a reçu le diagnostic de mélanome invasif. Son dermatologue souhaite extraire la lésion cancéreuse aussi tôt que possible. Malgré qu'on l'ait avisé des risques, M. Jodoin insiste pour que l'intervention chirurgicale soit reportée de quatre mois, pour qu'il puisse continuer à travailler pendant la période la plus occupée de l'année pour les comptables.

Pistes de réflexion

Que doit faire le dermatologue par la suite?

Suggestions

Même lorsque confronté à une grave lésion cancéreuse résécable et à la forte probabilité d'un résultat favorable de la chirurgie, un patient mentalement apte à consentir pourrait plutôt opter pour un traitement moins efficace que celui qu'on lui recommande, même si on lui a expliqué en détails les risques et les avantages d'une chirurgie. C'est son droit.

Il faut faire part à M. Jodoin des conséquences de ne pas se faire traiter. Bien qu'il ne faille pas recourir à la coercition (comme effrayer indûment les patients qui refusent un traitement), les tribunaux reconnaissent maintenant l'obligation d'aviser les patients des conséquences éventuelles d'un refus d'un traitement.

suggestions – suite

Le dermatologue devrait conseiller au patient de discuter de sa décision de reporter l'intervention avec sa famille. Si le patient persiste à vouloir reporter la chirurgie, il pourrait être utile de lui suggérer d'obtenir une deuxième opinion en consultant un collègue.

Précédente
Suivante

Mineurs

  • Sauf au Québec, le critère d'établissement de la capacité à consentir est la maturité, et non l'âge chronologique.
  • Un enfant doit être en mesure d'apprécier la nature et les conséquences de sa décision.
  • Si un parent ou tuteur refuse un traitement nécessaire, signalez le cas à une  agence de protection de l'enfance
    Agence de protection de l'enfance :  L'agence dans chaque province ou territoire étant responsable de la protection et du bien-être des enfants, et ayant la capacité d'intervenir pour protéger les enfants des dangers de préjudice.
     .
  • Au Québec, un parent ou tuteur doit offrir son consentement si l'enfant est âgé de moins de 14 ans.

Cas : Une demande d'une adolescente
Patiente assise avec une femme médecin pointant l'écran de son ordinateur.

Contexte

Une jeune fille de 14 ans vous consulte et vous demande de lui prescrire la pilule contraceptive. Vous trouvez qu'elle fait preuve de beaucoup de maturité pour son âge et déduisez qu'elle souhaite tout simplement se protéger de façon raisonnable.

Pistes de réflexion

Cette adolescente peut-elle consentir au traitement, ou ses parents doivent-ils être au courant?

Résultat

Oui, cette adolescente peut consentir au traitement. Si le médecin juge que la patiente est une mineure mature, il ne peut communiquer avec ses parents sans son consentement.
Précédente
Suivante

On considère qu'un jeune est capable de consentir à un traitement ou de le refuser (concept de mineur mature) seulement si le développement physique, mental et émotionnel de la personne lui permet d'évaluer entièrement la nature et les conséquences de sa décision.

Seul le Québec a établi un âge fixe de 14 ans pour la capacité de consentir. En deçà de cet âge, un parent, tuteur ou le tribunal doit consentir au traitement proposé.

En règle générale, un mineur apte à consentir doit approuver la participation de ses parents aux décisions sur ses soins de santé. Cependant, selon la nature de l'affection médicale et la complexité de tout traitement proposé, il est souvent prudent d'insister sur l'importance de faire participer les parents, et d'obtenir le consentement du mineur à cet effet.

Cas : Un conflit avec les parents
Jeune enfant endormi dans son lit d'hôpital

Contexte

Anne, huit ans, présente une polydipsie, une polyurie, une polyphagie et une perte de poids depuis les deux derniers mois. En fonction des analyses de glucose sanguin, vous établissez le diagnostic de diabète de type 1.

Anne a besoin d'insulinothérapie; cependant, ses parents refusent le traitement, parce qu'ils croient que la maladie peut être contrôlée par l'alimentation et un nouveau remède à base de plantes médicinales dont ils ont appris l'existence dans une publication.

Pistes de réflexion

Que devriez-vous faire?

Suggestion

Tout parent ou tuteur doit agir pour assurer les intérêts fondamentaux de l'enfant. Si un parent ou tuteur refuse un traitement nécessaire, le médecin est tenu signaler le cas à une  agence de protection de l'enfance.
Agence de protection de l'enfance :  L'agence dans chaque province ou territoire étant responsable de la protection et du bien-être des enfants, et ayant la capacité d'intervenir pour protéger les enfants des dangers de préjudice.
Précédente
Suivante

Situations mettant la vie en danger

Si la vie ou un membre du patient est en danger, et si celui-ci n'est pas en mesure de consentir et dans l'éventualité où un décideur remplaçant n'est pas disponible, un médecin a l'obligation :
  • de prodiguer les soins qui sont immédiatement requis;
  • de respecter les volontés déjà manifestées par le patient;
  • d'obtenir le consentement aussi tôt qu'il est possible et raisonnable de le faire.

Cas : Blessure mettant la vie en danger qui requiert un traitement immédiat
Image floue de deux travailleurs d'un hôpital poussant une civière

Contexte

Pendant qu'elle est en vacances, une jeune femme qui s'adonne à la randonnée pédestre en forêt est attaquée par un ours. Elle est inconsciente à son arrivée au service d'urgence, où on constate qu'elle a perdu beaucoup de sang. Aucun décideur remplaçant ne peut être joint.

Pistes de réflexion

Pouvez-vous traiter cette patiente pour lui sauver la vie sans son consentement?

Leçons retenues

Oui. En situation d'urgence, si le patient ou un décideur remplaçant ne peuvent consentir au traitement, le médecin peut prodiguer des soins en présence d'une importante souffrance manifeste ou d'une menace imminente pour la vie ou la santé du patient.
Précédente
Suivante